Best Premiership team ever

When did Liverpool win the Premership?

Ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

silence is golden..............................

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 15/06/2009 22:06:49    312670

re patrique 15/6
You really are a sad Blue and all because no matter how much money you have nobody wants to go to you.
As i said you cant help yourself no matter what Utd won you would still find a negative that is a sure sign of a sore loser.
No matter who you support and if you know anything about football sometimes you have to hold your hands up and say the best team won
like i have to say Barsa were the best team even though it hurts but then that's the sign of a good sportsman does that ring any bells with you ?

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 15/06/2009 23:26:38    312810

There's some bold statements about my person which is very brave considering you don't know me.

For your information I lived in Manchester for over 6 years. I've got really close friends from Salford (born and bred) who are Man United fans so I have been to Old Trafford on numerous occasions, too many to list in fact. My Salford muckers dislike the way their local club has been hoovered up by the blow-ins and day trippers - which, let's be fair, are very easy to spot. They're the lost looking characters on the tram, or the ones laden down with the superstore carrier bags. There are a lot of them and they are not from Manchester; they are from the four corners of the world. Or they are students from around the home counties in engerland wearing the red Man United jersey whilst living in Didsbury, Withington or Fallowfield in the South of the city.

When I lived in Wythenshawe (and survived - for those of you that know the area!) my neighbours were Man City fans so I have also been to Maine Road loads of times (I've only been to COMS three times in fairness but it was a while since I moved to London) and you'd struggle to hear any other accent than Mancunian when going for a few pints either in Rusholme, in town before the game, or on the Kippax. Vastly different to the Old Trafford experience.
(Though there is potential for this to change somewhat. My Man City mates would use the Glazier purchase of Man Utd as a stick to beat them with but have since sold their own soul to the Arabs.)

I support neither side - my team is Galway *United* - but due to my job I attend lots of soccer matches over here. I've travelled in Europe with english sides, and have been to over 70 grounds in the four leagues, and numerous non league side also. So trust me, I do know what I'm talking about.

Oh, and the people on this thread have spoken: The 'unbeatable' Arsenal side have registered the most votes. Which, if you think about it, makes sense really.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 16/06/2009 13:38:39    313354

Like a dog with a bone WestAwake. This no Mancs is a Yawwwwwn and a proven fact that Manchester is fairly evenly split with United shaving the majority of fans in the City. On your many visits to Manchester did you ever visit the Trafford Centre or the City Centre. The red shirts vastly out number the blue ones. For someone who says he knows so much about Manchester he is not making any sense what so ever????

Re your comment around your Salford red fans, you are correct that many loyal working class United fans have struggled to get to games in the recent past and the experience is not as it used to be. Mainly due to the spiraling cost and the fact that as Roy Keane put it the ground has fairly large areas of corporate seating (The prawn sandwich brigade). This has changed the face of football and in my opinion not necessarily for the good. I sit in my seat and sometimes it feels like your at the pictures. so i do understand why a lot of loyal reds do not enjoy the games in the same way as in the past.

The stadium hold over 76,000 people and it is full every week. With the growth of the premier league and United being its star attraction. The whole world suddenly wants a part of it. Hence the day trippers that you mention. But don't forget our blue neighbours average gates around 40,000 considerably less!!!!!! I remember not to long around 20,000 going every week, so where are all these blue fan you know. Again get your facts right???

6 years in Manchester does not constitute the over 40 i have experienced born and bread my friend 4 miles from the ground.

Re your comment about England, If you knew anything about United you would also know that the majority of United fans are certainly not England fans in fact far from it. Argentina sang every game and the Ronaldo song i could give you many more. again get your facts right. Just because you name a few areas in Manchester makes you an expert, i don't think so.

O and by the way one of the biggest supporters clubs at United is from Wythenshawe, again you lead us up the wrong path.

I also travel to watch United at home and abroad, i will be honest enough to say there is a mixed bag of fans from different parts of the country and Ireland, but most are local lads. This is the attraction of the most famous club in the world people want to be a part of it.

Look at the Rugby suddenly Ireland have some success with Munster and Lenster and the whole country suddenly loves rugby? Did you ever stop and ask why?

94 United team the best team without doubt!!!!

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 16/06/2009 23:05:55    314132

I think you have a problem, Mancirish. You accuse me of being like a dog with a bone and yet you're completely blinded by your obsession with 'United'. I'll try and answer each of you questions (that are worth answering) in turn. Have I been to the Trafford Centre or City centre? What do you think, though I always try and avoid the former as shopping isn't really my thing. Yes, you do see a lot of red jerseys but a lot of these are the aforementioned students from the Uni, the Met, UMIST, RNCoM etc. Of course some are going to be local, I've never disputed this fact. That would be a case of your blindness again. You also see a lot of blue jerseys. Again, not all of these will be local Man City fans but I'd hazard a guess that their proportion would be higher. Where are all the blue fans I know? Where do you think they are; they're in Manchester. Where did I claim that Man City have a bigger fanbase because I think you'll find that I haven't. And what comment about england? I'm fully aware of Man Utds stance on not being bothered about supporting england which I believe really grew out of the vilification of Beckham by the rest of the country after he flicked his boot at Simeone in France '98. My comment was that I've travelled to europe with english sides (Man Utd being one of them) and as you rightly say, it's a mixed bag. I'd say approximately half would be Mancunian in my experience. And thank you for your comment about you being the expert due to 40 years in Manchester, whilst I know very little as I only lived there for 6. Very adult of you. To be at your level, I would ask you to please desist from posting in the GAA part of this website then. I have over 30 years experience of being born and bred in Ireland so know the GAA, whereas you, do not. Now doesn't that sound ridiculous? Think before you type, Mancirish. And open your eyes. I'm not attacking you, I'm expressing an opinion.

Wests_Awake (Galway) - Posts: 877 - 17/06/2009 10:23:03    314396

This the same unbeaten team that won 1 title?? And lets not forget about Pires diving against Portsmouth eh.

A good team wins 1 a great team wins more.

The greatest premier league team so far is United double winning side in 94. Hands down.

Schmeichel

Parker Pally Bruce Irwin

Kancheskis Ince Keane Giggs

Hughes Cantona

With Robson, Scharpe,Choccy to name a few to all come in. The pace of that team was frightening. Ince and Keaney in the middle squeezing the life out of the oposition, Kanchelskis the most assured selfish git going and Ryan on the other side. Anyone who has been around to watch Ryan explode onto the scene and grow as he has done really has been priveleged. The back 4 speaks for itself with Schmeichel between the sticks. Up front Hughes was awesome and Eric- Theres no superlatives that do the man justice. 'Dieu'

And Patrique yes it is the same team who got beat 4-0 at the Nou Camp, At the same time the Foreinger rule was in place as you know fine well and regarding teams in Europe. Look at your own before you jest at others.

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 22/07/2009 00:26:47    356293

Mancirish you live in Timperly/Sale area is it?

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 22/07/2009 00:53:10    356327

GILLY2308:

And remind us all why they were banned from Europe? To sugest that Liverpool may have own more european cups post hysel is a slap in the face for teams like Everton who were denied even a chance because a renowned group of supportes cant behave .

Samsforthehills (Donegal) - Posts: 1075 - 22/07/2009 01:05:41    356335

im a pool fan. id have to say our best ever team that i saw was the 86 double team or the 90 team. they were fantastic, brilliant players. it kills me to say but maybe the unbeatable arsenal team was probally very close to them, but couldnt do anything in europe. other teams to mention would be man utd 94 team, were far better one than 99, they were very lucky, that everton team of the mid eighties were outstanding(bloody bluenoses).

Hurl08 (Cavan) - Posts: 164 - 22/07/2009 10:19:14    356499

ah british soccer fans, cant beat them

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 22/07/2009 10:36:39    356524

I misread the thread but in any case

Schmeical, Irwin Adams, Ferdinand,Pearce, Gerard, Vierra, Keane, Giggs, Shearer, Henry

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 22/07/2009 10:56:31    356553

Following on from where Ruanua is bringing the thread my greatest premiership 11 would be Goal keeper= Peter Schmeichel.... apart from maybe Given and James at times i don't think anyone comes close. Right full= Dennis Irwin.... think fergusen said you never saw him make last gasp tackles because he already got the ball before he had to. Centre= Tony adams.. absolute rock Centre= Paul mc grath... he only got the end of his carreer in the Premiersip but he would deserve his place if he only played one game 'God'. Left back= Ashley Cole.... sickens me to say it as an Arsenal fan but he deserves his place. Left Mid=Giggs... think that goal against Arsenal says it all. Centre mid= Mattle tissier... playing just behind the strikers he was class, could have left the saints for huge teams but stayed to score some class goals. Centre mid=Keane... was a toss up between him and Viera but Keane has acheived more with united. Right mid= Beckham... One of the best long passers of the ball ever. Striker= Henry... One of the best ever. Striker= Bergkamp... My favourite player ever, he was a magician with the ball!

Mike Hunt (Meath) - Posts: 70 - 22/07/2009 12:45:33    356719

Man Utd, especially in 1999 and 2008.

theblindassasin (Meath) - Posts: 915 - 22/07/2009 13:27:37    356799

Whats the only ship that never docked in Liverpool ? ANS = Premiership

Mulligan Eamonn (None) - Posts: 896 - 23/07/2009 00:12:02    357767

No Sam, born and raised in Chorlton now in Stockport. Your bang on about the 94 team had everything, it was a pleasure to watch them. My old mate Partique will never see the light your wasting your time, seriously blue shaded glasses on the man. Good at clutching at straws though. But fair play to him, he is loyal to them and they haven't had much to shout about in the last 30 years.

We forget sometimes how fortunate we are to be reds at times. I think sometimes it is just to easy with all that we have won and the style in which it has all been done. No wonder the blue side of the city has a chip on its shoulder. Why wouldn't it? Maybe the bitterness will decrease now in the future, if they smell a little success. Lets hope so, 33 years can't half eat you up you know???

Just as long as our friends on the other side of M62 don't get hold of our Premiership trophy, that is the big one. 19 this year i think and 4 in a row at the Theater of dreams.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 23/07/2009 22:54:03    359431

Premiership, lads. After 1992. So save ye're history lessons with all the material ye just googled for another thread.

United's treble team was the best, followed very closely by the '94 team. The only reason they're second is because the rules handicapped them out of a Champions League, so the '99 team's Champions League clinches it.

Sawyer (Louth) - Posts: 269 - 23/07/2009 23:35:40    359512