Giant Killers- Slovenia
Big name early exit- Argentina
Top scorer - Nilmar

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9857 - 01/12/2009 12:49:43    499352

Plastic Paddy

499044 allstar4

Are N.Ireland and Iceland the 33rd ad 34th teams going to the W.C??
Must have been quite a few teams cheated out of qualifying..

Well paddy plastic or plastic paddy! but that cheating is no good they might cheat there way into the world cup but it will catch up way them

allstar4 (Donegal) - Posts: 558 - 01/12/2009 12:54:48    499360

patrique, way to twist what I was saying. You massively overestimate the importance of "history" in all things sporting. How many All Irelands had Tyrone won before this decade? How many had Down won before the 199whatever. Donegal? History wasn't important there. History doesn't matter nearly as much as you seem to think it does. Spain, who have no great history at world cups, have a far better chance of winning this world cup than France, Italy or even Argentina who do have a "history" of winning them. Why? Because they currently have better players.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 01/12/2009 16:44:48    499597

spain dont have better players than argentina nocky

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4168 - 01/12/2009 17:06:22    499626

30/11/2009 23:19:24
patrique

499024 World Cup? Soccer?

Same as always, Brazil, Germany, Italy, maybe Argentina. Sometimes the home team, but not next year.

Was it ever any different? There have been 18 tournaments, those countries I mentioned won 14 of them, Uruguay years ago won twice, France and England won at home.

If it was horses and form you wouldn't even consider anyone else.

True to form you have covered all options there boss! Although some progress shown in making a definite call in ruling out South Africa from winning. Fair play boss. Anyone for the last few sofafences now?!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 01/12/2009 17:35:52    499689

Dellboypolecat

Winner-portugal

This was a serious thread. If you are going to have WUM posts.........

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/12/2009 19:06:07    499804

Real Louth fan
County: Louth

30/11/2009 23:19:24
patrique

True to form you have covered all options there boss! Although some progress shown in making a definite call in ruling out South Africa from winning. Fair play boss. Anyone for the last few sofafences now?!

Correct, I have covered ALL of the teams.

There are only FOUR teams in EVERY World Cup finals, the rest do not matter.

So why do we get people tipping Spain, Portugal(obviously a wind up) and stuff like that?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/12/2009 19:08:02    499809

patrique

Or how about I have USA for the basketball and you can have England? Sure what is a bit of history.

I'll have Puerto Rico.

WINNER - Sepp Blatter's bank manager link
RUNNER-UP - Jack Warner's bank manager link
EARLY EXIT - Fair play, honesty, respect link
NO-HOPERS - Normal South Africans link

Benandonner (Antrim) - Posts: 459 - 01/12/2009 19:35:56    499842

anyone thinking of going, a few aus lads i know are going, might be a bit of craic.

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 01/12/2009 21:03:47    499945

Winner-Spain
Dark Horses- Serbia
Giant Killers- England
Big name early exit- Argentina

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 01/12/2009 21:13:49    499965

JonSmith

History has a huge bearing on things. Massive.

Nope, Nocky is right, tradition means nothing.

It is just coincidence that New Zealand are useless at everything, but always have a good rugby team, Kerry at football, Kilkenny at hurling. Canada at ice hockey, Brazil at soccer, Australia at rugby league, and especially China at table tennis.

Sure I fancy Ireland to win the world table tennis in 2010.

Sure why not, what does tradition mean.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/12/2009 21:17:14    499974

imagine france actually won the world cup.

gaelic_life (Down) - Posts: 286 - 01/12/2009 21:19:04    499977

32 4 1 spain have better players than argentina you cannot possibly argue with that. well i suppose argentina has messi. yes that does make their other players a lot better

passerby (Tyrone) - Posts: 724 - 01/12/2009 21:49:34    500012

01/12/2009 21:03:47
dhorse
County: Laois

499945 anyone thinking of going, a few aus lads i know are going, might be a bit of craic.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/12/2009 22:32:04    500067

no they dont passerby. they are playing far better together than argentina as maradonnas a joke. their team chemistry is far better but argentina have far better individuals all around the field

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4168 - 01/12/2009 23:06:03    500108

32_4_1

no they dont passerby. they are playing far better together than argentina as maradonnas a joke. their team chemistry is far better but argentina have far better individuals all around the field

Correct. Get a manager and they could be in business, but at this stage it looks like the old firm of Brazil or Germany.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 01/12/2009 23:48:49    500172

and italy once world cup time comes around

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4168 - 01/12/2009 23:57:28    500191

32_4_1

and italy once world cup time comes around

My beloved Italy, supported by me for years, backed by me every cup since 1970. The only man who jumped up when that screamer went in in 1990.

But alas, I don't think they have it this time.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 02/12/2009 01:00:55    500249

Patrique. If Italy plays n. Ireland who do you support?

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 02/12/2009 10:29:01    500361