they call their ma mam or mum and i have often heard some of them call her "mother".they all say santa aswell where as a dub calls him santy. finglas full ba (None) - Posts: 636 - 24/03/2009 21:46:21 238678 Link 0 |
finglas full ba dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 24/03/2009 22:12:43 238711 Link 0 |
Shushing up and giving you a wild stare when you and your mates walk into one of THEIR bars. Then a look of fear OR contempt when they hear your Northern accent. This applies south of Dundalk and Sligo only. "Jeez boy they're only in the place and they think they own it" is a favourite. Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9788 - 24/03/2009 22:27:14 238735 Link 0 |
great post bad monkey but some of the points only apply to certain areas i know up my way we don't say boy and like at the end of every sentence DL (Donegal) - Posts: 210 - 25/03/2009 01:23:50 238892 Link 0 |
Frightening the ulster boys when they come into the pub TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2009 10:48:11 238991 Link 0 |
TheMaster Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12224 - 25/03/2009 11:03:21 239004 Link 0 |
Maybe I'm putting this on the wrong thread but would another culchie love thing be to shout for the non-Dub in other sports? holymoly (Dublin) - Posts: 757 - 25/03/2009 11:56:22 239043 Link 0 |
finglas full ba Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12224 - 25/03/2009 12:28:52 239073 Link 0 |
holymoly Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12224 - 25/03/2009 13:12:50 239112 Link 0 |
Why thank you breffni. And there you are again, in my shadow, like danny devitto in twins... But you see, I shun all imaginary award ceremonies so I dont think i'l be up for it this year. But please, keep me informed on who arrived with who, and of course the best dressed etc etc. I know ye cavan boys will be trying to squeeze into ur communion outfits for it... If you read Ulstermans post you might get the joke but nevermind... Dont worry about getting skinned again, you are taking on the master after all... TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2009 13:47:49 239152 Link 0 |
bad.monkey realgaa (UK) - Posts: 128 - 25/03/2009 13:52:54 239159 Link 0 |
TheMaster Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12224 - 25/03/2009 14:21:40 239194 Link 0 |
beatin leitrim sligo galway and mayo :D:D:D DavyK (Roscommon) - Posts: 2 - 25/03/2009 14:39:42 239207 Link 0 |
No breffni, it was a joke, in the spirit of the thread and all that... I think Ulstermans post was the only serious one up to that, then of course you came along, jumping on the bandwagon of an ulster poster for a change... TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 25/03/2009 15:04:37 239234 Link 0 |
Breff, Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 25/03/2009 15:29:14 239264 Link 0 |
SNUFF. Thats the funniest post ive read in ages.LOL stranded (UK) - Posts: 408 - 25/03/2009 16:10:09 239326 Link 0 |
Got 50% which is about right for me. Im a country man from a very culchie part of the country but Im not a complete gombeen like so its fairly accurate! spudenator (Laois) - Posts: 1052 - 25/03/2009 16:29:29 239355 Link 0 |
rather be a cultchie rather than a townie!! as they say the rural clubs put the most heart into there clubs and parish!! dj27legend (Down) - Posts: 641 - 25/03/2009 17:59:44 239463 Link 0 |
DL dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 25/03/2009 18:20:36 239490 Link 0 |
holymoly dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 25/03/2009 18:23:09 239491 Link 0 |