Leinster hurling V Munster hurling

Munster hurling fans would have you believe that Leinster Hurling is the poor relation, that Munster is where its at and anyone who would dare say other wise is talking out their hat! The stats certainly show this arrogance to be VERY mis-informed in recent years! First of all where is the proof? Give me a run down on head to heads in recent years between Leinster and Munster teams in the Championship and lets examine it..... remember last year when Offaly, one of Leinsters "weaker" sides beat the mighty Munster Giant of Limerick...in Limerick....??!!! Kilkenny handing out routine hammerings to Cork Waterford and Limerick. I would think if you combined all teams in Leinster and picked a best 15 (and i am not incl Galway) and did the same with Munster....I would bet Leinster would have the superior team. And this is not coat taling onto Kilkenny. As I said, take KK out of it and look at the other counties records V Munster sides in recent years and it stands up very well, add KK into it, and it decimates Munster! And in the last few years the teams who have come closest to beating, and actually beaten KK....are from Leinster. So Hurling Officianados, make your Ideal Leinster team, and your Ideal Munster team and see who is best, And if you want to "un-Kilkennny" it, use no more than 5 players from any one county on a provincial team. (who says I cant come with good topics anymore :) ) Better than some fella making up a story about a kid in a rain jacket!!!h

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/07/2009 15:58:14    334319

unless the rainjacket story was true, but i cant see reference to it anywhere and no father would let a steward treat his son like that!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/07/2009 16:33:24    334413

I think you are missing the point Liam.

Munster hurling is seen as more competitive down here, and Leinster is often a cakewalk for Kilkenny. This year though Galway & Dublin have made it a lot more competitive in Leinster which is only going to do hurling a power of good.

When Munster sides meet Leinster sides it can go either way - I won't be holding my breath for us to beat Wexford this coming Saturday night for example. Wexford, Offaly and Dublin are all capable of beating any Munster side on their day, obviously Cork got the better of Offaly this year, fair play to Cork for that victory.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/07/2009 16:43:29    334438

Ridicolous statement. Combined all Irelands munster v leinster? Competiteness of Munster? I could throw in a few stats to back my point but this topic is not worthy of further response.

Mick14 (Limerick) - Posts: 766 - 06/07/2009 16:54:45    334470

Leinster hurling bores me to tears. Kilkenny start well, Kilkenny lead at half time, Kilkenny hammer the opposition in a quarter filled Croker. Everyone ignores the fact they are a shower of cheating ********* and everyone fawns round them even Wexford and Offaly people. I mean how can you respect wexford or offaly when all they do is ly down to kilkenny and then make excuses along the lines of "at least we only got beat by 33 points whereas youse got beat by 34, hence we are better". People from wexford and offaly should hate KK with the most unimaginable hatred, whenever someone says they are great the lads should burst of with an illogical rant that Ciaran Lyng is better hurler that shefflin and the only reason that wexford/offaly lost is that the refs a *****/KK are cheating ******/the weather didnt suit/it was an away match/Croke park is a bad surface/the altitude got to them (delete as appropirate). But they dont, they just lick round KK *****. I dont care that munster is of a lesser standard or havent won alot of AI's lately, they love the munster championship, hate each other and never accept anything. Thats the way things should be. Leinster ones are always on here b*t*hing about "no respect" for leinster or "Munster is overated". No-one from munster posts tripe like that but stuff like "Waterford fans are all twats/Clare are dirt". Thats the way the thing should be. The leinster lads have such an inferiority complex, how about earning some respect instead of huffing until you get some all the time. Try at least matching KK for 70 minutes, try entertaining us, try showing some interest in the provincial championship, try filling the stadium and adding some colour and most importantly of all shut up. Then and maybe then you will even be considered in the same regard as the Munster Championship.

trileacman (Tyrone) - Posts: 759 - 06/07/2009 16:56:20    334475

trileacman - your post is one of the best & funniest I've read here for ages. Talk about not holding back!!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 06/07/2009 17:11:36    334501

Is there not a competition known as the Interprovincials that would settle this little argument?

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 06/07/2009 17:16:38    334513

trileacman Where to start with you and you're rubbish. 1 Everyone ignores the fact they are a shower of cheating ********* - Do please explain that comment,. Can't wait to hear your answer to this. 2 No-one from munster posts tripe like that but stuff like "Waterford fans are all twats/Clare are dirt - Again you mustn't read a whole lot of things here. Its not Leinster people who do the majority of this. 3 Try at least matching KK for 70 minutes, try entertaining us, try showing some interest in the provincial championship, try filling the stadium and adding some colour and most importantly of all shut up. - No team from Leinster or Munster has managed to live with Kilkenny for the past 3 years. Look at the record of Leinster teams against Munster....will be a bit of an eye opener for you. As regards filling the stadiums how many stadiums hold 83000 in Munster? Provincial grounds are filled when games are played there..Leinster Council are the ones who continue to play games in Croker. And telling people to show some colour...did you not see the game yesterday. Granted you come from a province where the only colours you are used to is yellow and red mostly. Entertain us?......... just like you do with your football. When you have decent arguments please feel free to express them....otherwise stay under your rock!!!!

solo (Kilkenny) - Posts: 314 - 06/07/2009 17:21:37    334523

Our pick would beat your pick any day of the week...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 06/07/2009 17:23:12    334526

I have to say that post makes me sick! Firstly ever heard of good sportmanship?? Winners are proved on the field and not by how badly they can slag off other teams! To go to matches and watch grown men say the most bitter comments with sick language and watch small kids behind them see this and repeat it is just disgusting!! Believe it or not booing the other team doesn't actually make a difference to your teams skill level!! I love the atmosphere at matches and enjoy teasing other fans but all in good spirit!! I mean do we really want to all end up like a bunch of soccer yobs with violent fights afterwards outside the park?? I think not!! I think both Munster and Leinster are equally competitive on any given day, as opposed to some other provences (hmm Tyrone hurling anyone??)who should think before they make nasty suggestions on how to improve competiveness!!!

jjkk (Kilkenny) - Posts: 2 - 06/07/2009 17:31:03    334546

Explain to me how Leinster hurling is better when 3 out of 5 of leinster teams were playing division 2 hurling last year and im sure after looking at Offaly's performence against Cork they will be back playing division 2 in 2011.. Plus the fact they had to bring in Galway and Antrim to try sprouce it up a bit..
Fair Play to Dublin for making it to the final but to me it look like Kilkenny never even got out of second on sunday...
Do you think that game had the same intenceity as let say the league final...?
Here is another question for ya apart from Kilkenny what other leinster teams have got to an All Ireland final in the last 10 years????
Lad you are talking complete rubbish and yes this is a rubbish topic to be discussing anyone who knows anything about hurling knows Munster rules...

Dan Breen (Tipperary) - Posts: 165 - 06/07/2009 17:38:46    334565

Can't put my finger on it.. but.. its like comparing Munster Rugby v Leinster Rugby.. I think there is just more romanticism involved with Munster hurling when compared with Leinster hurling; Tradition.. Thurles is the home of hurling; Games are a hell of a lot tighter in the MH Championship.. last decade has seen Kilkenny steam role teams; LH Championship has lost bite in general, a MH Championship win for Tipp over Clare means a lot more than it would for KK to beat Dublin or Wexford over Laois etc etc; Matches in Munster have always drew huge crowds.. (although this has started to change in the last one or two years) - Kilkenny fans dont make the journey unless it involves All Ireland Final..

BigSam (Kildare) - Posts: 266 - 06/07/2009 17:45:15    334577

The Munster hurling championship is a great championship because there are five teams every year (or most years anyway) with realistic ambitions of winning it. In Leinster this has never been the case. Historically it was often a two or three horse race, between Kilkenny and Wexford, or Kilkenny and Offaly or all three. In recent years Kilkenny have dominated to such an extent that it had completely lost its competitiveness and gone stale - Kilkenny vs. Wexford finals year after year, KK winning them all handily.

This year's championship was much better, with the quality of games and hurling on show at least on par with the Munster equilavent. The introduction of Galway, combined with the emergence of Dublin, lead to the best Leinster hurling championship in years. It may not have the tradition of the Munster championship, but there is nothing that can be done about this now. Hopefully Offaly, Galway, Wexford, Dublin, and even Laois and Antrim, can continue to improve and catch Kilkenny next year.

And trileacman, that was probably the worst/funniest post I have EVER read here on hoganstand. For the record, Ciaran Lyng plays FOOTBALL for Wexford, DIARMAID Lyng plays hurling. And no, he's not better than Henry Shefflin, to suggest this would not show 'great rivalry between the counties in Leinster', it would be insanity.

nocky (Wexford) - Posts: 2059 - 06/07/2009 17:52:28    334598

It may have been politically incorrect but I have never read a more entertaining post then trileacmans, I must say I just roared with laughter reading it. Post of the year as far as I'm concerned. On the subject of the thread, the problem with Leinster is Kilkennys dominance. The individual Leinster teams are quite capable of holding their own against Munster opposition, but simply get swamped by Kilkenny. The hurling is no better in Munster but the teams are more evenly matched thus you get a few very exciting games.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 06/07/2009 18:01:14    334620

munster hurling is superior to leinster hurling because of
1. munster hurling final in thurles
2.the atmosphere
3.the banter
4.the stanard of hurling
5.all matches are competitive
6.the passion
7.the will to win

bigman2 (Tipperary) - Posts: 1202 - 06/07/2009 18:38:14    334681

Trileacman you are obviously a hurling expert/genius!!!

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 06/07/2009 18:53:01    334710

Trileacman,that is one of the most ridiculous posts i've ever seen!laughable

jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 06/07/2009 18:56:04    334714

KK and Galway was a fantastic match, so was Laois vs Antrim, Offaly and Wexford wasn't the best but still enjoyable. I'm well used to this from rugby, Munster lads (and yes some Leinster as well) have a huge "we're better than ye""our game is pure, yours isn't" thing to them, get over yourselves. I enjoy Munster hurling and go to a few Munster finals as I also go to Leinster finals and love them. Enjoy this KK team while it lasts, we may never see a team this good again.

laoistownie (Laois) - Posts: 409 - 06/07/2009 19:09:33    334729

Liam if you picked the best 15 in Leinster, 20 of them would be Kilkennymen. Just because 1 team is the best well doesn't mean you can say the province is the best. As you well know of course, you crafty bugger. I doubt you do think Leinster is stronger. I'd say you want to get us going oin the other provincial "we're better than you" debate in our other code. Similar to this thread and just as rediculous.

thykingdomcome (Kerry) - Posts: 1206 - 06/07/2009 19:12:58    334734

since 2006 FIVE munster teams have been in the munster final compare that to leinster since 2006 only THREE teams have contested the leinster final and since 1996 5 diff teams have won munster whereas since 1996 in leinster only TWO teams have won the provincial!! TWO teams winning leinster since 1996????????

premierman21 (Tipperary) - Posts: 429 - 06/07/2009 19:17:04    334736