Div Two Senior.

knowshisstuff

Of course clan na geal want to go up but not in play offs and i think they will win it outright anyhow.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/10/2009 21:31:58    462191

are u talkin bout clan na geal wining division 2 outrigth next year?? if so, ure wrong, clan will finish mid table, just!! without stephen and brian, they are a lik a division 3 side, true or false?

Rvk15 (Tyrone) - Posts: 27 - 21/10/2009 22:01:08    462230

Rvk15

They finished just outside play-offs this year after a bad start to season check the table as it does not tell lies and they where a div 1 side not so long ago.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 21/10/2009 22:35:29    462276

Fair play to Greencastle going up, but I think it might be a bit of a stretch too far for them to retain Div 1 status the following year. Teague is good but you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. But if nothing else it will be good experience for a young team. Best of luck to them.

whitenred (Tyrone) - Posts: 156 - 22/10/2009 12:21:17    462713

Murphys' law, As a fellow Pomeroy gael I am taken back by some of your comments towards Greencastle and dragging our achievements through the mud. When we won our Intermediate titles we were promoted into 1B which was into the top 24 teams in Tyrone. Greencastle like it or lump it are now in the top 16 in the county and good luck to them. A great achievement for a small rural club. There has been some great comments made on this entire subject might I add.

I see you dodged the question posed to you regarding who was managing along with Declan this incoming year, I'm sure at this stage you have also heard about the rumours going round the town that his brother in law and friend are in negotiations on becoming part of the backroom team for this incoming year. The fact that both men are former Greencastle footballers will no doubt have you tearing your hair out at the thought of it. If they do come on board will they be getting your full support? I look forward to the reply.

fly_on_the_wall (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 22/10/2009 15:14:11    462960

21/10/2009 22:35:29
Dellboypolecat

462276 Rvk15

They finished just outside play-offs this year after a bad start to season check the table as it does not tell lies and they where a div 1 side not so long ago.
In actual fact Clan na Ngael finished in a play off position but forfeited the game to Derrylaughan

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 22/10/2009 15:46:28    463001

fly_on_the_wall

Never heard the rumours but i have a fair idea who you mean.

Thanks for your reply.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 22/10/2009 15:59:20    463025

Clan a gael finished in a play off place because Cookstown won the championship.
Know for a fact they dont want to go up nothing to do with play off's. They cant compete
at that level and they know it. Whats point in going to Div 1 and getting whipped every week (i.e Killyman).
Does nothing for players morale. Clan a gael are happy in Div 2 for now until they can compete at a higher level.
As the name suggests. knowshisstuff......... :-)

knowshisstuff (Tyrone) - Posts: 37 - 22/10/2009 16:04:59    463033

whitenred

you can't make a silk purse out of a sow's ear. Im actually dumbfounded at such a statement, that has no merit whatsoever. so to come from winning a div 3 all ireland, and get promoted to senior within 3 yrs with 10 of the team under-21 is a sows ear. Enlighten me with your statement please, I'm at a bit of a loss?

fly_on_the_wall

thanks for the info lad, that has really made me smile. the brother in law in question is not a former footballer, he's still playing. Can any of the greencastle lads elaborate on this?

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 22/10/2009 16:05:57    463036

fly_on_the_wall County: Tyrone Posts: 2 462960 I wasn't deliberately avoiding the last question. It isn't alwways easy getting access to a computer to answer all my fans of which there is many by the looks of it. I wouldn't have a problem with anyone helping out, even if they were from the Rock. I did hear the rumours but put it down as just pub talk, but have no issue with either of the men that was mentioned. I thought that big murphy was still taking the training anyway with felix over the reserve. Dellboypollcat.... in answer to you, My club will get treble the points that Greencastle will get next year and we will beat urney as well who will be in relegation trouble along with the Rock.

murphys_law (Tyrone) - Posts: 193 - 22/10/2009 16:58:10    463124

Good man BobbyB.
We are going up on merit alright.
Going for our second grade 2 u-21 title on sunday as well.

Time will tell if we are fit for it or not.
As i have said we will give it a real good go.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 22/10/2009 17:00:13    463130

BobbyB, Its a bit hard to shed any light on the subject when we don't know what men you's are talking about. Declan Who?

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 22/10/2009 17:19:19    463165

I presume he means McCallan.
Sorry for jumping in BobbyB.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 22/10/2009 17:24:14    463176

Declan McCallan Mugsy. Murphyslaw, they say that there is no smoke without fire and the rumour has been gathering some momentum. Big Murphy is apparently along with Clonmore in Armagh this year but I'm not 100% sure about that. What about yourself, will you be back playing again next year "Murphy?"

fly_on_the_wall (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 22/10/2009 17:29:34    463187

Sorry lads, still none the wiser. Did Declan McCallan play for Greencastle? I've been gone too long i doubt.

Good luck this weekend in the U21's V the young neighbours. lol

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 22/10/2009 18:02:51    463233

mugsys_barber

for a boy that's away too long ye seem to know plenty

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 22/10/2009 19:36:25    463289

Mick O Connell

21/10/2009 22:35:29
Dellboypolecat

462276 Rvk15

In actual fact Clan na Ngael finished in a play off position but forfeited the game to Derrylaughan

Yes i know but clan na geal want to win it outright and i think they will next year boss.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 22/10/2009 22:12:26    463562

Ah Now Bobby, I had actually considered calling myself knowshisstuff all them years ago but settled for the name I chose instead, I think it has a better ring to it don't you think. Why did you chose Bobbyb, were you friendly with Britney? I definitely wouldn't be as informed as either yourself or Watching, probably because I no longer live in the castle but still have family there that keep me up to speed with what is going on. Having said that have I offended anyone from the Castle in any of my posts?? I don't think so.
I have figured out who McCallen is at this stage, I was curious to know what ex-players were being offered a job by another club. I don't think there is much truth in it but will listen and see what our friends from Pomeroy have to say about it. Good luck to them if they decide to go for it.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 23/10/2009 09:20:20    463842

I take it that your going to dodge another question Murphys_law about playing next year. I think I have you figured out at this stage.

What about the Moortown and Derrylaughan game. I quite fancy Moortown to progress here to play Kildress in the play-off. What does everyone else think?

fly_on_the_wall (Tyrone) - Posts: 42 - 23/10/2009 14:07:05    464224

mugsys_barber

Britney?are you sure u didnt mean whitney? nah Mugsy I never indicated or suggested you offended anyone, I was was just stating that you knew a lot for a dude that doesn't live in the castle. Anyways as far as I know the person in question is not a former player, togged out a few weeks ago.

fly_on_the_wall

Fair play to ye, you've give Murph a few good points to digest there, I'd say he's mulling them over

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 23/10/2009 16:47:02    464398