The "Non-Cork" thread....

That's brilliant spud, never even heard of that before!

The sight of the two lads opening a bakery would bring a tear to your eye, twas a bit like McGuinness and Paisley working together for the first time.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 13/02/2009 11:32:49    205923

black&white
County: Sligo

I'm getting jaffa cakes on the way home from work tonight. I'll do some research and present my findings in the morning.

Any word on that report that you promised B&W?

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 13/02/2009 12:18:36    205989

Pink Snacks!!!!! They might look Gay but culchies love em!

Hag_and_Cheese (Tipperary) - Posts: 6103 - 13/02/2009 12:26:03    205999

Does anyone else throw out the coffee creams from the box of roses?

holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 13/02/2009 12:35:40    206017

13/02/2009 12:26:03
HAG_AND_CHEESE
County: Tipperary

205999 Pink Snacks!!!!! They might look Gay but culchies love em!

Toasted ham & Cheese Sandwiches,Pink Schnacks & Tayto's hahahahahaha

The Coffee Creams are gone out of the Roses aint they ?

Duffy89 (Wexford) - Posts: 3320 - 13/02/2009 12:41:27    206023

Jaffa Cakes are a Biscuit

Rule of thumb here is," Over time Biscuits will get softer whilst a cake will just get harder" end of debate.What next?

(",)

Per Ignem (Wexford) - Posts: 385 - 13/02/2009 12:45:18    206029

The report is pending. The initial findings are tending towards biscuit, but sufficient comfort is still to be obtained before cake can be definitively ruled out.
I've more testing scheduled for after lunch and may be in a position to present a final report sometime this afternoon.

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 13/02/2009 13:17:46    206074

im a genre straddling orange based treat...

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 13/02/2009 14:39:18    206162

corkcelt

205348 Hey all ye wallies cop yerselves on, biscuits are bad for your cholesteral

My cholesteral got out of the cage yesterday and devoured a packet of custard creams, singing like a lark today

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 13/02/2009 17:26:42    206392

trileacman

205494 Wagon wheels!!!! No good for dunking though.

Best thread since september i think.

Do they still make 2 types of wagonwheels

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 13/02/2009 17:28:05    206394

Bald Eagle

Are jaffa cakes really cakes or are they biscuits?

Are you a Civil Servant?

This subject was debated in England for about 6 months when a ban on eating meals at one's desk was introduced.

I am not sure if it was ever resolved.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 13/02/2009 18:05:26    206421

wagon wheels yum yum.. personally prefer the blue 1

budlight (Tyrone) - Posts: 540 - 13/02/2009 18:23:55    206443

It really doesn't make sense to eat too many biscuits in-between meals. A little snack is fine, but don't overdo it. Because if you do you won't have room left for the three healthy meals which you should have every day. Don't get carried away with biscuits!

Royalty (Meath) - Posts: 52 - 14/02/2009 13:55:01    206786

84 cent 'softies' from Dunnes are a fine quality biscuit.

JuanVeron (Westmeath) - Posts: 1866 - 14/02/2009 14:53:40    206812

wise words royalty! wise words

jaffacake (Meath) - Posts: 720 - 14/02/2009 15:22:25    206819

Bald Eagle

205670 Just for you Jimbodub -

Thanks man... RIP TAB Clear

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 14/02/2009 23:20:53    207034

I have reached a definitive conclusion in the jaffa cake debate.

Under UK law, biscuits and cake are exempt from VAT, however chocolate-covered biscuits are not exempt, and VAT is chargeable on such products. This is the original reason that McVities marketed their product as Jaffa Cakes.

In 1990, the UK Customs & Excise issued a demand to United Biscuit (who own McVities) that VAT be charged on Jaffa Cakes, Unitied Biscuit disputed this, and in the summer of 1991 the case of United Biscuits (UK) Ltd v The Commissioners of Customs and Excise was heard by a VAT Tribunal in London.

In his ruling, Mr DC Potter QC, stated the following:
"the ingredients of the sponge part of the Jaffa Cake are virtually the same as the ingredients of a traditional sponge cake. Egg, flour and sugar are kneaded together, and the result is aerated. The sponge-cake part of a Jaffa Cake is in itself "cake"."
"the size of a Jaffa Cake is typical of a biscuit and not typical of a cake"
"A Jaffa Cake is moist to start with and in that resembles a cake and not a biscuit; with time it becomes stale, and last becomes hard and crisp; again like a cake and not like a biscuit. Generally I would expect a stale biscuit to have become soft"

Mr Potter's final conclusion is as follows:
"Generally, I come to the conclusion that Jaffa Cakes have characteristics of cakes, and also characteristics of biscuits or non-cakes. I conclude that they have sufficient characteristics of cakes to qualify as cakes within the meaning of item number 1 in group 1 of the fifth schedule. If it be relevant, I also determine that the Jaffa Cakes are not biscuits."

So there we have it, under common law (to which both the UK and Ireland subscribe) Jaffa Cakes are NOT buscuits, and qualify as cakes for tax purposes.

I knew accountancy was useful for something!

black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 16/02/2009 00:01:58    207761

holymoly

206017 Does anyone else throw out the coffee creams from the box of roses?

holy there no longer in roses, they were made redundent bout 4 years ago!!! i know this cause i love them, and the o nly one to eat them in my house. along with the orange creams and strawberrys. god i love the strawberys. they remind me of care bear bars with all the goo in them. or eat the yolks. does any one remember eat a yolks. they used to be 5p. half a choco egg with loads of yellow goo. massiev

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 16/02/2009 00:22:23    207771

http://www.nicecupofteaandasitdown.com/

A truly marvellous web page. Even has a section for biscuit of the week.

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 16/02/2009 09:14:06    207838

Black & White - Great stuff there, very insightful indeed and i'm sure all the posters on this thread will be very grateful for your hard work. How many hours did you clock on that assignment?

Rio - Fantastic website indeed, mightly impressed by your knowledge on the subject!!!

Patrique - I'm afraid i'm just a common tradesman and not someone with a cushey office number, although i feel i may have missed a vocation!!!

Now lads, as an insprition from Rios hard work, what should our Biscuit of the Week be? Jaffa Cake?

Bald Eagle (None) - Posts: 1009 - 16/02/2009 17:27:12    208536