Roy Keane

Roy never was up for a fight in his entire career, especially with Ireland.

He sold them out, they crawled back to him, sacked an excellent manager, who had represented Ireland with pride for years, made Kerr take him back, thereby undermining him.

The only thing Roy got right was that the FAI were idiots.

Knowing that, why did he GO TO SAIPAN? Was he an idiot as well?

He simply should have refused to go, shown a bit of courage like Stephen Ireland.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 20/11/2009 19:15:01    489741

he was a key player dell but he didnt carry us himself. there was plenty other good players on the team. but at the end of the day he walked out on the whole COUNTRY when we needed him most. disgraceful. and his comments today were even worse. and this is the same fella telling everyone else to get over saipan. if he isnt going to support HIS OWN country say nothing at all. he's turned half the country against himslef today and rightly so. he can stay accross the water because he's not wanted back here

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4171 - 20/11/2009 19:30:29    489760

patrique

He did not know the fia would stoop that low in a world cup giving them a car park to train on and bad hotels to stay in and the FAI stayed in top hotels.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 19:31:11    489762

"as the fai treat the dublin poeple better than the cork ones"

and you say im talking rubbish. haha good one

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4171 - 20/11/2009 19:31:46    489763

Dellboypolecat

489731 PJ

Well that is a dublin type statement as the fai treat the dublin poeple better than the cork ones and keane took ireland to world cup . FACT .

Who Scored the Goal that got Ireland to the World Cup, Hint It was'nt Juadas Keane, FACT!!!

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 20/11/2009 19:53:03    489786

PJ

If keane was not there in the team they would not have got that far .. FACT .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 20:09:03    489797

32_4_1

Answer this then why are they falling out with all the cork players from youth up then .. Go and do your homework.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 20:10:59    489799

the fai dont treat cork people any different to any other, there is 5 waterford players in the squad, if the cork players are good enough they will make it, dellboy you really dont have a clue if you think cork are been mistreated they have a major chip on both shoulders, ye boys from the north really make me laugh supporting the republic, ye have your own team to support, its really like some of these leinster people supporting munster at rugby, never be ashamed of where you are from ,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 20/11/2009 20:25:04    489817

Dellboypolecat

489797 PJ

If keane was not there in the team they would not have got that far .. FACT .

If the Team were not with Keane , keane would not have got that far, FACT.

PJ (None) - Posts: 2288 - 20/11/2009 20:32:18    489827

they are falling out with cork players , because of the attiude most cork people have thinking they are above everyone else and a major chip on their shoulder, how come the waterford lads have no gripe,

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 20/11/2009 20:33:19    489831

To me it's obvious that Roy Keane has no love for Ireland's soccer team or it's governing body the FAI. The question I ask myself is how can Ireland's former captain still hold so much animosity towards this nations soccer team and the only answer I can come up with is he does so merely because it is affiliated to the FAI.

During today's rant Roy Keane's made numerous criticisms about the Ireland team and the FAI he also singled out Shay Given and Paul McShane for criticism. He made reference to Ireland's performances through the world cup campaign and also referred to a penalty which was awarded to Ireland against Georgia.

At no time did Keane mention the Swedish referee or any of the other officials during his outburst his focus was clearly centered on the team and the FAI. I find it somewhat bazaar that Keane failed to partial any of the blame on the officials giving that he has in the past questioned the competence of certain individuals and what expectations should be giving the importance of what was at stake.

Roy Keane could have rowed in behind the team, the country it's supporters and the FAI today but he refused to do so. At one point today even the journalists were laughing at Keane which is a real shame.

I hope some day Roy you can let the past go however I wont be holding my breath.

BartleDoo (Monaghan) - Posts: 389 - 20/11/2009 20:38:44    489837

re. Patrique

Show a little courage like Stephen Ireland ??????????

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 20/11/2009 20:44:31    489841

millhouse

Am more irish than you after that staement so please do not reply to me again and i will not reply to you .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 20:45:12    489843

Must have stretched your brain to come up with that one Millhouse. I think your aptly named going by that statement. Way back to the Simpsons with ya

omaghredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 3656 - 20/11/2009 20:58:50    489856

the only people that have any time for keane are cork people and man utd supporters, most neutrals have no time for keane, dell i apologise i was out of order with that post

millhouse (Meath) - Posts: 892 - 20/11/2009 21:00:17    489857

patrique

489741 Roy never was up for a fight in his entire career, especially with Ireland.

He sold them out, they crawled back to him, sacked an excellent manager, who had represented Ireland with pride for years, made Kerr take him back, thereby undermining him.

The only thing Roy got right was that the FAI were idiots.

Knowing that, why did he GO TO SAIPAN? Was he an idiot as well?

He simply should have refused to go, shown a bit of courage like Stephen Ireland.

WUM

david09 (Kildare) - Posts: 115 - 20/11/2009 21:03:21    489860

Dellboypolecat

489588 Roy keane was irelands or one of there best players ever

Chris Morris, Alan Kernaghan

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 20/11/2009 21:11:09    489866

"ye boys from the north really make me laugh supporting the republic, ye have your own team to support"

with a comment like that millhouse you dont have a clue either

again why do you support GAA. they stand for 32 countys, one country. they dont acknowledge partition yet half the players playing GAA are west brits. it goes against everything the GAA was set up for

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4171 - 20/11/2009 21:13:39    489868

Roy was without doubt the best Irish player of his generation however he earned this title due to his performances for Man U.
Rarely did he play with the same passion,commitment and enthusism in the green shirt.
Im remember saying this to people in seats around me in Landsdowne on more than one occasion and most agreed with me.

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 20/11/2009 21:18:51    489874

millhouse

Yes you where out of order with that statement but your big enough to say sorry so i accept but please we went through alot in the north for been true irish men.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 20/11/2009 21:21:47    489879