Galway SH team for opening league match of 2009

...so i stand by tannion and greene..but am open to suggestions...lads we need big men here simple as that??

rapper......for a second there i thought you were talkin about the ardrahan half foward line.How can you have john greene there ahead of mark kerins.sure greene wouldnt hurl spuds to ducks.please explain?????

faceinthecrowd (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 09/01/2009 12:55:02    176553

faceinthecrowd while i wouldnt agree with rappers selection of john greene i can see where he's coming from..Galway do need a ball winner in the half forward line.But Greenes is definatly not the answer.He doesnt seem interested when he plays for ardrhan..Joe gantley from beagh could be a serious opyion at centre forward.passionate,strong,quick and well able to hurl

Famine88 (Kerry) - Posts: 51 - 09/01/2009 14:29:16    176647

Yes famine88 i agree gantly a serious option along with mark kerins and cyril donellan BUT not at center forward for the championchip.it has to be joe canning.He had some year with portumna in that position...winning the hard ball,creating scores and scoring himself.he got top scorer again this year(4:63) in the club championchip.Its his best position to lead the attack....

faceinthecrowd (Galway) - Posts: 26 - 09/01/2009 21:48:51    177062

sound i stand corrected on john greene...gantley would be a better option...tink he had a gud club champ last year..hes another typical galway hurler who showed so much promise at underage but failed to make the step up to senior inter county!hopefully he can cz he got serious potential

rapper (Galway) - Posts: 42 - 10/01/2009 23:08:39    177558

anyone see the game v portumna.

fairplayya (Galway) - Posts: 131 - 11/01/2009 16:36:18    177730

skehill
moore
kavanagh
regan
forde
lee
cullinanne
healy
hynes
tannion
m kerins
healy
callinan
canning
j glynn(skehana)

juniorman (Galway) - Posts: 75 - 11/01/2009 17:01:08    177735

juniorman lets hope you're not one of the selectors!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 11/01/2009 17:14:26    177740

lads lee isnt playing county hurling this year as it is his 4th year of medicine and he is concentrating on his studies.

bosco2009 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 12/01/2009 01:40:38    178029

Heard over the weekend that Lee has withdrawn from the panel over his studies. So who will be our number 6?

galwaycelt (Galway) - Posts: 307 - 12/01/2009 12:24:28    178259

Kavanagh is an excellent centre back but he will be missed in other areas.

Charlie (Kerry) - Posts: 513 - 12/01/2009 13:25:22    178333

If its true about John Lee withdrawing that leaves just 5 central positions to fill! McClearn will probably go fullback, perhaps O'Donovan centreback (if he is as good as some people here make out), Hynes / Mahony midfield, Mark Kerins centreforward with JC fullforward That's my best guess at the moment

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 12/01/2009 13:38:29    178342

lee will be back after the league...exmas should be over by then....hes playn fitzgibbon with nuig so he at least he wont be rusty when he returns...john greene was very poor for ul yesterday vs CIT but young dave burke came on and showed a few nice touches!heard he was called into the senior panel but refused to join...dead rite

rapper (Galway) - Posts: 42 - 12/01/2009 15:12:20    178434

Lee is a small loss....he fairly went missing against Cork when the heat came on in last years championship exit, he did'nt hit the ball once in that game......most of ye seem to think that he is gods gift at no. 6, but there is no evidence to back it up.

Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 12/01/2009 22:13:10    178806

Lee was not fit to play last year against Cork, he was excellent against Kilkenny the year prior so deserves some time.

nailhimstones (Galway) - Posts: 114 - 13/01/2009 09:44:10    178941

Good man Brendan Bowens, well said.

Any man worth his salt knows well that Lee was suffering from food poisoning the week before the Cork game. He probably should not have played and he was no good on the day. Up until the Cork game, I think Lee was having an exceptional year as he had a good league campaign. Stats and facts are there to prove it.

allforone (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 13/01/2009 09:51:24    178948

John Lee "no small loss"! You must be having a laugh Mr Bowens. Lee has been Galway's outstanding player in the last two years (with the exeption of Joe Canning). Every player can have an off day, and i believe Lee was sick before that Cork game as well.

SBB (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 13/01/2009 12:30:51    179098

Is it true that lee is out until May/June? If he was injured and not back til then we would have to do without him! Hopefully it wont take him too long to get back wearing no6

bman (Galway) - Posts: 143 - 13/01/2009 12:42:55    179120

i think its cos of college commitments that lee is out but not 100% sure, he is a huge loss and there is no point saying otherwise!

mcoogoo (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 13/01/2009 13:49:39    179196

It is a worrying trend that ahead of key games in the championship in recent years many key Galway players are either injured, ill or withdraw for some reason or the other. This does not seem to happen to other counties like KK, Cork etc. I know KK have a strong enough panel that if it did happen to them it would not really affect their team that adversely but in Galway we don't have enough good players to replace key absentees. In the Cork game last year for instance we were without Moore, Hynes, Mahon and Collins. Lee and Kerins underperformed due to illness / concussion picked up the previous week. Unless we can put out our strongest possible team there is no chance of us challenging for an AI in the forseeable future.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 13/01/2009 16:29:34    179366

Thats complete rubbish about Lee having food poisoning, and my sources are impeccable....if the same theory was bandied about after Tony Regan's performance in the league final against Tipp none of ye would have bought into it. Lee is a very good club player, with good positional sense for no. 6, but as an intercounty center back he's on the same level as Shane Kavanagh, which is just..just about adequate. The chances are he will return after his exams anyways......hopefully he'l prove to be as good as ye all seem to think, and i'll eat some humble pie!!

Brendan Bowens (Galway) - Posts: 164 - 13/01/2009 17:56:54    179511