Ulster Final- All that is rotten in football

fair play Tyrone0305 and menof49, as for chalkie go and watch your socker who cares because your type will not be missed at our games.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 15/12/2008 14:27:59    164370

this is sad the response to this thread. it shows gaa accept thuggery as part of the game no one as even mentioned the scenes at half time.

chalkie (Derry) - Posts: 312 - 15/12/2008 14:29:12    164371

IN CASE PEOPLE FORGET WHAT THIS THREADS ABOUT. Players feigning injury, dirty blows, poor refereeing, and a flare up at half time. That's only for starters. What other game in the world could a player throw back their head into another players face and not get sent off ? It's irrelevant if it caused serious injury or not ? Not going to let my young fellas watch the rest of it. No doubt some half wits think it's all in the game.

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 15/12/2008 14:47:11    164398

I thought you were away to watch socker mr wishy washy GAA man. Go now. go on go on go on

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 15/12/2008 14:47:19    164399

Tom1916
County: Armagh

164368 The post was in at half time my patriotic friend.

Could you tell me what this means?

First post was before the game was over ! So the sore loser bit is just a lame response.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 15/12/2008 14:58:57    164411

This is anti-gaa media whipping up things again. The dirtiest thing in sport i saw all weekend was o'connell and the clermont lad thumping the heads off eachother. Did the media whip up saying it was disgraceful? Did they say that it was no spectacle for kids........ did they hell. One journalist went as far as to say that o connell did the right thing. Feck all happened at the half time melee in ulster, mostly pushing, shoving and showboating. In relation to this, i do think it is crazy that both sets of players run down the same tunnel at half time.

setanta0 (Louth) - Posts: 112 - 15/12/2008 15:03:41    164416

chalkie
County: Derry

164371 this is sad the response to this thread. it shows gaa accept thuggery as part of the game no one as even mentioned the scenes at half time.
Much the same as Thomond Park

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 15/12/2008 15:13:03    164428

lads lads lads. is it only now ye see the light? danjoe has been telling ye this for a while now. ulster football doesnt belong with the rest of ireland. too much pullin and draggin by ulster teams wrecking the game. its only now that lads from ulster are getting fed up of it that they start complaining. they must have been watching the glory days recently and seen what it was really like. total football. mayo in the 50s etc. gone are the days when football was exactly that, FOOT ball. all thanks to tyrone and armagh.

danjoe (Mayo) - Posts: 137 - 15/12/2008 15:19:01    164436

15/12/2008 09:15:46
Tom1916

Hey Rovertin my firsty post was at 09:15:46 on the 15/12/2008 so that is 09:15:46 on Monday. the game which I was at was at 14:30 on Sunday. Could you tell me how you think this is the same time when it clearly isn't even the same day?

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 15/12/2008 15:56:56    164480

seems to be a win at all cost mentality, if players had pride in the jersey or themselves they wouldnt be diving or collapsing holding their faces in agony after any sort of tap. I can only hope the GAA deals with the brawl properly and hands out suitable punishments

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4653 - 15/12/2008 16:17:23    164494

Lads it's times like this, and games like yesterday's, when we have to consult the football guru that is Pat Spillane. Pat has a knowledgable word to say on everything (like myself) as you all know. Below is a quote of his I found.

"The first half was even, the second half was even worse" - Pat Spillane reflecting on an Ulster Championship clash.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 15/12/2008 16:39:13    164523

U are ridiculous DanJoe, its well-known that football was a lot dirtier back in the day - broken jaws were common place... Ulster football is tough and strong - Mayo wudnt last a season in it - too many white boots, tattoos and dyed hair...

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 15/12/2008 16:52:04    164542

Half time? As long as the GAA allows 700 officials from each team on the sideline you are always likely to get this type of thing, and it is a common occurance.

Cross, much like Tyrone, never seem to be involved in riots on the field, they are well disciplined.

As for Bellew, well IF he butted someone you can rest assured he was reacting to something. It is also alleged he "threw the head back" so IF he did this, he was not deliberately butting but really doing a "get out of my way" gesture.

Maybe it is an age thing but I look upon Francie as a big softie. When I was young all full backs were monsters, and if they happened to be able to kick a ball, well that was a bonus but nor a prerequisite for the position. Then Sean O'Neill invented footballing full forwards and full backs had to adapt. Back then Francie and Darren Fay would never have been at full back, far too small and gentlemanly.

Cross, especially in the second half, were quite brilliant and scored at least three points which were better than Dooher's greatest point ever.

No pleasing some people.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 15/12/2008 17:13:34    164581

15/12/2008 09:15:46
Tom1916

Hey Rovertin my firsty post was at 09:15:46 on the 15/12/2008 so that is 09:15:46 on Monday. the game which I was at was at 14:30 on Sunday. Could you tell me how you think this is the same time when it clearly isn't even the same day?
15/12/2008 16:17:23

I'll try again. My first post was at half time so the response that I was a sore loser doesn't hold water. Apart from that I didn't give a fiddlers who won the match. Tuned in looking for something that was advertised as a football match. Just glad I didn't pay in to see that.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 228 - 15/12/2008 17:23:24    164602

lads wise up was a poor game cross never looked in doubt, an muldoon was a very big blow!! are a very good club side with a lot of excellent subs to do there jobs when called upon 2! deffinitly one the best teams ever!

dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 15/12/2008 17:42:30    164641

tom1916... is the rumours true that you have been officially banned from an armagh website?

tippman (Tipperary) - Posts: 4 - 15/12/2008 22:08:45    164892

c'mon people show cross some respect... 3 ulsters in a row is some achievement... read earlier a comment which compared bellew's headbutt to that of your man mcginn in all honesty how can you say that

tippman (Tipperary) - Posts: 4 - 15/12/2008 22:17:32    164902

Would everyone please wise up a bit. Crossmaglen were the best team by far. They were tougher and better players. The game was hard as you would expect but there was very little dirty play in it. It was a typical Ulster game played on a soft wintery surface. The people who complain about this type of football are from the counties who find it difficult to cope with it. Simple as that. Now put up and shut up. It will take a good team to beat Crossmaglen. Well done to them, and that is from someone who backed Ballinderry to win. A fool and his money......

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 15/12/2008 22:21:57    164907

Nick
County: Wexford

164123 Guys this feigning injury thing is starting to creep into the game. Not blaming Tyrone here I'm sure it's been there for a long time with lots of teams but Tyrone's display in the All-Ireland underlined to me that the gaming is changing again and this aspect is starting to creep into the game. It's also very ironic too that it's alot of the supposed tough teams who are bringing it in. They seem to have a ploy to stir up the other team with little niggley stuff, foul play, dirty off the ball stuff and then once they know they have got them into enough of a frenzy they start to go down in a heap when it comes back at them.
Have to say it's the one aspect that will kill gaelic football off as a sporting spectacle. I hope managers please put the game before going with the win at all costs motto.
Again I know I saw a few Wexford men go down this year pretty easily the only reason I highlight the final and Tyrone is because I'm trying to point out that it's on display on the biggest game of the year and if it's going to be on view there it's only going to go one way.

What incidents are you referring to? When Tyrone players were repeatedly clotheslined in the match???

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 15/12/2008 22:34:23    164928

rover some gaa people just dont listen

tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 15/12/2008 22:39:22    164937