Replying To mr305: "I pose this question to everyone.... take away the Munster Final (a game which Cork drew) and should have lost if DO'D was capable of slotting over a routine shot and what makes Cork such strong favourites with the bookies and with almost every pundit?
Better still. I will compare Cork's body of championship work against Tipps.
Cork vs Clare - Cork were luck to draw a game in which they led by as much as 12 points. They were ahead by 10 pts with 12 minutes to go when Barrett was sent off. Ahead by 3 pts going into injury time and still should have lost the game.
Tipp vs Clare - an excellent win by Tipp when they as good as HAD to win or be on the verge of elimination. When Clare surged back into the game in the last 10 mins I couldn't see them hanging on but they dug in and showed huge character to see out the game.
VERDICT TIPP
Cork vs Waterford - I will let the Munster gaa website summary do the talking "Cork won't want much photographic evidence of this workmanlike effort as much as they qualified for a first Munster final in seven years.
The performance was only decent, the result was required as much as it was pretty hairy in the final quarter thanks to a brave Waterford effort led by their record championship scorer Stephen Bennett."
Tipp vs Waterford - A comprehensive 9 point victory by Tipp. Simialr to the Corks game it was relatively close with 10 mints to go but Tipp pushed on with no doubt of victory whereas Cork were the butt of the post from the game being tied up when Bennett should have scored.
VERDICT TIPP
Cork vs Limerick - The Munster final was a pretty good performance and yielded a draw with Limerick. Cork were hugely improved from the 16 point mauling but they still could have easily lost the game. But we cant ignore round robin game vs Limerick....
Tipp vs Limerick - the game where I really took notice of Tipp following on from a generally impressive league. This was a big point and they went toe to toe with the mighty Limerick and looked well capable of competing with one of the top 2 sides in the country.
VERDICT TIPP
Tipp vs Cork - a tough one to fully gauge given Tipp played the entire game with 14. Cork did what they had to do and put the game to bed early in the first half with the goals. Tipp were still impressive given the circumstances and not once downed tools. their work rate and effort throughout was very impressive and they played some good hurling at times too.
VERDICT CORK
Semi Finals Cork were super impressive but it came with a caveat of beating the 8th or 9th best team in the country. But you can only beat what's put in front of you. and they played some fantastic hurling.
Tipp beat a much better opponent in Kilkenny. They showed huge resilience by withstanding an early storm where Kilkenny went 8 points to 1 ahead. Tipp also dealt with a sending off with 12 mins to go and were behind on the scoreboard
VERDICT TIPP (just)
Tomorrow I see it either being a draw or a Tipp win. the bookies +5 on Tipp is a money printing machine. I don't see who in the Cork HB will be able to curtail the influence of Jake Morris. I think Tipps backs are much more interchangeable and will be able to get on top of Corks attack. It should be very close but the blue and gold will shade it. Here's to a great game ( and to anyone from Cork who takes exception to this... I hate Tipp but you have to call a spade a spade!)" I wont blow my own trumpet but I saw this result coming a long way back.
Felt massively sorry for Eoin Downey, you don't want to see anyone get sent off in a AI final. Watching him take off his helmet and seeing his face with the reality he was probably going to cost his team an AI final wasn't nice to watch.
An unfortunate way to end a fairly disappointing hurling championship overall. 2 of the last 3 games were very one sided and 36 points of a combined winning margin (cork dub semi final and today)
Cork have now lost by 15 to tipp and 16 points to Limerick. Salvaged a draw against Clare in a game they should have lost. The writing was on the wall. They haven't been that impressive or delivered one complete performance all championship against a team of any note.
Perhaps you will all see it now... and I hope you made a good few pound of it like I did! I did say the plus 5 handicap was a money printing machine!
mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 20/07/2025 22:13:54
Replying To bloodandbandage: "I'd be worried for you on Sunday if Cork do end up winning. However, I've no doubt you'll be able to logically explain how it happened, based on your in depth synopsis to date..." So how was my in depth synopsis? Its hard to believe when the Rock grabbed Niall Healy when they went to shake hands before the throw-in (basically saying you wont get a point today let alone 3 goals on the back of his hat trick against Kilkenny in the semi final), in the final 20 long years ago that it would be the last time Cork were AI Champions. the wait goes on...
Huge credit to Shane Barrett and Dudsy Healy in the first half today. Both really took the game to Tipp and it was the rest who let them down. Unfortunately for Cork the Full forward line didnt get a sniff. Hayes didnt look himself at all, perhaps he wasn't fully hit. I would imagine he would still get Hurler of the year however
mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 20/07/2025 22:23:46
Great win for Tipp but that Cork second half collapse reminded me of our own one v donegal in quarter final. When a side loses momentum and starts to panic when other team growing in it can be virtually impossible to wrestle it back. Cork seemed to fall apart once tipp got in front. That all said Tipperary came out like a train second half.
seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1912 - 20/07/2025 22:25:03
Replying To DuhallowRed: "I think Kilkenny only scored 2 points in the second half in 2004 final" They did too.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16738 - 20/07/2025 22:35:09
Replying To Deegoyaboll1x: "Commiserations, that's a shocker and incomprehensible what happened in the second half" I have never seen a good team only score 2 points in a half.
Newyorkkat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 183 - 20/07/2025 22:39:57
Replying To Pope_Benedict: " Replying To Fionn: "Many congrats Tipp. What a 2nd half performance. 3-14 to only 2points I think it was. Wow
I don't think anyone could have foreseen that. Amazing turnaround from 6pts down at half time.
Not sure I have ever seen such a 2nd half collapse by a team tbh. I am in shock at it. Couldnt believe what was happening.
But massive credit to Tipp. Hell of a win.
Enjoy the celebrations and well done." Certainly illustrates the folly of Dublin's tactical approach at the semifinal. Tipp's 7 defender setup in the first half was fundamental to making Cork feel uncomfortable, and making them realise that their full forward line couldn't run wreck as usual." Definitely does but in fairness, Niall acknowledged that after the game.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4545 - 20/07/2025 23:30:25
Replying To DuhallowRed: "I think Kilkenny only scored 2 points in the second half in 2004 final" Correct. Kilkenny had 7 points at half-time in that final and finished with 9. Hard to believe when you think of the forwards they had on that team. Conditions were poor that day though and hurling was a lower scoring game then. 2 points in a half in the modern game in good conditions is almost unheard of.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2474 - 20/07/2025 23:31:47
Replying To Newyorkkat: "I have never seen a good team only score 2 points in a half." Your own Kilkenny managed the same tally in the All-Ireland final of 2004. That was surely a good team at the very least, given they'd won the previous two All-Irelands.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2474 - 20/07/2025 23:49:33
People shocked here but this has happened a lot of times in the GAA. We have a tendency in the GAA to go way over the top when a team has a good semi final.
A lot of times teams have won a semi final easy and then put in flat final performances.
It's very hard when you go into a final as red hot favourites and then things don't go the way your expecting, especially when you don't have previous experience of getting the job done in an All Ireland final.
GreenMan1987 (Meath) - Posts: 98 - 21/07/2025 08:05:56
devastated as a cork fan. full credit to tipp, better team by miles on the day. it's a shame because everyone knows that that cork team have such potential and that second half yesterday isn't even a fraction of what they can produce, i'm sad we lost but i'm devastated that we didn't play the game.
a million thank yous to pat ryan, what he's done with this team is something i've never seen in my lifetime. i'm 19 years of age and still have never seen cork win a hurling title, but pat ryan's management gave me incredible hope, to qualify for two all ireland finals in a row is an incredible feat for me to witness. obviously i've heard of the great cork wins from times gone by and how the league and munster titles don't really matter. but for me i know no different so that's why i'm happy with this season and hope pat ryan stays on. obviously i would love nothing more than cork to win the all ireland. i do think they'll be one of the favourites for next year but the main thing we need to work on isn't our hurling, it's our mental battle. we cannot let the 'hype' or 'pressure' get to our hurlers again.
cork will be a quiet place for the next few weeks, but once club hurling gets back up and running i have no doubt that the hurling fans will return in their droves to cheer on their heros. i do hope the cork fans return next year, i think we really add to the experience for the players and at the end of the day it is really all about them.
up cork! up the glen! rebels 2026!!!!
HonCork (Cork) - Posts: 10 - 21/07/2025 09:03:18
Unfortunately, at 37, I am not sure we will see Patrick Horgan in a Cork jersey again, let alone lift the Liam McCarthy cup.
Yesterday was just one of those days when nothing went right in that 2nd half.
Hopefully they can re-group and win it next year, but I felt this was a hell of a chance for them, and they didnt take it.
It was some performance from TIpp though. A tactical masterclass.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4545 - 21/07/2025 09:19:54
Replying To HonCork: "devastated as a cork fan. full credit to tipp, better team by miles on the day. it's a shame because everyone knows that that cork team have such potential and that second half yesterday isn't even a fraction of what they can produce, i'm sad we lost but i'm devastated that we didn't play the game.
a million thank yous to pat ryan, what he's done with this team is something i've never seen in my lifetime. i'm 19 years of age and still have never seen cork win a hurling title, but pat ryan's management gave me incredible hope, to qualify for two all ireland finals in a row is an incredible feat for me to witness. obviously i've heard of the great cork wins from times gone by and how the league and munster titles don't really matter. but for me i know no different so that's why i'm happy with this season and hope pat ryan stays on. obviously i would love nothing more than cork to win the all ireland. i do think they'll be one of the favourites for next year but the main thing we need to work on isn't our hurling, it's our mental battle. we cannot let the 'hype' or 'pressure' get to our hurlers again.
cork will be a quiet place for the next few weeks, but once club hurling gets back up and running i have no doubt that the hurling fans will return in their droves to cheer on their heros. i do hope the cork fans return next year, i think we really add to the experience for the players and at the end of the day it is really all about them.
up cork! up the glen! rebels 2026!!!!" Walking around cork city last night, great to see all the young people in Cork shirts partying, god knows what would have happened if they had won, and that's what it's all about. We lost, but I for one would thank the team for the joy they've brought to the county this year. Second half was a disaster, man sent off for 2 yellow cards… first one unjustified..penalty for Tipp scored, penalty for cork missed,all breaking ball from upright went Tipp's way, soft goal conceded when goalkeeper batted ball down. Tipp got momentum and powered to a deserved victory , and congratulations to their manager for tactical masterclass. Sport can be cruel, the team will be maligned and criticized, but congratulations to players and Pat Ryan for the effort they put in!
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 581 - 21/07/2025 09:36:35
Congrats to Tipperary…that was an awesome second half performance. Hard luck to Cork, Croke Park is the worst place to be in the world when your team is getting hammered and don't we know all about it. Keep the heads up.
yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11715 - 21/07/2025 09:37:23
Of all the munster teams this year Cork have faced, they have only beaten Waterford really and truly. Lost to Limerick by 16 pts. Drew with Limerick in munster final. Drew with Clare in Ennis in a game they salvaged a draw. Lost to Tipp by 15 pts when the game started 15 a side!
Look at the resolve Tipp showed going down to 14 men against Kilkenny. Cork have had 2 sendings off this year and were 10 points up against Clare when Barrett got the line. they were still 3 points up going in to added time and had to salvage a draw with last shot of the game.
and yesterday down to 14 men and didn't lay a glove on Tipp.
mr305 (Galway) - Posts: 87 - 21/07/2025 09:37:33
I thought Tipp had a great chance before yesterday's game, given their experience of performing in finals and the fact that they have plenty of scoring forwards. Workrate was never going to be an issue for them either, as we'd seen all year. Of course I never expected such margin of victory and Cork's collapse was something else. I genuinely feel for Cork after that. It'll be tough to come back from it, but they do have talented hurlers coming through. There might be a bit of a refresh needed.
The last 10 years have seen the following All-Ireland winners: Limerick 5 Tipperary 3 Galway 1 Clare 1
Not a single title for the two most successful counties in that period, which is remarkable. Given that Kilkenny's longest drought is 11 years, I think, I'm pretty sure we've never had a 10 year stretch when neither they nor Cork won a title.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2474 - 21/07/2025 10:18:45
Congratulations to Tipperary and their Supporters. Some performance and all genuine hurling people couldn't but be impressed.
This is actually good for Hurling. Remember Tipperary finished bottom of the Table in Munster last year and looked Clueless, but the display yesterday was simply unbelievable, and worlds apart from last year.
This should offer massive encouragement to all counties, but in particular the Waterfords, Wexfords, Dublin's and Offaly's of this world who have their shoulder to the wheel trying to break back into hurling's tope table. Change can take place very quick with a infusion of new/young players.
For Cork fans, nobody can say anything to them today, this will hurt a lot. But Cork are the biggest hurling county in the country, with the biggest numbers of hurling clubs and playing numbers and they will be never be too far away. I think if they stick with Pat Ryan eventually it will happen so people would do well to keep their powder dry and not talk **** about them today.
LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 196 - 21/07/2025 11:23:34
Replying To Fionn: "Unfortunately, at 37, I am not sure we will see Patrick Horgan in a Cork jersey again, let alone lift the Liam McCarthy cup.
Yesterday was just one of those days when nothing went right in that 2nd half.
Hopefully they can re-group and win it next year, but I felt this was a hell of a chance for them, and they didnt take it.
It was some performance from TIpp though. A tactical masterclass." Ah here Fionn. What about the Dubs? Have you some Cork blood in you? because not being smart the only people outside of Cork that like to see Cork win have Cork blood in them. I dont like Cork and never have and most non Langers I know feel the same.There is an arrogance to them always thinking they are the best at everything. I have no ties to Tipp but I was delighted they tanked Cork. Now i do feel sorry for Pat Ryan but not Cork. Cork are grand when they lose but insufferable when they win.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 258 - 21/07/2025 11:26:42
Replying To brayballer: "Ah here Fionn. What about the Dubs? Have you some Cork blood in you? because not being smart the only people outside of Cork that like to see Cork win have Cork blood in them. I dont like Cork and never have and most non Langers I know feel the same.There is an arrogance to them always thinking they are the best at everything. I have no ties to Tipp but I was delighted they tanked Cork. Now i do feel sorry for Pat Ryan but not Cork. Cork are grand when they lose but insufferable when they win." Yep I have Cork relatives.
I just think 20 years is far too long for the Rebels not to win Liam.
I found them ok whenever they have beaten us tbh. Very gracious in fact.
I have always found the Cats to be more arrogant and insufferable - ooops, no offence Kilkenny posters on here... ;o(
As for the Dubs, hopefully Niall learns a lot from this year. He admitted after the semi that he got his tactics wrong. I would love nothing more than to see us get to an AI Hurling Final. Maybe one day....
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4545 - 21/07/2025 11:43:45
Replying To WanPintWin: "I thought Tipp had a great chance before yesterday's game, given their experience of performing in finals and the fact that they have plenty of scoring forwards. Workrate was never going to be an issue for them either, as we'd seen all year. Of course I never expected such margin of victory and Cork's collapse was something else. I genuinely feel for Cork after that. It'll be tough to come back from it, but they do have talented hurlers coming through. There might be a bit of a refresh needed.
The last 10 years have seen the following All-Ireland winners: Limerick 5 Tipperary 3 Galway 1 Clare 1
Not a single title for the two most successful counties in that period, which is remarkable. Given that Kilkenny's longest drought is 11 years, I think, I'm pretty sure we've never had a 10 year stretch when neither they nor Cork won a title." The Hurling Championship will be wide open next year.
Maybe one of Cork or Kilkenny will break their duck.
TBH I prefer the Hurling Championship. There is just something about it.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4545 - 21/07/2025 11:48:25
I had no preference who won yesterday at all - as neutral as anyone can be - but I have a lot of sympathy for Cork today. The way that second half unravelled was like watching a car crash that lasted 35 mins.
To lose a final is disappointing but when your team leaves it all on the field you can't ask for much more. That yesterday is the worst way possible - and I know what I am talking about.
I would like to see Cork rebound - but a loss like that could impact hurling in the county for years.
Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 376 - 21/07/2025 12:15:42