best/worst stadiums

always liked day out to clones.must be best in Ulster. Worst , due to being the windiest in Ireland, is Ballykinlar , Down. tried to clear my lines one day and the wind near blew it back over my head for an own point!

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1558 - 02/05/2008 15:44:17    15016

fitzgerald stadium, croke park and semple stadium. dont like pairc ui chaoimh

cornerforward13 (Kerry) - Posts: 74 - 02/05/2008 15:45:52    15018

hate pearse stadium...there's always a 100mph wind goin one way down the pitch because its situated in salthill...doesnt inspire for good football...

MayoMick (Mayo) - Posts: 58 - 02/05/2008 21:47:44    15134

Best - (1) The redevloped Gaelic Grounds (apart from the Mackey Stand) gives some of the best views you'll get in the game and the atmosphere for the games against Tipperary last year was electric.
(2) I've only been to Clones on a couple of occasions when there was a decent crowd in it and, parking aside, its a wonderful experience in a natural setting at the bottom of a hill.
(3) (Pardon the parochialism). If you've a crowd of 5,000 or so, Kilmallock mightn't have the modern facilities but it's a uniquely inimate venue.

Worst - Newbridge, Wexford Park and Markiewicz Park have never struck me as having a real soul. Maybe I just happened to visit them on bad days.

Prof Honeydew (Limerick) - Posts: 1110 - 02/05/2008 23:19:24    15152

Best Tom Semple's field (the only place in Ireland where games should be played)
Worst Gaelic Grounds (a hole to get into and out of)

Tome (None) - Posts: 15 - 03/05/2008 13:57:53    15207

my 2 favourite grounds are clones and croke park.the worst i have been to would be celtic park and drogheda.

orange and blue (Tyrone) - Posts: 1080 - 03/05/2008 16:26:22    15239

i hav too say that Ballieshannen is defnitly one of the worst staydums for a match. I was there for the Dunegal aginst Laois game and it was teribil. The stand is like a shed. Not even propir seets. I had my too kids with me and the toylits were a discrace. No loo paper or nuffing. This is no way too encuridge kids too come and suport GAA matches.

Dee (Laois) - Posts: 312 - 04/05/2008 00:23:10    15296

The reason the traffic always seems so bad in Clones is that it gathers the biggest crowds there. When there are 36,000 at an Ulster Final, it is slow getting out but that is the same everywhere with the possible exception of Croker. I've had serious delays getting out of Thurles, Castlebar, Ennis, Navan always seem v bad to name but a few.

Casement, Omagh etc only have to deal with crowds of 15,000 - 20,000. Getting to Omagh last year for the Donegal v Monaghan qualifier was a nightmare and only we had Stand tickets, we woulda missed the first half - the crowd that day was only 15,000 and it was creaking. Great atmosphere though. Also a great atmosphere in Newry last year.

Breffni is a lovely ground when you're in, but the limited access (from one side via a narrow entrance) is not great for a big crowd. Casement and the M1 Motorway access is also a nightmare to get in and out of - again access only on one side. Ballybofey is another spot with good atmosphere. Celtic park always seems to be drab (no offence meant - maybe it's because we've always endured tough days there !). That's my tuppenceworth on Ulster venues. The Athletic Grounds used to be a great tight ground for atmosphere - needs to get re-opened so the best club team in Ireland doesn't have home advantage for every county final !!!

Looking forward to seeing the new Brewster Park to see how it fares out.

All in all considering Clones has to cope with crowds of between 20,000-36,000 on the big match days it does fine as a venue. Guards are now quite well organised to get people in and out. And what's the big rush anyway - especially if you've just won ?? The mathce takes over the town and it is a real sense of occasion. Savour the day, the atmosphere and the occasion for these Summer championship Sundays will be here all too briefly.

With all that though - hard to beat Croker on really big days. The Armagh v Tyrone semi in '05 will always stay with me as an edge of the seat winner takes all atmosphere with so much at stake and two heavyweights going toe to toe. Hard to beat that. Also, the famous series of Dublin Meath matches had fantastic atmosphere at them.

In summary then Best Clones & Croke Park.

PearseBro (Monaghan) - Posts: 459 - 07/05/2008 23:36:40    16324

worst has to be clones in terms of the town, facilities and infrastructure
about the best grounds quite a few exist croke park, haven't been in that ground where munster hurling final is but atmosphere looks amazing.

nevergiveup08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 315 - 08/05/2008 09:58:07    16379

nevergiveup and pearse bro

Do yous smoke?

Casement and omagh have to deal with 15-20k?

Casement has games every year with 30k+ omagh is a far smaller venue i think it only holds 19.5k no offence but on has a far bigger capacity, and once this longkesh stadium is scrapped casement will get a capacity of 39k therefore will probably get the USFC final also.

As for never give up, "that stadium where the munster hurling final is played"? Eh what? I take it your refering to Semple Stadium thurles the second largest ground belonging to the GAA and also its spiritual home.

God sakes lads check out the info first before you go spouting of.

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 08/05/2008 10:38:11    16425

casement park is a good stadium but its in a bad area.. It never reaches capacity when the home side antrim are playiong as they are all sitting in the bars across the road watching celtic, rangers and man utd. I live tghere temporariuly and would advise any patrons to be vigilant as w belfast is not GAA friendly. the residents beside the stadium even tried to block the erection of floodlights!!

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 08/05/2008 13:58:32    16532

Tom1916

"west belfast is not GAA friendly"??????????????????

What?

This is a city which is not very big into the GAA but to say this id have to question wheather or not you lived in the andytown or not put it like this:

North Belfast: 3 Clubs (1 Juvenile Only until last year)
South Belfast: 2 Clubs (one struggling greatly but good men keeping it going at the minute well done st macs)
East Belfast: No Clubs (very sad to see the loss of martins GAC hopefully they will return)
West Belfast: To be honest its about 15 clubs

Now lets go back to your west belfast isnt gaa friendly remark, hhhmmmmmmmmmm? I see were your going with that one, yeah right.

Casement Park yes fair enough Antrim dont fill it to often but there was around 25k there for Antrim v Derry last year in the USFC and about 10k for the USHC Final Antrim v Down.

Also your remark on Man U, Celtic and Rangers were not the only county that suffers from this and the Dubs know only to well as these remarks get thrown at them most of the time i do condem the fact that your county is playing across the road and your sitting in the bar, we have good GAA people in this county and ive talked to people from many a county who love coming to casement and they normally end up spending the night with the Antrim fans win lose or draw ive been with people from Galway, Limerick, Cork, Meath and many places, give the place a chance dont judge it without getting to know it and one of the best Atmospheres ive been in @ casement is Armagh v Antrim after armagh got chined in the first round Armagh won by 3 points in a classic game, the Armagh boys were some craic in the social club after.

So I'll ask did you live there or are you listening to people whove had a bad experience in Belfast?

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 08/05/2008 14:51:45    16556

Tom1916

Well done Tom, you've only gone and done it now eh!.....Sent NSG off on one!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 08/05/2008 15:13:28    16569

Snufalufagus

Come on now snuffy i havent gone off on one im just defending my city as you defend yours we should probably get on better as both citys normally get the painted with the same brush, anyways..................................

NSG..........................just a Gael

North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 08/05/2008 15:36:50    16582

Clones is without doubt THE WORST in terms of infrastructure. It always amazes me the Monaghan lads coming on here spouting on about what a great venue it is. It is a complete joke. Yes the atmosphere is great but as a suitable venue for big championship matches, NO!

Lifford Gael (Donegal) - Posts: 1925 - 08/05/2008 15:48:12    16594

NSG, I currently live in beechmount and I have been to alot of games in casement park and i have also been in the social club. West belfast (belfast in general) is not just not GAA friendly it is not friendly at all. they may have 15 clubs but all they are is glorified drinking dens were locals sit around watching horse racing and talking about english and scottish soccer teams. Last night I was in N Belfast and as the ardoyne kickhams hurlers trained in the pitch they were surrounded by young people playing soccer, this happens in w belfast too (very GAA area indeed). In any county in ireland when the chapionship is on houses etc are bedecked in their counties clours, not in w belfast, no they have man utd and liverpool flags hanging out their windows and that is a fact. W belfast is also extremely crime ridden and i would advise patrons to park with care. My bad experience of belfast is just being here. Your remarks about Dublin are ridiculous as Dublin is a real GAA county with thriving clubs and friendly mannerly supporters who pack out stadiums throughout Ireland all year in support of their team. Sorry Snufalufagus I was just telling the truth.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 08/05/2008 15:50:38    16597

It is a long journey for me, but I really look forward to games in Clones. It is no. 1 after Croke Park. Pearse Park, Longford is a nice compact ground and I would give it top marks.

Star Gazer (Tipperary) - Posts: 436 - 08/05/2008 17:01:12    16645

Best: Croker or Clones

Worst: Celtic or Parmell

Niamh (Derry) - Posts: 2397 - 08/05/2008 17:03:44    16648

Have to say Omagh is a great ground. Was there for Monaghan v Donegal qualifier last year and the atmosphere was electric. Crowd were tightly packed around the pitch.

SouthMonMan (Monaghan) - Posts: 158 - 08/05/2008 21:45:20    16734

Pearse Park in Longford is a nice little ground and well maintained Great atmosphere for a full house See it on RTE on Sunday next The first live game of the season

Cul Baire (Longford) - Posts: 76 - 08/05/2008 23:13:14    16774