Padraig?
Liam Brady?
Brian O'Driscoll?
Barry McGuigan?
Stephen Roche?
Sean Kelly?
Kevin Moran?
Georgie Best?

Do you need to excel at international level to be a true superstar? Can an internal sports star be the greatest?
Personally, for me Irelands greatest ever sports star, is Roy Keane.
What do ye think lads and ladies?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/10/2008 15:07:40    120473

Steve Collins - Paul McGrath - Padraig Harrington

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20763 - 16/10/2008 15:33:36    120500

defo not roy keane he deliberatly tried to break someones leg defo wud not consider him ireland's best or sonia who cracked on thebig stage - maybe christy ring

offalynice (Offaly) - Posts: 17 - 16/10/2008 15:37:20    120503

I'm going to be ultra controversial here and plump for Jim Stynes! One of Aussie Rules' greatest ever players!

Rio Bingo (Tyrone) - Posts: 788 - 16/10/2008 15:41:13    120505

Georgie Best by a mile. Anyone who can get completely wallied before a match and still outplay his peers by a country mile is a total legend. He drank his own body weight most days, shagged most Miss Worlds in the 70's and 80's, and Pele called him the greatest footballer ever. C'mon. He even drank away two livers.Now that's class!

Naomh Ultan Abú (Donegal) - Posts: 298 - 16/10/2008 15:45:30    120509

Id norrow it down to Keane, McGuigan and Best. And out of those 3 id have to say i reckon Best was the biggest superstar this island ever produced. Just a pitty he didn't get to play for a united ireland team :-(

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/10/2008 15:47:01    120511

Roy Keane-Soccer, Sonia-Athletics,Jacko-football,Ringey-Hurling,JP Boland-Tennis,Athletics Field events-John Flanagan.Rowing-Steve Casey.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 16/10/2008 15:50:00    120514

Naomh Ultan Abú

120509 Georgie Best by a mile. Anyone who can get completely wallied before a match and still outplay his peers by a country mile is a total legend. He drank his own body weight most days, shagged most Miss Worlds in the 70's and 80's, and Pele called him the greatest footballer ever. C'mon. He even drank away two livers.Now that's class!

One of the most shocking posts on this message board. Whats class about being an alcoholic?

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 16/10/2008 15:56:40    120518

Graham Geraghty.

posh (Meath) - Posts: 633 - 16/10/2008 15:58:11    120521

Stephen Roche without doubt. I'll never forget him tracking back Delgado in the Alps and completly collapsing after. Unbelievable stuff in the worlds toughest sport.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQojh-wqL04

Roy Keane...not even close

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4649 - 16/10/2008 15:58:51    120523

Let's see - Sonia cracked on the big stage - mmm, yeah. Olympic 5000m silver medallist in Sydney 2000, Gold at the World Championship in Gothenburg in 1995 and the European Championship in Budapest in 1998 as well as gold in the 10,000m.

Silver in the World 1500m in Stuttgart in 1993 and double silver (10,000 and 5,000m) in the Euros Munich in 2000. Throw in a double cross country gold in Morocco in 1998 and yes, she sure cracked on the big stage offalynice. What's your claim to fame - 3rd in the 100m at the Parish Fete in Crinkill?

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/10/2008 16:00:10    120525

He even drank away two livers.Now that's class!
Naomh Ultan Abú , 16/10/2008 at 15:45

FFS - Class! Something you haven't a clue about with that kind of muck comment.

JayoCluxton (Dublin) - Posts: 2688 - 16/10/2008 16:01:51    120528

I was going to say Kieran Donaghy for every sport, but then I realised I'd be like Ball Boy. Would have been some craic seeing the reaction to it!

Keano would be up there I suppose if we're talking an international sense. Nationally I'd say Maurice Fitzgerald, but I'd be on my own with that one I'd say.

Away from the thread, Liam, did you see my apology last night at 18:03? I posted that today on your thread that was taken down.

3inarow08 (Kerry) - Posts: 2455 - 16/10/2008 16:03:43    120529

Padraig Harrington, was over here this week - pure gent. Aside from that it'd have to be Stephen Roche, Sean Kelly, Ronnie Delaney, Eamon Coughlan, Sonia O'Sullivan, Barry McGuigan, Steve Collins. Keane wouldn't even get near the list - won nothing outside of England whereas all the above have been successful on the world stage

Bermuda Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 106 - 16/10/2008 16:07:54    120535

Roger Bannister?

Special K (Louth) - Posts: 114 - 16/10/2008 16:15:40    120538

Well lads if it's Irelands greatest EVER sports star you have to mention Pat O'Callaghan, Bob Tisdale and especially Ronnie Delany.

The real Árd Rí (Meath) - Posts: 990 - 16/10/2008 16:17:50    120542

I'd like to say wee Barry, but I've always admired Keane immensely, he's definately one of the greatest if not the best. It's tough to pick just one. Best was also a fantastic sportsman, Harrington well on his way to becoming a legend also.

mid-mon man (Monaghan) - Posts: 1680 - 16/10/2008 16:18:54    120544

for me it be sonia, just grew up watching her run, great woman

lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 16/10/2008 16:19:42    120545

"He even drank away two livers.Now that's class! ".......Naomh Ultan Abu, are a member of our senior county panel?

Fredthered (Donegal) - Posts: 1144 - 16/10/2008 16:21:00    120546

George Best was Irelands biggest superstar but he certainly was not "great" in my book. He had a gift but he was still a tool! I'd say McGuigan or Collins who were both world champs. In this day and age it is Harrington shame he is still over shadowed by Woods.
In GAA circles Joe Cooney!!

halfbackwards (Galway) - Posts: 104 - 16/10/2008 16:28:35    120553