Why do some of you hate Mayo people?

Cos ye are still crying over the All - Ireland final in 1996 when we bet ye.

theblindassasin (Meath) - Posts: 915 - 29/07/2009 12:37:15    368078

Cranky360

367911 Ok Mick 14, I will now change how I post..........I will now becaome arrogant and self important so that your point seems justified!

We'll make a deal........I'll try to be nicer if you try to be smarter.................I'm always optmitic!

You don't have to change how you post to be arrogant and self important. You are doing a great job on that already. Well if you want me to be smarter i might point out 'optimitic' and 'becaome' are not words. Thank you typo! You really are making a show of yourself here.

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 29/07/2009 12:48:19    368116

Two Words-Conor Mortimer.

DubsforSam (None) - Posts: 132 - 29/07/2009 12:49:55    368121

paddyogall

Meath_bhoy (Meath) - Posts: 590 - 29/07/2009 12:53:48    368134

Badly let down by some of the old Mayo posters.... but theres a new breed of sound Mayo Men/Women posters...who I have a lot of time for..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 29/07/2009 13:06:03    368162

Cranky360

I can't wait to see the comments when we take Sam and bring it around to some of your counties just to mock you........that would be worth it

Because of post like this and posters like you!! Are you ACTUALLY from Mayo at all?
You certainly do NOTHING for Mayo and the credibility of its supporters. You there is another poster on here who draws a lot of negativity on Mayo supporters. He uses an awful lot full stops in his posts too! Are you yet another incarnation I wonder.

ExilEd1014 (Mayo) - Posts: 280 - 29/07/2009 13:16:45    368184

I blame Queen Maebh. Coming over here. Starting wars...

Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 29/07/2009 13:43:46    368234

As a Mayo man i have a few suggestions as to why some people dont like us.

1- we win one game and certain mayo people believe we have the all ireland in the bag! they then proceed to shout about it at every opportunity!
2- the aforementioned people are the same people who spend april and may suggesting that new york or london might beat us!!
3- we believe we deserve an all ireland! the fact is that we dont and that attitude is why weve come home from croker so many times with our tails between our legs. nobody deserves an all ireland be it kerry or london. the fact is that it has to be earned and whatever we say we havent earned one recently!
4- certain posters on this site are very quick to point out faults with other counties who have had far more recent success than us. can you not see why that would encourage them to dislike us?

Believe me I long for the day when we have something to shout about but lets stay in our place until then!!

kermitcroker (UK) - Posts: 115 - 29/07/2009 14:07:28    368285

Kermitcroker pretty much nailed it.

Also, I think we got to 2 finals in the 90's where most of the country would have been up for us as underdogs (no offence to Kerry or Meath). It seemed to go to a lot of people's heads after that - all Mayo people seemed to all of a sudden think that we were everyone's second favourite county. I guess some people don't like finding out that we're not.

Anyway, who cares, everyone will have different counties they like and dislike year on year - for example I really admire Dublin this year with the football they are playing and the approach taken by management. I would never have seen myself say that over the last couple of years!!

jason (Mayo) - Posts: 139 - 29/07/2009 14:35:35    368327

saddam

367839 barnowl, do i detect a hint of jealousy, another year of dissapointment, will you get of your high horse and support your provincial champions when they are in croker, g'lad!

There's another example. Why would Galway be jealous of Mayo?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 29/07/2009 14:44:50    368341

Breffni39

368341 saddam

367839 barnowl, do i detect a hint of jealousy, another year of dissapointment, will you get of your high horse and support your provincial champions when they are in croker, g'lad!

Its quite simple, because we are still in the Championship and we are Connacht Champions. they are not! the cheek of someone from Cavan having a Go at Mayo. Have some respect for the superpowers in GAA, we might throw you a few bones.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/07/2009 14:48:38    368347

I wonder why! I am from Mayo but don't live there and sometimes feel like i should keep that to myself. Alot of the Mayo Posters are just trying to stir people but there are alot who are arrogant and believe we are alot better that we really are. Granted we have had a fairly succsessful Decade making Quater,Semi and All Ireland Finals but nearly isn't good enough or will never be so we can't brag about being a top team till we actually win Sam and get the monkey off our back. Two of the best games this Decade were the 04 quater final with Tyrone and 06 semi with Dublin but then we fall apart against Kerry. Galway were the last Connaught team to win in 2001 and it would be great to win 09/10 but till we do we have to keep it in perspective.

boxer (Mayo) - Posts: 29 - 29/07/2009 15:25:47    368402

paddyogall

368347 Breffni39

368341 saddam

Its quite simple, because we are still in the Championship and we are Connacht Champions. they are not! the cheek of someone from Cavan having a Go at Mayo. Have some respect for the superpowers in GAA, we might throw you a few bones.

Theres another example. It must the complete lack of self-awareness that a succession of Mayo posters display.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 29/07/2009 15:40:35    368428

Breffni39

368428 paddyogall

368347 Breffni39

368341 saddam

Theres another example. It must the complete lack of self-awareness that a succession of Mayo posters display.

Now now young fella did your parents never teach you to pay respect to your betters

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/07/2009 16:02:45    368464

Breffni39, You nailed it there,fair play to you.Would I be right in thinking ye have 5 All Irelands? Two more than the so called 'superpower' Mayo.As regards being jealous of Mayo the day that happens will never come .Enjoy your Connaght title blowhards and don't embarrass yourselves too much in Croke Park this time.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 29/07/2009 16:28:19    368504

I don't know if they really hate Mayo, i think it's more of a case of their secret love or their almost closet Gra for the mighty Mayo. I don't care what anybody thinks of mayo GAA, they have given us some great days that other counties will never see, granted we have not delivered sam YET, but those victories over tyrone 04, kerry 96, Dublin 06 and so many more they will live long in many memories. The only thing that sometimes gets to me you look down at our record since 96 and it baffles me how jouranilsts and GAA folk rate the jacks every year higher than mayo.Look, to hell with the whole lot and god love ye when we do get our hands on sam, we will shake the foundations of the country. ( 36, 50, 51, ...just in case some ass points out i said not delivered yet i meant modern era)...Steady as rock, we'll fly her into knock.

51longago (Mayo) - Posts: 2981 - 29/07/2009 16:34:18    368513

Cranky - posts like 51longago made should answer your question!

Red_horizon (Tyrone) - Posts: 179 - 29/07/2009 16:47:57    368536

Just to let you know guys, I tried posting topics that were interesting and I tried to give valid points but I was hounded by members on the forum because I'm from Mayo so now I have decided to give grief and be arrogant because I was getting the abuse in the first place, at least no it will be justified!

I wonder why Mayo people eventually give in to be arrogant, it's because most of you are yourselves, so well done to all the fools on the forum who tke shots at Mayo for no reason............you have made another Mayo arrogant supporter on the site instead of just getting on with posting.

Look forward to many arrogant/Cranky posts in the future........it seems you all like it this way and I will conform to your generalisations.

Cranky360 (Mayo) - Posts: 834 - 29/07/2009 16:56:38    368561

lol . . .you really are a Cranky boy arent you?
Ball Boy has spread his word around Mayo at an alarming rate!

Red_horizon (Tyrone) - Posts: 179 - 29/07/2009 17:02:58    368582

Cranky360

368561 Just to let you know guys, I tried posting topics that were interesting and I tried to give valid points but I was hounded by members on the forum because I'm from Mayo so now I have decided to give grief and be arrogant because I was getting the abuse in the first place, at least no it will be justified!

I wonder why Mayo people eventually give in to be arrogant, it's because most of you are yourselves, so well done to all the fools on the forum who tke shots at Mayo for no reason............you have made another Mayo arrogant supporter on the site instead of just getting on with posting.

Look forward to many arrogant/Cranky posts in the future........it seems you all like it this way and I will conform to your generalisations.

Welcome to the Club, the nordies are the best to wind up.

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 29/07/2009 17:03:37    368584