Is womens Gaelic football any good?

Paddyogall

Just another in the long line of witty and insightful Mayo Hoganstand posters.

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 05/02/2009 11:30:13    198808

Loyal2TheRoyal

198808 Paddyogall

Just another in the long line of witty and insightful Mayo Hoganstand posters.

I give up. womens football is brilliant

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 05/02/2009 11:39:58    198828

question for the ladies do you take handbags to training, or do you keep them in the corsa.

bigfinger (Tyrone) - Posts: 203 - 05/02/2009 12:03:39    198858

DJ78 thanks for that link, it basically sums alot of arguments for the treatment of ladies. In my club I had clashes between club and county trainings and I was told "club before county" - do you think that would be said to a male footballer at any level? Not the case in every club for every intercounty players but just a taster of some **** you have to put up with. I respect opinions on either side of the matter though presenting dismissive points a la " i don't think women should be on a gaelic pitch" or " fine as long as they do the ironing" or "too busy worrying about the fake tan and makeup when they are on the pitch" are total rubbish, statements which I have seen here and heard elsewhere.

teamplayer (Mayo) - Posts: 10 - 05/02/2009 12:12:48    198869

No, I dont watch it. The standard is very poor. Its nice to have girls playing sport, as there is a very very small number of Irish women who exercise. But I would definitely not watch ladies football for entertainment purposes, no.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2573 - 07/02/2009 10:58:49    200704

icehonesty
County: Wexford

200704 No, I dont watch it. The standard is very poor. Its nice to have girls playing sport, as there is a very very small number of Irish women who exercise. But I would definitely not watch ladies football for entertainment purposes, no.

If you dont watch it how do you know anything about.
what are the figures for irish women exercising in proportion to men
But it is good to know you think its "nice" to have "girls" playing sport, its really nice that they can vote also.
Before you know it they'll be running for president

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 07/02/2009 16:46:03    200840

Oh my god! you have some nerve. not only are you completely sexist you also have the cheek to come on and post a topic like that up on the national forum. be proud of your countys achievements in womens football. they try just as hard as the men and get very little respect and publicity for it. they give up their time and train in the coldness of winter etc. and they deserve the same recognition as the men do. so before you ever post a thick comment like that again paddyogall have some decency and basic knowledge of how hard the women train. To all the rest of you, i hope you dont think that the rest of us mayo people have that disrespect for our women and mens teams. its stupid peoplen like Paddyogall that give us a bad name

Mayo1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 167 - 07/02/2009 19:33:05    200899

Surely can't be as bad as women's darts. At the world championships, the lad on PA or whatever you call it said:

"Ann, you require 156",
"Ann, you require 134"
"Ann, you require 118"
"Ann, you require 82"
"Ann, you require 39"
"Ann, you require 32"
"Ann, you require 8"
"Ann, you require 4"
"Ann, you require 2"

GAME!

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 07/02/2009 19:51:13    200906

in fairness there's feck all point to this thread, because in man clubs there's not that much interest in ladies when there's mens and hurlers and minors to come first, we get a good bit of support from the lads in our club but only because its a small club and most of us have brothers on the mens team and so w have to share a trainin ground and they see how hard we work..... to compare mens game to the womens game is ridiculous, they're two separate games, the women's game is undoubtedly less physical to say otherwise is a lie, also to say that the standard of ladies football is consistently as high as mens is a lie, but we have a smaller group to choose from as ladies has only really taken off in the last 30 years....but to rise to the bait laid out by paddyogall is pointless as it leads into sillly generalised comments that make people who support the ladies gaa look like they dont know what they're talking about if there were three things id say for us ourselves to improve the game id say stop giving out to the ref.... tyr and find a way of hanging on to girls after juvenile leve so you dont have to upgrade to the senior team and improve the standard of goal keeping but on the hand things of note the skill of blocking...this is a skill seen too rarely in the mens game(but if one is made its spectacular!) the tackling....far less pulling and dragging, proper tackling( this could be encouraged more by proper refereeing....iv seen too many refs take the non-contact thing too far and completely annoys players who are tackling properly) there is no way that any team becomes successful without trainng and commitment and i think it should be hailed that even though the ladies get feck all respect or support alot of the time, the commitment seen by most of the girls that i know that play gaa in various counties is definitely not less than that of the men

rilo (Longford) - Posts: 44 - 08/02/2009 03:34:41    201034

paddyogall

198671 No team in any code get into and win all ireland finals without sacrifice, hard work, determination, heart and character - regardless of gender so go get in the 21st century and cop on, ye are an embarassment

i didnt say they didnt put in the effort, there just shockly bad at agelic football and anyone who says there not have there heads buried in sand

Girls bad at Gaelic Paddy or Your bad at Spelling? :)

Look if anyone is considering that the effort put in is not good, or women dont work as hard, you might want to watch a program that was on T NaG about the Dublin ladies team, kind of a year till sunday thing. Was when O'Leary was over them and they lost final to Galway, God that man was a bit lu la in the dressing room!!!!

CrossBar (Galway) - Posts: 362 - 10/02/2009 09:35:39    202688

No 1 i know of no one who celebrated Mayo womens all ireland victorys, so no one cared
No 2 no one is dubting the effort they put in but there still terrible at Gaelic football

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/02/2009 14:26:38    203113

just a quick point to put in here, women's football is NOT part of the GAA, they have a separate organisation and separate rules and governing body. there is a perfectly good reason why Women's Football teams don't get much of a say i GAA clubs around the country and it is because they choose to operate outside of that club, now i know they call themselves the same name as the men's club and by and large wear the same jerseys or colours but they are not a registered part of that club. simple way of knowing this is that no sub-committee within the GAA can have a separate bank account from the Club one, the Ladies do have also they have a different disciplinary committee at both county and national level and totally different organisation all together. I have been at each of the last 5 Ladies All-Ireland finals and the standard is quiet poor, no doubt they put in a massive effort to get there and fair play to them for it, however basic skills like kicking is missing in quiet a few players, on the other side of it there are some who are a joy to behold when in full flow, the Cork team of 3 years ago were brilliant as to were the Galway team of a few years back.

rich dublin (None) - Posts: 425 - 10/02/2009 14:52:13    203149

paddyogall County: Mayo Posts: 164 203113 No 1 i know of no one who celebrated Mayo womens all ireland victorys, so no one cared No 2 no one is dubting the effort they put in but there still terrible at Gaelic football How can you call players like Cora, Valerie Mulcahy, Stacey O'Driscoll,angela walsh, Niamh Fahey (although gone to arsenal now) terrible at gaelic football. No 1 Your from Mayo so I don't think you have much speak about Football. No 2 you must have been missing from mayo in '99, '00, '01 and '02 as I am from Galway and I can tell you people were celebrating, think mayo people just realised it was the only all irelands that they'd be celebratingin a while. I just dont get it paddy, I bet you've never even watched a match.

CrossBar (Galway) - Posts: 362 - 10/02/2009 15:00:00    203161

I've seen quite a few ladies games and they were most enjoyable. I like the idea of the pick up straight from the ground , don't know if it will eventually transfer to the male game although they did experiment with it in the national league a few years ago.

dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 10/02/2009 15:15:42    203189

just because your were oblivious and ignorant to the success and celebration after the all ireland achievements we(Mayo) did have, doesn't mean that noone cared. true it wasn't on the scale that there may be in the future - hopefully- for the mens team. Bonfires were lit and crowds were out in towns if i remember correctly on the monday night when they returned home and a special effort was made by the team to bring around the Brendan Martin cup to national schools also. just so your informed now good lad

teamplayer (Mayo) - Posts: 10 - 10/02/2009 15:21:02    203194

'I just dont get it paddy, I bet you've never even watched a match.'

Crossbar he's a wum. That should have been clear from his opening statement. Pretty good one too considering the responses to this thread.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 10/02/2009 16:20:53    203306

Are i was winding you all up. Most of you took the bait too, My sister plays for mayo i wont tell you who she is though lol

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 10/02/2009 16:40:07    203340

to answer the question 'is womens football any good'...no, definitely not

mon-errigal (Tyrone) - Posts: 189 - 10/02/2009 16:50:26    203362

Good man Paddy. Keep it up and you'll be up there with Liamwalkinstown and Patrique in no time.

mossbags (Galway) - Posts: 1089 - 10/02/2009 16:53:33    203370