Kids told to remove GAA gear

3inarow08 ''still witing for paddyogall to post.''

Whiterbananas just posted for him

Dr.Shephard (Leitrim) - Posts: 2187 - 29/04/2009 15:47:17    271313

Doesn't surprise me as alot of people take offense at the least we thing from wearing a poppy or easter lily to Rangers and Celtic tops and now GAA tops these people would also tell you that they weren't Racists I Disagree I hosted a cross community fun day only a couple of years ago and I actively encouraged the youngsters to wear there favorite sports top no matter what side of the divide thy came from it was a great days crack and a few of the lads and lassies still keep in touch I know its had to bring down tribe barriers but i was a start and theres still some great work being done here in Tyrone Cookstown youth and Fr Rocks.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 29/04/2009 15:49:52    271319

Shocking stuff altogether.
The only suprise is that the UUP got in their complaint in before someone from the DUP.
Tesco have really opened up a can of worms for themselves now and I hope they lose some business because of it.

Yop (Wexford) - Posts: 362 - 29/04/2009 16:12:08    271346

My own Club has done bag packing in this Store & we are to do it again in a few months time so it's very worrying indeed but you always get a few bigots as we witnessed first hand the last time we where there but I expect it from them lot. I do my shopping in there every week & i've give to the RAF, Boys Brigade & there's even been a flute band but at the end of the day these are kids raising a few pound for themselves or a wee trip somewhere. At the end of the day if you don't want to support the organisation doing the bag packing don't.

Aldergrove Gael (Antrim) - Posts: 161 - 29/04/2009 16:15:01    271349

This is I beleive Patriques club alright - I'd have no doubt that the old professor is suitably disgusted with this and would already be formulating a response to tesco's and the cllr involved in this madness.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 29/04/2009 16:25:00    271358

29/04/2009 16:23:49
PrinceKev

271356 Simple Solution =

Boycott Tesco's

I think that's the way to go. I for one will let the manager of our local store know and will do so again the next time I see any back packers wearing any type of jersey or emblem. The only way those guys learn.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 29/04/2009 16:29:34    271363

Grrrrrrrrrrrr.........................my blood is boiling

What a joke, cant say what I want to cause it will be edited

Spuddy (Mayo) - Posts: 345 - 29/04/2009 16:30:05    271364

Boycotting Tesco is one thing but after this incident I can't see myself voting for the UUP/conservative party at the forthcoming European election

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 29/04/2009 16:33:43    271371

Or even BAG packers!! Oops!!

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 29/04/2009 16:34:30    271372

whiterbannnas County: Mayo Posts: 1060 271293 Ah well, wearing their GAA shirts was a bad idea from the start. Think of it from the protestant's point of view. Surely, white t-shirts would have been a more sensible and appropriate option So it's ok for all the other sporting organisations who raise money this way to wear their colours to show who they are raising the funds for but not a GAA club ? Would this be acceptable where you live ? Would it be acceptable to ask a team from the Polish, Asian or from any other background to hide or cover up what they are associated with ? I think there might be just be a wee bit of a reaction from all right minded if that was the case. No doubt if they had have covered up their shirts someone would have complained that they donated money to an organisation they didn't want to support - and that's their right.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 29/04/2009 16:37:14    271376

rovertin, whiterbananas is paddyogall (probably was ballbag too) and is a troll. Posts from this individual are not to be taken seriously. Troll is essentially another word for a WUM!.

Real Louth fan (Louth) - Posts: 3157 - 29/04/2009 16:39:29    271382

This is the kind of thing the really gets under my skin..blatent ignorence is the only way to describe it,Ive seen underage teams bagbacking in many supermarkets and there has never been a problem,if anything its great to see the sense of pride of place which is so lacking in these modern times-This was surely jealousy on the part of unionists.the fact that there were a number of complaints is more worrying

keep_the_faith (Meath) - Posts: 400 - 29/04/2009 16:45:14    271393

Not much of an advertisement for multi culturalism. 400 years later and they've still not accepted Irish culture. One way tickets to Stranraer might be a better investment than anything else that's been tried. I made mistake of wearing a Dublin jacket once on a work trip to South Belfast. One chap refused point blank to answer a question I asked him although that might have been Dellboy on a shopping trip!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 29/04/2009 16:59:08    271420

Bloody typical/ disgraceful. Some people will never change. There will be nothing said about Ulster rugby jerseys or England jerseys being worn. Oh not a chance....

Plastic Paddy (Tyrone) - Posts: 664 - 29/04/2009 16:59:21    271422

absolute disgrace, all involved with complaints should be ashamed of themselves. i believe that minister should issue a public apology and one to all those involved with the club and local GAA.

sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 29/04/2009 17:00:06    271424

Pretty nasty stuff. But I know from speaking to northern GAA people before, that they've often suffered much worse for simply being members of the GAA. I would have hoped that those days were gone - but alas, it doesn't look like it. This time they're dragging children into it.

I wonder if the GAA members/clubs from the area all wrote to the UUP HQ, to express their disgust. Would it make any difference? Would the head honchos of the party be likely to tell this guy cop on? Might be worth trying. It should be remembered that the Good Friday Agreement essentially does recognise the rights of Roman Catholics in the six counties/Northern Ireland, to be Irish without being British. One would then expect that they have the right to express their Irishness in any non-violent way? In any decent society the wearing of any sporting regalia should not reasonably be considered provocative.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 29/04/2009 17:04:54    271435

Sure does patrique not vote for these so is he going to stop voting for them now i wonder.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/04/2009 17:06:16    271438

hurlingdub Am not that bad now boss to be fair ...

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/04/2009 17:10:32    271443

terrible stuff but nothin new as far as th north and unionists are concerened as far as i can see these people are living in the stone age and are AFRAID of anthing thats different to their own tradition, very childish stuff, if i had my way.....

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 29/04/2009 17:13:31    271448

Well i will not be shopping in tesco again as i do all my shopping there disgrace of big brand company to be at this. So what about cricket teams, soccer, etc why was this not put to them i wonder instead of the gaa been targeted racism to me .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 29/04/2009 17:21:46    271465