Ghost Stories

Weekend before we went back to school me and my friends had a sleepover. 13 of us out in one of the girls' backgardens in a tent, in the pouring rain. We were all having a bit of craic, telling ghost stories and stuff. Then we started talking about wigi (or luigi as some people called it) boards. So some people were telling stories and stuff so we all got a bit jumpy. It was really windy outside so there was loads of banging and noises like that. We were all sitting round in a circle listening to a story then BANG! Someone jumps up against the side of the tent. We all almost wet ourselves we were that scared. Then we heard someone crashing against the other side of the tent and screaming. We really were all terrified. So one brave girl went out to see what it was, armed with a can of spray on deoderant. We were all there shaking, listening to what was going on outside. We heard another scream and someone laughing their head off. So we all got out to see what was happening. We saw my friends twin brother holding his eyes and three of his mates there roaring laughing. Good times!

Royal_Girl2k9 (Meath) - Posts: 2107 - 14/10/2009 16:27:27    454416

Me an the girlfriend had an experince of a spirit in Thornhill outside Sterling in Scotland, that was almost 4 weeks ago come this weekend. I swear i never wana experince anything like it again. . .

allstar4 (Donegal) - Posts: 558 - 15/10/2009 16:18:46    455515

BOO *(ahh)

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 15/10/2009 16:32:15    455535

Fr.Noel Furlong:God it's 5 o clock,it's time we all............................................told a few ghost stories!

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 15/10/2009 17:34:44    455634

Im gonna help you out there Jackeen with a personal story, My story is at the level crossing gates at Deey bridge over the Royal canal Leixlip across from Intel. Anyway, I used to work weekends in Intel when I was a student around 1998 times. Used to be up at 6am to cycle there. Now, where I used to cycle from I had to cross the Royal Canal and the railway line there on the way and it was along a very quiet lane with grass running up the middle that led down to the level crossing gates. About a mile from the gates I would hear the train going to Dublin from maynooth at the same place for years! (you know the way you have a routine and you could set your clock by certain things you are used too!). Now, along this quiet track to the level crossing I had never seen a person in my 4 years cycling and at 7am was the only one on these tracks/roads! Back then a gatekeeper would come out of his house (now boarded up, automatic gates now) open the crossing for cars if you got out of the car and ring the bell (thats how quiet the road/track was). So, when I came along on my bike down the track my routine was: Lift my bike over the first gate onto the track, Walk through the turnstile, Push my bike across the tracks, Lift bike over the second gate, Walk through second turnstile, Cycle away over Deey Bridge! This one dark morning as I came down the lane and prepared to jump off the bike I seen a person at the turnstile come through! I got a shock as I came towards him as never in 4 years had I ever met anyone there and wondered "Who would be in this Godforsaken place at this time of morning?" (especially going towards the countryside rather than to the lights of Intel just beyond etc!) To be honest, the worst jumped into my mind like I had cought a lad 'dumping' something or the likes so I was really on edge as I pulled up yards from him at the crossing gate! We never spoke a word to each other but I kept him in the corner of my eye all the time so I could be ready and not surprised if he made any move! He moved away as I went to walk through the turnstile to trackside and went for my bike! I was relieved! As I grabbed the handlebars of my bike to wheel it across the tracks to the other gate the person said something to me!! What exactly he said, I will never know, but it was a subtle warning along the lines of "Watch yerself there!" Not really hearing what he said (cold winter morning in the dark with my cap pulled down on my ears and nervous of this lad) I turned to him and said ...."WHAT!?" At that instant a Dublin bound train coming from Maynooth flew past me and stuck me to the gates with shock and fear avoiding the thing! Took my breath away! Once it passed I unpeeled myself from the gate turned around and there was no sign of anyone there! The strange thing is that when it happened I didnt really think anything of it just that it was strange, but I never even told the lads when I got to work or anything. In fact it was about 5 years later when I actually started to think about it (after some tragic events on the tracks nearby station) and I told my family and they were in awe! contd....

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/10/2009 01:41:17    463775

....contd The mother reckons it was my guardian angel and I am very lucky! I said to her, why would a guardian angel put you in jeopardy in the first place and then save you?? She said: "You were always going to be crossing those tracks at that time anyway!"......and therein lies the crux of the thing when I started to think about it! 1. Just like a train timetable I was always in the same area on my bike when I would hear the train blow leaving maynooth, yet this morning it must have been late or just a different train!....I dunno! 2. The train as it came on me when I said "WHAT" made no sound at all! Subsequently realised it was 'freewheeling' into Louisa Station Leixlip! (Ever hear a train freewheel?.....such a huge machine but it makes 'NO' sound!) The mother is right. Thinking that there was never a train seen as I arrived at the same time for 4 years at the tracks at 7am I certainly would have wheeled my bike across the tracks and been hit! Furthermore, no horn blew from the train to warn me! My life was saved by a person who vanished as soon as he saved it (unless he can walk 100m in 5 seconds). Anyway, beware of freewheeling trains and always expect the unexpected and never be complacent! By the way in 1798 passengers on a barge on the (not long opened) canal drowned at Deey bridge, so who knows! There ya Go! Regards, Snufalufagus....Laochra Gael

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/10/2009 01:42:30    463776

Well Jackeen, did you like my story there?

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/10/2009 14:20:15    464232

Ah good old Snuffy !! If you had one post less i might have believed the thing about the drownings in 1798 as it would have been some coincidence!! It was probably some Meath train driver who knew you were passing at that time and turned off the engine intending to give you dirty pair of trousers !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 23/10/2009 14:47:58    464273

Slasher,

"If you had one post less i might have believed the thing about the drownings in 1798 as it would have been some coincidence!!"

What do you mean? I googled the area to see if anyone had ever been killed at that spot when I eventually took an interest in what had happened to me years later and it was then that I found out about the canal tragedy!
Google, Deey bridge royal canal 1798 or something to that effect yerself and see what you get!
It doesnt matter to me if you dont believe me, sure as I said in the story, I couldnt have cared less myself either but it happened and thats it I suppose!
Anyway....!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 23/10/2009 16:17:53    464371