Hurling dream team this year from Louth club teams

re- GAA PLAYER... I have seen st. feckins play 3 times this season and never once has this (full back) and never once have i noticed him... No matter how bad a team is a player worthy of playing for there county will always shine, and feckins are so poor in my opinion im sure id of recognised him as its very easy to pick the quality amoung weak teams or the best from each team i.e diarmuid murphy, david dunne, ronan byrne, shane callan, gerrard smyth, john o brien football, aaron hoey, brian white, keenan etc etc etc... this guy has never stood out at all amoung a very ordinary team and you want to make him an inter-county player????? well as far as I am aware there were 2 trials held for the county team last year, was he there and not picked???? Because i believe there were feckins players there and all fell short of the level required

clancy (Louth) - Posts: 31 - 24/09/2009 09:57:39    434997

Not from this years championship in my opinion... johnny and aidan carter are 2 of the best hurlers in louth and have been for many years, and maybe the 2 coyles if they bothered playing but with johnny injured and a weak half back line aidan is just too exposed this year in the champ and did,nt play well, although its not his fault he did wat he cud... with more support like at county level aidan continues to be a rock at full back..

clancy (Louth) - Posts: 31 - 24/09/2009 10:02:37    435003

my revised team for the season and why... 1. brendan mc nally (knockbridge, only conceeded 1 goal all championship and great saves against moninne and pearse og) 2. mark wallace (knockbridge, fast, good touch and attacks the ball) 3. aidan carter (wolfe tones, A rock at centre back, great catch and long drive) 4. donal mc ardle (pearse og, great season, fit and fast and battles for every ball) 5. conor kerrigan (knockbridge, played well all season, attacks the ball, kept a championship clean sheet) 6. Ronan byrne (knockbridge) great catch, reads the game perfectly, great season) 7. Adrian wallace (knockbridge) gud season, kept a clean sheet through out the championship) 8. David dunne (knockbridge) still the counties best hurler and easy to see why) 9. Shane callan (pearse og) great player, fit, fast, great strike pearse ogs best) 10. Shane kennedy (knockbridge) best season in years, great young player who can play anywer) 11. Diarmuid murphy (moninne) controls each game to suit him, great reader of the game and great strike) 12. gary reailis (mattock) great heart and fighting spirit, hassles 4 each ball) 13. gavin kerrigan (knockbridge) great season, man of the match in final with 2-3 14. donnack callan (pearse og) fit fast, tough ta mark or hook) 15. david kettle (knockbridge) playin well, great ability, strong and good catch)

clancy (Louth) - Posts: 31 - 24/09/2009 10:31:20    435029

i'll correct you there setanta's son aiden carter scored 1-6 against devlin in the championship while only being able to barely run so yeah id say devlin would be a super asset to county hurlers this year!

the big fella (None) - Posts: 35 - 24/09/2009 14:06:22    435273

Thank god at last someone has mentioned Benny McNally from Knockbridge! Had very little to do in the final but the 2 possible goal chances he dealt with superbly! And he pulled of some impressive saves in the group matches. He may not puck the ball a mile but he is very very accurate - 2 of his puck outs directly resulted in goals in the final too as he put the puck outs on a plate for S Kennedy (who fielded him well). Only for his dodgy hip he would be a great outfield forward (savage at under-age in the half forward line).

As for the best hurler in the county? Ronan Byrne by an absolute COUNTRY MILE..................

EmmetsFlyer (Louth) - Posts: 4 - 26/09/2009 22:01:31    437405

Barry devlin has definately become one of the most impressive backs in the county-hes probably feckins best player at the moment. not sure if hes in the top 6 backs in the county when you consider what kb alone have but he will be close to it over the coming years

blackandred5 (Louth) - Posts: 8 - 28/09/2009 09:33:50    438263

Padraig Mullholland came off the bench for moninne an scored 2-1in the space of 15 minutes off barry delvin an in my view if barry is fit enough for the county panel mullholland shouldnt have scored that much because he can barley run! so this lad isnt as good as a lot of ye think.

GaaFan125 (Louth) - Posts: 6 - 28/09/2009 18:00:29    438956

black and red5

i've seen da feckins play twice this year,and this barry devlin never stood out,he could wel be there best player
but it wouldn't be hard,there's subs on every other club team who would be heroes if they played wit da feckins!!!!!!!
in my opinion if you can strike da ball well you'd automatically be in there top 5..

luhurl (Louth) - Posts: 13 - 28/09/2009 20:21:22    439117

GAAFAN125
Joe kennedy also scored 2-1 before mullholland came on for him an hes no spring chicken himself!

hurlingfan1 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 28/09/2009 20:45:46    439139

Think devlin is up and coming player along with the fechins.alot of you guys very critical of the fechs.maybe its jealously cos they have the best underage setup n the county for hurling along with the best facilites and when it comes it'll be there for a long time.half the hurling clubs in louth dont have there own grounds

ally_moo (Louth) - Posts: 9 - 29/09/2009 21:29:36    440328

for the lads commentin on moinne game against feckins... they played for 50 minutes with 13 players so anyone could have had a great game that day they had so much free space. and carter scored 0-5 from frees too

setantas-son (Louth) - Posts: 139 - 30/09/2009 22:22:41    441471