Hurling Helmets, Cooper, Mycro or Marc ?

I have to get a new hurling helmet and I haven't made up my mind as to what one to buy. What do people recommend ? Cooper are making a strong comeback, Marc are new and Mycro are around for ages, what should I do?

Seamus Sliothar (Limerick) - Posts: 60 - 21/11/2008 08:59:58    146650

i have a friend with a box of cooper helmets gathering dust at home.his ex girlfriend's father was a coach in galway or something.box was put in his boot, sometime after he got the red card for himself so he kept the helmets
they not brand new but they in good nick.
let me know if u want one.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 21/11/2008 09:47:30    146682

Write a letter to santa?

mugsys_barber (Tyrone) - Posts: 2160 - 21/11/2008 09:52:02    146687

Its hard to know what you are looking for. They all comply with the correct safety regulations.

I personaly wear a cooper helmet as I find it provides me with good vision and plenty of protection.

oisinboy (Antrim) - Posts: 335 - 21/11/2008 09:54:51    146690

woops

I would be interested in purchasing one, could u liast ur email address?

tyrone Dev (Tyrone) - Posts: 116 - 21/11/2008 10:15:32    146712

woops, Ill take the box........

allSOran (Sligo) - Posts: 690 - 21/11/2008 11:59:57    146800

Whenever I wore one! Cooper was my preference always.

Per Ignem (Wexford) - Posts: 385 - 21/11/2008 12:13:34    146813

In 2010 its going to be compulsory for every player to wear a helmet(even senior). I'm not sure but I don't think the cooper currently meets the all the safety requirements. The Micro and the marc do.

Clash-of-da-ash (Galway) - Posts: 927 - 21/11/2008 13:12:47    146868

What you wearing a helmet for ya bowzie? Women love lads with not a tooth in their mouth, are ya a man or what!!!!!!!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 21/11/2008 13:38:53    146903

I have a cooper helmet gathering dust in my retirement.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 21/11/2008 23:25:17    147397

Hi

does anyone have an original sk100 cooper helmet for sale?

will pay almost any amount if in good condition.

regards

pat

pat33 (Cork) - Posts: 1 - 20/12/2008 21:40:33    168801

i would greatly appreciate it if you could let me know if anyone here has senior size old coopers for sale?

cloneenclg (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1 - 21/05/2009 18:50:16    290298

i miss them helmets that looked like buckets...

HokeyPokey (Tyrone) - Posts: 1744 - 21/05/2009 20:38:42    290391

i dont play hurling anymore but in my underage years i hated when was handed 1. i just couldnt wear 1. i dont think it should be made law to wear 1. man or mouse comes to mind

newryview (Down) - Posts: 748 - 21/05/2009 22:32:33    290507

woops, id be interested in buying one off ya, how much??

camanww (Wicklow) - Posts: 36 - 21/05/2009 23:44:44    290582

reply to woops how much are u sellin the copper helmets for and are they adult size and what colours do u hav

jimmy1987 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1 - 22/06/2009 15:43:40    319542

Gotta love the fashion parade, lads willing to part with any money for a helmet which doesnt meet NSAI standards and wont be able to wear it next year. Buy yourself a mycro helmet will ya, they are a nicer helmet than the cooper.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 22/06/2009 16:10:13    319578

Pinkie who cares if the Cooper helmets don't meet safety requirements which aren't coming in until next year,no ref in a club match will go around checking everyones helmet!!cop on to yourself will ya

dubinlaois (Dublin) - Posts: 304 - 22/06/2009 18:19:21    319732

dubinlaois County: Dublin Posts: 164 319732 Pinkie who cares if the Cooper helmets don't meet safety requirements which aren't coming in until next year,no ref in a club match will go around checking everyones helmet!!cop on to yourself will ya I wouldnt bet on it! Why spend E100+ on a Cooper helmet now that you'll use for 3 months and then need a new one for next year? If the GAA are going to enforce it they will have to enforce it properly for insurance reasons. (as someone who works in insurance I think I will be proven right on this one!) Will stand corrected though and dont care to be honest - you can do what you like!!!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 23/06/2009 12:56:03    320505

How much ya selling them for Woops? I'd be interested.

creeposaurus (Kerry) - Posts: 56 - 23/06/2009 13:00:43    320522