Replying To BigBàsMan: "Ye will beat us." Not so sure tbh.
We concede goals far too easily.
Hopefully some of our injuries clear up - they are mounting at this stage. Really hope Danny is back. We will need him.
Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4279 - 22/05/2025 12:15:49
Its such a lacklustre end to the provincial championship. 2019 might never be topped for drama but this is a total whimper. A long winter ahead for Wexford and the province as a whole.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1857 - 23/05/2025 09:15:37
I would like to see the schedule of matches changed up a bit tbh. Good and all as 2019 last day was we haven't changed up the schedule since then and it's like we're chasing the same thing, Munsters schedule changes ever year. Be nice to see different matches at different times. Dublin v Wexford on the last day or Wexford v Galway, Kilkenny v Galway etc. I know they like to keep the two perceived weaker teams to the last game as a glorified relegation match…except the year we almost got relegated and even then it still ended up being the relegation match. It might help change it up a bit, it's a still stale I think. Don't know what people think, wouldn't harm to have a different dynamic every year… if we're staying with the current 1 group round robin system for the foreseeable future.
Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 23/05/2025 10:18:56
Replying To Pikeman96: "Just a thought - that any call for a change to go back to the way things used to be is really a sign that people don't like change at all.
For argument's sake, consider the following:
During the Civil War years, just over a century ago, the GAA in large swathes of the country was barely trundling along, for obvious reasons. There were lengthy delays in completing club & inter-county championships, and some were never played at all.
Suppose that when things settled down, the GAA leaders of the time decided: "Right. We need a system. From now on, inter-county stuff will run up to middle of July each year, and club championships can run from July to December."
The National Leagues were kicking off around that time, so we'd all have grown up with League matches across let's say January/February/March, followed by inter-county championship in April/May/June, and All-Ireland Finals on 1st and 3rd Sundays of July, instead of 1st and 3rd Sundays of September.
Now suppose somebody came along today and said: "Ah! Let's rip that up. Instead, let's have a system where there's a couple of weeks of club matches, then a couple of weeks of county ones, and so on. Let's make county players play for one team in one competition this week, and then a different team in a different competition (and maybe even a different code) the following week. And let's play the All-Ireland Finals in September instead, such that counties who qualify for the latter stages of those championships will only ever have a couple of weeks' notice on when they can get to the business end of their club championships."
I think that person would be laughed at." That's as good a post as I've seen on the issue but too nuanced for the RTE brigade to make
Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 23/05/2025 10:20:53
Replying To Pikeman96: "Just a thought - that any call for a change to go back to the way things used to be is really a sign that people don't like change at all.
For argument's sake, consider the following:
During the Civil War years, just over a century ago, the GAA in large swathes of the country was barely trundling along, for obvious reasons. There were lengthy delays in completing club & inter-county championships, and some were never played at all.
Suppose that when things settled down, the GAA leaders of the time decided: "Right. We need a system. From now on, inter-county stuff will run up to middle of July each year, and club championships can run from July to December."
The National Leagues were kicking off around that time, so we'd all have grown up with League matches across let's say January/February/March, followed by inter-county championship in April/May/June, and All-Ireland Finals on 1st and 3rd Sundays of July, instead of 1st and 3rd Sundays of September.
Now suppose somebody came along today and said: "Ah! Let's rip that up. Instead, let's have a system where there's a couple of weeks of club matches, then a couple of weeks of county ones, and so on. Let's make county players play for one team in one competition this week, and then a different team in a different competition (and maybe even a different code) the following week. And let's play the All-Ireland Finals in September instead, such that counties who qualify for the latter stages of those championships will only ever have a couple of weeks' notice on when they can get to the business end of their club championships."
I think that person would be laughed at." They would equally laugh at the creators of a system where club players - the 99.9% of players - play meaningful matches for just up to 15 weeks of a 52 week calendar, or as little as 10 in a bad year, or if you play only hurling, as little as 5. And for the best months of the year for GAA, May and June and sometimes July, little or no action other than practice matches (i.e. league). But don't you dare ask to go to EP or enjoy life in August/September/October.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1857 - 23/05/2025 11:54:42
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "I would like to see the schedule of matches changed up a bit tbh. Good and all as 2019 last day was we haven't changed up the schedule since then and it's like we're chasing the same thing, Munsters schedule changes ever year. Be nice to see different matches at different times. Dublin v Wexford on the last day or Wexford v Galway, Kilkenny v Galway etc. I know they like to keep the two perceived weaker teams to the last game as a glorified relegation match…except the year we almost got relegated and even then it still ended up being the relegation match. It might help change it up a bit, it's a still stale I think. Don't know what people think, wouldn't harm to have a different dynamic every year… if we're staying with the current 1 group round robin system for the foreseeable future." Yes it could do with change, its all well and good to say that Wexford v Kilkenny and Dublin v Galway on the last day was great in 2019 but in a year with nothing on the line its a joke for the last day. Imagine Wexford v Kilkenny, Dublin v Galway as game 1.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1857 - 23/05/2025 11:59:16
Replying To StoreysTash: "They would equally laugh at the creators of a system where club players - the 99.9% of players - play meaningful matches for just up to 15 weeks of a 52 week calendar, or as little as 10 in a bad year, or if you play only hurling, as little as 5. And for the best months of the year for GAA, May and June and sometimes July, little or no action other than practice matches (i.e. league). But don't you dare ask to go to EP or enjoy life in August/September/October." If you don't enjoy playing club championship games in August/September/October you could always go to Oz...... oh wait.......:-D
Seriously though I did ask about the EP given a week off and got told when the Fleadh moves on to ask again. As regards meaningful club games there are still the same number of club championship games as there have been since the grades got reduced to 12 teams. More even with the bizarre format currently being used for hurling. And most of the players I know like the system as is, as they can go on holiday in June. Cub Championship starts end of June FYI.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16132 - 23/05/2025 14:19:43
Replying To StoreysTash: "Its such a lacklustre end to the provincial championship. 2019 might never be topped for drama but this is a total whimper. A long winter ahead for Wexford and the province as a whole." Lacklustre end? Two of the three games have a lot riding on the results, a Leinster final place and relegation still to be decided. It might be a 'total whimper' for Wexford, but it isn't for the rest. Even Kilkenny will be glad of the chance to give some of the fringe players a runout before the Leinster final in two weeks time.
Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2822 - 23/05/2025 15:26:14
Replying To StoreysTash: "They would equally laugh at the creators of a system where club players - the 99.9% of players - play meaningful matches for just up to 15 weeks of a 52 week calendar, or as little as 10 in a bad year, or if you play only hurling, as little as 5. And for the best months of the year for GAA, May and June and sometimes July, little or no action other than practice matches (i.e. league). But don't you dare ask to go to EP or enjoy life in August/September/October." You're contradicting yourself, as you sometimes do.
You want players to be able to "enjoy life" in August/September/October, rather than be beholden to club championship fixtures. Yet you also complain that that they don't get to play in enough weeks of the year. But if there were meaningful club championship fixtures in more weeks of the year, then they wouldn't get to "enjoy life" in those months either.
As for Electric Picnic - funny how nobody ever suggests it could be arranged for a different time of year (e.g. June Bank Holiday weekend), instead of expecting club championships all over the country to be scheduled around it, for the sake of the small minority of players who'd want to go to it.
Pikeman96 (Wexford) - Posts: 2912 - 23/05/2025 16:44:38
Replying To StoreysTash: "They would equally laugh at the creators of a system where club players - the 99.9% of players - play meaningful matches for just up to 15 weeks of a 52 week calendar, or as little as 10 in a bad year, or if you play only hurling, as little as 5. And for the best months of the year for GAA, May and June and sometimes July, little or no action other than practice matches (i.e. league). But don't you dare ask to go to EP or enjoy life in August/September/October." That's why fellas should go to EP if they want and go enjoy themselves, life is far too short to be purging yourself.
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2374 - 23/05/2025 17:40:23
Replying To Bon: " Replying To StoreysTash: "They would equally laugh at the creators of a system where club players - the 99.9% of players - play meaningful matches for just up to 15 weeks of a 52 week calendar, or as little as 10 in a bad year, or if you play only hurling, as little as 5. And for the best months of the year for GAA, May and June and sometimes July, little or no action other than practice matches (i.e. league). But don't you dare ask to go to EP or enjoy life in August/September/October." That's why fellas should go to EP if they want and go enjoy themselves, life is far too short to be purging yourself." How can you be purging yourself by playing the game you love. Playing with your club or county should be all about commitment, dedication, giving your all and yes making sacrifices. If not then go to the rock concerts and whatever else but you are then half hearted and only there for the craic. Plenty of time for the club player to enjoy themselves with a great variety of activities in the off season and there are many months to do whatever you desire. Charlie Carter of Kilkenny fame once said to Brian Cody during a training session that the fun was gone out of training. Cody said back in a flash, if you want fun then go to the pub.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 505 - 24/05/2025 13:35:18
Offaly to win by 5/6, another year back down Joe Mac would be a big dent for Offalys future, might be a year or two lost down there, feel like it's bigger for them and Antrim and Davy fitz just hasn't been a good fit at all. Probably be last game win or loose. Dublin to win by 2/3, Dublin should be high in confidence and Parnell park isn't the happiest hunting ground for Galway at all. Don't think either team will beat Kilkenny in final. Galway might win a game outside of Leinster, they usually do win their quarter finals but I don't think Dublin will. But don't think we'll be looking at any all Ireland contender. Wexford should win, it's a very Walsh cup looking Kilkenny team (no offense to the lads named but 6/7 lads making their first start in championship game this late in the season is very unheard of) Wexford by 3. Wexford fighting for pride for the year and Kilkenny lads wanting to put themselves in contention to make the match day panel the next day or get some minutes in Leinster final should make it a decent enough game….as dead rubbers go.
Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 25/05/2025 11:06:05
Some lucky boys to be still on the field..especially going by sending offs we've seen in last few weeks..
CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2534 - 25/05/2025 14:40:04
Should the format of the leinster championship be changed, a good idea would be 2 groups of 4 with top 2 in each group making the leinster semi finals, also could remove the joe mcdonagh winners from competing in the All Ireland prelims, replacing them with munster 4th place and a 4th team from Leinster too.
theroadtocroker (Leitrim) - Posts: 30 - 25/05/2025 15:39:26
Hard luck Dublin you tried your best but clearly the better team won!
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2610 - 25/05/2025 15:54:19
Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin: "Offaly to win by 5/6, another year back down Joe Mac would be a big dent for Offalys future, might be a year or two lost down there, feel like it's bigger for them and Antrim and Davy fitz just hasn't been a good fit at all. Probably be last game win or loose. Dublin to win by 2/3, Dublin should be high in confidence and Parnell park isn't the happiest hunting ground for Galway at all. Don't think either team will beat Kilkenny in final. Galway might win a game outside of Leinster, they usually do win their quarter finals but I don't think Dublin will. But don't think we'll be looking at any all Ireland contender. Wexford should win, it's a very Walsh cup looking Kilkenny team (no offense to the lads named but 6/7 lads making their first start in championship game this late in the season is very unheard of) Wexford by 3. Wexford fighting for pride for the year and Kilkenny lads wanting to put themselves in contention to make the match day panel the next day or get some minutes in Leinster final should make it a decent enough game….as dead rubbers go." Good to see Offaly stay up...exciting, young team. Don't think Antrim will stick with Fitzgerald for another year! Wexford did well today but I'd pay no notice to a dead-rubber match!
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2292 - 25/05/2025 15:59:23
Replying To theroadtocroker: "Should the format of the leinster championship be changed, a good idea would be 2 groups of 4 with top 2 in each group making the leinster semi finals, also could remove the joe mcdonagh winners from competing in the All Ireland prelims, replacing them with munster 4th place and a 4th team from Leinster too." If Munster 4th place go through it would ruin the Munster Championship
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16132 - 25/05/2025 17:37:15
A decent win for Galway. The main thing was to get the win. The Dubs shot some very poor wides with the wind in the 1st half. They were always going to need goals, given they didn't put up a decent score with the wind advantage. We took the right options for the bulk of the second half, pushed up and pressured and picked off our points. I thought we got very sloppy in the last 10. Took on some hail mary shots instead of laying off to the free man. You could see the late goals coming. The old saying of never giving a sucker an even break, needs to be drilled into these lads. We'll be facing a different animal in the Leinster Final anyway. We need to improve significantly to be competitive.
WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2362 - 25/05/2025 17:58:57
Replying To CTGAA10: "Some lucky boys to be still on the field..especially going by sending offs we've seen in last few weeks.." Agreed - a lot of inconsistencies in applying the rules.
midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 613 - 25/05/2025 18:12:51
No complaints today.On the day Galway better team.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 156 - 25/05/2025 18:47:15