The Future of Hurling is TYRONE:

Just have to say well done to all promoting hurling in Tyrone. Lory Meagher champions and now NCC are Ulster Junior Club Champions. WELL DONE!!!

By the way Dinny Cahill is managing Graigue-Ballycallan in Kilkenny.

Just wondering are NCC a senior or intermidiate club???

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1848 - 27/10/2009 17:06:58    467614

hurlingguru

NCC won the intermediate Tyrone c'ship and are then entered into junior level in Ulster.

Dungannon Eoghan Ruadh won the Tyrone senior and entered into Ulster intermediate. Unfortunatly we met a very strong St. Gall's team who will take stopping.

But good well done to the NCC lads, great achievment for any Tyrone club!

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 27/10/2009 17:22:22    467635

Thanks wise_guy. In Carlow our senior hurling champions enter the intermidiate grade aswel.

hurlingguru (Carlow) - Posts: 1848 - 27/10/2009 17:31:38    467648

John Boss the NCC manager is Frankie nixon, frankie has a great managment record wining championship and league doubles in football at u-14, u-16 and minor before switching to hurling a game he never played wining two intermediate championships, a division 2 league and an ulster intermediate title

fiannablue (Tyrone) - Posts: 326 - 27/10/2009 18:17:26    467702

trileacman County: Tyrone Posts: 692 Total paranoia. I start a thread PRAISING TYRONE and you are complaining? Now I didn't even read all of your post but noticed something about Club Tyrone. Do they give money to the development of Hurling, Yes or No?

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/10/2009 18:22:32    467709

Dungannon were unfortunate to come across a St Gall's team who have at least three Antrim County players and a few others who could make the county team if the desire was there. Inotice they won the final fairly handy as well. And just for TRILEAC. I agree your first post was silly, you did it simply because I started the thread. Also I have some news for you. In Antrim, HURLING is a VERY POOR SECOND to football when it comes to support, both from fans and the county board. Not too long since "Ginty" broke into the store room at Casement to liberate kit bags for the hurlers. So that is something else you got wrong. And all supporters clubs, Antrim, Kerry, Mayo Tyrone and such are MOSTLY made up of businessmen who want to be associated with winners for advertising purposes. So my comment was a dig at capitalism. not Club Tyrone per se.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/10/2009 18:34:02    467725

no doubt Patrique, St Gall's are a well organised team, very fit and skillfull.

also, how many of them lads would have been on the football team which played the club final.?

wise_guy (Tyrone) - Posts: 1584 - 27/10/2009 19:21:27    467792

wise_guy

no doubt Patrique, St Gall's are a well organised team, very fit and skillfull.

also, how many of them lads would have been on the football team which played the club final.?

There are about 8 current dual players starting on both teams. But Carl Stewart, who was the footballer's leading scorer in their run to the all Ireland was Antrim's leading scorer on the hurling last year, and no longer starts on the St Gall's football team.

But all 3 McGourty's, Carl Stewart, and a few others have hurled for the county. St Gall's historically were great at hurling to minor level, before they all turned to football.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/10/2009 20:15:00    467862

So my comment was a dig at capitalism. not Club Tyrone per se.

Sure it was. Jesus at least have the b@lls to stand up for what you said rather than making excuse.

You didnt answer the kilkenny question either.

As for Club Tyrone, i'll admit to not knowing where their money goes precisely.

trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 27/10/2009 20:43:29    467902

Can't believe we are having a decent disscussion on the main page about Tyrone hurling. This would not happen on the Tyrone page. Well done to NCC and well done to Dungannon. Dungannon hurled well for the first thirty minutes against St Galls but fitness and frankly the better team won in the end. To answer a few questions here about Tyrone hurling. I do not believe anywhere near enough is being done to promote hurling either by the County board or the football clubs. Things are getting better because of the work of a small bunch. Simple things like children wearing helmets helped promote our game in this football mad County. Parents seen the safety element and were happy to send their children to hurling. As for Patrique, all your doubts about CLUB football TYRONE are true. They have done absolutely nothing for hurling. I joined its previous life, the Millenium fund in the nineties, but stopped after one year when I seen how they were going to treat hurling. I haven't given them a penny since. I will however pay towards the Garvaghy project because this should help hurling. Even Tyrone will have to give one of their six fields to hurling

26plus6equals1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 430 - 27/10/2009 21:30:09    467955

Like I said, Tyrone are the no 1 hurling county in Ulster in 2009.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 27/10/2009 22:06:20    467983

trileacman County: Tyrone Posts: 694 Football rules in Tyrone the same as Hurling does in Kilkenny, however where is "Kilkenny neglect football" by Patrique thread? I dont see you having any cheap digs at them, wonder why? I hadn't actually seen this, and I have a confession to make, which makes me look petty and cheap, in some eyes. When I was praising Tyrone hurlers I thought "some eejit will come on and ask about "how come Kilkenny do not promote football". I thought I will just leave it, because no-one from Tyrone is going to think that. However Trileac, you have asked the question. My reply is "Where is my thread "TYRONE neglect FOOTBALL". You see to say that Kilkenny specialise in hurling, and Tyrone do likewise in football, is to leave Tyrone open to ridicule. Kilkenny have won 32 senior, 9 U21 and 19 minor All Ireland titles, a grand total of 69 all Ireland titles. Throw in 14 league titles, and 164 Leinster titles (nearly as impressive as Antrim that) and yes, Kilkenny do SPECIALISE in hurling. Tyrone have 3 senior, 4 U21 and 7 minor titles, totalling 14 all Ireland's, 2 leagues and 46 Ulster titles. All very commendable but not a good comparator to Kilkenny. That is why I never mentioned Kilkenny. Just learn to love me. Did I ever tell you about my hurling career playing for TYRONE...............

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 27/10/2009 22:13:12    467990

re:duffy89 whats the bettin the lads who coached that Tyrone club to Ulster Junior victory ain't actually from Tyrone but from a stronger hurling county,happens all the time a team up in Ulster does well,eg.Nicky English,Dinny Cahill

as a coach with NCC we have never had a coach from outside tyrone all our coaches are locals. our Ulster final win is like a fairytale for us we started 23 years ago from scratch with 7 lads meeting in a football club changing room we had no equipment no players nothing but a love of the game and a determination to suceed. throughout out the years we have made several trips with various squads u-12s up to the senior side down to tallow in County Waterford for coaching weekends with the great NED POWER R.I.P. the most recent 2 years ago when the minor team went down and ended a great weekend by beating Dennis walshs club ST Catherines in a very compettive encounter. these trips would take place approx once every four years or so. Our club has the attiude of no matter who they are playing they are going out there to fight for every sliothar and that will be shown again in the all Ireland semi where once again we will be told we have no chance and once again we will fight hell for leather to prove that belief to be wrong.

ANTISCRAPPYDOO (Tyrone) - Posts: 11 - 28/10/2009 07:49:42    468157

re. to ANTISCRAPPYDOO

27/10/2009 15:09:34
Duffy89
County: Wexford

467443 I stand corrected lad's,fair play to them if it was a Coalisland man,and I also mean't to say Justin McCarthy,not Nicky English

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 28/10/2009 18:53:44    468887

It is actually great to see that Naomh Colum Cille has sparked this conversation!! We are club who have battled hard for many years to where we are now!! From the days of finding players, places to train, referees not turning up. To now where we own our own special little park in clog that proudly houses a series of cups now mainly an ulster title. The club itself is always on the look out for fresh faces and maybe more importantly fresh hands to help raise the profile of hurling in the county. Congratulations to all and rember its not over yet!! Belief and harwork took us to an ulster final, So lets get back at it again and rember we have a county title to contend for too.

CillesAbu (Tyrone) - Posts: 9 - 28/10/2009 18:57:27    468889

Fair play to all involved in tyrone hurling, the great work of the few paying off

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 28/10/2009 20:11:30    468978

ANTISCRAPPYDOO County: Tyrone Posts: 1 468157 re:duffy89 whats the bettin the lads who coached that Tyrone club to Ulster Junior victory ain't actually from Tyrone but from a stronger hurling county,happens all the time a team up in Ulster does well,eg.Nicky English,Dinny Cahill as a coach with NCC we have never had a coach from outside tyrone all our coaches are locals. our Ulster final win is like a fairytale for us we started 23 years ago from scratch with 7 lads meeting in a football club changing room we had no equipment no players nothing but a love of the game and a determination to suceed. throughout out the years we have made several trips with various squads u-12s up to the senior side down to tallow in County Waterford for coaching weekends with the great NED POWER R.I.P. the most recent 2 years ago when the minor team went down and ended a great weekend by beating Dennis walshs club ST Catherines in a very compettive encounter. these trips would take place approx once every four years or so. Our club has the attiude of no matter who they are playing they are going out there to fight for every sliothar and that will be shown again in the all Ireland semi where once again we will be told we have no chance and once again we will fight hell for leather to prove that belief to be wrong. CillesAbu County: Tyrone Posts: 1 468889 It is actually great to see that Naomh Colum Cille has sparked this conversation!! We are club who have battled hard for many years to where we are now!! From the days of finding players, places to train, referees not turning up. To now where we own our own special little park in clog that proudly houses a series of cups now mainly an ulster title. The club itself is always on the look out for fresh faces and maybe more importantly fresh hands to help raise the profile of hurling in the county. Congratulations to all and rember its not over yet!! Belief and harwork took us to an ulster final, So lets get back at it again and rember we have a county title to contend for too. Two GREAT posts and This is what the GAA is all about. Yes, fair play on the all Ireland wins and the great football team of this decade, but stories like this are every bit as important. And as a hurling man, or hurling snob as Trileac says, I put more store in this. As someone who gets much (deserved) stick from Tyrone posters I am proud to have started this thread. When I say I look forward to the day that Tyrone are winning Ulster SENIOR titles I am being serious, because it is only when we have strong teams in Ulster that Antrim can improve. Heartfelt congratulations once again.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 28/10/2009 23:18:23    469208

How may clubs currently put out a senior team? To my knowledge the established teams are Dungannon, Carrickmore (who now put out a B team also), Naomh Colmcille and Strabane.

I know Omagh and Capagh Gaels (Killyclogher) have tried to reform teams recently and there there are maybe youth teams forming in Fintona, Dromore and Greencastle. Any others I dont know off?

Would be nice to see a healthy amount of teams by the end of the next decade, perhaps 10 or so would be achievable, and maybe even with a few winners outside the big two of Dungannon and Carrickmore.

Goodfella, Tir (None) - Posts: 1652 - 29/10/2009 09:40:20    469398

Well sure just keep on tickin along and who knows where you'll end up!!

gaamad1996 (Wexford) - Posts: 439 - 29/10/2009 11:24:20    469501

patrique many thanks for the congrats very much appreciated.
many of the hurling clubs will tell you the county board has changed its attitude to hurling over the last few years in a good way but there is still some on the board who seem to see hurling as almost a "foreign game" there has been a fairly big effort to promote it at youth level and if these teams continue to come up through the grades then we will have a 10 or more teams in tyrone league at senior level.
There are very strong links with tyrone footballers and the Kilkenny Hurlers just look at the way Kilkenny defend over the last 2 years that is no accident Mickey Harte and several high profile footballers has been down several times with the cats and Brian cody and a few players have been has been up here on a return trip to the Tyrone inter county panel.
To the Wexford man.
After wexford won their last All Ireland Liam griffin was asked would he like to be back next year to retain the Liam mc Carthy? and he replied that he would rather see a weaker county like an Antrim or a down win it and he would go anywhere in the country to promote that view. We took him up on that offer and invited him to our dinner dance and a few coaching sessions which Liam kindly accepted and a lot of what he showed that weekend is still drilled into the youth of our club.

ANTISCRAPPYDOO (Tyrone) - Posts: 11 - 29/10/2009 18:48:28    470044