Wexford Club Hurling 2025

Replying To Pikeman96:  "Thing is, the fight for placings here is all about the fight for second place and being able to skip the preliminary quarter-finals. To save people having to look up the table separately, the current standings are this:
St. Martin's - 8 pts
Shelmaliers - 6 pts
Faythe Harriers - 4 pts
Rapparees - 3 pts
Glynn-Barntown - 3 pts
Oulart-The Ballagh - 3 pts

Now, if they took your suggestion and played Martin's v Shels first, and Shels got a result, then the Harriers know before their match even starts that their chance of second place is gone, and their match becomes less competitive as a result.

Similarly, if Harriers v GB went first, and Harriers didn't win, then Shels know before their match even starts that they've already got a top two position anyway, and that match becomes less competitive.

But by playing them at the same time at different venues, then so far as both Shels and Harriers are concerned, they're still playing for second place throughout their own match no matter what's happening in the other one, unless they get word near the end that somebody is way ahead at the other venue.

By the way, are you overlooking how there's a double-header in Wexford Park on Sunday anyway? St. Anne's & Naomh Éanna battling it out for second place and a quarter-final spot, and Rapps looking for fourth place to avoid the threat of relegation. I honestly don't see how putting those matches on together is bad for the promotion of hurling."
So you are saying the Harriers would not want to come 3rd so if they know they can't come 2nd they would just not bother.
I am left flabbergasted by your last statement, Wexford town is crying out for support in Hurling and the one attraction is Lee Chin and rather than have him within walking distance playing a close local rival team you put that in Enniscorthy, likewise two district rivals - put in New Ross. With thinking like that its no wonder hurling is in the state it is.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2073 - 05/09/2025 23:21:12    2635050

Replying To zinny:  "So you are saying the Harriers would not want to come 3rd so if they know they can't come 2nd they would just not bother.
I am left flabbergasted by your last statement, Wexford town is crying out for support in Hurling and the one attraction is Lee Chin and rather than have him within walking distance playing a close local rival team you put that in Enniscorthy, likewise two district rivals - put in New Ross. With thinking like that its no wonder hurling is in the state it is."
If you knew in advance who came 3rd or 4th in the other group that might sway whether you wanted to finish 3rd or 4th in your own group.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17055 - 06/09/2025 09:38:39    2635058

Replying To zinny:  "So you are saying the Harriers would not want to come 3rd so if they know they can't come 2nd they would just not bother.
I am left flabbergasted by your last statement, Wexford town is crying out for support in Hurling and the one attraction is Lee Chin and rather than have him within walking distance playing a close local rival team you put that in Enniscorthy, likewise two district rivals - put in New Ross. With thinking like that its no wonder hurling is in the state it is."
So they should fix games in locations that suit the Harriers basically? That they don't have to travel but other teams do?

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 890 - 06/09/2025 11:26:29    2635067

Ah here. So you think the Harriers should always be fixed for Wexford Park, so that people from the town don't have to travel to see Lee Chin and the rest of their team?

Sure why stop at Wexford town? Let's put all Rapparees matches in Bellefield, and all Naomh Éanna matches in Gorey!

And then especially in New Ross, where it's well accepted that GAA needs a boost locally. Let's put all the Geraldine O'Hanrahan's matches in their own ground too.

But seriously, you're just illustrating the point that StoreysTash made on the last page. Fixtures committee consider all sorts of things to fix 30 championship matches to be played in less than 48 hours, and then somebody complains about having to travel 20 minutes up the road......

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3098 - 06/09/2025 13:04:30    2635075

Replying To countyman2022:  "So they should fix games in locations that suit the Harriers basically? That they don't have to travel but other teams do?"
Seriously - Glynn Barntown having to trave to Wexford Park! and yes play all the Harriers games in Wexford Park if the helps hurling in the county overall. Parochialism is a blight on development of the GAA. Within Clubs between Hurling and Football between different organizations in the parish, GAA, LGFA, Camogie, then its clubs and then for hurling worse still the big hurling counties with Munster being the worst.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2073 - 06/09/2025 15:47:07    2635081

Replying To Viking66:  "If you knew in advance who came 3rd or 4th in the other group that might sway whether you wanted to finish 3rd or 4th in your own group."
People really need to listen to what they are saying. This is the last game before every team plays a knockout. This is club hurling, not professional sports, no team is going out and experimenting and no team is going out to get a thumping. Anyone who has played sport knows that the minute they cross that white line its 100% . We keep inventing these theories, sure its good banter but what player is going to go out on a pitch this weekend with the attitude that I am not going to bother to much in this game and its ok if I lose the game. Some talk about mindset in Wexford Hurling, well if you believe in all these theories could happen then clearly there is a mindset problem.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2073 - 06/09/2025 16:00:23    2635082

Replying To zinny:  "Seriously - Glynn Barntown having to trave to Wexford Park! and yes play all the Harriers games in Wexford Park if the helps hurling in the county overall. Parochialism is a blight on development of the GAA. Within Clubs between Hurling and Football between different organizations in the parish, GAA, LGFA, Camogie, then its clubs and then for hurling worse still the big hurling counties with Munster being the worst."
"Parochialism is a blight", and yet your idea is that Harriers should only ever play in Wexford Park????

With all due respect, you seem to be arguing against yourself.

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3098 - 06/09/2025 16:48:02    2635087

Replying To Pikeman96:  ""Parochialism is a blight", and yet your idea is that Harriers should only ever play in Wexford Park????

With all due respect, you seem to be arguing against yourself."
Amazing - that's a very Trump like response attack the person asking the question as being biased as opposed to addressing the issue itself. Hurling in the biggest town in Wexford is in bad need of help (actually the GAA in general in Wexford town) but your response to a suggestion on what could help is to say its been driven from the point of view of being a Harriers man. For what its worth I believe the Harriers are part of the problem. over the years but that is a completely different question.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2073 - 06/09/2025 21:38:50    2635109

Replying To zinny:  "Amazing - that's a very Trump like response attack the person asking the question as being biased as opposed to addressing the issue itself. Hurling in the biggest town in Wexford is in bad need of help (actually the GAA in general in Wexford town) but your response to a suggestion on what could help is to say its been driven from the point of view of being a Harriers man. For what its worth I believe the Harriers are part of the problem. over the years but that is a completely different question."
In what way do you believe the harriers are part of the problem?

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3923 - 07/09/2025 11:15:17    2635150

Replying To zinny:  "Amazing - that's a very Trump like response attack the person asking the question as being biased as opposed to addressing the issue itself. Hurling in the biggest town in Wexford is in bad need of help (actually the GAA in general in Wexford town) but your response to a suggestion on what could help is to say its been driven from the point of view of being a Harriers man. For what its worth I believe the Harriers are part of the problem. over the years but that is a completely different question."
With all due respect, it wasn't and is still not meant as a personal attack, and is instead a genuine question about how we're supposed to reconcile the statements you're making.

On the one hand, you say parochialism is a blight.

On the other hand, you want things to be so parochial that the Harriers would never have to play outside of Wexford Park.

Do you not see how somebody could think you're making two completely opposite arguments at the same time?

Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 3098 - 07/09/2025 14:23:51    2635171

Replying To zinny:  "People really need to listen to what they are saying. This is the last game before every team plays a knockout. This is club hurling, not professional sports, no team is going out and experimenting and no team is going out to get a thumping. Anyone who has played sport knows that the minute they cross that white line its 100% . We keep inventing these theories, sure its good banter but what player is going to go out on a pitch this weekend with the attitude that I am not going to bother to much in this game and its ok if I lose the game. Some talk about mindset in Wexford Hurling, well if you believe in all these theories could happen then clearly there is a mindset problem."
That's a bizarre take Zinny. In any county or in any sport if you had the choice of a better or worse opponent, or a more or less suitable opponent, you would choose to play the opponent you thought would suit you best. So if you looked at the other group that was finished already, and saw where all the different potential opponents had finished, and you had a choice where you finished yourself, why wouldn't you pick what you thought would be the most likely opponent for you to beat?
At the end of the day everyone wants to win as you say, so why would you win a non-knockout group game this week if next week in the knockouts you'd have an easier opponent if you lost?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17055 - 07/09/2025 16:36:29    2635183

Replying To Viking66:  "That's a bizarre take Zinny. In any county or in any sport if you had the choice of a better or worse opponent, or a more or less suitable opponent, you would choose to play the opponent you thought would suit you best. So if you looked at the other group that was finished already, and saw where all the different potential opponents had finished, and you had a choice where you finished yourself, why wouldn't you pick what you thought would be the most likely opponent for you to beat?
At the end of the day everyone wants to win as you say, so why would you win a non-knockout group game this week if next week in the knockouts you'd have an easier opponent if you lost?"
By definition if they finish 4th in the other group they are not as good as the team who finishes 3rd. As a manager of a team in my last game before the knockout I am focused on getting my team right for that game, that means I am going out to win that game and carry that momentum into the P QF. I am not coming up with new game plans or massively disrupting the balance of the team People look too much at professional sports and think that in club GAA games you can switch in and out players and not disrupt the balance and function of the team. People say losing games don't matter as long as they get through but then at county level talk about needing sports psychologist. No club is going to have any psychologist so the best way to manage players is keep them positive and with a winning mentality, thinking that you would be better playing the 3rd or 4th placed teams should not enter into it.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2073 - 07/09/2025 19:39:21    2635218

Replying To Pikeman96:  "With all due respect, it wasn't and is still not meant as a personal attack, and is instead a genuine question about how we're supposed to reconcile the statements you're making.

On the one hand, you say parochialism is a blight.

On the other hand, you want things to be so parochial that the Harriers would never have to play outside of Wexford Park.

Do you not see how somebody could think you're making two completely opposite arguments at the same time?"
Ok fair enough.

I will go back to my original point and that was for the betterment of the GAA in Wexford town it would be better in the Harriers game was in the Park. Lee Chin is one of the few attractions there is for young kids who are interested in Hurling in the town, getting to see him playing may just help promote the game more in the town. Wexford Hurling needs the Wexford town producing players. Yes from as there is only one club in the town that would mean the Harriers would get stronger but in the wider context of the game in the county that is a good thing. The same way with Gorey wining Senior and getting promote to Senior in Football. Enniscorthy and Wexford were once dominant, we have lost that foothold and its getting weaker. So put the Harriers games in the Park which is as much a home ground to GB as it would be tyhe Harriers.
There were complains about games on being promoted in the papers and radio but then two games Martins and Shels and Harriers and GB, one is in New Ross and the other Enniscorthy. Tell me how is going to get bums on the seats and promote the game. The same issue a few weeks back between Castletown and Kilanerin in the Park. Its crazy stuff.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 2073 - 07/09/2025 19:54:05    2635223

League stages all done what is everyone's thoughts for the knockouts? Can anyone elaborate on the format going forward? Is it an open draw for Quarter Finals after the prelims

Graham915oc (Wexford) - Posts: 4 - 07/09/2025 20:55:10    2635235

Replying To Graham915oc:  "League stages all done what is everyone's thoughts for the knockouts? Can anyone elaborate on the format going forward? Is it an open draw for Quarter Finals after the prelims"
Not open draw. 1st in each group will play one of the winners from the 2 5th/6th playoffs. After a draw. 2nds will play one of the winners of the 3rd/4th playoffs. After a draw.
Losers of the 2 5th/6th playoffs into a relegation final. Losers of the 2 3rd/4th playoffs finished for the year.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17055 - 08/09/2025 09:34:20    2635270

Replying To zinny:  "By definition if they finish 4th in the other group they are not as good as the team who finishes 3rd. As a manager of a team in my last game before the knockout I am focused on getting my team right for that game, that means I am going out to win that game and carry that momentum into the P QF. I am not coming up with new game plans or massively disrupting the balance of the team People look too much at professional sports and think that in club GAA games you can switch in and out players and not disrupt the balance and function of the team. People say losing games don't matter as long as they get through but then at county level talk about needing sports psychologist. No club is going to have any psychologist so the best way to manage players is keep them positive and with a winning mentality, thinking that you would be better playing the 3rd or 4th placed teams should not enter into it."
A team that finish 3rd might suit your strengths better than the team that finishes 4th.

Get your point about momentum though Zinny, never underestimate the power of winning.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17055 - 08/09/2025 09:42:38    2635271

Replying To zinny:  "Ok fair enough.

I will go back to my original point and that was for the betterment of the GAA in Wexford town it would be better in the Harriers game was in the Park. Lee Chin is one of the few attractions there is for young kids who are interested in Hurling in the town, getting to see him playing may just help promote the game more in the town. Wexford Hurling needs the Wexford town producing players. Yes from as there is only one club in the town that would mean the Harriers would get stronger but in the wider context of the game in the county that is a good thing. The same way with Gorey wining Senior and getting promote to Senior in Football. Enniscorthy and Wexford were once dominant, we have lost that foothold and its getting weaker. So put the Harriers games in the Park which is as much a home ground to GB as it would be tyhe Harriers.
There were complains about games on being promoted in the papers and radio but then two games Martins and Shels and Harriers and GB, one is in New Ross and the other Enniscorthy. Tell me how is going to get bums on the seats and promote the game. The same issue a few weeks back between Castletown and Kilanerin in the Park. Its crazy stuff."
Clonard?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 17055 - 08/09/2025 09:43:40    2635272

Replying To Graham915oc:  "League stages all done what is everyone's thoughts for the knockouts? Can anyone elaborate on the format going forward? Is it an open draw for Quarter Finals after the prelims"
After seeing a lot of games over the five rounds either on Clubber or been physically present at the games, I think St Martins are firm favourites and as focused as I've ever seen them. They all know their role and they are moving the ball through the lines with precision. I actually don't think anyone has tested them yet and they are really only in 3rd gear. Jack O' Connor and Rory are hurling out of their skins. Shels were poor yesterday though - Forwards seem to offere zero threat.

Rathnure aren't far behind Martins - Playing a similar brand of hurling and moving the ball at pace with precision. That said, It broke down on a few occasions yesterday and they were punished. If they can get this right they offer a serious threat. Their U21 lads are the engine - Eamonn Wickham / Luke Codd / Charlie Mooney. It was great to see Sean Rowley back yesterday and himself and Mooney had a fair battle. Rathnure powered on in the 3rd quarter - but Oylegate missed 3 frees in a row at start of second half and their race was run then.

Now looking at the format - well Rathnure, Annes, Martins, Harriers all in Q/F
Crossabeg V Glynn and Oylegate V Oulart in relegation semi-finals
Gorey V Rapps and Ferns V Shels in the other preliminary Q/F

Rathnure and Martins will play winners of the relegation semi-finals
Annes and Harriers play winners of the other two preliminary Q/F

Not 100% sure if there is a pre-set format on who you play or if its a draw.

MyOhMi (Wexford) - Posts: 225 - 08/09/2025 09:43:59    2635273

Replying To zinny:  "Ok fair enough.

There were complains about games on being promoted in the papers and radio but then two games Martins and Shels and Harriers and GB, one is in New Ross and the other Enniscorthy. Tell me how is going to get bums on the seats and promote the game. The same issue a few weeks back between Castletown and Kilanerin in the Park. Its crazy stuff."
Dont think you can comprehend how neutral fixtures work.

countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 890 - 08/09/2025 09:50:03    2635275

Was in Bellefield yesterday, have to say I think Crossabeg Ballymurn are looking good for relegation unless they can pull something out of the bag next weekend which wouldn't surprise me. Couldn't judge Ferns on that game yesterday. Harriers won the first game handy. David Clarke done very well on Chin though to his credit he barely gave him an inch, but he had no support cast.

WexMurph (Wexford) - Posts: 305 - 08/09/2025 11:05:59    2635294