Dr.Shephard Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 21:29:58 489889 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/11/2009 21:33:44 489894 Link 0 |
Roy was right in a lot of his comments but should have left it at that. I was sick with the decision on wednesday night but on hindsight Ireland gained on very bad decisions also especially v Georgia. Some of the Irish players agreed in todays paper that they would have stayed dumb if the decision went their way.Henry's statement today is just a bit of pr for himself as he knows the game will not be replayed. We have to accept it and yes McShane should have a look at his defending also. Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 20/11/2009 21:47:38 489904 Link 0 |
By the way Dr.shepherd he carried Ireland to the world cup finals in 2002 despite a poor manager. Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 20/11/2009 21:48:56 489906 Link 0 |
patrique Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 21:54:03 489910 Link 0 |
well dell you know nothing about the FAI what would you know about the ins and outs of irish soccer you read the sun so think its true roy keane hates dublin but thats got to do with football reasons same with the fai , and tell me this what is a true irish man i am really interested to know hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/11/2009 21:54:33 489911 Link 0 |
hipster Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 22:05:05 489920 Link 0 |
If someone from another planet logged on to this thread he would know straight away which posters support Manchester United !! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/11/2009 22:08:55 489923 Link 0 |
Now one last thing on this yous go and achieve what roy keane has achieved and come back to me then folks till then well say nothing . Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 22:17:48 489931 Link 0 |
kean talked today about [get over it] this is rich coming from a fellow who bided his time before his assault of alfie haaland, he seems to have a problem getting over things himself, he is a bitter pathetic man in my opinion, how will the hoards of keane fans from the peoples republic react now to his rantings will they assume his moral high position, it will be a real dilema for some of them i think, millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 20/11/2009 22:24:38 489942 Link 0 |
Real Kerry Fan Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 20/11/2009 22:30:54 489950 Link 0 |
Dell Some good genuine posters on HS but as some of the comments show a hell of a lot of bitter partitionists who will try to deny Irish people in the North their heritage, culture and identity. I have been watching Ireland for nearly 30 years at Dalymount and Lansdowne and the Northern fans have always been an integral part of the Irish support. There is great banter at the games and never have I heard any disparaging remarks about 'Nordie' fans indeed real Irish fans don't ask where anyone is from on the island. In my experience the revisionist remarks of some on here are very much in the minority. Those who try to deny that should go and read a bit of the history of the island. Northern Catholics weren't just transplanted overnight from Mars; they are the descendants of the native Ulster Irish AND many who came North from the West and midlands of Ireland during the Industrial Revolution and the famine. We are as Irish an ANYONE in this island indeed we could claim to be the rock of Ireland as Ulster was always the most rebellious province against English rule, was the cradle of the Irish language and a mainstay of Irish traditional music, culture, learning and religion. Armagh is after all the senior diocese in BOTH Catholic and Church of England religions. That is why James and Elizabeth tried to subdue the province by planting 1000's of lowland Scots and Northern English in the 16th and 17th centuries. The English monarchy banned the Catholic religion, outlawed speaking in Irish and forbade the playing of Irish instruments. The ignorance of some on HS knows NO boundaries. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9822 - 20/11/2009 22:34:08 489953 Link 0 |
the bitterness is turning his hair grey and rendering him completely incapable of management. millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 20/11/2009 22:39:42 489957 Link 0 |
The guy's managerial career is fast becoming a farce as are his comments in pre match conferences. The problem is he actually thinks that he is still matters in the game. Bow out now Roy before you become the new david pleet. millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 20/11/2009 22:43:10 489962 Link 0 |
Patrique,you said you weren't interested in Rep Of Ireland so why don't you go off onto the Norn Iron forum's then !!!!!!!! Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 20/11/2009 22:50:25 489968 Link 0 |
I wouldn't be the biggest Roy Keane fan in the world, I despised him around the time of the whole Saipan saga, but grew to admire him again afterwards as a footballer. In fairness to him he has a point, as surely we must be all getting sick to death of these 'glorious Irish defeats', games we could and should have won, but invariably didn't. The 1-1 draw with Germany in the World Cup in 2002 is one example, the 1-1 draw with Spain is another, both games where we played the opposition off the park, but still ended up only drawing or in the case of the Spanish game losing on penalties. The fact of the matter is that we should have been at least two if not three nil up before the end of regular time, we missed a load of chances, and sadly paid for it, even if the French goal was blatantly offside, never mind the subsequent handball. Our rugby team used to be something similar, scores of 'glorious defeats' down through the years, whereas now they are a confident, talented team who expect to beat whoever they are playing, which thanfully finally ended up with a Grand Slam this year for the first time since 1948. Our football team needs to do likewise, while they are nowhere near as talented as the rugby team, they still showed on Wednesday that they are capable of playing one of the great footballing nations off the park, so going forward that is something they need to build and work on. gilly0512 (Galway) - Posts: 1176 - 21/11/2009 00:14:12 490010 Link 0 |
20/11/2009 20:25:04 nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 21/11/2009 01:04:27 490047 Link 0 |
Ulsterman County: Antrim Posts: 1344 489953 Dell Some good genuine posters on HS but as some of the comments show a hell of a lot of bitter partitionists who will try to deny Irish people in the North their heritage, culture and identity. I have been watching Ireland for nearly 30 years at Dalymount and Lansdowne and the Northern fans have always been an integral part of the Irish support Traitors. I mean, how could you let those ######## stand singing "there's only one team in Ireland" when most of them didn't even know what Ireland consisted off? They believed there were only 26 counties in Ireland, hadn't heard of us until that soccer match, abandoned us to face the might of Britannia and her empire for years. And you were with them? Shame on ye. I mean think of all the anti-Northern bias. At amateur boxing if a doctor produced a death certificate over your southern opponent you might have got a draw. In Gaelic football they hated Down for bringing Sam to the "Black North" as they call it, and this decade hated Armagh and Tyrone (hating Tyrone is understandable, where ever you are from) At hurling they refuse to foster hurling in Ulster just in case we start winning that as well, and Galway players call "Pinky" of Antrim and Ballycastle a "British B#####d" and when he retaliates he is sent off. In pages of horse racing threads here we get Kieran Fallon, John Oxx and Sea the Stars, when EVERYONE knows who Ireland's leading horseman is, but Tony McCoy is from the Black North so ignored, and scorn poured upon a man who has ridden more winners than the rest of Ireland's jockeys combined. The BIG news in Irish sport this week is can Rory McIlroy win the Order of Merit aged 20, but Rory is another Black Northerner so ignored. We here all the time about the great Munster rugby team winning Europe, and now Leinster equalling that. Who showed them HOW, in 1999? Now the strange thing about all of this is that you Ulsterman, and Dell and others, complain about anti-northern bias in the GAA, but you are supporting them against our brave lads, and joining them in laughing at our sports stars. As I said, when they were singing "there's only one team in Ireland" you were with them, like Quisling. On the other hand I was planning to forcible reclaim the 26 counties, thereby uniting the country while the idle feckers looked on in amazement. Once we have a united country, we can all get behind the soccer team, captained by Kyle Lafferty, and cheer and sing, and make our country proud. And Thierry Henry wouldn't DARE handle the ball against us, knowing that he was now up against hardened Irishmen. As I said, shame on you. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/11/2009 01:47:28 490054 Link 0 |
I have always held the view that Keane betrayed his country in Saipan, 2002, and even before that when he pulled out of the Iran play-off second leg feigning injury. The guy is a bully and no more Irish now than Terry Butcher. When he comes out with statements like "usual Irish" to a British interviewer that really says it all for me. Another statement of betrayal. Talk about re-enforcing that Irish stereotype of the bunch of dimwits who couldn't organise a game of subbuteo. Then he has the cheek to talk about the fans - having just insulted the nation!! Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 21/11/2009 12:16:23 490148 Link 0 |
Dellboypolecat Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4748 - 21/11/2009 12:29:33 490155 Link 0 |