Results:Donagh smiling as pubbers are humilated!!!

A wee country club, St Pats of Donagh with limited players are celebrating tonight as they became senior champions of Fermanagh for the first time and lifted the prestigious New York Cup leaving their opposition and large member club Derrygonnelly Harps totally humilated!

Full Results:

Senior Football Championship

St. Patricks 0-11 0-10 Derrygonnelly (Great result for St Pats...pure humilation for pubbers!)

Senior Football League 2

Aughadrumasee 0-6 2-10 Irvinestown (St Molaise back in top form after beating the clockers last week, thrashed A'drumsee)
Kinawley 4-5 3-7 Erne Gaels Kinawley (Belleek potters lose by 1 miserable point away)

lrvinestownGael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 847 - 05/10/2008 19:40:07    113910

Dose that mean there the best team or is it the rest of the teams are at the stage where they don't give a damn.

Lastmanstanding (Fermanagh) - Posts: 41 - 06/10/2008 08:43:10    114002

By the way i'm refering to irvinestown and not st pats.

Well done to st pats and hard luck to derrygonnelly.

Lastmanstanding (Fermanagh) - Posts: 41 - 06/10/2008 09:39:26    114011

Firstly congratulations to Donagh. They deserved their win based on the first half alone. However Dgonnelly will be kicking themselves. That was the weakest full back line i ever saw in a county final and they failed to exploit it. Did the goalie even have a save to make? Very poor stuff from the experienced team.

GCCN (None) - Posts: 90 - 06/10/2008 09:42:17    114014

After watching both matches on sunday, I think the seniors match was a complete bore compared to the u16's.

St Pats deserved to win the seniors and at half time they should have had a bigger lead, st pats went out of the game for 10 minutes to allow d'gonelly to sneek in a few pionts. Very average game but congrats to st pats.

The U16 game was excellent through out. Both team deserve alot of credit for the fight and determination they put up. I think it was the correct result as belnaleck played a more passing game. when st pats got 2.01 in about 5 minutes, the leckers got there head back in the game and showed they were not going to ly down. This team will be one for the future, a double this year and a trebal at u14. Well done to st pats youngsters, they too will be a good team at adult level. Both teams were tremendous.

Congrats to the belnaleck youngsters..

Full Back (Fermanagh) - Posts: 24 - 06/10/2008 10:34:53    114050

Fixtures and Predictions for Sunday 12th October @ 14:30

Senior Football League 1

Belcoo v St. Patricks (Donagh riding high on their success will send the humpty dumpties sliding further down the league table)
Tempo v Enniskillen (Close call but would favour townies)
Teemore v Derrygonnelly (Teemore will see off the pubbers challenge as the latter will be in a demise mode after their humilating defeat in the SEC!)
Lisnaskea v Devenish (Devenish win)
Brookeboro v Newtownbutler (Boro lads have no future now in dev 1 will see Newtown win this one with ease)

Other fixtures not yet released.

lrvinestownGael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 847 - 06/10/2008 12:01:59    114135

Thought the SFC final was just average.
Good 2 see Donagh win even though Cadden missed a penalty in the 1st half.
Despite Cassidy's burst 4 Harps in the 2nd halfm Donagh have 2 be praised for their efforts.
Well deserved win 4 Donagh who only played in 2nd gear in the last half,
Most believe that Derrygonnelly were poor finalists and should be somewhat ashamed considering their experience.
Well done St Pats!
Now these top Fermanagh clubs, Coa, Erne Gaels and Donagh will represent Fermanagh in the Ulster Club Championships.

Coa_gael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1185 - 06/10/2008 12:18:32    114159

Have to agree a great under 16 game with the best team winning The senior game not much life in it but good to see St. Pats winning long over due .

gola (Fermanagh) - Posts: 311 - 06/10/2008 12:26:43    114166

i think you are being a bit too cocky Coa_gael in chatting bout representing the county in the Ulsters. As regards any of this years representatives thats including erne gaels and st pats none of them are up to that standard. yesterday we beat belleek and could have had a larger score. Derrygonnelly probably will be to blame if Fermanagh gets nothing out of the Ulster club c'hips and this is cause they should have lifted the title yesterday, but there is lack of commitment in that club and too much time spent dreaming.

cillnaile. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1007 - 06/10/2008 13:58:11    114244

me thinks its a poor state of affiars wen the worse clubs in the cuonty are repersenting us in the ulsters as tese clubs coa ands beleek ans donagh ares all strogling rounds the bottoms of leagues and the champonsip winers now counts for nathing so wats happin to our grate clubs of the past ands to our football nows i wulds ask?

barneytown (Fermanagh) - Posts: 293 - 07/10/2008 01:28:33    114609

cillnale wot does ur comment say about every other club in the county you have just run them all down even more so your own st pats sit with the NEW YORK GOLD CUP get over it .you cant say they didnt fight for it look at the teams they defeated all with their fair share in titles. You just dont rock up and win as st pats have realised its been a long time comin and how someone can be grudge us is beyond me. If kinawley being a small club like st pats where to win it id be happy for them so get over the jealousy mate start helpin your club win one instead of making little of other clubs sucesss. People like you will never be happy until you grow up

beefystpats (Fermanagh) - Posts: 33 - 07/10/2008 01:59:44    114615

In response to cillnailes statement
"Derrygonnelly probably will be to blame if Fermanagh gets nothing out of the Ulster club c'hips and this is cause they should have lifted the title yesterday, but there is lack of commitment in that club and too much time spent dreaming."
I don't think anyone who knows the people involved with Derrygonnelly Harps can say they lacked commitment. And dreaming? I think Cillanile needs to look at his/her own club first and ask what their dream was? Was it to be in a championship final? You sound like you have sour grapes after getting beaten by the Harps along with your colleague IrvinestownGael. Neither of your teams were good enough to reach the final.
As for the Harps being to blame for Fermanagh getting nothing out of the ulster club you are talking out of your rear end. Donagh won the title and they represent the county - therefore if they don't do well its not the Harps fault.
I wish Donagh all the very best of luck in Ulster and hope they can show the same hunger and determination they did on sunday. They were simply the better team and they fought for every ball like their lives depended on it.
I ask cillnaile and IrvinestownGael - did your players demonstrate that hunger and will to win this year?? I think not, hence why your staying in division 2 again....

gaaalltheway (Fermanagh) - Posts: 144 - 07/10/2008 10:13:46    114697

Am I the only one here who would question the size of Irvinestown and ask how they, as the second largest town in the county, are so awful at football, as IrvinestownGael obviously thinks that as Derrygonnelly have a larger menbership than St Patricks they should have won the county final.
If thats the case, perhaps IrvinestownGael should ask himself the question 'why are Irvinestown stuck in division 2?'

Congratulations to St Patricks and well done to them on lifting a title which i think no one would begrudge them.
Worthy champions when you consider the route they took to the final and delighted to see quality players like Shane McDermott and Eamon Maguire win a championship medal. Good luck in Ulster!!

howshecuttin08 (Fermanagh) - Posts: 207 - 07/10/2008 10:21:07    114703

sounds like i have touch a raw nerve with donagh poster 'beffystpats' and the coa poster and derrygonnelly supporter 'gaaalltheway'.
I stand by my previous message and say it again that the clubs donagh, belleek and coa who won through to represent fermanagh at their respective levels are poor representatives for the county.
I see 'barney' from enniskillen agrees as all the club teams concerned are struggling in the bottom end of their respective leagues.
Yes, Derrygonnelly must take some responsibility if Donagh as its pedictede fail to progrees in the Ulsters.
Harps had the experience and ability to win the Fermanagh senior championship but their lack of commitment contibuted to their fall and their sheer complacent attitude was woeful.
I'm told also that Harps laughed off the fact (probably on the face of it rightly so) Donagh could survive against them and some players thought it ok to party the weekend before the final.
in respect of Coa, they have become the joke team of the county and lack commitment big-time with the majority of their players preferring the soccer field.
In any case if certain compliants are validated, Coa are out anyway leaving the Bridge and Belnaleck to play-off for the position.
Erne Gaels, no fault to them, but they are just getting back into Fermanagh football seriously and havn't a hope of progressing in the Ulsters either.
lastly, Kinawley have nothing to be ashamed off having been last years intermediate champions and still going reasonably well and looking forward to improvement next season.

cillnaile. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1007 - 07/10/2008 11:57:52    114772

Cillanile there was no one from the Derrygonnelly panel partying away the week before. FACT. Donagh wanted it more end of story, and deserved their win.
The loss of Paul Ward was a huge blow to Derrygonnelly and his contribution when introduced as a substitute was telling.
I honestly think for you to be begrudging St Pats win is pathetic but then again if i was from Kinawley I wouldn't be shouting about myself like you. Derrygonnelly supporter i am yes, but i can still swallow my pride and congratulate St pats on a well earned victory and wish them all the best in Ulster, like i'm sure most right-minded Fermanagh Gaels do.
Get a life Cillnaile!

gaaalltheway (Fermanagh) - Posts: 144 - 07/10/2008 12:32:01    114793

'gaaalltheway' you poor lost soul. one time your are coa now you are derrygonelly.make up your mind who you belong to.
you refer to the partying comment. i can with out any doubt confirm that 2 of the panel were at a house party the weekend before the match. that is FACT!
i suggest you hiding the info or being plain stupid or both or maybe which might be more to the truth is that you don't know your so called derrygonnelly team.
lastly, as regards your suggestion of 'getting a life' i think its rich coming from derrygonnelly where their life and club centres around the pub - afterall that is why they are called the 'pubbers'!
i would suggest to 'gaaalltheway' is to leave the failed harps club issues and get back and try and help your troubled coa club.
bye bye.

cillnaile. (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1007 - 07/10/2008 13:21:23    114840

cillnaile the only people who call derrygonnelly the pubbers are you & your best bud irvinestown gael, your posts are a mirror image of his ramblings, perhaps you are the same person.
its a disgrace how you say "..their life & club centres around the pub...", you are just making a widespread allegation based upon some myth that you have got into your head.
every time you post onto this forum it is just nonsense, get a grip.

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 07/10/2008 16:12:29    114978

Fair Play irlande - spot on!

gaaalltheway (Fermanagh) - Posts: 144 - 07/10/2008 16:25:35    114989

irlande i find it an insult to be liken to a sham.
you know very well that i make good points in analysing the issues of the day.
What issue have i not stated well and honestly?

lrvinestownGael (Fermanagh) - Posts: 847 - 07/10/2008 16:47:46    115021

first of all i am not from derrygonnelly, but irvinestown gael how is a 1 point beating in a county final a humiliation (taken from the first post of this thread)

irlande (Fermanagh) - Posts: 535 - 07/10/2008 17:01:12    115041