Ye can keep this website lads, ye are welcome to it

Admin, u may not wish to post this thread, but in the interest of fairness and repsect I would appreciate if you did, and please, i have been a long time member on here and if you have loyalty to your long term member, please print this in full and dont change the Topic Headline. I came in here today expecting the slagging, expecting the bit of banter and prepared for it. What did I see? The following words used time and time again. Scum, and best of all HATE. And ye call US Soccer fans.....can ye not see ye are a parody of yourselves.... I didnt abuse anyone during the week, I never said we were gonna walk it, I never even said we were gonna win... And i come on here and I am called Scum and told I am hated......by fellas whose names I have never even seen in here before! Lads, ye can keep this place. I am finished with it. Ye are a disgrace. GAA......Ya.....right. Thank you Admin. Liamo ps Up the Dubs, now, and forever.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/08/2009 09:24:39    376366

Liam if you read most of the post you will see like myself that most people are sickened with the use of the word S**M,ANIMALS and Hate I have always said that Dublin will be missed now they are out of the Championship the bring Colour, noise and great enthusiastic supporters the Championship will be alto quieter for this although I can't ague about the result yesterday as I thought Kerry were ruthless,but for the woodwork you never know the Dub's might have found away back. Give it a few day's Liam the pain will ease.

williewentwell (Tyrone) - Posts: 1712 - 04/08/2009 11:24:12    376560

Dry your eyes Liam! If Dublin get a good run in the championship next year you'll be back on here. And finally while I agree that use of the word s**m was way over the top you have to remember that Dublin posters have always been fond of calling us country folk 'culchies' and 'boggers' itself an equally derogitary term.

nacellabeaga (Offaly) - Posts: 700 - 04/08/2009 11:26:34    376564

Yesterday it seemed people were queuing up to have a go at Dublin and their supporters after the game against Kerry. Most of it was tongue in cheek and the Wind Up Merchants were out in force. There were also a number of over the top messages which did not make it up onto the boards, approximately 150 messages went straight into delete, two users were blocked for unacceptable postings and a number of threads stopped in their tracks. We also stopped people from other counties going onto the Dublin site to post threads.
We have not seen the word 'Scum' on this site and certainly would not let it up. If it is there, please tell us where it is so that it can be removed.
There seems to be a fascination with Dublin among posters on the site and the proof of this was the fact that yesterday was our busiest ever six hour spell on the forum.

Site Admin (Meath) - Posts: 42 - 04/08/2009 11:29:21    376570

Liam I echo the sentiments, if you can find threads such as "Lay off the Dubs" throw all the trash that has been posted you'll see quite a strong core of posters saying that the use of the word s**m was ridiculous. I'm no fan of Dublin at all, I came on to Hoganstand for maybe a bit of banter but after what happened us the day before I wasn't really in any position to do so haha! A bit of a slagging is to be expected after a defeat like that to a county like Dublin but it was way over the top from some eejits from around the country and I have to admit I was slightly disappointed the admin allowed the posts to be shown considering some of the stuff I have had censored.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2009 11:30:01    376573

In light of the post from the Site Admin there I can understand how a few posts slipped through considering how busy it must have been.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2009 11:31:08    376575

Well liam, mayo took all this and more, on more than one occasion and largely from dub posters. None walked away or even batted an eyelid.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/08/2009 11:36:05    376581

Well said Liam, it is never nice to hear someone abuse your county but the way that the Dubs were abused yesterday is nothing short of a disgrace, everyone was just waiting them to fall flat on their faces yesterday. I admit I do love the Dubs and when we are put out I often support them, the colour and atmosphere they bring to Croker is amazing, in 07 I was lucky enough to be in Croker for the first time playing the Dubs and it was surreal, no other county in the country could create that sort of atmosphere. For every gob***** in Dublin there is a man like Liamo or JayoCluxton who wait all year for the championship like many of you do in your native counties, who feels the same about the championship as you all do. Things that have been written here about the Dubs in the last 24 hours have been nothing short of a disgrace, there is nothing wrong with a bit of banter but to call an entire 1.2 odd million s**mbags and animals makes you no better then those people who let the Dubs down by booing KD etc. The Dubs really do get a hard time of it on here, if 50,000 of them go to a game they get slagged for it for being fairweather supporters but at the end of the day, only about 30% of a counties fan base travels to league games. I can understand why Liam and all are getting annoyed and have reached their tether on here, if it was me I would be the same.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 04/08/2009 11:36:58    376584

Liam, from the few Kerry supporters on here, don't go.

Obviously there were people from other counties (I didn't see anyone from Kerry gloating or slagging but I could be wrong) waiting for a day like this. We both know what these people are like. We had similar people after the AI final last year that just wanted a go at us. If, and it's a big if at this stage, Kerry play Tyrone in the final and Kerry win, we'll have people on here slagging Tyrone with all the usual insults. I ignore them, unless I actually recognise the names on Hoganstand. Why bother listen to some fella that registered just to abuse a county and then dissapear?

Give yourself a week off and then come back to us, please.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 04/08/2009 11:38:25    376586

Shocking nice of you to be offering me a website,but the question is it yours to give Liam?

beer baron (Cavan) - Posts: 3916 - 04/08/2009 11:40:18    376590

Liam...I thought about posting the very same thing yesterday..

I was going to walk... but dont. I think the Dubs posters bring a lot to the site...few can argue that point. You my friend bring a lot to this site.

I really was taken back by some of the comments myself... no class or respect shown from counties that are long gone from the Championship.. you see they want us to feel like them... ashamed of themselves, down beat, self loathing etc etc..

But I wont allow it... when it's all said and done we come from one of the most vibrant capital cities in Europe, we live and breath a fantastic life style in or neck of the woods. I'm proud to be a Dublin man,

I often think what it must be like to feel so bitter, so trapped, so bored...so hate filled. It is in those moments that I thank God that I was born in Dublin. Because I'd rather be dead than to live my life in those terms. At the end of the day... we're not good enough at the minute at kicking a ball up and down some grass.

It's no reflection on our amazingingly vibrant Dublin Culture.. and all are welcome to be part of it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/08/2009 11:41:35    376593

Ah yes, the annual August Bank Holiday Weekend LiamWalkinstown thread! I was wondering when it would be aired. Though I didn't expect it be like this? In 2007, Dublin fans were quick to paint all Meath fans with the one brush when a Dublin flag was mysteriously burned? The simple fact is that Dublin fans' arrogance defied belief during the week. I was raised the question that there might be a repeat of Tyrone and my opinion was immediately dismissed, maybe not by you Liamo but by other Dublin supporters. Then the same supporters are boo-ing their team, boo-ing Keiren Donaghy giving an interview and leaving in the hundreds, possibly thousands before the game is over!

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 04/08/2009 11:41:58    376595

Liam don't throw in the towel, most people on here are decent so don't let the minority win.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 04/08/2009 11:44:03    376597

Theres alot of dislike for dublin due to their arrogance .

hitman (Longford) - Posts: 272 - 04/08/2009 11:44:27    376598

Do throw in the towel mate. The less dubs on the hoganstand the better, take the Derry wans with you and close the door on the way out.

CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 04/08/2009 11:45:44    376603

And i come on here and I am called S**m and told I am hated......by fellas whose names I have never even seen in here before! --- Liam don't you think for this very reason you shouldn't give up the site eh? Like someone said, fellas join up just to slag off someone who's been beaten and they'll disappear again.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 04/08/2009 11:47:08    376607

Liam, stay on man.

Dont mind them. like you said they are a mirror image of their comments.

You will never, never ever be free from abuse. It is just a fact. And being typical irish the only time we prefer knocking people when the are up is when we can knock them when they are down and beaten.

Please ignore these people and don't lose faith. What happened yeserday was a freak occurance.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 04/08/2009 11:49:51    376615

Liam you are a quality poster,don't let the minority drive you out,don't let them win.By the way,I don't think anyone used the word s**m,hate maybe a few times but I did'nt see that rotten word and I certainly hope I don't see it or I will be havin words with that poster.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 04/08/2009 11:50:53    376619

Loyal2TheRoyal

Loyal we still beat you,

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 04/08/2009 11:51:32    376621

I was also genuinely shocked at the comments on here

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 04/08/2009 11:51:33    376622