Incidents in Cork-Kerry match

noel galvin and cadogan from cork sent off
and suprise suprise...paul galvin sent off for kerry!
cads got a huge cheer coming off for getting galvin sent off!
if ye were at the match ye would know that the ref really didnt help cork!

rebelsrock (Cork) - Posts: 550 - 14/02/2010 12:25:25    560812

passerby

560800 if im being truthfully honest, i would say there should have been no suspensions as a result of the cork vs kerry game, but when compared with last weeks game there has to be some. it's a consistency thing. If they give a suspension for something so minor then they have to use that as a precedent. But, as has happened before, the "aristocrats" of gaelic football may get off. In fairness, the second half of the game last night was a great spectacle, some wondeful scores taken.

Ya it was a very good game of football for this time of year and i get your point about it being fair across the board. If things where fair then Kerry would of played
the all ireland final last year with 14 men for the whole game. Kenneallys challenge was wreckless and he got off with it. Didnt even get suspended after.I often find Kerry and Kilkenny get the big decisions with the refs.
Last weekend was handbags with Derry and Tyrone. I just cant understand why all these suspensions are being handed out. I think its off putting. When i play i Love the physicallity of the game as well as everything else that goes with it. I think its basketball they want to turn our game into.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 14/02/2010 12:33:21    560817

rebeltrev

560769 Im very disappointed with Tyrone people coming on and going on about dusgracefull incidents. U boys changed football with your blanket defence. Ruined the game to be fair. Teams are more interested now in stopping the opposition then playing themsleves. Watch JOE KERNAN ruin Galway.They all can play football but Joe will turn them into another Armagh. It was handbag stuff that went on in the CORK AND KERRY game. Its a contact sport and played by proper men. God guys like u make me mad. No problem when your own boys are doin

WE WONT AGREE ON MUCH rebeltrev BUT WE'LL AGREE ON THE ABOVE! WELL SAID!

Ciarrai Abu (Overseas) - Posts: 1050 - 14/02/2010 13:36:04    560859

rebeltrev

Im very disappointed with Tyrone people coming on and going on about dusgracefull incidents. U boys changed football with your blanket defence. Ruined the game to be fair. Teams are more interested now in stopping the opposition then playing themsleves. Watch JOE KERNAN ruin Galway.They all can play football but Joe will turn them into another Armagh.

Well Said rebeltrev....though lets have a look at the facts will we??? I did a bit of research on the GAA archives, going back to when they start properly and when we supposedly started to RUIN football.

...............Tyrone..........................................Cork
..............Total.........Ave.............................Total..............Ave
03 =......3-132.........17.63...........................0-19...............9.5
04 =......8-94...........16.85...........................0-33...............11
05 =.....11-117.........18.75...........................3-51...............15
06 =.......2-27.............11.............................2-52..............11.6
07 =.......5-51.............16.5...........................6-83..............16.8
08 =......7-126............19.12.........................10-56.............17.2
09 =......3-55..............12.8...........................9-109............19.43

so there ya go, 4 outta 7 yrs Tyrone were scoring a higher average per game than cork....it was only in the latter yrs when cork began to copy tyrone's "Puke Football" (no more so evident in last yrs semi-final when they 'out tyroned' tyrone....before they sh*te themselves against Kerry again) that they began to close the gap.

Maybe now we can put this puke thing to bed, get your own thoughts and opinions rebeltrev instead of spouting the same vitriolic comments of a so called pundit who cant handle the ulster teams becoming a new force. if scoring just shy of an ave 20 points a game is being "more interested now in stopping the opposition then playing themsleves" then i'm happy to see it........that goes for cork too, you've doubled your scoring ave in the last 7 yrs....maybe we should go back to the old days eh?

KennellyAirways (Tyrone) - Posts: 33 - 14/02/2010 14:24:38    560911

cads got a huge cheer coming off for getting galvin sent off!

yeah that says all ya want ta know about this cork team. wont beat kerry when it really matters and will beat them when it doesnt matter. Kerry and Galvin have had the last laugh for the last while and it will prob be the same this year!! i think if thats the way things have gone that players get players sent off just to please the crowd then its a sad day. i thought from the tg4 highlights that cadogen started it and the ref was always going ta send both players off.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 14/02/2010 14:35:29    560914

rebels rock, so cork supporters now cheer when one of their players gets another sent off even though he gets sent off himself, that sort of mentality deserves no success. Secondly I wish all the northern contributers would get off the cross they are crucifying themselves on over their supposed unfair treatment, its 2010 and time to change the "everyone is against us" attitude. Ye are big boys up their and well able to look after yourselves so stop looking for shoulders to cry on.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 14/02/2010 14:35:43    560915

thats bad sportsmanship really.
if a opposite player from a diffrent county was sent off , i would not cheer.
galvins sending off right or wrong, does not warrant that kind of behaviour.

ta32 (Tyrone) - Posts: 4907 - 14/02/2010 15:55:46    560954

Richieq and db9 by the sounds of ye id say ye don't get to many GAA match's, there is always banter like that at them, you should go to one you might enjoy it!

tj09 (Cork) - Posts: 481 - 14/02/2010 16:09:54    560959

ta32

YES IT DOES

pidge (Cork) - Posts: 543 - 14/02/2010 16:13:32    560961

Jaysus we are all getting soft. I would never condone dirty play but there is a big difference between hard physical play and dirty underhand stuff. Last nights game was hard but it wasn't dirty. Cadogan and Galvin just wrestled each other to the ground there were no punches thrown by either man, a yellow card at the most was warranted. One crib I have, is if there is a bit of a scuffle after a free has been awarded, refs seem to immediately cancel the free and restart the game with a throw in REGARDLESS OF WHO INSTIGATES THE SCUFFLE. If a player from the side who got the free starts it well that's fair enough but in one particular case last night Cork were awarded a free, a Kerry lad started a bit of argy bargy with a Cork player as they walked away and the ref spoke to both of them and restarted the game with a throw in. I have noticed this happening on a number of occasions in various games.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 14/02/2010 16:18:57    560967

i feel sorry for paul galvin, once again it seems he's being punished for his reputation. neither player should have been sent off

kefan (Kildare) - Posts: 498 - 14/02/2010 16:38:07    560984

tj09, i attend plenty of matches and have done so since 1983 in fact I have not missed one Meath match so far this year and I live in Donegal so please dont question what you know nothing about. Banter is banter and thats fine I have been on the recieving end and the supplier of banter for years but applauding a player for getting an opposition player sent off along with himself is not banter its poor sportsmanship and downright lousy, associating that with "banter" is a ridiculous arguement and shows a lack of understanding and respect to the players. For a county who holds the GPA so close to its bosom I would have thought players from all counties would get the ultimate respect from the Cork gaels.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3749 - 14/02/2010 17:47:15    561033

Very little in the incidents in last night's game. Very harsh. I'd imagine they'll be overturned when reviewed. However, I do think that any red cards handed out for striking offences should be met with lengthy bans.

Tomás Tralee (Kerry) - Posts: 391 - 14/02/2010 17:52:18    561035

My god another incidents in such an such game thread, can we not all give it a rest, there has 2 be something better to talk about on here than all this rubbish. The Mods shud close this thread right now b4 it turns in2 the same as the tyrone- derry thread and gets over a 100 posts which are mostly nothing but spite!!, it's a game of football incidents happen they always have.

I blame the ccc or whatever they are called for this whole trial by media which is abviously happening like anything else in life these guys are human so obviously they are gunna be inconsistent and some counties are gunna feel aggrieved no matter who they ban.

In my opinion they have really opened a can of worms by what they are doing.

duke_raul (Tyrone) - Posts: 993 - 14/02/2010 17:54:58    561037

Richieq

Secondly I wish all the northern contributers would get off the cross they are crucifying themselves on over their supposed unfair treatment, its 2010 and time to change the "everyone is against us" attitude. Ye are big boys up their and well able to look after yourselves so stop looking for shoulders to cry on.

-------------------------------

Richieq, maybe you should re-think that 'NORTHERN' comment there. Not all northerners are on here whingeing. They all seem to come from two counties at the minute.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 14/02/2010 18:26:26    561053

Every single thing on this site seems to turn into a rant against Ulster football. It seems that people just have a massive gripe when it comes to Tyrone. People do not have much imagination either if they are constantly using Pat Spillane cliches (ie Puke football). In my opinion, the closest thing that I saw to puke football this decade was Cork V Kerry (All-Ireland final in 2007) and the same two counties in the semi final drawn match the year after. I doubt there were any games more cynical than those two in the history of Gaelic football (both teams equally guilty I might add). However, it easy way out for fans of Cork and Kerry is just to say, well where not as bad as those lot up there. It is sad really, I guess guys are blind to what their own do.

Anyway, what did happen last night was handbags, similar to last week and if there is to be consistency then suspensions are deserved. however, to the person that started this topic, why dont you just wait and see what happens. Wait until there are no suspensions amd then make your grievance.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 14/02/2010 18:33:18    561059

Banter is banter and thats fine I have been on the recieving end and the supplier of banter for years but applauding a player for getting an opposition player sent off along with himself is not banter its poor sportsmanship and downright lousy, associating that with "banter" is a ridiculous arguement and shows a lack of understanding and respect to the players. For a county who holds the GPA so close to its bosom I would have thought players from all counties would get the ultimate respect from the Cork gaels.

i would have ta agree with ya!! this is not meath solidarity. i just think its a bit sad to 1- applaud a palyer that has been sent off like that and make him a hero-- cadogen and 2- its sad ta be like that towards the opposition. to be jeering him as he walks off the field. paul galvin is an easy target. the man is a class act. he doesnt deserve to be given treatment like that.

db9 (Meath) - Posts: 283 - 14/02/2010 18:42:51    561069

Just watched it on Sunday Sport. Paul Galvin didnt do too much wrong. A bit of a *******ing & a yellow card would have been plenty for him & Cadogan.
Unfortunately after the precedent set last week they will probably both get banned.

blu (Down) - Posts: 1240 - 14/02/2010 20:20:38    561166

Rebel trev: don't blame Tyrone for inventing the blanket defence - Pat Spillane was at it in the 70s!

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 14/02/2010 21:37:07    561275

rebelsrock

"cads got a huge cheer coming off for getting galvin sent off!
if ye were at the match ye would know that the ref really didnt help cork! "

I was at the match and didn't hear any cheer like that when the two walked to the line - maybe there was something from the terrace but there was no shout from the stand that I heard. Cadogan was sent to the line at the same time- were Cork fans cheering as one of their own walked to the line when we were already a man down?? possible I suppose - people do stupid stuff all the time but that makes no sense to me.

If there was a cheer I wouldn't be getting too excited about it - personally I wouldn't cheer for something like that as celebrating any players departure in that fashion is a bit supportive of thuggishness for my delicate tastes ;) but neither is it worth getting too worked up about.

I didn't see the incident on the night until the two were on the floor but from what I've seen since the red cards were harsh and not warranted. Neither was Noel Galvin deserving of his first yellow (the second deffo but not the first..).

I honestly think the constant blowing for infringements of the new handpass rule (obviously directed by HQ as the same was very evident in the Tyrone Mayo games yesterday) drove everyone nuts and was no small factor in raising the temperature. I even heard Kerry supporters behind me complaining at one stage when a Cork player was caught out by it! It's not an excuse for bad behaviour but I for one sincerely hope that that rule becomes a bad memory soon enough.

CorkieInKerry (Cork) - Posts: 93 - 15/02/2010 10:17:05    561399