Incidents in Cork-Kerry match

Cheers lamofgod and Mayotyroneman, just pointing out the facts. Interesting that there's been no reply from Rebeltrev......maybe he's counting it up himself. Even more interesting is his comment "Watch Joe Kernan ruin Galway" - who came out and scored more in their league game than any of their championship games last year.

Maybe this isn't the forum for the "puke football/ blanket defence" discussion but a response would be nice!

KennellyAirways (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 15/02/2010 21:46:37    562571

Galvin has a history of this sort of conduct on the field. In my opinion he is getting away with this sort of stuff for too long and it is high time that Jack O' Connor gave him his P45. He is dragging the good name of Kerry football and the Kerry people in to the gutter. The amount of bile directed towards Kerry and Kerry football on GAA forums because of this one man is just not worth it anymore. We have enough All Irelands at this stage that sacrificing one for the good of the game is the only sensible thing to do. But even saying that is being disingenuous to the rest of the team as one man doesn't make a team and there are plenty of fine footballers in Kerry who play the game in the right spirit willing to fill his boots.

tim_bucked_two (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 16/02/2010 08:39:13    562595

CorkieInKerry

561399 rebelsrock

"cads got a huge cheer coming off for getting galvin sent off!
if ye were at the match ye would know that the ref really didnt help cork! "

I was at the match and didn't hear any cheer like that when the two walked to the line - maybe there was something from the terrace but there was no shout from the stand that I heard. Cadogan was sent to the line at the same time- were Cork fans cheering as one of their own walked to the line when we were already a man down?? possible I suppose - people do stupid stuff all the time but that makes no sense to me.

ya it was in d terrace!
i wasnt cheering though.
even if galvin was player of the year i still dont see the point in cheering when one of your own team gets sent off too!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 16/02/2010 10:37:02    562671

tim_bucked_two

562595 Galvin has a history of this sort of conduct on the field. In my opinion he is getting away with this sort of stuff for too long and it is high time that Jack O' Connor gave him his P45. He is dragging the good name of Kerry football and the Kerry people in to the gutter. The amount of bile directed towards Kerry and Kerry football on GAA forums because of this one man is just not worth it anymore. We have enough All Irelands at this stage that sacrificing one for the good of the game is the only sensible thing to do. But even saying that is being disingenuous to the rest of the team as one man doesn't make a team and there are plenty of fine footballers in Kerry who play the game in the right spirit willing to fill his boots.

Are you for real? scacrifice an AI; Paul Galvin not worth it?? dragging the good name of Kerry football and the Kerry people in the gutter------you have obviously no understanding of what GAA championshop football and/or winning an AI means in Kerry; how the Kerry people value Paul Galvin who was the guy who dragged and inspired both the supporters and the team through the qualifers last year when the majority of Kerry supporters thought the winning days were. Paul Galvin, who consistently works to the edge for Kerry-you think the Kerry people or Jack O Connor want him gone???? there will be NO Jack O Connor giving Paul his P45, in fact last year after the incident in the Cork Kerry munster semi-final replay, were he unfairly got a red card-Paul himself was considering leaving-it was Jack and a visit to Kilkenny that changed his mind. Last weeks incident again with Cork was not of Paul's causing but if the linesmen or the ref are in doubt and Paul is involved well then its" chuck him out". If he leaves, which he may, cause I know he is sick of being the fall guy, well then it will be a BIG Kerry loss. Finally, I am with Micky Harte on this one; its time the referees had some more consistenty-from one game to the next, players are unsure of what is to be allowed or not in a game-the lines need to be clearly drawn-Transparent-and consistenly applied. We have rules-thats not the problem-its how they are intpretated-one rule application for all-

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 16/02/2010 12:26:57    562823

Galvin latest incident may actually be his worst, and that is saying something! Eye gouging (or at least attempting to, I know he got his mouth but I'd question the intent), is very dangerous and If he had done it in a championship match then I think we'd be hearing a lot more about it, I'm beginning to think he likes the attention. Id love to hear from someone who marked him, what does he be doing to provoke such reactions, in this case I heard he elbowed Cadogan in the face and thats how it started with Cadogan then swinging off his neck. He would be a big loss from the game however not alone for Kerry, he adds something to games I think so I hope he doesn't opt out but he should curb the nastiness.

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 16/02/2010 14:11:39    563012

tj09

Eye gouging desrves a six month ban not 1.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/02/2010 14:35:17    563060

Galvin has a history of this sort of conduct on the field. In my opinion he is getting away with this sort of stuff for too long and it is high time that Jack O' Connor gave him his P45. He is dragging the good name of Kerry football and the Kerry people in to the gutter. The amount of bile directed towards Kerry and Kerry football on GAA forums because of this one man is just not worth it anymore. We have enough All Irelands at this stage that sacrificing one for the good of the game is the only sensible thing to do. But even saying that is being disingenuous to the rest of the team as one man doesn't make a team and there are plenty of fine footballers in Kerry who play the game in the right spirit willing to fill his boots.

----

Kerrykerry why you even replying to this the above piece from tim-bucked-two ... obviously he is a wind up merchant , either that or he is insane .. it wouldnt surprise me if this is another poster in disguise from a county who dont like kerry or paul galvin in particular ... i can think of a few wont name names though .. personally id love a paul galvin like figure to play for dublin (minus his misdemenours) .. there is something about him i just dont really know what it is .. take tommy walsh out of the team and kerry wont be affected too much , if you take galvin out they struggle in my opinion , he just gives them that extra bit ..if it wasnt for galvins heroics in many of the qualifiers .. kerry would not have won the all ireland ..

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 16/02/2010 14:43:45    563081

Thought there was nothing in the Galvin incident. No punches thrown, just a bit of a roll around on the pitch.

JPM1981 (Kildare) - Posts: 825 - 16/02/2010 16:11:49    563225

Lads, we're not seriously going to start the whole 'Poor Paul, the refs are always picking on him' mantra are we? Is it not getting a bit old? Or even ridiculous?

I'll accept that what I saw on Saturday night, had him slightly more sinned against than sinning. However I'm also old enough to know that there may have been a lot that I didn't see. Regardless of what may or may not have happened on Saturday, Mr Galvin has been involved in his share of ugly incidents over the years, and that's why I find the 'poor Paul' stuff hard to take. Lets not burn him at the stake, but lets not canonise him either!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 16/02/2010 16:11:50    563226

Ok...so I'm not entitled to my opinion if I don't pay homage at the altar of Paul Galvin. KerryKerry you are a prime example of exactly what is wrong with football in Kerry at the moment. There are people like you in Kerry that think that winning an All Ireland year in year out is all that life is about in Kerry. Screw the other 500 or 600 club footballers in the county. They can lay around idle for the whole summer just so we can win our 1100th All Ireland. Sure who cares if they have to play all their football in the **** and muck during winter as long as our precious county panel are taken care of. I am a club footballer who is fed up with this way of thinking in Kerry, and like many more I will probably walk away from the game far sooner than I should. This is why rugby/soccer are becoming so popular in the county. Players know that during the season of these sports they are more or less guaranteed a match week in week out, whereas with the precious GAA in Kerry you might not have a meaningful game for a full 3 or 4 months as long as Kery are still in the championship. I know that this doesn't happen in other Counties such as Tyrone or Cork where players are allowed to play for their clubs up to a few weeks before games, regardless of the magnitude of the match. And proper order too. Why should ordinary club players be made sit around and wait to see when their next match might be, and then have to cancel holiday plans, work around weddings etc...just becaue the Kerry County Board can't come up with a fixtures list and stick to it. Mark my words there are barren years ahead for the Kerry team once this current group of players are finished. And just a quick question for you KerryKerry...have you ever played football your good self? Cause you sound just like one of those hurlers on the ditch that I meet every weekend in local public houses.

tim_bucked_two (Kerry) - Posts: 25 - 16/02/2010 16:18:32    563240

JPM1981

563225 Thought there was nothing in the Galvin incident. No punches thrown, just a bit of a roll around on the pitch.

I'm not sure thats in the rulebook either.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12423 - 16/02/2010 16:24:00    563255

tim_bucked_two

563240 Ok...so I'm not entitled to my opinion if I don't pay homage at the altar of Paul Galvin. KerryKerry you are a prime example of exactly what is wrong with football in Kerry at the moment. There are people like you in Kerry that think that winning an All Ireland year in year out is all that life is about in Kerry. Screw the other 500 or 600 club footballers in the county. They can lay around idle for the whole summer just so we can win our 1100th All Ireland. Sure who cares if they have to play all their football in the **** and muck during winter as long as our precious county panel are taken care of. I am a club footballer who is fed up with this way of thinking in Kerry, and like many more I will probably walk away from the game far sooner than I should. This is why rugby/soccer are becoming so popular in the county. Players know that during the season of these sports they are more or less guaranteed a match week in week out, whereas with the precious GAA in Kerry you might not have a meaningful game for a full 3 or 4 months as long as Kery are still in the championship. I know that this doesn't happen in other Counties such as Tyrone or Cork where players are allowed to play for their clubs up to a few weeks before games, regardless of the magnitude of the match. And proper order too. Why should ordinary club players be made sit around and wait to see when their next match might be, and then have to cancel holiday plans, work around weddings etc...just becaue the Kerry County Board can't come up with a fixtures list and stick to it. Mark my words there are barren years ahead for the Kerry team once this current group of players are finished. And just a quick question for you KerryKerry...have you ever played football your good self? Cause you sound just like one of those hurlers on the ditch that I meet every weekend in local public houses.

Opinions are everyones entiltlement but expect differences-your assumptions that because someone disagrees with you they must be all of the above is away with the fairies-don't you have any joined up thinking???

What has club football fixtures in Kerry and the possible barren years ahead got to do with scarificing an AI and getting rid of Galvin (these are your statements from two different posts). In fact, what has it to do with this thread, the Kerry v Cork game and the incidents that happened on it. I wouldn't mind but I am actually in agreement with you about club football-the gaps are **** and there has to be a better system to fit all but God above man, connect your thoughts-have a logical arguement.

As for "people like you in Kerry that think that winning an All Ireland year in year out is all that life is about in Kerry"-what a statement; 1+1=10; just because I state that I wouldn't scarifice Galvin for an AI as you suggested, I have obviously compulsive obessive disorder and can only eat, think and drink (those weekend guys in the pub) Kerry winning an AI.

As for playing football-yes I did (don't now) and played other sports too............does that clarify another of your boxed in thinking but lets admit it-I have been know to go to pubs at the weekend--------------.

Going back to Galvin, for the poster that said he is no saint or something like that- I agree too, he has crossed lines, and though I am not saying that Ricey and Galvin play the exact same tactics-you can see that some people can't wait to throw the duster at them!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 16/02/2010 17:16:38    563347

JPM1981

Thought there was nothing in the Galvin incident. No punches thrown, just a bit of a roll around on the pitch.

Look at where his fingers went and you will .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/02/2010 17:23:20    563352

Dellboypolecat

563352 JPM1981

Look at where his fingers went and you will .

Dell, I have looked at the footage a few times and I can't see that-I presume we are all looking at the same angle-you can see Cadogen putting galvin in a head lock and then they fall over- I agree you then see Galvins hand by his face after they fall and as his position moves to gettting up but I can't see how you can say that he hooked his fingers into his mouth or got at his eye etc plus Cadogen looks fine in the footage aftewards.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 16/02/2010 18:03:07    563415

waynoI

Mostly do ignore-must be the spring air!!!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 16/02/2010 18:05:52    563419

kerrykerry

The intention was there gouging is a very serious thing .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/02/2010 18:50:22    563480

Galvin is not an angel, there is no doubt about that, but I cannot for the life of me see how he can be accused of eye gouging based on the T.V. evidence. All I saw were the two of them clashing, Cadogan catching Galvin in a head-lock and both of them wrestling each other on to the ground. In my opinion 2 yellow cards were warranted, end of.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 16/02/2010 19:13:12    563509

Dellboypolecat

563480 kerrykerry

The intention was there gouging is a very serious thing .

But how can you know that the "intention" was there? seems a very subjective opinion and not based on any facts.

Anyway I am with corkcelt-accurate and fair summary

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 16/02/2010 19:35:13    563535

kerrykerry

He clear as day has his hand near is eyes and tried to do that just after watching it again .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/02/2010 19:37:29    563537

He fell to the ground under the struggle on being in a headlock; this happens in about 2-3 seconds-lands with hand on his face, Cadogen lands head down and turns his head where Galvins hand turns still on the facial area as Cadogen turns-to be honest, from this viewage, it seems like speculation that anything else happened or intented to happen-can't see any proof but thats my opinion.

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 16/02/2010 20:02:14    563567