Eltham Pitches

From what I heard new eltham was to be sold to building contractors to develop 200 odd houses and flats for around 6 million. But the GAA couldn't get planning zoning for it, and they have appealed so many times now that they cant appeal again for something like 10 years. If that's the case then it looks like they'll never get planning for it so they should cut their losses and look at what is the next best thing to do with it and that is to re-turn it into a GAA pitch to facilitate the southern clubs. The locals have set up this website. http://www.ragedresidents.org.uk/ The locals seem to feel that since it has being lying there unused for nearly 15 years, that they have a god given right to it. Look at google map the site, you can see that across the road from it there is about 40 acres of park, how much more do they want? Also Ruislip is being considered as the headquarters for the Irish athletes for the 2012 London Olympics. Maybe the GAA could look to do a deal for redeveloping new eltham with the Irish Olympic committee as the headquarters as it is closer to Stratford???

langer boy (UK) - Posts: 37 - 19/11/2008 13:48:33    144946

they accepted a down payment, that means absoloutely nothing. A downpayment is a deposit. A depost is a percentage,and I doubt without planning permission any developer would give more than 10 - 20%. So the GAA surely still own around 80%, they can do what they want. However surely those out in Ruislip aren't that backward that they wouldn't just leave land for playing fields sitting idle. Where could one find this out?

pronane (None) - Posts: 324 - 19/11/2008 14:40:05    145002

god some of the posters on here make me laugh, ye all claim to know nothing about whats going on with the county board. what do your clubs have county board delegates for?! do they bother attending meetings? do they not report back to your clubs about whats going on? instead of going around with your heads buried in the sand, why not get yuorselves nominated by your clubs as their county board delegate? better still why dont you actually go for a position on the county board or put your name forward for a place on the management committee?! or ask your current county board delegate what he actually does at county board meetings, if indeed he goes at all? our delegate rarely misses a meeting and brings the minutes from each particular meeting back to the club with him which we go through at our regular club meetings, very simple really isnt it? you are members of clubs i assume so ask yourselves exactly why you are so ill informed?! some of the posts here are ridiculous to say the least, you dont have to be on the county board to know that some of what you guys have posted on here is complete clap trap! and im not on the board either, i just ask questions off the people who know the answers, ie county board delegates and county board members, they are not that elusive you know and i have always found anyone i spoke to very approachable going back over the years.........

Liam Thompson (None) - Posts: 38 - 19/11/2008 14:57:45    145034

Can you tell us what the story is so Liam?

scruff (UK) - Posts: 467 - 19/11/2008 15:26:16    145062

I understand there will be a proposition before the London County Board GAA at their AGM to re-open at least one of the pitches at the Avery Hill road location. All clubs must support the propisition on the day if it is to have any chance of success.
Having viewed the premises just over two hours ago, it is certain that a Bulldozer would have to commence work at the gate and continue through to the far side of what was No. 3 pitch. Many layers of grass, briars and trees would have to be removed.
Canteen and changing rooms, toilets and showers etc., all would have to be replaced. Health & Safety regulations would have to be put in place.
The Legal position on Title to the land has no strings attached and is firmly in the hands of the London County Board GAA.
The cost of putting things in order out there would be in the region of at least £100,000 and would take many months to complete. The Board certainly do not have such spare cash lying around, not even with the benefit of the so-called "Voluntary Draw".
Think about it!!

Haslim (Limerick) - Posts: 30 - 19/11/2008 16:05:20    145105

Realistically how many clubs could use this pitch and any facilities, they would have to help out in fundraising anything, but im sure some other clubs would be up for doing so too.

I hope the club closest to where i live will support any motion put forward in relation to this.

pronane (None) - Posts: 324 - 19/11/2008 16:52:50    145183

i hope the nearest clubs can be the standard bearers for the re-opening of eltham. it is ultimately upto clubs to run and maintain pitches for themselves im sure the county board will do cuchullains or someone a good deal on account of knowing them.

barrow (Carlow) - Posts: 128 - 19/11/2008 17:56:23    145281

haslim, i doubt it would take support of all of the clubs, because as far as i know 51% is sufficient for any new motion, but 66% is required to overturn a motion currently in force.

even if they did open new eltham which they never will, which referee's would travel down there, trust me, none will. if you're a club, member or player not in the greenford/ruislip square mile all you represent to London GAA is a 2500 contribution to the 'friends of london draw'

with 'friends' like these.........etc etc

The Cat (UK) - Posts: 403 - 19/11/2008 22:44:20    145495

There has been so much rubbish posted on here about Eltham, one fellow caused an awful stir, but was looking at the wrong premises
The county board never took a deposit on these premises 16 years ago, they took an option fee 8 years ago, the fee is non refundable but it gives the developer the right to buy once planning permission has been granted, the board cannot touch the ground until that option is exhausted and it has yet to be clarified, the developer can technically carry it further with other apeals.Savo, you are lucky your name is not known or the solictors would have a field day with you

padraig0g (UK) - Posts: 50 - 19/11/2008 23:24:59    145527

If you look at the following link from a Greenwich council meeting in 2006 it talks of soccer pitches and hard court areas being agreed to. It's number 7 on the agenda. In terms of south London clubs you have Cuchullains (dual), Dulwich, Round Towers, Clan na Gael Hurling and Thomas Mc Curtains east of the river. Doing up new Eltham would reinvigorate south London GAA. no one but us know the drain of going to Greenford or Ruislip for every game. You have to give up a whole day. Plenty of players have stopped playing in recent years for this reason.

http://www.greenwich.gov.uk/NR/rdonlyres/4E0AF4BB-BE84-4CA3-832E-DDA8713C500B/0/PlanningBoardMinutesamendments21dec06.pdf

savo (Armagh) - Posts: 22 - 20/11/2008 10:31:26    145654

savo, im with you all the way. Its up to you and your cronies south of the border to do something about this.

Remember the wimin as wel you have croydon down the road there as well. Get the finger out. Get your county delegates to carry the motion from south and revive the GAA in south london. London is big enough for two bases.

pronane (None) - Posts: 324 - 20/11/2008 11:20:21    145697

Kerryman

I dont see how we could have the worst dressing rooms in London when we dont have any?
We have been asking the council for changing rooms for years. We did use the resident soccer clubs portacabens for a while a year or so ago. And yes these where poor and soon after got condemed because notting ever worked in them.
As for the pitch we are lucky to have what seems to be one of the best around. We are working having decent changing rooms available in 2009, so I hope the next time you visit St Josephs you will enjoy the experience.

CluainEoisAbu (None) - Posts: 273 - 20/11/2008 13:50:19    145856

CluainEoisAbu

Please don't take it as a personal slight on St. Joes as a club. As I say, decent pitch and all and a friendly club with the likes of Declan Flanagan. However, them changing rooms that you talk about were the worst in London albeit when in use. In that case we can amend the list to say

St. Joes - Perivale Park - Decent pitch but no changing rooms

The point of the list was not to talk down clubs as such but to highlight the need for more facilities in London such as in New Eltham. No one blames the changing room situations directly on the club as, unless they own the lease on the grounds like in TCG's case, they can not do anything about it.

I hope this clears up any misunderstanding.

PS. They were shocking portacabins though!!!!!haha

Kerryman (UK) - Posts: 403 - 20/11/2008 15:27:15    145970

I just cant see N.Eltham being resurrected as a GAA ground. Too much water has passed. Having said that I never found the atmosphere at Ruislip to be as good.
A bit of history.Prior to the Wembley Games the Whit Weekend exhibition games at Mitcham Stadium attracted a full 30,000 attendance. I believe the atmosphere was electric. A friend of mine was linesman when Mayo played Kerry.He said he daren't give a sideline decision against Kerry!.The crowd wouldn't have it-after all, it was a Bank Holiday! And everyone socialised afterwards.
The stadium was fully equipped with covered stands and was available to London GAA to purchase at a modest enough figure. Money was scarce,Croke Park couldn't/wouldn't help. It would have been the greatest investment in the history of the GAA in exile. So,the owners demolished it in 1955 and the site is now a housing estate.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 20/11/2008 17:02:03    146105

With the majority of lads and clubs in North London, why bother with South London? Surely it's pandering to a minority even to contemplate such a thing? I'd rather any spare coffers were used to improve other grounds and Ruislip. Think how a stand would improve the atmosphere, a lick of paint and a new carpet in the bar, better changing rooms. My club back home has better facilities. Once that's done, money can be diverted south of the river? Ruislip should be setting the standard for everyone lese to follow.

Honda50 (Armagh) - Posts: 71 - 21/11/2008 10:21:44    146718

Padraig0g/larry...Why are you this site threatening Savo with solicitors?? His comments while in someways mistaken are hardly enough for legal action. tell us onwhose behalf are you posting?/ The County Boards ???

allthesame (Derry) - Posts: 88 - 21/11/2008 12:16:32    146818

typical post from someone like honda 50 who can't see the wood for the trees.

in any case, what is stopping residents or locals claiming the area for their own, as in an 11 year squatters rights claim. similar to what that irish lad did in highgate when he lived there rough for 11 years, then claimed it from the council. not sure if you seen it, but it was all over the papers about a year ago.

on the other hand, what if a local club started training there during the year, in 11 years they could train it for their own club!! it's like a development of a 5 year plan! only taking 6 years longer, because i bet in 11 years the board will be no further on.

The Cat (UK) - Posts: 403 - 21/11/2008 17:22:16    147193