The next Monaghan manager

John Raffery is an Armagh man. Managed The Faughs in 2003 is now manager of St. Pauls High School team in Camlough.. Would not be my choice for manager as he has walked away from many of his managerial roles.

SoundOnVision (Monaghan) - Posts: 104 - 21/07/2009 22:35:51    356099

You might be surprised who would want it.Backbone of a good team who are up there with the top 8 teams in the country.Finance is not a problem in preparing the team so I cant see it being a major problem in securing a good man for the job.The only thing I would say is that the Banty needs to make up his mind shortly whether he is staying or going so that a new manager can be got before the season comes to an end to enable him and his selection team a chance to scout for new players.

ruthless (Monaghan) - Posts: 594 - 21/07/2009 22:52:22    356127

Apologies, i was thinking of John McCloskey.

Anytime (Dublin) - Posts: 93 - 22/07/2009 00:00:25    356238

Anytime,

Mickey McConville is the uncle of Oisin and used to manage Crossmaglen. He is currently over Glyde Rangers in Louth and managed Carrick before this.

homerj (Louth) - Posts: 111 - 22/07/2009 15:34:31    357017

Anytime - You're way off there.

John Rafferty was added as a selector to the Armagh backroom team the last year Joe Kernan was over Armagh with the intention of taking over the job when Joe retired. He had managed St. Galls (I think) to an AI Club semi Final a few years ago and had a run as Blaney club manager. Most recently invloved with Slaughtneil in Derry I think

Mickey McConville is another Armagh man and a former manager of Cross and Carrick and as Homer says Glyde Rangers in Louth.

jmeehan (Monaghan) - Posts: 122 - 24/07/2009 07:13:46    359626

Lads the banty is staying and bringing in paul murtagh paul already turned down a few jobs for next year to go with banty so dont be surprised if the angelo celt cup is sitting in monaghan next year..
murtagh the mighty

goodguy (Louth) - Posts: 132 - 25/07/2009 11:28:12    361365

ok i tink i am going to get a ear bashing but does anyone else think that banty should go?? i am in favour of it. at the end of the day what have we got to show for his reign as monaghan manager... no silverwear. i know we are in higher divisions and all that but we need to start winning some sort of trophies... Everyone says that banty has a big heart and he probably does but at the end of the day thats not all that counts. none of the subs banty has on the bench are near intercounty level and this has been noted by many of the footballing greats around the country.. bantys style of football embedded in the monghan play has been widely critized also... now not all the commentators on the television are wrong when most of the them agree with each other... (apart from joe brolly). I tink its time banty left and some new blood was brought into the monaghan team. because i tink if banty stays next year we are going to have the same as this year disapointing and nothing to show for it.

irishboy (Monaghan) - Posts: 4 - 27/07/2009 14:18:10    364137

I disagree.
Monaghan have put on some fine displays over the the past few years under Banty. Everyone is forming their opinion from the 1st Derry match this year and while that match wasn't easy on the eye I believe that it wasn't reflective of Monaghan's style of play under Banty's reign. We topped Div 2 table under the experimental rules this year playing some good football.
I believe that he'll stay on as manager and maybe freshen things up in terms of his back room team. We still have a very young team and if we can unearth a player or two in the league we can give the Anglo Celt a good rattle next year.

superfarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 260 - 27/07/2009 16:15:14    364432

People take the rose tinted glasses off and realise yes banty has brought us forward and we have moved on from the bad days of jack mccarville, it was colm coyle who set the wheel's in motion, You ask any player who has played under banty and they will tell you the exact same thing, Brilliant motivator, rubbish when it comes to tactics and training teams. Under McEnaney we have won a grand total of two ulster championship games and they were both in 2005. We Have beat very few good teams along the way under McEnaney, and people will say we beat donegal and derry and armagh. Donegal and Derry are hit and miss and i believe both times monaghan beat each team Were on an off day, Armagh were finished this year. And In five years under banty monaghan have not won an ulster championship match in clones... Time for change now instead of in a couple of months down the line.... let the new man in to look at the championship matches and finally have the best players in the county on the panel and get rid of the dead wood.

shaggylegend (Monaghan) - Posts: 1948 - 27/07/2009 19:09:02    364829

SHAGGYLEGEND,the two games in ulster we won was in 2007 not 2005.colm coyle won two games one in ulster against armagh and westmeath in qualifiers,then got tanked against armagh the following year and the mighty longford so if you think that got the ball rolling your wrong.it was banty in 2005 done it, he got promotion and brought us to the last 12 that year,who eles is out there for the job NOBODY banty owes monaghan noting and as long as the players want him thats all that matters.i want him to stay maybe a new trainer and selectors would do the trick,were lucky we have him his heart is in it not like some who are in it for the euro"s.

hardcore (Monaghan) - Posts: 1366 - 27/07/2009 21:23:22    365043

well said shaggylegend he should be gone at this stage

ruthless (Monaghan) - Posts: 594 - 27/07/2009 22:11:18    365137

Monaghan should of got further this year! Good luck for next year

Orlaith (Derry) - Posts: 4282 - 27/07/2009 22:23:05    365174

Well said hardcore.

superfarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 260 - 28/07/2009 10:01:28    365659

Banty is going to stay, Why wouldn't he??? We topped the league this year with some great displays, Cork, Fermanagh, Wexford and Laois and had some great battles with Armagh and Meath.
Next year we will be playing in Division One and we will get a chance to show how good we are. Plus the players want him to stay.
We lost twice to Derry in the championship, once due to pure intimidation with some wonder points from James Kielt and second to an amazing display from the forwards of Derry. In both games we gifted goals to Derry which didn't help..
Banty knows he has a good team and next year is his oppurtunity to show that. He'll want to experience more days like the one in Scotstown this year....

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 814 - 28/07/2009 10:22:31    365687

Has anyone else found themsleves strangely attracted to Orlaith over the past few weeks?? Maybe its just me.

Adler (Monaghan) - Posts: 754 - 28/07/2009 10:30:00    365694

I think we're losing perspective here. To be trumpeting Colm Coyle as the saviour of Monaghan football is a joke, we had one good game under him and the way the boys surrendered under him in the end was hard to watch and definitely wouldn't happen under Banty. Banty also deserves great credit for getting us to Div 1 of the league amongst very tough opposition. When its all said and done though, people are on here talking about silverware as we should be winning trophies. The bottom line is we don't have enough good players to be challenging for the all Ireland and in Ulster you're at the mercy of the draw. Like is there any team in Ireland that could go to Celtic Park and win and then beat Tyrone in the next game? If there is, I haven't seen them so let's leave the silverware out of it no matter who the manager is. On the other hand it has to be said that the perfomances this year in the big games (league final and championship) have been abysmal. Never showed up against Cork in Croke Park, missed 20 scoring chances in Celtic Park before letting 14 men outscore us in the final 10 mins. We beat the worst Armagh team of the last 20 years in a low-scoring slugfest in Clones and then got hockeyed by Derry at home. In truth they were 4 bad perfomances. No reasonable person could say the lads performed to the best of their ability and ultimately that's what Banty is there to do, get the best out of the lads. Now I've been a big fan of Banty's and I remember well the terrible years for Monaghan football before he cam on the scene and he dserves enormous credit for what he's done but I really think its time for someone else to get a chance. They might not be any better and other than Paul Grimley there doesn't seem to be a stand-out candidate but you can't keep doing the same thing over and over and expect a different outcome.

BG (Monaghan) - Posts: 116 - 28/07/2009 10:49:12    365719

I agree with Ruthless, Irishboy and Shaggylegend - we've won nothing and time for a change - won 2 Ulster games in 2005 an easy Div 2 league and that's it.

Farney you must be the same person as superfarney - youse are on about great days out and all that hype and self publicising newspaper interviews - we've won nothing and we're really no where nearer winning anything either when you look at it this year. Monaghan have gone backwards in the past year to being a negative pulling and dragging team.

You also said the players want him to stay??? Who told you that?

PrinceKev (Tyrone) - Posts: 62 - 28/07/2009 10:56:24    365736

PrinceKev from Tyrone:- read the Northern Standard from last week

superfarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 260 - 28/07/2009 12:10:41    365864

That says it all

PrinceKev (Tyrone) - Posts: 62 - 28/07/2009 12:24:01    365896

It does

superfarney (Monaghan) - Posts: 260 - 28/07/2009 13:16:08    366016