Div Two Senior.

16/10/2009 14:30:23
mugsys_barber

456480 Dell is still a wild man in a van, but Greencastle could potentially bridge the gap and make it into the top half next year, it must be a great feeling for the Carmen's, Errigals, Dromore's and Ardboe's to finally get the chance to play against us. We'll be a breath of fresh air to that Division.

Those illustrious teams will definitely feel the fresh air when they ascend the slopes to Greencastle!!!

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 16/10/2009 15:02:23    456515

yes there are alot of bad bad teams in grade 2. they should do enough to stay in the division. just about tho. bad side. brocagh far better but getting a player lined cost them.

HOMER1234 (Tyrone) - Posts: 22 - 16/10/2009 15:36:14    456553

mugsy, you may come back to earth. such a statement from you. i, im sure carmen, ardboe and co. are killing with excitement at the thought of playing greencastle. id bet they havent even thought of it, honestly, they prob havent given it a seconds thought.

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 16/10/2009 16:21:29    456580

mugsys_barber

456480 Dell is still a wild man in a van, but Greencastle could potentially bridge the gap and make it into the top half next year, it must be a great feeling for the Carmen's, Errigals, Dromore's and Ardboe's to finally get the chance to play against us. We'll be a breath of fresh air to that Division.

I feel this team like cookstown will do well and finish in the top half next year and greencastle will for sure stay up in the div 1 and they will not struggle i think.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/10/2009 23:05:04    456962

Just would like to express my congratulations to Greencastle. The game tonight was played as good as a standerd ive seen in a long time and from that your youthful bunch of lads are going to go one hell off a long way. Seen people mentioning there going to be in a relegation dogfight but mark my words they wont be. Their passion determination etc is second to none. I believe that castle didn lead the game until 5mins or so to go. Before yous kept us within touching distance yous clawed back and maybe some sour grapes but the ref was awful friendly towards yous. But i firmly believe yous deserved it, never gave up and its those things thats gonna take yous a long way. Final congratulation to Sean Tague whgo has been exceptional with yous and is a credit too yous. An absolute gentleman. [b]ammmm watching were you at the game. was keeping my ears open to see who the man behind the username is!

AN SRATH BAN ABU

strabane harp (Tyrone) - Posts: 47 - 17/10/2009 02:12:18    457030

Havent seen much writing about the final last sunday unless from greencastle men blowing their own trumpet as to how they went up without without winning a league or championship! Any cookstown or gortin men onhand to give us a detailed account from their point of view?

IntermediateMan (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 17/10/2009 19:54:15    457318

moortownspuds

chill out man, relax. I think Mugsy's statement was very tongue in cheek. sour grapes me thinks

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 17/10/2009 21:39:53    457395

IntermediateMan

no league or championship, but still in senior. no one blowing any trumpets kid

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 17/10/2009 21:45:44    457399

certainly no sour grapes seeing as im just a keen neutral spectator of the football in this division. On top of this im not slagging of grrencastle either, i congratulate on them on their achievements but if you read frank rodgers article in the ulster herald he backs up my point. All i was looking for a was a report from either of them 2 clubs not a debate over greencastle...again

IntermediateMan (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 17/10/2009 23:38:06    457476

Thank you Bobbyb, somebody with sense, Some people take me way too serious on here when most of the stuff I put on is tongue in cheek. In all seriousness i agree with what Bobbyb said in an earlier post - "Greencastle will be in a relegation dogfight next year" along with the survivors out of Loughmacrory and Kildress. Greencastle have a very steep learning curve to overcome in a very short space of time, They will have to raise their game, Some of the team will integrate into the senior grade no problem, others will struggle to adapt. But, they all will learn something positive out of their adventure next year that will benefit them in the long run.

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 18/10/2009 12:20:35    457618

IntermediateMan County: Tyrone Posts: 32 Frank Rodgers. A top read always. Wouldn't know whether she was pumped or stuffed Anyways intermediate man, I was at the game as a neutral (hoping that cookstown would win). It was a good open game of football, Mugsy got a good goal, but I thought Barry Daly done very well on him. Marty Murray was always on the attack, and Barry Mulligan was winning alot of ball around the middle and feeding the forwards. Shane clarke was very good for gortin, a real workhorse and would put his head where you love to put Murphys law head. The penalty that ctown got was a handy one, a clumsy challenge. Gortin should have been 5 up at half time but just couldnt make it count on the board. The second half cookstown dictated the pace of the game and looked in control but gortin could have win it but I suppose its a sign of a good team when ctown held them off. Hopefully won't see you for a while

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 18/10/2009 22:51:13    458256

BobbyB,
I said Clan or Gortin because Knowhisstuff said points and not point.
Did he let the veil of secrets slip a bit there?
I will still go with my 2 choices.
He/she obviously doesn`t want to call it yet, shame.
Collie is the oldest at 30 and the experience of Macrory Cup and county minors should bring
young McCullagh up to speed with the game among the big boys.

Just because there is a few more Castle men on this site/thread
only means that and nothing more.
It will not be the same without us next year anyway.
Hopefully for more than next, but here`s hoping.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 19/10/2009 09:12:16    458398

strabane harp

Cheers there strabane harp, good piece.
Yes we just about stayed in the game for most of it,
but that is something that Teague has put into the team,
never give up and to keep going for "60 odd" as he puts it.
We just about deserved it but couldn`t have been annoyed
if we didn`t win, a good tight game for the time of year.

Was keeping my head down during the game,
dosed with the cold, not able to shout much.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 19/10/2009 09:19:03    458404

Bobby b I don't take too kindly to that last comment made about where I my head would be in a tackle, I'm hard as nails. I do know is that when I went to senior it was with silverware (league and championship and Ulster) and not hanging on the coat tails of another successful team and out celebrating with them like fools. If Greencastle get 3 points next year (before the charity end of season handouts occur) I'd be very very very surprised. In fact, i think i would give them a round of applause if that happens. If they score 3 points in some games that too would be an achievement, but no cigar from me for that.

murphys_law (Tyrone) - Posts: 193 - 19/10/2009 12:44:03    458704

did greencastle really go out celebrating with cookstown like they were best buddies? cookstown won it for themselves and nobody else.

harp (Tyrone) - Posts: 129 - 19/10/2009 14:00:50    458833

Interesting watching, interesting.
U21's on Sunday, castle have a strong team, should be playing at a far higher level, (Teague admits that himself), think
Gortin will give you a good game but fancy castle by 5 points. Thats my problem with you next year but
how many of your U21's are first team players? Fair few. Can they compete and the higher level? Remains to be seen.

knowshisstuff (Tyrone) - Posts: 37 - 19/10/2009 15:27:42    458979

By all accounts the Greencastle lads headed to Cookstown on the Monday night and enjoyed a few sociables with the Cookstown players. No crime involved. This is to be admired and is one of the reasons the GAA is such a unique organisation

Mick O Connell (None) - Posts: 1231 - 19/10/2009 15:28:52    458982

What's with all the hatred towards Greencastle?

ancaisleanglas1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 32 - 19/10/2009 16:45:47    459093

Dry your eyes ML.
I know you have a lot of baggage
with a few Castle posters, but you do come across like sour grapes.
We all know we only came second, but it was the best second the counts.
We are in senior ball next year, end of, thats the rules.
Should we do a Clan na nGael and not bother, for what ever reason?
So what we went to Cookstown and joined with them in their celebrations,
thats what sets the GAA apart from other sports, isn`t it.
Enjoy your season next year.
Slan.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 19/10/2009 17:10:40    459160

ancaisleanglas1

459093 What's with all the hatred towards Greencastle?

No worries ancaisleanglas1,
usually just Pomorey stuff losing his cool every now and again.
He usually goes away after a while.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 19/10/2009 17:13:36    459169