I believe that Rugby is becoming more and more of a threat to the GAA. The hype it gets despite having a playing population of under 20,000 is crazy and you would swear that Munster and Leinster represent everything that is good about Ireland or being Irish or 'Oirish' as the Leinster fans would say. I like the game for its physicality and unlike alot of rugby supporters in this country, I once played the game for a season and attended matches. The Grand Slam win and now this match will get unprecedented coverage. Just like english soccer, its v easy to be an armchair fanatic about Munster or Leinster and I constantly see those with high opinions of themselves associating with the game despite their cluelessness. But is there the possibility that it will severely damage the GAA? ChungLad (Longford) - Posts: 351 - 14/04/2009 12:32:37 256353 Link 0 |
There is no possibility that it will damage the GAA. The GAA is a lot more than sport and I genuinely believe that football and hurling are permanently ingrained on our psyche. Rugby is fantastic and when I see my country - unified as it should be - win anything it is great and I get swept away but I will always be a gael and gaels will always exist because it is in our blood. The couple of lads that are lost to the game are replaceable because every day new GAA players are born. CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 14/04/2009 12:53:42 256379 Link 0 |
I actually think the provincial system has made it less of a threat to the GAA in terms of players. Now to get on the provicial sides you need to be a top class player and no longer just an AIL player. That means it is harder to get noticed, so many players may not see it as being worth the effort needed in physical terms and play GAA at amateur level rather than rugby at semi-pro or pro level. slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 14/04/2009 13:00:39 256384 Link 0 |
There is no doubt it will. Most sports coaches encourage kids to play all sports, as they should, but when they get to teenage years other influences usually mean they drop out or pick one sport. It's not only rugby but soccer is a major problem. If it got organised at grass roots level they could wipe out underage clubs in rural areas were children's involvement in the the parish gaa club is taken for granted. realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 14/04/2009 13:06:18 256399 Link 0 |
frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 14/04/2009 13:26:45 256418 Link 0 |
Not unless you go to Grammar School. patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 14/04/2009 13:26:52 256419 Link 0 |
I hope its not interrupting your sleep patterns, chung.... sheepshooter (Meath) - Posts: 626 - 14/04/2009 13:48:08 256461 Link 0 |
Rugby is getting a lot of hype at the minute with the success of Leinster, Munster and the Ireland team. Fair play I am delighted to see any Irish teams competing and winning at the highest levels. However if you look beyond these three teams there is very little happening. The GAA is much more entrenched in the local communities and with our tradition will be very hard to shift. The danger is that they will start doing what the AFL has done and recruit our young stars. MB1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 360 - 14/04/2009 14:21:01 256527 Link 0 |
No because big games aside who really watches it? Ok Ireland winning the Grand Slam was a big deal and I admit I did watch the France and Wales games like most people but who goes to watch club rugby? From what I've seen it bears little resemblance to the international game, very slow and very boring. dolfos (Longford) - Posts: 128 - 14/04/2009 14:45:13 256547 Link 0 |
Of course it's going to have an effect on the GAA,children's new idols are the likes of O'Gara,O'Connell and unfortunately O'Driscoll.However it's not going to effect the GAA in a big way,kids still grow up wanting to represent their parishes in a county final or even represent their couny in Croke Pk. dubinlaois (Dublin) - Posts: 304 - 14/04/2009 14:59:33 256562 Link 0 |
dubinlaois County: Dublin Posts: 102 256562 Of course it's going to have an effect on the GAA,children's new idols are the likes of O'Gara,O'Connell and unfortunately O'Driscoll. Dont see why you would say unfortunately o driscoll. he had a brilliant 6 nations and did the business again on sunday. theres a lot of bregrudgery against him because he has a bit of a d4 accent. put it this way, if i had a kid, i would prefer the kid to look up to someone like odriscoll than robbie keane or steve collins. Horse (Laois) - Posts: 1146 - 14/04/2009 15:11:11 256581 Link 0 |
Patrique I think you'll find that Catholic grammar schools in the north have a stronger GAA tradition than the vocational ones. I know not one of them that even plays rugby. The Grammar schools that play rugger have always done so therfore i can't see how things will change. Perhaps in Antrim things are different but that says it all about the disguisting waste of resources and talent in that county. My main worry would be losing the lads in the vocational schools to soccer. CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 14/04/2009 15:16:18 256587 Link 0 |
Someone made a good point-O Gara and O' Connell will be looked up to by small kids instead of intercounty players. I hear that rugby is consistently expanding the amount of schools who play it. Club rugby is boring, I've fallen asleep at every club rugby match I was at. Alot of Munster and Leinster fans never played rugby and don't have one iota about the sport. I know some people who look on the GAA as a bunch of redneck thugs whereas rugby is the glamour game. It seems to me that alot of Irish people are very fond of jumping on whichever bandwagon is going well (ie) Irish soccer team (a parade for winning a match in the world cup-pathetic), english soccer teams, Munster or Leinster. Theres also some amount of people in Dublin who think rugby is the only sport going, one journalist after the France game said it was probably a better performance and match than anything that had been in Croke Park before-I wonder which fee-paying school he went to. There is also an honesty in rugby that appeals to Irish people that isn't in soccer. ChungLad (Longford) - Posts: 351 - 14/04/2009 16:27:36 256711 Link 0 |
Ok this is very simple to understand, rugby is not a 'threat' to GAA its a competitor. Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 14/04/2009 17:02:52 256766 Link 0 |
foreign games in croker....disgraceful! stonedog (Down) - Posts: 352 - 14/04/2009 17:38:40 256846 Link 0 |
CheFinny patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 14/04/2009 23:06:08 257211 Link 0 |
Rugby a threat to the G.A.A. ??? Not in the least !!! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 14/04/2009 23:56:01 257323 Link 0 |
Patrique your quote would seem to suggest that you feel Grammar schools will loose their GAA culture. CheFinny (UK) - Posts: 1358 - 15/04/2009 08:57:25 257419 Link 0 |
I support Connacht Rugby. This is for 2 reasons, firstly pride of place, this is the province I am from and I will support them. Secondly, Im a sucker for underdogs! irishstew (Sligo) - Posts: 172 - 15/04/2009 09:14:03 257425 Link 0 |
CheFinny patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/04/2009 13:31:38 257670 Link 0 |