Derry v Tyrone

Bald eagle, thats exactly the comments we want to be hearing from Derry wans, None of this oul nicey, nicey stuff, Awe we supported yis last year blah blah. Its the big one as far as local derby's go and i can't ever mind getting bate by Derry at Casement park. I don't think Sunday will be a first. Tir Eoghain abu yis Derry Yahoo's.....

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 17/06/2009 21:19:46    315258

Go on Derry give em holly boy . I hope derry can do it . I'm tired of looking at Dooher fella's head . Blast away Derry .

JeremyWendell (Limerick) - Posts: 232 - 17/06/2009 21:47:07    315300

There is a first time for everything Mugsy and this is it.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 17/06/2009 22:02:07    315317

Yeah and a big hurray for Buzz Lightyear when yous are blasting away..........

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 17/06/2009 22:04:18    315318

Oh yes Derryman, there's a first time for everything, for example, this year the Ulster final was played in May. Mickey Harte doesn't do friendlies hence the reason we play Derry on Sunday lad........

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 17/06/2009 22:14:03    315336

new name on the anglo celt this year ...... antrim

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 17/06/2009 22:25:51    315360

Those are fair points about whether Tyrone regard Derry as "Rivals" anymore.
Tyrone have certainly been operating at a much higher level than Derry over the last 7 or 8 years.

A good rivalvry requires both teams to be regularly inflicting defeats on each other.
By definition Kerry-Tyrone isn't really a good rivalry then, as Tyrone keep beating them.

There's still a bit of spark in the Derry v Tyrone thing though.
Often the underdog tends to win this contest, as happened last time the two met in the championship (2006, Derry won in Omagh against the odds).

Tyrone are rightly favourites on Sunday and won't want to lose this one.
If Derry do win on Sunday then the rivalry will definately be re-ignited!
If we don't then I hope we get Monaghan in the qualifiers, now that would be craic!

Hill.Farmer (Derry) - Posts: 31 - 17/06/2009 22:46:19    315394

To dj27legend:
Won't be a new name on the Anglo-Celt if Antrim win it pal, they've won it before and Sam for that matter.
Good chance their name will be on it before Down's will at your current rate of deterioration.
I seem to remember that the last big scalp they took was Down's!
By the way, what's this got to do with Derry v Tyrone?

Hill.Farmer (Derry) - Posts: 31 - 17/06/2009 22:50:08    315402

Mugsys_barber

Oh yes Derryman, there's a first time for everything, for example, this year the Ulster final was played in May. Mickey Harte doesn't do friendlies hence the reason we play Derry on Sunday lad........

MB, Derry played in May...Tyrone played in June. Are you cryptically telling us Derry and Monaghan was effectively the Ulster final?

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 17/06/2009 23:02:22    315418

I see the Derry wans can't decide if it is going to be an open game (Cassidy Irish News - Tuesday) or a tight game (Gillis Irish News - Today). Is the Derry camp split or something?

sam2008 (Tyrone) - Posts: 799 - 17/06/2009 23:07:51    315424

Sam2008, what are you like? One is a method of play ie an open game of football and they other means a tight game as in the score board....give me strength!

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 17/06/2009 23:21:21    315448

Hillfarmer a coupleof points.

Antrimhave not win sam before

Tyrone dont keep beating Derry. in their last 5 encounters Derry have win two as have Tyrone and drawn once.

derryman (Derry) - Posts: 3246 - 17/06/2009 23:39:49    315481

Regarding my last post, got my dates wrong thought Armagh and Tyrone played on the 7th June... ;) Sorry for ever doubting you Mugsy's barber

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 17/06/2009 23:53:09    315495

Are you Tyrone ones getting a bit nervous at this stage?
I'm getting more confident that Derry can put the shackles on O'Neill,Mugsy and co.They'll get a bumpy ride, all within the rules of course.

northpole (Derry) - Posts: 739 - 18/06/2009 09:18:23    315577

The more the week goes on the more confident i am we will pull this off! After all just look at the sheer quality on display from tyrone compared to derry! we should win this at a canter!

Alot of derry ones think they'l walk it but!

dergboi (Tyrone) - Posts: 373 - 18/06/2009 09:59:45    315606

Niamh, you almost had me doubting myself there for a minute, but no the Ulster final was played on the 31st of May 2009, We're both correct now........

I might not be as smug on Monday!

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 18/06/2009 10:00:16    315607

dergboi

Alot of derry ones think they'l walk it but!

Are you serious? Not one Derry person has even in the slightest way possible suggested we would walk this!

SouthDerryGael (Derry) - Posts: 159 - 18/06/2009 10:39:19    315638

I just read on the bbc website that alan sugar has infact changed his mind and is no longer hiring jazmina...

instead he has decided to offer the apprentice job to paddy bradley, who had origionally finished fourth.

will this effect the derry starting 15 for sunday?

joan_balantine (UK) - Posts: 824 - 18/06/2009 10:53:11    315657

To derryman:
Thanks for correcting me on my Antrim all-Ireland success inaccuracy.
I thought they'd maybe won it in the early 1900s but I see now that they were beaten in consecutive finals before the 1st world war.

As regards your second point, I didn't say that Tyrone keep beating Derry.
Read my post again my friend and you'll see I talked about |Tyrone always beating Kerry, not Derry.
Some posters seem to think that Kerry are Tyrones "rivals" now rather than Derry.
My point was that Kerry v Tyrone isn't much of a rivalry as the outcome has been one-sided.

Derry v Tyrone on the other hand still is a rivalry as both teams have beaten each other regularly over the last few years as you rightly point out.
Hopefully Derry will win on Sunday and add to this great Rivalry.

Sure it'd be no craic if we were right all the time, would it derryman?
Neither you or I suffer from that.

Hill.Farmer (Derry) - Posts: 31 - 18/06/2009 10:54:43    315658

joan_balantine

If you were going to try a wise crack you could have least got the girls name right, it's Yasmina.

SouthDerryGael (Derry) - Posts: 159 - 18/06/2009 11:01:48    315667