Ye can keep this website lads, ye are welcome to it

Are you still leaving :(

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 04/08/2009 17:08:31    377363

Liam. We should be used to this by now, and a bid if banter is a bit of banter. Your worse paying any heed to hit.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/08/2009 17:10:05    377366

Well said PearsePark, well said. What goes around, comes around guys.

Burca (Galway) - Posts: 346 - 04/08/2009 17:15:42    377382

Liam, it's always tough when your county bows out of the Championship and the hurt inevitably stays with your for a day or two. Every county has it's slabbers - my own included (Tyrone), and the Dubs def have got a bad touch in the last couple of days, but hang in there mucker! I have written here before about how much atmosphere the Dubs bring to Croke Park. I've been lucky enough to experience it in the League and Championship over the last no of yrs. It's def something special! Perhaps some of the begrudgers are a little bit jealous of the colour and spectacle you bring to our sport.

Give yourself a few days off and then some back with your head (and your Dublin flag) held high.

Baile Atha Cliath abu!

ClonoeExile (Tyrone) - Posts: 55 - 04/08/2009 17:52:34    377455

Specially for Liamo http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_oM9iUApKU

Squid

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 04/08/2009 17:57:12    377462

liamo don't let the bullys win out remember your a walkinstown man.they dont get pushed around remember its only small boys from the country rise above it --- Attitudes like this make me very angry.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2009 18:09:16    377486

Liam hoganstand would miss ye while! Your one of the best posters,

Baby you dont have to go away dont think I can take the pain, Wont you stay another day (stay now stay now)

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 04/08/2009 18:34:21    377525

I did not see where those words were used. If they were whoever used them should be ashamed. These boards are for debate and a bit of good natured slagging and we all get it from time to time. There is something you all should realise, it is impossible to hate something or someone that you do not know personally. The other words should not be used at all !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 04/08/2009 18:35:44    377527

yawn. we never cry when us northerns get slagged on this site or when were at croker! An antrim man i work with was at the hurley in croker this year an the abuse he got from so called Dub fans was shocking!!

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 04/08/2009 18:49:50    377545

Liam
I only have access to a computer in the evening so I missed a lot of the posts you are referring to. However I did see some of the bile that was posted here yesterday. Unfortunately some people have short memories and quickly forget how heartbreaking it is to have your belief shattered especially when you know deep in your heart that the team are much better than that performance. The people who spewed the vitriol you refer to are not Gaels and this Message board does not belong to them but to the true gaels who are to numerous to mention. I along with all the other true Gaels would ask you to remain because when the passion of the Championshiip has ended then the Board will once again belong to the Gaels as the peddlars of vitriol will have gone onto some other victim to spew their bile. The lower minded posters do not have the love for our great association to see that we express our culture and heritage through our sport and although we are parochial in our support we are national in our appreciation of it. So I ask you to remain and I look forward to disageeing with you in the future along with all the other true Gaels. Baile atha Cliath Abu (next year)

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 04/08/2009 18:50:48    377547

Liamwalkinstown

376366 Admin, u may not wish to post this thread, but in the interest of fairness and repsect I would appreciate if you did, and please, i have been a long time member on here and if you have loyalty to your long term member, please print this in full and dont change the Topic Headline.
I came in here today expecting the slagging, expecting the bit of banter and prepared for it. What did I see?
The following words used time and time again. Scum, and best of all HATE.

And ye call US Soccer fans.....can ye not see ye are a parody of yourselves....

I didnt abuse anyone during the week, I never said we were gonna walk it, I never even said we were gonna win...

And i come on here and I am called Scum and told I am hated......by fellas whose names I have never even seen in here before!

Lads, ye can keep this place. I am finished with it. Ye are a disgrace. GAA......Ya.....right.

Thank you Admin.

Liamo

ps Up the Dubs, now, and forever.

-----------------------------

they'll be back, they always come back. wise up lad, a bit of abuse is always going to come for the most popular team in the country. call it what you will but its bound to happen in any sport. it should be taken with a pinch of salt and just get on with it.

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 04/08/2009 19:00:41    377562

Theres no point been annoyed ,i just leave it a couple of days and then get back and post ,trust me you have more better days than i do .

bisto kid (Cavan) - Posts: 492 - 04/08/2009 19:36:07    377580

in fairness being a bit of a drama queen here! get over yourself...

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 04/08/2009 20:05:47    377614

liam you should stay you are a top poster and your contribution to posts is great.there seems to be an anti dublin bias among other counties but don,t forget ye have won over 20 all ireland and 5 in a row in leinster so ye are a great football county probably the 2nd best in the history of football behind kerry.dublin have the best supporters in ireland and can fill croker any day of the week so the message is clear liam stay on hogan stand please[/b]

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 04/08/2009 20:15:55    377628

Liamo - I didn't even read any of the post match comments. No point. The wind-up merchants come out like midgies after rain. If you ignore HS for 2-3 days most of the eejits will have disappeared off again.

pearsesabu (Antrim) - Posts: 663 - 04/08/2009 20:28:50    377648

Liam, when you're at a match I am sure you enjoy the banter with those around ye. Many of those same supporters make contributions on this site. The shallow embittered comments that appear would never be spoke on the terraces of in the pubs after games. They simply would'nt have the bottle or even the social skills to deliver such slander. These guys are more than likley not even GAA or sports supporters in general. You have an awful lot of respect on this board and it is that you should use to determine whether you remain or not.

"I have a total irreverence for anything connected with society,
except that which makes to road safer, the beer stronger,
the old men and women warmer in the winter, and happier in the summer.
Brendan Behan"

John Boss (Tyrone) - Posts: 865 - 04/08/2009 20:33:36    377658

Liam, you have to be the bigger person in all of this, the slagging some counties get on here is not nice, as a cork man, we get a fair bit of it as well but that's partly our own fault. when you are thinking whether you will join us here on Hoganstand.com again, you should remember all the good times and the banter and craic you get out of this site and radio programs like off the ball etc.

you down now but remember there will always be a day when the shoe is on the other foot and you will get a chance to make a few points. some times in life we must just take out beatings and get on with it, thats what defines us as people. the people who call dublin fans the names they did are worthless, they come on here totally anonymous and let go at who ever they think should be in the firing line as if they have some divine right. don't let it bother you.

happytobehere (Cork) - Posts: 360 - 04/08/2009 20:47:52    377683

Look I have no time for any abusive hatred filled comments some slagging through can be funny and good natured with a bit of crack thrown in.
Good example being the recent thread on the anti Ulster bias and the draw for the qualifers being rigged a lot of stuff I posted was real tongue in cheek looking for a reaction from non Ulster folk for the craic and to be fair I got it. This message board is just a forum for us GAA fans to give our opinions and views on the sports we love and have the bit of banter too so there really is no point or sense in taking it personally this is a real case of the toys going out of the pram after a bad defeat. When we lost to Derry my first reaction was to wish Derry all the best for the rest of the year you should try always and act with decency and a bit of cop on in defeat and victory.

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1912 - 04/08/2009 21:02:54    377713

Liam dont go! You are one of only about 10-15 people on here whose opinion I respect (even when I dont agree) and value. And I too was shocked at the abuse being thrown at the Dubs - most of it from people from counties who have never won anything!
Keep the faith Liamo!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/08/2009 21:04:26    377715

blah blah......!

Caff01 (Mayo) - Posts: 124 - 04/08/2009 21:10:11    377729