Championship Refs

Any one any comment to make after a full round of senior and intermediate championship this weekend. Heard some were excellent and some were crap, wasnt at any game as im stuck in Boston so just wondering !

wicklowrover (Wicklow) - Posts: 31 - 09/08/2009 22:41:46    385330

They were as brutal as they always are. Nothing is going to change by accident. How often are these referees re-trained? I would say never. A little birdie told me that when the wicklow referees were supposed to attend =a refresher course on the rules and fitness testing, only about one or two actually turned up. A farce.

mick_wick (Wicklow) - Posts: 45 - 10/08/2009 10:54:22    385710

St Pats v Holywood - Thought Kiltegan Ref didn't give St Pats too much - maybe "payback" for St Pat's Ref sending off Seanie Furlong. Interesting also, this Kiltegan Ref had Tinahely Umpires, with St Pats playing Tinahely next week.

wicklowrunner (Wicklow) - Posts: 637 - 10/08/2009 11:19:15    385747

wicklowrunner, i would well believe it. what about the ref in the second match in Aughrim and the two saturday night, and the ones in arklow?

wicklowrover (Wicklow) - Posts: 31 - 10/08/2009 14:53:55    386172

The Ref in the Balto/Bray game did OK - let some hard tackles go - but was consistent!
Wasn't at the others!
Also 1 of the linesemen didn't turn up for the x2 header in Aughrim on Sun.

wicklowrunner (Wicklow) - Posts: 637 - 10/08/2009 15:02:42    386187

Any one know whos refing this week?

wicklowrover (Wicklow) - Posts: 31 - 11/08/2009 14:22:08    387773

Newtown v Kiltegan - Newtown Referee Pat Dunne
Stratford v Shillelagh- Stratford Referee Eddie Craul
AGB v Bray - Bray Referee Liam Cullen
Balto v Blessington- Balto Referee Jonathon Doyle
Hollywood v Carnew- Carnew Referee Garret Whelan
St Pats v Tinahely- St Pats Referee Judy Keogh
Rathnew v An Tochar- Rathnew Referee Damien Byrne
Coolkenno v Donard- Draw Referee Declan Greene

All referees and fixtures can be found on www.wicklowgaa.ie

Monopoly (Wicklow) - Posts: 199 - 12/08/2009 10:00:17    389063

Any updates on the preformances this week on the refs. Heard the ones on Friday and Saturday were brutal

wicklowrover (Wicklow) - Posts: 31 - 16/08/2009 15:01:45    393681

Refs,,, this weekend.. Kiltegan were very annoyed about the Newtown peno given by the ref in the 3rd.min of Injury time....For his sake gladly the player missed it / saved by Keeper. He would have been in serious trouble ... Pats v Tinahely, some very bad tackles were made on players and no yellow cards were issued + there was a dispute with 2 umpires over a St.Pats point that was eventually dissallowed by the Ref... Both Blesso v Balto and the Carnew v Hollywood games both refs...Doyle & Whelan did ok... there were no flash points or serious incidents to deal with. Pats, Balto, Rathnew are now throught to the quarter finals.... all 3 on 4 points... Gone are An Tochar for deffo.... Carnew would appear to be gone too too - they could get onto 3 points if they beat St.Pats , but thats unlikely... Hollywood v Tinahely is a straight knock out now - winner will get into Q/Finals... Group 1 is tight - all 4 are on 2 points - but Kiltegan are +2 with Shillelagh,Newtown,and Stratford all - 1 Last Round is Kiltegan v Shillelagh and Stratford v Newtown Group 4 will see Coolkenno through if the beat D/Glen in the re-fixture...

forcus (Wicklow) - Posts: 279 - 17/08/2009 00:24:34    394058

Dunlavin v Bray on Friday evening - Dunlavin 2.21 - Bray Emts.2.10
Did'nt see anything wrong with the Ref....in this game..
He was well in control + he arrived with 4 umpires with him too -
1 black mark - there were no official linesmen present at the game......this seemed strange as linesmen were at all other games this weekend.

forcus (Wicklow) - Posts: 279 - 17/08/2009 01:39:36    394093

After Yesterdays Performance, Pat Keogh shouldn't be allowed to Ref again.
Players got Physically hurt - No Bookings/Cautions and in some instances not even a Free.
Paul Earls was fouled in Big Square (between 13m Line and small square) - A Free was awarded - Pat doesn't know the Rules - this should have been a penalty -
Playing Rules of Football 2.2 (i) In the case of fouls by a defending player within the rectangles, the following shall apply:
A penalty kick shall be awarded for an Aggressive Foul within the large rectangle or any foul within the small rectangle (any other fouls refers to technical fouls eg Thrown Ball/Pick Up Off Ground/overcarry etc)

wicklowrunner (Wicklow) - Posts: 637 - 17/08/2009 15:25:21    394542

The Refs in the games in Arklow were very poor as well particulary in the first one Roundwood were fighting for survival and it showed some of their challenges were downright dangerous Rathnews Stafford was knocked out with a deliberate uppercut in front of Ref a red card offence,and he never even got a free and the Ref looked away over weight and was to far off the play to many times.

pistelero (Wicklow) - Posts: 1719 - 17/08/2009 16:14:23    394632

I repeat....."Nothing is going to change by accident. How often are these referees re-trained? "

mick_wick (Wicklow) - Posts: 45 - 17/08/2009 17:19:08    394721

Am sick of listening to all the crap about Referee's. How many people that are posting comments on this site, have ever refereed a match never mind sat the exam. Every Ref in the county has had to sit an exam and if they dont pass they are not allowed to ref. Every one seems to be an expert on refereeing and yet there is such a shortage of people taking up the whistle in the county. Some of the old guys should be forced to hang up there boots. Kenny For the Senior Final, Whelan for the Intermediate, Doyle for the Junior A, Keogh for the Junior B, Byrne for the Minor. Also I hear we are not the only club to have informed the county board that we will be unable to fullfill any fixture if a ceratin referee is appointed to do any of our matchs, i hear kiltegan and glenealy are the same. Any way best of luck to all the refs except the ones that should be calling it a day Senior Hurling Liam Keenan, Intermediate hurling John Keenan, Junior A Hurling Jimmy Kelly Junior B Hurling Vincent Duffy Hope fully thats who gets all the finals this year, Any one disagree?

the_ref (Wicklow) - Posts: 32 - 17/08/2009 22:49:17    395027

The_Ref, Lucky that Rule 2.2 wasn't on the Exam then otherwise Pat Keogh would have got it wrong.

PS. I have reffed and past the Exams.

wicklowrunner (Wicklow) - Posts: 637 - 18/08/2009 09:01:27    395246

"PS. I have reffed and past the Exams."

WicklowRunner, lucky it wasn't a grammar test or else you wouldn't have PASSED :)

RedRag (Wicklow) - Posts: 31 - 18/08/2009 10:42:31    395333

Fair play to referees....how they can take the slack is beyond me. Without them we'd have no games to play. However, the question still stands, and maybe some of the referees on this forum can give me an honest answer - How often are wicklow referees re-trained by the county board Is there a fitness test every year? Or is it a case of you can pass the exam in your twenties and referee into your 60's? if that is the case, it should be changed, because clearly there is a problem with refereeing standards in Wicklow. It's what Wicklow are famous for, for God's sake.

mick_wick (Wicklow) - Posts: 45 - 18/08/2009 10:47:18    395338

It's gas the way people on this site keep posting messages about the standard of Ref's on this site.
Surley, if your dispondent with the standards, you should consider some of your own Club members, young lads or ex -players to
put their names forward and take up the whistle.
Its a bit like the bloke giving out about the Government in place - and when an election comes up , he's does not bother to vote...
Therefore he has no right to give out about the Government,as he did not exercise his vote.
Games must go ahead, Ref's must be in attendance to officiate at them - Yes !! I certainly agree that some Ref's.. make bad errors,bad calls - but
this is a fact of life - The Ref & the Linesmen in the recent Meath/Mayo came made a few howlers & at that level it was costly.

If we had no ref's especially at Juvenile level, many games would not be played, and at this level this is the blood line of all Clubs..
An idea would for Club to have their own level headed official in the stabd at games - If he/she saw an incident that was not acted upon by a referee,
it could be written down in a special format sheet & highlighted...This could be sent into the Co.Board Office and passed over to the Referee Co-Ordinator.
He would then speak to the Referee about the incident & maybe some clarification could be given about an incident or incidents.

Yes !! Referees are answerable for their actions , once they have filed their report -
Lets work with Referee's rather than spend hours online bashing them -

God knows, good or bad - if there was no referees, none of us would be on here posting message,,, about Micko,Tommy Walsh ect.......

forcus (Wicklow) - Posts: 279 - 18/08/2009 11:39:49    395393

just to say in relation to the refereeing at the weekend i was at both games in aughrim on the saturday and thought both refs had good games. the ref in the blesso v balto game in particular seemed to be well up to the pace of the game and was fair throughout. all u can ask for really. jonathan doyle i think was his name?

ww1 (Wicklow) - Posts: 1 - 18/08/2009 11:45:23    395402

There are a few bad refs in the county at the moment , but every one of them should not be tarnished with the same brush. has anyone any suggestions on any refs in the county for inter county games. I suggest Judy

the_ref (Wicklow) - Posts: 32 - 18/08/2009 13:21:37    395560