Many people I have spoke to thought Keane looked at bit unhinged at the Ipswich press conference. He had the mad staring crazy look of someone who is deeply unhappy and ill at ease with the world. He is obviously under pressure at Portman Road and that seemed to be the catalyst for his mad rant at EVERYONE who appeared to annoy him; the media, the FAI, Shay Given, mobile phones etc. Keane was a cracking player but he let himself down badly in Siapan in 2002 when he walked away, deserted and let down his country. Whatever his complaints, and they seemed to be genuine, the fact is that they were the same for everybody yet nobody else cut and ran.
Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 23/11/2009 00:20:02
why would people have a problem with him playing for utd? if he played for liverpool he'd still be a *****
anyway, i for 1 have no respect for him & couldnt care less about his opinion on anything.
bitter little man. BUILD A BRIDGE ROY
mac21 (Leitrim) - Posts: 677 - 23/11/2009 09:18:12
County: All Posts: 1453
490328 yew_tree County: Mayo Posts: 468
490247 roy keane is a clown - he walked out on his country in 02 and here he is kicking us when we are down again - a very sad individual he is, and not worth getting worked up over
Is that right....... I thought Mick McCarthy ran him.
chainsaw (Laois) - Posts: 712 - 23/11/2009 09:33:22
Fair play Roy. You called it as it is. Maybe bringing up Saipan was not needed but sure its no harm. Look I emailed on thursday for a replay but as the days went on it sounded really silly. Look at Wigans goal against Tottenham yesterday, player clearly handled the ball before scoring. Are Spurs looking for a replay? No.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 23/11/2009 10:22:50
Real Kerry Fan County: All Posts: 1841
491483 Fair play Roy. You called it as it is. Maybe bringing up Saipan was not needed but sure its no harm. Look I emailed on thursday for a replay but as the days went on it sounded really silly. Look at Wigans goal against Tottenham yesterday, player clearly handled the ball before scoring. Are Spurs looking for a replay? No.
Yeah but Spurs won 9-1. Stupid comment in fairness
ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 23/11/2009 11:32:18
See people saying Keane carried Ireland to the World Cup on his own wind yer necks in.
That was the best Ireland team in years if not ever. That side was packed full of quality and the people making the above claim are probably all fans of manchetser Reds.
CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 23/11/2009 12:05:33
Real Kerry Fan County: All Posts: 1841
491483 Fair play Roy. You called it as it is. Maybe bringing up Saipan was not needed but sure its no harm. Look I emailed on thursday for a replay but as the days went on it sounded really silly. Look at Wigans goal against Tottenham yesterday, player clearly handled the ball before scoring. Are Spurs looking for a replay? No.
hahahaha that is the funniest statement i have read on here in a long time. Please tell me you were only having a laugh.....please???
frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 23/11/2009 12:17:00
Anyone who says support for Keane is a Man Utd thing are simplfying it too much to suit their own ends. Its a shoddy argument to make.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12435 - 23/11/2009 12:28:38
breffni. Never supported Man. Utd. Never even liked them but I was always a great admirer of Roy Keane.
Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 23/11/2009 12:33:14
Is this the same Roy Keane who broke some lads leg deliberately ??
Don't think he broke Haalands leg, not for the want of trying ,but its a good point. He didnt move on or ''get over it'' he waited 4 years to deliberately nail Haaland, all because he stood over him and accused him of diving when he was injured on the ground. It was the most corwardly assault ive ever seen on a soccer field. He knew exactly what he was doing & didnt care in what state he left Haaland. He tries to create this aura & persona about himself that people are rapidly begining to see through.His word is not gospel regardless of what Keano lovers believe. The next Brian Robson in management. Watch this space.
sam57 (Louth) - Posts: 1502 - 23/11/2009 12:43:06
Exactly RKF. Liam is also in the Keane camp and he is neither from Cork or a Utd fan.
The McCarthy camp also has a number of vocal members who are also very liberal with the facts of the case.
The most important FACT with regard to the Saipan incident is that Mick McCarthy sent Roy Keane home from Saipan. Whether he was right or wrong to do this is where the opinion comes into it and obviously people are entitled to think what the want, but to say anything else is to unfairly cloud the debate.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12435 - 23/11/2009 12:45:37
Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 3271
490542 Is this the same Roy Keane who broke some lads leg deliberately ??
No. This the kind of misinformation that some people just love to gobble up and spout as fact. Roy Keane never broke any players leg, he was an agressive often dirty footballer but he never ended any players career. He's a bit like Mick McCarthy in that respect.
Slasher, like I've said a million times before, you are entitled to your opinion but you always seem to have an opinion on Man Utd related matters and unfortunately it is usually ill-informed. I politely request that you leave this discussion to people who know what they are talking about. Maybe you do, but your post above suggests otherwise as it contains a wildly inaccurate fact and a tell-tale reference to "some lad". Sorry.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12435 - 23/11/2009 12:57:16
Re Cavan Slasher, There was never any legs broke around the half acre by any chance.
Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 23/11/2009 14:16:43
The most important FACT with regard to the Saipan incident is that Mick McCarthy sent Roy Keane home from Saipan. Whether he was right or wrong to do this is where the opinion comes into it and obviously people are entitled to think what the want, but to say anything else is to unfairly cloud the debate.
Wrong Breffni39. The most important FACT is the reason(s) why he was sent home. The fact that McCarthy sent him home is irrelevant. There isn't a manager on this earth who would not have done the same thing.
Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 23/11/2009 16:49:13
Joxer County: Dublin Posts: 331
Wrong Breffni39. The most important FACT is the reason(s) why he was sent home. The fact that McCarthy sent him home is irrelevant. There isn't a manager on this earth who would not have done the same thing.
Is that not what I was saying Joxer? McCarthy sent him home, Keane did not walk. FACT. I agree McCarthy probably had no option in the circumstances, but Keane was right to make a stand against the farce that was Saipan. Although its also relevant to note that Raul fell out with his manager in the world cup and was not sent home. Mellberg and Ljungberg knocked lumps out of each other in training and neither were sent home.
My opinion is that both sides made huge mistakes in Saipan and we can discuss these all day. However to call Keane a traitor for walking out on his country is a disgraceful thing to say about anyone especially as it is based on a lie.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12435 - 23/11/2009 17:02:08
Breffni39, well did that lad he crippled play anymore football ?
Mulligan Eamon, Not with the same aggression you would get around your neck of the woods !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/11/2009 17:18:19
Sorry Joxer, not trying to suggest you were calling Keane a traitor as it appears. Others are.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12435 - 23/11/2009 17:25:17
Cavan_Slasher County: Cavan Posts: 3273
491961 Breffni39, well did that lad he crippled play anymore football ?
No, Roy Keane did not cripple "that lad" Alfe Inge Haaland. Haaland did retire due to injury not long after that incident however it was due to a persistant injury to the other knee - ie not the knee Keane connected with in the tackle.
This was proven in court as Haaland tried to sue Keane after Keane made the revelation in his book, he failed because it could not be proven that Keane's tackle ended his career.
These are the facts to the absolute best of my knowledge. I'm open to correction though by relevant information rather than questionable hearsay regarding an Ireland legend.
PS, I'm not trying to condone Keanes tackle on haaland by the way - it was a shocker.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12435 - 23/11/2009 17:33:21
fredrickwood County: Roscommon Posts: 1473
491368 Keano will always be a legend,Totally vindicated by the Genesis report,How convenient that many people chose to forget this.Have to laugh that people refer to McAteer gettin the goal against the Dutch,I was at this game and Keane was sensational,We would'nt have got within an Asses roar of 2002 World cup without him,Keano's problem in the eyes of the Irish people was that he played for Man U-hence all the bile about him on this thread.
Well said fred (right said fred!) That is another pertinant fact in all this. The genesis report, an independant and unbiased view on the whole farce, completely vindicated Roy Keane. Yet those who agree with his stance are labelled treacherous. You'd have to wonder sometimes why people's hatred for a foreign football team would override their respect for an Irish sporting legend. A man that did more for his country than most.
Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12435 - 23/11/2009 17:43:14
Breffni30, ok point taken !!
Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/11/2009 17:53:13