caveman dry your eyes would you and go and grow a pair. Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 16/12/2008 15:34:40 165423 Link 0 |
MUNSTER CLUB SF FINAL Drom-Broadford 0-6 Kilmurry-Ibrickane 0-5 MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 16/12/2008 15:46:17 165438 Link 0 |
That is a terrible scoreline for any final let alone a provincial final. Are there people on here gonna say it was down to the weather, pitch, referee blah blah blah or be honest and say that both teams went out to stop each other playing rather than playing themselves????? Oh sorry, its only ulster they do that in!!!!!! frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 16/12/2008 16:13:02 165472 Link 0 |
I've a fine pair Tom, I just prefer to use my brain every now and again as well. caveman (Dublin) - Posts: 77 - 16/12/2008 16:28:56 165492 Link 0 |
Lads, I think some of ye are getting a bit carried away here. Crossmaglen are not a dirty team. Anyone can see how good they are from the way they put the foot on the gas in the second half (and indeed from their many fine performances in the last few years). But some of the Ulster posters on here seem to be unable to take any ciriticism of an Ulster team, and result to just insulting anyone who dares to question them. The greatest sign of insecurity is the inablity to take criticism. There's too many people on here who seem to be justifiying everything that happened during the game with stuff like "the heat of the moment" or "it's a man's game." Utter BS. A real man would be able to beat a man fairly, act in a sporting manner, and if he's losing have the pride in himself to knuckle down and find that extra gear, not resort to cheating to win. In my opinion the greatest feature of our game is the ability to give and take a hard, fair hit. I don't see how brawling outside the dressing room pr punching a man when the ball's down the other end of the pitch falls into this category. To me hitting a lad off the ball is nothing more than an admission that you're not good enough to win the game fairly, so you have to resort to cheating to win. Because that's what it is - cheating. How is a man who hits someone a sly dig off the ball any better than someone who takes a dive when hit? They're both breaking the rules to gain an unfair advantage. The diver is a cowardly **** who tries to get his man sent off. The player who hits someone off the ball is every bit as cowardly, he's not man enough to do it in front of the referee, and not man enough to put faith in himself to beat his man fairly. That said, I'm not going to deny having gotten involved in a few rows myself over the years. BUT, I did always feel like an idiot afterwards, because there's twice as much satisifcation in beating some dirty fecker if you don't resort to lowering yourself to his level black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 16/12/2008 16:47:31 165511 Link 0 |
The simple truth Danjoe is that if Kerry, Mayo, Dublin etc were All Ireland champions and Armagh, Tyrone or Crossmaglen (at club level) were playing so called "puke football" and losing there would not be a word about it. I call it sour grapes from the complainers. Kerry will always be the team to beat and do play pure football but even many Kerry supporters admire the type of successful Tyrone and Armagh have adapted to. I wish my own county could play it.!! Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 16/12/2008 18:57:38 165643 Link 0 |
The simple truth Danjoe is that if Kerry, Mayo, Dublin etc were All Ireland champions and Armagh, Tyrone or Crossmaglen (at club level) were playing so called "puke football" and losing there would not be a word about it. I call it sour grapes from the complainers. Kerry will always be the team to beat and do play pure football but even many Kerry supporters admire the type of successful Tyrone and Armagh have adapted to. I wish my own county could play it.!! MichaelO (Tyrone) - Posts: 820 - 16/12/2008 19:48:12 165701 Link 0 |
black&white County: Sligo Posts: 180 165511 Lads, I think some of ye are getting a bit carried away here. Crossmaglen are not a dirty team. Anyone can see how good they are from the way they put the foot on the gas in the second half (and indeed from their many fine performances in the last few years). But some of the Ulster posters on here seem to be unable to take any ciriticism of an Ulster team, and result to just insulting anyone who dares to question them. The greatest sign of insecurity is the inablity to take criticism. There's too many people on here who seem to be justifiying everything that happened during the game with stuff like "the heat of the moment" or "it's a man's game." Utter BS. A real man would be able to beat a man fairly, act in a sporting manner, and if he's losing have the pride in himself to knuckle down and find that extra gear, not resort to cheating to win. In my opinion the greatest feature of our game is the ability to give and take a hard, fair hit. I don't see how brawling outside the dressing room pr punching a man when the ball's down the other end of the pitch falls into this category. To me hitting a lad off the ball is nothing more than an admission that you're not good enough to win the game fairly, so you have to resort to cheating to win. Because that's what it is - cheating. How is a man who hits someone a sly dig off the ball any better than someone who takes a dive when hit? They're both breaking the rules to gain an unfair advantage. The diver is a cowardly **** who tries to get his man sent off. The player who hits someone off the ball is every bit as cowardly, he's not man enough to do it in front of the referee, and not man enough to put faith in himself to beat his man fairly. That said, I'm not going to deny having gotten involved in a few rows myself over the years. BUT, I did always feel like an idiot afterwards, because there's twice as much satisifcation in beating some dirty fecker if you don't resort to lowering yourself to his level So you call headbutting someone FAIR iand fighting in the tunnell . Wise up. Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 16/12/2008 21:07:25 165786 Link 0 |
There is NO doubt that Ulster football, particularly our club football, can be very dirty and we do deserve some of the criticism that comes our way. There is no place in the game for that half time fracas on Sunday as some players, mentors, officials and fans see games as wars where anything goes. The Tyrone final where club managers and players were headbutting each other was shocking so we can't say it is ALL anti-Northern bias. Antrim club football is as dirty as any county in Ireland and I know players who have jacked it in because of the thuggery that happens on the pitch and sidelines. It IS a big problem and more so in Ulster than the other provinces. Furthermore many people are sick to the back teeth with jokes of disciplinary processes where loopholes and lawyers dictate bans and punishments. Instead of taking it clubs and players are exploiting flawed laws to get off. I would also say however that there ARE certain bigoted Southern partitionists within the GAA and Dublin media who hate Ulster full stop. If there's something wrong within the GAA it's usually Ulster that cops the blame likewise when the Irish rugby side play badly it's the Ulster players who take the flake and NOT the overrated so called superstars. They have given used every excuse to whinge about Tyrone and Armagh's success from being too physical to over use of the handpass, from crowded tackles to blanket defences. They cannot stomach the thought of SAM going over the border and don't hide their animosity. It is a minority but substantial all the same. In short yes Ulster football goes over the top at times but so do the begrudgers and xenophobes outside Ulster who just don't like the province. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9823 - 16/12/2008 21:41:46 165820 Link 0 |
tomaoo7 HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 17/12/2008 13:08:30 166122 Link 0 |
In my earlier post i suggested Adrian McGuckian had favourable comments to make about Francie Bellew. I was wrong in that it was Brian Canavan who mede these comments and i have yet to hear from him since the event. Adrian McGuckian was strong in his criticism of the incident involving Bellew. It matters not, now that the Ulster Council have given Francie the benefit of the doubt and had concurred that he merely tried to shrug McGuckin off. What a a shambles. The Ulster Council have abdicated responsibility once again and Cross will feel thay can do whatever they like on the field without sanction. Downgael15 (Down) - Posts: 199 - 18/12/2008 19:58:52 167675 Link 0 |
patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 18/12/2008 22:57:15 167844 Link 0 |
Dellboy black&white (Sligo) - Posts: 1628 - 19/12/2008 13:26:25 168148 Link 0 |
Now Downgael 15, you are in no position to criticise " our Francie" no more than I am entitled to criticise the Mayobridge N0 --- against Carrickmore in Casement Park in 2005, when a certain Brian Gormley was hospitalised. Remember, those in Glasshouses cant throw stones. Down people are downright jealous of Crossmaglen, and if Francie played for Down he would be OK. Oh and the Mick Linden incident, it was purely accidental, sure Mick crashed into Francie following a hospital pass from Coulter. sam02 (Tyrone) - Posts: 643 - 19/12/2008 17:46:19 168380 Link 0 |
black&white Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/12/2008 18:15:14 168411 Link 0 |