Is womens Gaelic football any good?

Liamwalkinstown County: Dublin Posts: 1326 198035 This will prob get me shot but here goes... Lino/Shinners/Niamh, apologies in advance... I do not think womens football is rubbish, i think its a cleaner more free flowing game than the mens. It has huge merits, has produced some super players like Cora Staunton and Angie McNally, The Cork Team etc. All Superb athletes, great footballer and well worthy of as much respect as they can get... BUT.. The standard of goalkeeping is actually pathetic and embarassing....at even the highest level! Would ye agree ladies? That is all Liamo I agree Liam! In fact I've said exactly this a few times before, just like your hurling snobs post!!! You're becoming a bit of a hoganstand Joe Pasquale/Dennis Leary type!! Stop stealing my material!!! :)

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 04/02/2009 15:26:20    198066

I'm with Niamh and Lino on this one. I have a sister in law who used to play football and her team put in huge effort in terms of training and preparation - and were quite successful.

And another difficulty which the ladies have to contend with (much more than the lads) is the concentration levels. I mean the ball is dropping and the mind is wandering 'did I iron his shirt', 'is my mascara running', 'what will I wear this evening', 'did I make him enough dinner', etc etc. It can't be easy. Only messing gals - only messing!

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 04/02/2009 15:28:45    198071

Hey Breff..
Great Minds eh...! :)

Didnt Leary rip off Hicks??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/02/2009 15:29:57    198074

The standard at alot of levels isnt good but my club has a team and it is exciting. Its hard to be as passionate about it but it can be great entertainment.
One match I watched last year, our ladies were nine up at half time. Then a deadly flurry of goals left them 9 down within 10 min. They went 10 up again then 9 down again and won by twelve.
I honestly think there was about 13 goals in the second half. Deadly craic.
Fair play to them. But county standard seems pretty high,

gottabetrue (Tyrone) - Posts: 300 - 04/02/2009 15:34:51    198085

Women playing football! hee hee!

Why, is there talk of allowing chicks to play football in the future or is someone winding me up?

I suppose as long as they still have time to keep up with the ironing and cooking then i would have no great problem with it

whiterbannnas (Mayo) - Posts: 2441 - 04/02/2009 15:41:27    198097

Liamwalkinstown

198074 Hey Breff..
Great Minds eh...! :)

Didnt Leary rip off Hicks??

He did yeah, stole a few of his jokes outright and kind of stepped into his persona after he died!! Joe Pasquale stole jokes from Irish comedian Micheal Redmond (Fr Stone in ted). Stewart Lee does a good joke about it.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12291 - 04/02/2009 15:44:13    198099

Niamh
County: Derry

197989 Yawn...getting boring now paddyogall. Nobodys rising to the bait. Why do you hate women so much, had you your heatbroken many moons ago by a young Cailín, maybe your masculinity suffered in the past and you feel the need to put women down inorder to make up for something your lacking in...or maybe you just bat for the other team and despise women plain and simple. Ah well whatever the reason it's not big (bet you've heard that one before) and it's not clever, so catch yourself on.

Where did i say i hate women, i love women i just dont think they belong on a GAA pitch

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 04/02/2009 15:46:00    198102

Disagree totally with this statement. I like the pick up rule in womens football and think it would translate well into mens. Yes some standars are not good like in junior but thats only because as i have seen there are a lot of young girls playing. The senior ladies i have seen are just as good as any mens teams and the inter county is very good as well. Some great shooting. Wonder what the conversion rate in ladies is like compered to mens. I have watched some really bad mens games at intercounty level and this thing about mens being more physical is rubbish. the new rules make contact in mens a thing of the past.

paddylast (Louth) - Posts: 32 - 04/02/2009 16:26:46    198148

paddyogall

Where did i say i hate women, i love women i just dont think they belong on a GAA pitch.

You're a funny lad paddyogall,especially funny when you say women don't belong on a GAA pitch yet the most success on mayo GAA pitches have been from you're ladies team.You obviously have no interest so why say anything if you've nothing good to say.

Maroonie (Westmeath) - Posts: 105 - 04/02/2009 16:37:33    198158

Liam, I personally prefer Men Gaelic as it's harder hitting and more thrilling,however our friend paddyogall isn't actually making much reference to ladys football, he's just, making up threads and posting comments that are sexist to wind us girls up, its actually pathetic. But in counties like Cork the standard of ladies football is high and appealing to watch, whereas in places like Derry its atrocious, refereing to last years final against London, the goalkeeper just let in 5 plus goals, this is rarely seen in the mens football. I don't diss ladies football just prefer mens is all.

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 04/02/2009 17:07:21    198197

its not a sport at all

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 04/02/2009 17:08:22    198199

hope the jackies go well this year.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 04/02/2009 17:12:38    198205

Im shoked at sum of the comints on this tred. How dar any man critysis womins football. Sum of the best palyers in this cuntry are womin. This is the most sexist tred Iv evir seen. Sham on you all.

Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 04/02/2009 17:37:50    198236

Funny that its the majority of the mayo lads who have commented on this post that are the most dismissive.

Shame to be so bitter that you can't recognise the achievements of their female counterparts on the national stage - Carnacon present club senior champions and Mayo, not as strong as Cork in recent times but many members of the current team with pockets heavy with their 4 celtic crosses in the past nine yrs and all stars.

No team in any code get into and win all ireland finals without sacrifice, hard work, determination, heart and character - regardless of gender so go get in the 21st century and cop on, ye are an embarassment.

teamplayer (Mayo) - Posts: 10 - 04/02/2009 19:00:15    198341

I am a ladies footballer, was on the team in my county that won the Junior Championship and Intermediate League.

My oh went to alot of our matches and was shocked by the standard of football we were playing, he said we'd put some of the mens teams to shame with the fast free flowing football.
In our county final we were 2 points down at half time and came back to win by 11, all the spectators said it was a great game of football, so don't knock it.
Yes there is a rule where there is supposed to be no contact, but I can tell you there is alot of contact as most of the referees officiate mens matches also.
I'v been battered in many matches, and give as good as I get at times like in mens football.
Don't tell me it's not the same because I have been going to mens matches for a long time now and I have been hit as hard as the men.

magpie11 (Wicklow) - Posts: 143 - 04/02/2009 19:30:04    198367

OMG,

the state of you paddyogall! The womens game is a joy to watch, Far more free flowing than the mens!
It should also be getting a hell of a lot more promotion than it is getting.. The only matches that get shown are the league finals and the 1/4 finals onward in the championship.. And even in the newspapers after All Ireland final days, the inter, junior and senior matches might only get a 1/2 page between them! Something has to be addressed quickly to ensure the right amount of exposure is given to the game!

Bridalceoil (Wicklow) - Posts: 115 - 04/02/2009 19:50:57    198386

To answer the question the Ladie's footbakll can be quite entertaining as some of the physical stuff is not on view. There are also a number of excellent players.

Where it is miles ahead of men's football is in the timing. As in Rugby league, the clock stops during stoppages of play for injuries whatever. In the final one year there were 18 minutes extra time.

Now given that there are fewer stoppages in the ladies game, it really is true that men's football consists of 40 minutes play and 30 minutes stoppages, always two minutes injury time, so we are being denied 28 minutes of action.

I admit the above may be a slight exaggeration but it is worth thinking about. The 18 minutes injury time is true.

As for the Mayo men, well I have already asked Richard Cranium from Tyrone to come out on another thread, so why not. The obvious reason for the dislike of women is jealousy and an inferiority complex. The men's teams have had considerable success over the last 15 years or so, but some nightmares in finals. The ladies have proved to be winners. Some men who are not secure in their masculinity do not like being bested by women.

Hence the cheap shots.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 04/02/2009 22:43:59    198531

It is much more free-flowing than the men's and does not have the pulling and dragging. I dont know if it is true but I read somewhere that the number of people playing ladies football is greater than the number playing rugby (in Ireland). Dont get smart anyone I meant females playing football!!!

lochgarmanabu (Wexford) - Posts: 1022 - 05/02/2009 00:07:26    198607

No team in any code get into and win all ireland finals without sacrifice, hard work, determination, heart and character - regardless of gender so go get in the 21st century and cop on, ye are an embarassment

i didnt say they didnt put in the effort, there just shockly bad at agelic football and anyone who says there not have there heads buried in sand

paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 05/02/2009 09:21:22    198671

"whereas in places like Derry its atrocious, refereing to last years final against London, the goalkeeper just let in 5 plus goals, this is rarely seen in the mens football." in response to 'niamh from derry' it just shows how much you are behind your own county, i am assuming this is the only match in 2009 you have seen the derry ladies team play, don't forget they did alot of work to reach the all ireland final, and also got to the national league semi final, which is an incredible achievement but it just shows how separate the mens and ladies teams are. maybe if the whole county got behind them it just might be that extra push that they need, maybe not, but it's nice to be recognised and supported!! thought this article by the derry ladies captain louise glass ties in nicely http://www.rte.ie/sport/gaa/championship/2008/1008/louise11.html

DJ78 (Derry) - Posts: 51 - 05/02/2009 10:40:33    198755