Michael Hogan

Corkcelt I did throw that in to sound clever alright. I was going for the architect from the matrix reloaded answer. I wanted to use concordantly as well but the opportunity didn't arise!!!

For the record people, don't go thinking that I don't regard the people in the GPO in 1916 as heroes, I'm simply asking would history still see people in a certain light had events been different.

If you think that Michael Hogan would still be regarded as a hero if he wasn't shot in such horrible and tragic circumstances then by all means lets hear it. I am genuinely interested to hear peoples views on this.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 03/07/2009 12:33:22    330957

corkcelt

Cork celt, theres some new Dublin user names on here- if they have pop ignore there probably bad

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 03/07/2009 12:40:03    330970

Don't worry about me toma007 my old friend, badmonkey in any of his guises doesn't faze me in the least. The Dubs from the rare ol stock are the best in the world but ye have a few hangers on just like ourselves, down in Cork they'd be known as something that rhymes with bangers.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/07/2009 13:41:52    331064

toma007
I've only come back recently, so my number of posts would reflect this. However, I was here long before the website changed. Loyal and Liam can give you a reference

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 03/07/2009 14:00:45    331087

It all comes down to whether you regard the "Patriot Dead" as heroes or not (i do) Although Hogan didnt die in combat as such, he was still an active member of IRA (the vast majority of both teams were) and the Tans' excuse for opening fire in the grounds was the fact that so many GAA members were also IRA members. Sure on the way up to the match Hogan was said to have forced a group of brits off the train! So it depends what kind of people you class as heroes- if you dont think the men of 1916 or War of Independence were, then chances are you wont think Michael Hogan was either.

MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 03/07/2009 14:13:46    331102

And am I a langer Corkcelt cos i disagree with you?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/07/2009 14:25:48    331112

corkcelt

Hope that wasnt directed at me corkcelt! Since i seem to have mysteriously been dubbed badmonkey! I never said a word to ya...

MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 03/07/2009 14:32:26    331120

That comment wasn't particularly meant for you Liam. In any event I would not have a problem with you because you disagree with me. The entire essence of debate is based on the fact that people disagree with each other. You are quite obviously intelligent and highly articulate but you do start some provocative threads. In one sense I do not have a problem with that either because it can lead to a challenging debate, but most of the times you just happen to be treading on my toes re the subjects you bring up. Somewhere along the line we might find ourselves on the same side of a debate.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/07/2009 14:48:39    331141

MyUsername why is paddyogall calling you badmonkey. I am very anxious to have a chat with the real badmonkey, so if it is you why not come out and say so.

corkcelt (Cork) - Posts: 4388 - 03/07/2009 14:52:03    331147

corkcelt

331147 MyUsername why is paddyogall calling you badmonkey. I am very anxious to have a chat with the real badmonkey, so if it is you why not come out and say so.

I'm calling him badmonkey because jimbodub is calling him badmonkey

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/07/2009 14:56:05    331154

No corkcelt i honestly AM NOT badmonkey! I only figured out there were forums on hoganstand a few weeks ago...i have no clue who this badmonkey lad even is!! Think paddyogall decided i was him when i said i didnt like the GPA's plan for grants- the cheek of me for disagreeing with him :-) So yeah i am not he.

MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 03/07/2009 14:59:31    331164

Or was it jimbodub??

MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 03/07/2009 15:00:05    331168

Hogan took part in a challenge match between Tipperary and Dublin at Croke Park on Bloody Sunday (1920), November 21, 1920. The day before, he travelled on the train with the other members of the team. A number of the players, including Hogan, became involved in a fight with soldiers from the Lincolnshire Regiment before throwing them from the train. On arrival at (Kingsbridge) Heuston Station, they quickly went their separate ways anticipating arrest. Michael and Thomas Ryan, the two IRA members on the team, decided to stay at Philip Shanahan's pub in Monto that night, rather than Barry's Hotel as planned. There they learned that 'there was a 'big job coming off' the following day, but were unaware of the details. The following morning , Phil Shanahan informed them of the shooting of British agents. Ryan claims that Dan Breen advised them it would be better not to attend the match, but to return instead to Tipperary , During the match, police entered the Park and opened fire on the crowd. Hogan was one of the 14 people killed. A young Wexford man offered the Act of Contrition to Hogan and was also killed. Another player, Jim Egan, was wounded, but survived.
LIAM -I Dont these were the actions of players, more like people that were involved in a struggle ,im sure Michael Hogan didnt ask to be a hero,

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 03/07/2009 15:02:01    331172

CorkCelt I seem to recall we were on the same side of the debate re the Cork Hurlers Thread And the longer u spend here u will realise I am a bit of a ****stirrer sometimes! I freely admit it! But not always. Its obvious to the regular lads here when I am having a laugh! But on the Michael Hogan point I am not messing. I am in no way trying to offend anyone and I am not for one second saying anything bad about the man whatsoever and anyone who says I am is just basically wrong! I just dont see why he is a "hero" thats all Now the Celtic thread, that WAS a wind up!!!! Sorry :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 03/07/2009 15:02:35    331173

corkcelt
Username is badmonkey

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 03/07/2009 15:04:33    331177

MyUsername

331164 No corkcelt i honestly AM NOT badmonkey! I only figured out there were forums on hoganstand a few weeks ago...i have no clue who this badmonkey lad even is!! Think paddyogall decided i was him when i said i didnt like the GPA's plan for grants- the cheek of me for disagreeing with him :-) So yeah i am not he.

Don't mind Paddyogall. He's "thebigswitch" as well.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 03/07/2009 15:11:36    331189

Breffni39

331189 MyUsername

331164 No corkcelt i honestly AM NOT badmonkey! I only figured out there were forums on hoganstand a few weeks ago...i have no clue who this badmonkey lad even is!! Think paddyogall decided i was him when i said i didnt like the GPA's plan for grants- the cheek of me for disagreeing with him :-) So yeah i am not he.

I am not the Bigswitch, Isnt that the Bord Gais thingy

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 03/07/2009 15:16:41    331194

corkcelt

331147 MyUsername why is paddyogall calling you badmonkey. I am very anxious to have a chat with the real badmonkey, so if it is you why not come out and say so.

On the off-chance you werent aware, badmonkey hasn't posted since he inadvertantly revealed himself as having different logins on the Rangers thread in the Non-GAA forum. He was a bit of WUM but not the worst poster - he had plenty to say for himself. Unless he was banned, he should really swallow his pride and come back.

Still no sign of Samin10 though, anyone any idea of his story? Hardly banned?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 03/07/2009 15:18:20    331196

paddyogall

331194 Breffni39

331189 MyUsername

I am not the Bigswitch, Isnt that the Bord Gais thingy

Yep and you work for Bord Gais don't you? You did the very same thing as badmonkey on the shell thread ie responded as paddyogall when it should have been thebigswitch and stretched it by saying Bord Gais have offices in the USA.

Only doubt in my mind is that it is nearly too obvious

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 03/07/2009 15:24:22    331202

Breffni39

Ok that makes a lot more sense- explains the hostilities anyway! Cheers

MyUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 227 - 03/07/2009 15:24:23    331203