Leinster hurling V Munster hurling

footiemad
County: Westmeath

335614 hurling is such a rubbish sport,everyone knows that kilkenny already have it won,whats the point of it all,just give them the cup now

Just because kilkenny have dominated hurling over the last few years does not make it a rubbish sport. I would watch a hurling match any day before i would watch some of this years championship football matches, now theres rubbish!

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 07/07/2009 14:55:25    335710

How in gods name did trileacmans post get through the admin,Ive been scolded for much less,and as for teams showing each other "unimaginable hatred"sorry but that must only happen in ulster.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 07/07/2009 17:40:10    335998

Fred The guy was having a craic. We need that too. I'm delighted the administrator left it through. I thought twas the funniest post I ever read.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 07/07/2009 21:18:36    336264

how is Munster hurling stronger now in all fairness,Wexford have got to the semi-final's or the quarter finals nearly every year since 2001,Kilkenny are in all but 2 finals since 00,Dublin beat most the Munster big boys in the league this year and ONLY got beat by the cats by 6 points in the leinster final,Laois beat Antrim to stay in the Liam McCarthy,Offaly will be playing Division 1 hurling next season,so how can you possibly go up against that

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 07/07/2009 22:18:55    336393

laoistownie wat do you mean no other county cares about winnin leinster bar killkenny???no wonder laois hurlin is goin so bad wit lads like you sayin that!

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 07/07/2009 22:25:48    336416

I think Munster hurling is overrated to a large degree but it is definitely a better c'ship than Leinster.
People need to stop cross-referencing reults between the provinces,it's irrelevant,the post is which c'ship is better in itself.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 08/07/2009 19:02:52    337788

liam, u use the exact same argument in reverse to say leinster is the stongest football provence

fkm leitrim (Leitrim) - Posts: 88 - 09/07/2009 04:50:37    338378

How cum nobody has named the teams
Leinster team
1. -Damien Fitzhenry
2 - David Franks
3 - Tomas Brady
4 - Jackie Tyrell
5 - Tommy Walsh
6 - John tennyson
7 - JJ Delaney
8 - Cha Fitz
9 - Derek Lyng
10 B Murphy
11 - James Young
12 - Eoin Larkin
13 - Shane Dooley
14 - Henry Shefflin
15 - Aidan Fogerty

Munster
1 - Brendan Cummins
2 - Seamus Hickey
3 - Paul Curren
4 - Conor O'Brien
5 - Michael Walsh
6 - Ronan Curren
7 - Conor O'Mahoney
8 - Tom Kenny
9 - Shane McGrath
10 - Eoin Kelly (Deise)
11 - Seamus Callihan
12 - Ken McGrath
13 - Noel McGrath
14 - Lar Corbett
15 - John Mullane

to be fair Munster team wins hands down... Even tho cuda picked 15 KK players!!
apart from the players, as stated munster hurling wins hands down, the games, atmosphere, Thurles etc etc

tyrone Dev (Tyrone) - Posts: 116 - 09/07/2009 10:56:16    338546

tyrone dev, Noel Hickey in for Tomas Brady and I reckon Leinster would have them. James Young is only good for frees really so would prefer to have John Brophy or Willie Hyland in for him

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 09/07/2009 22:03:56    339723

If Munster and Leinster were playing against eachother tomorrrow there would be less people at it than posts on this thread. I suppose the Dublin emergense has prompted this silly debate again.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 708 - 09/07/2009 22:32:46    339796

no no no no,Gizzy Lyng would be a hard worker and have a bit of experience with the free's,Gizzy instead of James Young

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 09/07/2009 22:33:44    339802

Leinster C/ship hurling team;
1 D. Fitzhenry
2 O. Canning
3 N. Hickey
4 K. Rossiter
5 T. Walsh
6 B. Hogan
7 J.J Delaney
8 P. Shiels
9 J. Fitzpatrick
10 A. McCrabbe
11 H. Shefflin
12 D. Lyng
13 D. O'Callaghan
14 J. Canning
15 W. Hyland

That team would take some beating!

merman (Laois) - Posts: 84 - 10/07/2009 13:23:46    340480

merman are we talkin about this years championship or leinster and munster hurlin in general?

lowerormond (Tipperary) - Posts: 1267 - 10/07/2009 13:48:43    340526

Lowerormond;

It depends what the arguement is,
I believe many people believe the Munster c/ship is superior to the Leinster c/ship but I'm not so sure, especially this year with Galway/Antrim. Man for man I think I'd fancy Leinster, especially with Canning at 14.

However, if we're to pick a Leinster 15 vs a Munster 15, traditional counties only, then it's a different question. There can be no justification then for limiting either side to just 5 per county and argements such as atmosphere, history and rivallrys are largely redundant as it's a question of the better hurlers "man to man"...

I think the C/ship debate is more pertinent to be honest and I think the addition of Galway, to a lesser degree Antrim, and the resurgence of Dublin puts Leinster an awful lot closer to Munster imho....

merman (Laois) - Posts: 84 - 10/07/2009 14:19:19    340608

when was the last time a munster team won the AI???

wildrover (Carlow) - Posts: 242 - 10/07/2009 14:27:31    340629

I enjoyed trileacmans post. Some truth to it perhaps? I have the greatest of respect for Offaly and Wexford hurling and hurling people. Their passion for the game is intense. I remember Cork hammering Wexfors a few years back and I was amazed to see none of the Wexford fans leaving early. The guys near me were admiring Cork's hurling and even enjoying it! If the shoe had been on the other foot I would have been gone home aty half time! Look at the teams Offaly produced in the 90's and from such a tiny club base. Could any divisional side in Cork beat those Offaly teams - not on your life. When put in its context Offaly's acheivements in the 90's were proabably greater than anything the big three ever acheived.
Having said all that I do worry about the lack of pride they seem to have when playing KK. They just seem to lie down, let Kilkenny walk all over them, and then thank the Cats with a Leinster hurling love -in. I would be very surprised if I saw Cork or Tipp lie down to Kilkenny. In spite of the league beatings that both of them took, they are not afraid of the Cats and could even beat them. Likewise, I couldn't see Waterford folding a second time. It was great to see Dublin displaying a similar attitude. They had no fear of Kilkenny, no over-awed respect. They tore into them, and in so doing might have resurected Len=inster hurling. Hope so!

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 10/07/2009 17:25:21    340920