Why do some of you hate Mayo people?

why do i hate mayo people??? i hate mayo people because ye give me plenty of reasons to hate ye,

porkchops (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 30/07/2009 01:11:06    369268

jusht,besht,wesht,shpuds....ye're accent drives me cracked and ye all love the SHtupid Sawdoctors...

fast_hands (Limerick) - Posts: 116 - 30/07/2009 03:59:54    369307

dont know where all the hate is coming from ben too a lot of games since 84 suffered alot of dissapointment a lot of you so called mayo fans need too show some copon lot of gob****** maigh eo dia agus muire linn

mickobronx17 (Mayo) - Posts: 227 - 30/07/2009 05:26:40    369310

51longago - Listen, little man, I've been at enough Connacht finals over the years to see the difference in reactions to winning. And the fans, particularly the kids always run on the pitch at the end of big games. You yourself said in a previous post on the Galway forum, how special winning the Connacht final in 1999 was (presumably because Galway were AI champions at the time) and I saw the Mayo reaction that day, sort of funny but also sort of sad, because as is your wont, you then made a show of yourselves against Cork in croke park. As I said previously, of course we're always happy to win a connacht championship, but, and this is the important point, so please read this carefully, we keep it in perspective. Now there's an interesting word - Perspective - it doesn't seem to exist in many Mayo fans dictionaries. Of course you're on "your way to HQ", please dont make a show of yourselves this time. And less of the personal abuse, there's a good boy. To summarise why so many people dont like Mayo, it would be be (a) Lack of perspective, and (b) Delusions of grandeur - I appreciate that these are big words, so check with mammy if you're not sure what they mean

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 30/07/2009 09:53:06    369359

Enough of the group therapy, I'd say people... there are expensive professionals being deprived of fees by all this emotional sharing (and not so much caring)! I like to know what ye all think, not how ye feel... some of ye are as bad as The Mort himself (which incidentally might have had something to do with the state of Trevor's face when the Nestor was being presented... there might even be a dent in it now!). I don't care if the whole world hates Mayo... I'd just like us to win an A-I and **** the begrudgers! I'm sure most of ye feel the same about yeer own counties. I'm off to the pub again...

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 30/07/2009 10:14:35    369384

constant inferiority complex? yes?

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 30/07/2009 10:26:15    369405

Bosco98

To summarise why so many people dont like Mayo, it would be be (a) Lack of perspective, and (b) Delusions of grandeur - I appreciate that these are big words, so check with mammy if you're not sure what they mean

you know what bosco i didnt want to say this but i have many friends and relations in galway and have great time for every1 in yer fine county but alot of galway people have a high opinion of themselves not just in relation to football, we are seen as thick boggers from the hills who know nothing.
as for delusions of grandeur and lack of perspective well here is my view - mayo are probably the weakest provincial champion i would agree and we will have a tough game against limerick/meath.
how far will we go - i would say a semi is not beyond us but that if we meet dublin we will come up short. there ya go no mention of winning sam there.

as for mayo men being cocky about winning sam - i have never seen it in the REAL world, only by 5 or 6 in here.
i only hope to live to see mayo win sam someday - nothing cocky about that.
slan

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11539 - 30/07/2009 11:26:36    369523

mayo is a fantastic footballing county very unlucky not to have won an AI over the last 20 years they always produce great footballers and have some great fans to

hipster (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 30/07/2009 12:02:09    369582

Bosco you can throw all the snide comments about Mayo at me you want, i'm not going to let one man change the respect i have for Galway football. Just to put it right what i think of Mayos chances, i unlike others don't let the media and so called experts cloud my opinion, Mayo are in the mix up now and no matter what you or anyone else says there is 140 min of football between us and getting to an ai final and that is not beyond Mayo, which has been proven in the last 20 years.I am not for one minute shouting about Mayo winning sam, but will not say we wont win it either , or else what is the point in going.NB i was in london in 98 when galway won the AI and celebrated and cheered them on with a gang of galway/mayo bucks i was delighted for ye, so like i say not going to let one man change the way i have been all my life and engage in a mayo/ galway slagging match.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 30/07/2009 12:39:48    369651

Mayo For Sam..........Believe!

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 30/07/2009 17:55:01    370287

Cranky

I thought they werent supposed to let you out before 6

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 30/07/2009 18:02:14    370305

That's now 7 o'clock for good behaviour.........I've been good lately.......lol

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 30/07/2009 19:45:31    370425

Cranky360

Mayo For Sam..........Believe! Dublin for SAM Believe! and I see Kildare for SAM Believe I will BELIEVE it when I see it!!!! Tyrone Abu!!!!!!

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 30/07/2009 19:56:14    370436

What's this "some" business?

bluboy (Dublin) - Posts: 318 - 30/07/2009 20:05:36    370447

Final word on this - I think that most people on this site would cheer on the Mayo football team once their own team has been knocked out, were it not for the attitude of "some" of the Mayo supporters - quite a few of whom can be found on these pages. I think that it is also fair to say that even the most unassuming of Mayo supporters can get "wildly optimistic" after one big win, and this is a trait that I believe marks them out from other GAA supporters. I say this as someone living in Galway who knows more than enough Mayo people to qualify this statement.

For the record, I hope that Mayo win the all-ireland and will be cheering them on - as a Connacht man I will always cheer on the remaining Connacht counties once my own is knocked out. Players like David Heaney & James Nallen, who have been through such heartbreak and are perfect gentlemen, in my opinion deserve an All-Ireland.
I give Mayo a chance as long as they can avoid Kerry, which hopefully wont be an issue after this weekend.

Bosco98 (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 31/07/2009 09:51:30    370998

apart from dublin winning in 1995, the best times I have had at all Ireland final weekends is when Mayo played Meath and kerry. Most people I know would love Mayo to win Sam if their own county don't win. I also had the best ever club trip to Ballycroy. We reached the final in Castlebar of the feile that year. They truly are great people,although obviosuly a few eejits are let loose on this site and at the odd game. Every county has them. I don't dislike any county although I'm not too fond of Cork, kerry or Meath supporters.

thistle_harps (UK) - Posts: 879 - 31/07/2009 12:23:05    371246