Tom1916 Listen you obviously dont like belfast! Why not got to the cricky on another night and you'd see girls there playing camogie and fellas playing hurling ive been there id probably say a hell of a lot more than your goodself. Lets face facts also Armagh dont fill places unless there winning either my friend i watched derry hammer them in a semi about 98 and id say 5-10 per cent were armagh people i met with them after and they talked to me about why there county was struggling they were mainly from cross but no one then started mouthing of at Armagh. West Belfast like any area in a major city has its crime problems but if this puts you off surely it would around dublin too? I had to help an Australian women get her handbag back from a gang as she returned to the train station from croke in 2004 (by the way they were hanging around a park just round from croker and guess what they were playing soccer in it heaven forbid) this doesnt make it a bad place. Ive stood outside clones and been attcked by a local gang luckily only that my bus was returning they would have gave me a kicking lucky enough it was the other way round but when we told the Garda he says "what can you do there local thugs they do this every year" this doesnt make clones a bad place in my eyes it also doesnt make it non gaa friendly id go back in the morning. Ive plenty of friends in west belfast when Antrim make it to the big games they have the flags out and the place decked out were you living here when st galls went to the final every club helped deck out belfast in blue and white what was very hard for some clubs to do given rivilaries. I can guarantee this probably the same as most counties come may 18th Antrim v Cavan you'll see more GAA tops up and down west belfast than any other sporting Jersey. We struggle against foreign sports whats your point are you saying dublin doesnt? I could quote to you an unsavoury incident that happened in cross after a gaa game there two year ago but whats the point Armagh ones never liked belfast given the support they get from them i can never understand it myself. So maybe we dont deck the colours out for a championship thats not looking to good but we'll see if Armaghs wee slump continues how many orange and white flags will be out. Or will yous pelt the cars of tyrone fans on route home again?? As for your comments on these clubs being places to sit and talk about soccer and horses go into the Rossa and tell them thats all your interested in, they might show you different........................................................just maybe. Go into Cassidys bar on a sunday afternoon during the ulster championship, look at the owners mural to armagh on the wall outside from when they won the All Ireland in 2002 , go into most bars on a sunday evening in the right areas ie west belfast and chat im sure you'll find a gah squad there somewere. Have a walk through Ardoyne or most areas and tell me there is no gaa murals. A lot of hard work is being put into the GAA in Antrim and Belfast once it starts to pay dividends we'll see then, the GAA people in this county are proud that we now see areas were kids walk around with hurls only 3 years ago a fella walking down the shaws road was arrested for having a dangerous weapon, a hurl, its not easy you know but were getting there. I can presume your from south armagh? North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 09/05/2008 09:21:39 16825 Link 0 |
Or will yous pelt the cars of tyrone fans on route home again?? samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 09/05/2008 09:44:36 16834 Link 0 |
Samin the incident im talking about happened in lurgan!!!!!! North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 09/05/2008 10:34:50 16880 Link 0 |
samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 09/05/2008 10:59:20 16899 Link 0 |
tom 1916, bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 09/05/2008 15:37:45 17095 Link 0 |
Found out the name of that club team overlooking Lough Neagh....Kevin Barrys, Derryloughan. Not the greatest of facilities but lovely views from the pitch! MNMN (Monaghan) - Posts: 19 - 09/05/2008 17:35:56 17190 Link 0 |
think some folk need to read my original post where i said clones was the worst venue about and i'm from monaghan. nevergiveup08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 315 - 09/05/2008 20:19:02 17224 Link 0 |
Cool it there lads on the Casement front. babser (Monaghan) - Posts: 103 - 09/05/2008 22:03:50 17246 Link 0 |
nevergiveup08 is clearly throwing swipes at venues he's not close to. babser (Monaghan) - Posts: 103 - 09/05/2008 22:52:46 17255 Link 0 |
Babser, give over like a good man on the Clones issue. Nobody doubts that the atmosphere in Clones is great but the infrastructure is a complete shambles! It is actually quicker to travel from Donegal to Croke Park than to travel from Donegal to Clones! Surely that says it all! If you want a venue in Ulster that has everything (leaving aside the capacity) then look no further than Healy Park in Omagh! Its also central to all Ulster counties. The infrastructure is great, the atmosphere is great (think back to Donegal v Monaghan last year) and the facilities are pretty good too! Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 10/05/2008 17:31:05 17381 Link 0 |
Healy park is a disaster gettting out of Monaghan08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 188 - 11/05/2008 10:50:33 17513 Link 0 |
best has 2 b CROKE PARK. te worst is PARNELL PARK. conor12 (Meath) - Posts: 67 - 11/05/2008 17:17:52 17629 Link 0 |
Good Insider2008 (Carlow) - Posts: 7 - 11/05/2008 17:50:47 17642 Link 0 |
Worst place for a stadium in Ireland has to be West Belfast as it has no atmosphere due to the lack of interest from locals. Imagine a 30,000 capacity stadium in an area were peoople would walk past while the uslster club championship final or a major championship game was taking place. Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 12/05/2008 09:03:23 17748 Link 0 |
millimium stadium is the best for me, that andf twickenham- two perfect sporting arenas and whats more two finished sporting arenas ball-boy (Mayo) - Posts: 4211 - 12/05/2008 10:19:25 17798 Link 0 |
samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 12/05/2008 10:28:55 17804 Link 0 |
Lads, North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 12/05/2008 10:28:55 17805 Link 0 |
Babser North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 12/05/2008 10:33:43 17812 Link 0 |
north side gael. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 12/05/2008 10:39:59 17815 Link 0 |
Pearse Park in Longford. There yesterday, on the terrace you cant see from in to the corners of the pitch on the near side nor can you see sideline on the same side. very poor construction. terrace too steep. Even rte cameras couldnt pick out sideline. freddy15 (Westmeath) - Posts: 139 - 12/05/2008 11:17:52 17857 Link 0 |