Some awful hits in the game yesterday, The ref let them go and players were getting annoyed. I saw one player get an awful belt just before half time and when he came out the 2nd half he still looked dazed with blood over his face. Te fight at the end of the game was unreal. Im not saying it was totally the refs fault, after all it was the player throwing the punches but if he took control earlier in the game it wouldnt have festered. The ref for the 2nd game was just as bad letting wild tackles go. Jackose (Galway) - Posts: 98 - 13/10/2008 08:46:25 117696 Link 0 |
so lads what happened at end of aran spiddal game heard a big fight broke out at end of the game did any get sent off or was it just handbags broll (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 13/10/2008 16:32:51 118137 Link 0 |
was at match on sunday, arainn were fully to blame for the fight. Why would spiddal start a fight in a game they won? Ref didn't help the matter tho' setanta0 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 13/10/2008 17:29:59 118232 Link 0 |
It was definitely a lot more than handbags. It was an all out fight while it lasted. There were lads walking off afterwards with split lips, bloody noses, etc. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 13/10/2008 17:33:47 118236 Link 0 |
Setanta0 - You obviously have no idea about what happened so stop making ridiculous comments on here. It was an absolute disgrace what went after the final whistle. Everyone, including (most) Spiddal players & officials know who was in the wrong and are shivering in their boots pending the investigation. Fear_Arainn (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 13/10/2008 18:37:57 118271 Link 0 |
was they any one sent off yesterday?? fla1 (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 13/10/2008 18:48:14 118280 Link 0 |
Fear-Arainn, were you even at the match. Arainn were to blame. I also saw some arainn players threatening and intimadating the ref.............that behaviour cannot be condoned. setanta0 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 14/10/2008 08:22:58 118463 Link 0 |
I hear that there is video evidence - which is the only way county boards will take any action in these situations - so lets wait and see. Original_JD (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/10/2008 08:56:09 118478 Link 0 |
setanta0 Conamara (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 14/10/2008 09:16:41 118485 Link 0 |
I was also a neutral at the game on sunday and was disgusted with what i saw from both sides. didn't see exactly what started the row but some of the scenes after the final whistle were terrible. i think the ref has alot to answer for though. he should have blown the final whistle on the previous kick out from the spiddal goalie. he had played well over the two extra minutes announced. he played on and blew the final whistle when there were about 26 players inside the spiddal 21 yard line. this is asking for trouble. i'm not for a minute condoning what happened but it could all have been avoided if the ref used a little bit of cop on. i thought the ref himself was going to get a belt at one stage too as he was was surrounded by a number of aran players and officials. something has to be done about this incident. everyone was involved. men women and children. i saw water been thrown at the spiddal captain as he walked in with the cup by grown women. county board cannot brush this under the carpet. severe sanctions needed on both sides. a sad day for football in the west. fearruanua (Galway) - Posts: 367 - 14/10/2008 10:19:15 118540 Link 0 |
I was at the first game but I missed the reply, kicking myself now. Starie1975 (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 14/10/2008 12:21:16 118685 Link 0 |
Dear SetantaO from Co.Louth, You should keep your opinion to yourself when you obviously were not watching the same match as the rest of us. Both sides are responsible for their behaviour on the pitch,today and everyday,but,its not everyday you get to play at Pearse Stadium. From a Footballing point of view,Spiddal were by far the more aggressive of the two teams and I have photographic evidence to back that up,if Arainn were so bad how come it was their lads that walked off the pitch with,one player needing stitches,another with a black eye and several more with bads knocks. It was a pity as there was a great crowd there,young and old and the only memory they will have is the fight at the end. spraoi (Galway) - Posts: 4 - 14/10/2008 12:35:51 118706 Link 0 |
Firstly can I say that both teams behaviour is not acceptable! The one thing I noticed from being at the game on Sunday was the Arainn players refused to be cleaned after the fighting had stopped which is one reason they looked worse, players from both sides were taken to hospital and had stitches. sunny73 (Galway) - Posts: 1 - 14/10/2008 13:54:53 118810 Link 0 |
Starie1975, Original_JD (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/10/2008 14:28:49 118843 Link 0 |
Spraoi from Galway, you are a muppet. Firstly it is not a crime to be aggressive during a football match, if you don't like aggressive sports take up swimming. If Spideal were so aggressive how come none of their players were sent off. Both teams got a few yellow cards mostly for fairly inocuous stuff. Arainn started the fight but spideal shouldn't've retaliated. You saw arainn players with bloody noses etc. the same is true for spideal players. The most disgusting of all I witnessed on sunday was grown women spitting at the spideal captain as he was walking with the cup. Fighting on the pitch between frustrated players is bad, supporters spitting at the opposition is disgusting. setanta0 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 14/10/2008 14:43:01 118857 Link 0 |
i agree what happens on field should be left on it spitting at players after games is a disgrace if the player and fans cant accept there team losing then they should stay at home,was at first game and saw a aran selector sparying water at spiddal player while he was recieving treament then running back into the dugout. broll (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 14/10/2008 15:12:01 118886 Link 0 |
what is wrong with the women from Connemara, spitting at players after matches and attacking others on the pitch in the middle of a game. They shouldn't be let to matches (or let their sons play) if they are so worried about their team losing or little Johnny getting hurt. Original_JD (Galway) - Posts: 127 - 14/10/2008 15:24:02 118903 Link 0 |
setanta0 from louth: beltoftheball (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 14/10/2008 15:25:20 118906 Link 0 |
Original_JD - Ya your right - Salthill Starie1975 (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 14/10/2008 15:30:05 118914 Link 0 |
I think it's impossible to apportion blame solely to one side or another. Both teams were throwing digs at the end. Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 14/10/2008 16:10:05 118957 Link 0 |