Div Two Senior.

moortown should have beaten greencastle but retreated too much... i dont know what the referee was honestly at sending your man off. moortown should win the replay because they seem to have more class players...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 14/09/2009 13:34:35    425247

A lot of lads seem to have looked at the Moortown match with green-tinted glasses. Moortown can only improve and will hardly hand so many scores to Greencastle on a plate as they did yesterday... right up to that last point when Marty Crozier gave the ball away in front of the goals.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 14/09/2009 14:50:37    425328

went to all the games over the weekend and have to say somethings were worth the pay in price and others not so much!
the first game over the weekend was gortin V kileshill, as expected the game didnt have the bite required due to both their recent poor form! A bit of controversy with the red cards as the gortin half back didnt strike but sent off along with hub hughes! If his suspension stands i see gortin taking the replay.
At the greencastle V moortown i have to say the castle were very lucky to get away with a draw here..4 down at 1 stage in 2nd half but had great character to pull it back, cant see them getting a nicer referee the next day!
In the cookstown V derrylaughan game everything went as expected with mulligan on top form and scoring something like 1-7. derrylaughan did well to keep as close but will regret throwing away the early lead!
In eskra V stewartstown game i predicted a eskra win and this was duely recieved. held a big lead with no much time left but let stown slip back in and lucky to nick the win..but there still in the semi finals!

IntermediateMan (Tyrone) - Posts: 59 - 14/09/2009 15:10:21    425365

watching, you certainly had the green tinted glasses on yesterday. moortown were by far the better team yesterday, even with 14 players. the ref was very inconsistant, greencastle scoring mostly from frees and with a little help from the officials. moortown showed they are the better footballers throughout this game. greencastle have only one way of playing and that is direct, route 1 football, catch and kick to the full forward line or try scores from a distance.
greencastle were lucky yesterday, they lost the midfield battle and because of that, their route 1 ball suffered.
moortown will have momentum, our full forward played yesterday with a very sore shoulder and will be fitter next week, im going for a moortown win by 3/4 points

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 14/09/2009 16:35:25    425489

Somebody was saying the former eskra manager is in charge of Gortin I thought Keenan was still with Gortin? am I mistaken. Was at the 2 games in Dungannon yesterday, Moortown can feel hard done by though if Greencastle had taken their chances they could have stole it. Was young mcculllagh not fit to start? he made some difference when he came in. Sludden was as poor as usual he is intent on being the centre of attention, very inconsistent and both teams could argue aginst his decisions. Cookstown played some good stuff but showed how vunerable they can be next year will be a serious step up for them.

galaxy (Tyrone) - Posts: 14 - 14/09/2009 17:42:26    425602

Mugsy are ye about. Match report? watching is getting bad abuse!

BobbyB (Tyrone) - Posts: 369 - 14/09/2009 19:09:16    425695

I'm never to far away Bobby, I'm the heartbeat of the hoganstand dont you know........

I'd say watching is more than capable of fighting his own corner when pushed.

Being perfectly honest Greencastle used their get out of jail card yesterday. It would be all too easy for me to sit behind a keyboard and berate players for playing poorly yesterday but I'll not go down that route. They have provided the people of Greencastle with many good performances this year so I don't think it would be fair to be too sore on them. Championship football is different and as older and wiser Moortown posters kindly pointed out in recent weeks, they have been down this road before and to an extent this showed a little yesterday.

Hagan's goal was a carbon copy of Stevy Lawn's two years previous, if not better, Brian McLernon tormented us at no 11 and Martin Crozier's experience shone through and made our half forward line look very inept at times lacking in any real creativity. I would have to disagree a wee bit with moortownspuds assessment of proceedings. All the Greencastle people in the stand beside me were crying out for route one football from our lads - When they played in the early ball our full forwards looked dangerous but we insisted on "Donegal-ling" it up the field with many meaningless passes before eventually ejecting possession back into Moortown's hands. The goal occurred as a result of this to as has already been pointed out, countless other scores may have occured also as a result of this.

Greencastle will dust themselves down and lift themselves for next weekend but Moortown are a serious outfit with some players that have the ability to hurt you on the scoreboard but I would take heart from the fightback that our boys showed near the finish. They showed some real character. The semi-final draw pits the winners against Cookstown and i would say it is vital for us to beat Moortown as i feel that they are the only other team (along with ourselves) that can realistically halt Cookstown's march to the double thus guarenteeing automatic promotion for us as second place league runners up. Full credit must also be given to the valiant effort put in by the Kevin Barry's who just came up short but asked many questions of the Fr Rocks.

Thats about as Rosy or as "green tinted" a perspective as I can put on it Bobby! Looking forward to the replay already!!

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 14/09/2009 20:48:10    425770

mugsy, fair enough with your thoughts and opinions of how you felt the game went, but little is being made of the fact that moortown played virtually the second half with 14 players. i have no doubt that had we got our 15 for the duration of the game, the contest was over.
all said and done though, this by no means makes this replay a foregone conclusion, cause i think the castle have to lift their game, which they are capable of, whereas moortown need to be a little more calm and sure infront of the sticks. i do think at this level experience counts and thats where we certainly have an edge which should see us through to meet cookstown.

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 14/09/2009 21:28:48    425825

I dont get this about Greencastle giving away scores.... I saw Moortown giving away several scores... the last two points came from Moortown mistakes by P Devlin and M Crozier. In the first half I recall Twin Cozier gifting a point and from the kickout Doherty sent it straight to a Greencastle man.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 15/09/2009 00:26:12    426030

Yea was probably a bit tinted Moortownspuds, but hey.
We were well beat in the middle on Sunday but you
must remember from the league fixture, our midfield was a lot better
and hopefully will rise to that standard again for the replay.
Nothing wrong with route 1 ball, if we had of sent more in
instead of running the ball into the tackle, i think we might of had yous.
Time will tell on that one.
It was probably because of the 14 players that allowed us to put yous on the back foot
going into the business end of the end alright.
As for the the ref, inconsistent but consistantly so, lol.
A lot of good men from the lough at the game, know their ball.
Looking forward to the replay, the winners are the only team that can put it up to Cookstown.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 15/09/2009 08:42:04    426078

What where the results lads i missed them as i was reffing at the weekend .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/09/2009 12:45:55    426374

Intermediate
Stewartstown 1/11 Eskra 2/10 - Always Eskra except for last 8 mins or so.
Cookstown 2/14 Derrylaughan 2/10 - Entertaining, but always Cookstown, Mugsy something else.
Greencastle 0/10 Moortown 1/7 - Greencastle chased the game for most and almost won it in the end. Replay Saturday before Errigal/Dromore
Gortin 1/9 Killeshil 0/12 - Poor fair, B McCullagh and Hub both red carded. Replay before junior Final Friday night.

Draw
Eskra v Gortin/Killeshil
Cookstown v Greencastle/ Moortown

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 15/09/2009 14:08:57    426507

watching

Thanks boss for that .

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 15/09/2009 14:54:07    426580

dell, the greencastle folk are choosing not to mention that the malachys played virtually the second half with 14 men. greencastle can count themselves extremely lucky to have escaped with a draw.

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 15/09/2009 16:39:31    426757

moortownspuds County: Tyrone Posts: 157 426757 dell, the greencastle folk are choosing not to mention that the malachys played virtually the second half with 14 men. greencastle can count themselves extremely lucky to have escaped with a draw. I think i have stated that Moortownspuds. Yes we were fortunate for the draw but we had to be doing something right to be that close to get a draw. I think even Sean Teague told Paddy Hunter that Greencastle were very happy to be still in the hat. And i do believe that Enda Clarke will step up for the replay, it was only when your midfielder went off that he came into it more.

watching (Tyrone) - Posts: 853 - 15/09/2009 16:52:57    426781

Nobody is disagreeing with you here Moortownspuds, are you trying to install yourselves as favourites for the replay or something? By all means take that favourites tag from round my neck!! All to play for this weekend in Carmen. An encounter like this should nearly be all ticket.........

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 15/09/2009 17:11:30    426814

im not trying to install anything mugsy. all year long we have had to listen to greencastle this and greencastle that....there was even a thread earlier in the yr suggesting that greencastle will go unbeaten. all im saying is that the green tints come off lads and open your eyes to what others are seeing for themselves. i see a greencastle team that has 3 or 4 very good individual players, but as i said earlier, it only suits you's to play a long ball game. enda clarke was outplayed and out caught by a more determined player on sunday. its not rocket science, but if greencastle midfield are in trouble, then the team are in trouble as you rely so heavily on catch and kick.
by no means am i suggesting that moortown are favourites, as we all know it depends which 'moortown' turn up on the day. but i do believe that greencastle peaked earlier in the season.

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 15/09/2009 17:52:14    426881

Mugsy...

Go easy on Moortownspuds.... Im surprised he hasn't castigated you on your lack of knowledge of the Irish language re the various Devlin clans of the loughshore . You referred to Paul 'Dook' or Paul 'Duke' recently when referring to one of the 'dubh' Devlins. I thought the young Spuds would have seized on that one but not a word out of him. He is too busy trying to lull you into a false sense of insecurity about the replay.

By the way no one mentioned the display of Ja Hagan at fullback for Moortown or Conor Heron at corner forward. I thought both played very big parts in the Moortown effort.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 15/09/2009 17:58:13    426891

big sacks, im not bothered about how the word 'duke' is pronounced or spelt, hence i seen no reason to castigate anyone. mugsy is entitled to call whoever, whatever he wants. i dont even have any gripes with mugsy or watching for that matter. i just responded as i did because when they give their assessment of the game at the weekend, i felt they gave very biased ones at that, to which i wanted to reply to. i seen the same game as they did. a game dominated by moortown in my opinion. a game that, we should have won. we all know what the greencastle people think of their team, and rightly so as they have had great recent achievements. but the thing is they arent a 'big' club and to be that they will have to succeed at a consistant level for a number of yrs - they have only begun this journey.

moortownspuds (Tyrone) - Posts: 336 - 15/09/2009 21:19:34    427070

I agree that the young fella Conor Heron is a much improved player since i saw him last, very quick to the ball and his shooting has also improve. A lad to be watched in the replay.

I am counting the days this replay feel it depends on what Greencastle team turn up on the day.

castle_top (Tyrone) - Posts: 137 - 15/09/2009 21:35:54    427093