Very enjoyable game and fantastic effort by Cork. Sean O'Shea's goal should have been disallowed for blatant over-carrying. The sending-off in extra-time was a terrible decision. There was definitely no shoulder to the head and the linesman had no business getting involved in the first place as he did not had a clear view of the incident from his position. Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 1031 - 19/04/2025 21:44:41 2602907 Link 4 |
Cork unlucky, great game, Kerry need to keep those Clifford boys wrapped up. realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8728 - 19/04/2025 21:55:26 2602916 Link 1 |
Agree with this post 100% on both incidents and both crucial to Kerry winning that game. The lineman cannot call something he clearly didn't see. Was it even a yellow card never mind a red? And O'Se, did he take a full 10 steps for that goal? What a terrific game though and both teams contributed to it massively. At times it feels that provincial football is dying but that was superb tonight. Cork's combativeness in the game was magnificent.
Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1400 - 19/04/2025 21:59:40 2602919 Link 1 |
I was sickened by the result and those two decisions in particular. However, we had our chances and did not take them. I think our first 5 subs in normal time really added to it, however when we drained the bench, the lads that came on played superbly to dominate, but lacked that bit of class to put Kerry away.
BaldyBadger (Cork) - Posts: 313 - 19/04/2025 22:02:36 2602920 Link 0 |
Great entertainment alright. I think Paidi Clifford's red card was a poor decision too. The ref annoyed both sides. There's the incidents you mentioned that annoyed Cork but Kerry got a lot of calls against them too (only one point from frees in the game is incredible, David Clifford's winner getting called back for exact placement of free, Paidi's red, ...). More evidence of poor officiating. Gaelic football was a big winner and hope there's more of this
MunsterFan (Kerry) - Posts: 2 - 19/04/2025 22:10:16 2602922 Link 0 |
Kerry one harsh too maybe bit high but seen some like that with no red card. I consistency and ye cork one wasn't a red either
Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 679 - 19/04/2025 22:13:32 2602924 Link 0 |
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4500 - 19/04/2025 22:49:45 2602929 Link 1 |
Cork missed too many chances. That's why they lost. They dominated possession in extra time even after the sending off of their player but they just couldn't put the required scores away.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2358 - 19/04/2025 23:26:23 2602934 Link 0 |
Pulsating game that had everything and Cork deserved the draw at least. The game justified many of the FRC rule changes but the refereeing decisions probably now brings into question whether VAR should be the next step? SHCEIGHTY (Longford) - Posts: 9 - 19/04/2025 23:46:15 2602937 Link 0 |
What a game a fair play to Cork.Fantastic game. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3861 - 20/04/2025 01:44:28 2602947 Link 0 |
Funny if someone made a similar comment about Dublin you'd be the first to cry about people being bitter etc
oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1557 - 20/04/2025 08:35:13 2602959 Link 0 |
Moaning about the ref yet ye said we were cry babies when we gave out about the ref in league final when that was worse then ref last night . He was 100% right on paudies red card. Ye getting ahead of yourselves after beating a mayo team that didn't come out of 3rd gear for that final . Without the Clifford's your a division 2 side at best.. S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 127 - 20/04/2025 09:20:11 2602965 Link 0 |
Great game and competitive to the end. Cork just about qualified for the all Ireland series from league standings, and avoided Tailteann Cup by a whisker. Sligo also came close to toppling Mayo, Fermanagh pushed Down,and one wonders if the Tailteann Cup is more of a punishment than an alternative competition. Anyway, Cork seem to up their performance against top teams, and will not fear anyone in the all Ireland series!
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 516 - 20/04/2025 09:44:49 2602973 Link 0 |
Mayo didn't get out of third gear is a new Mayo excuse. You going to use that for when Mayo bottle it again later in the year? oneoff (UK) - Posts: 1557 - 20/04/2025 10:00:03 2602975 Link 0 |
Ok fella. I merely pointed out that the ref wasn't biased for Kerry but rather had a patchy display that both teams can rightfully be annoyed at. But don't let that stop you have a good anti-Kerry rant
MunsterFan (Kerry) - Posts: 2 - 20/04/2025 10:31:09 2602982 Link 0 |
Yes Ryan.A super gamw.My fear for Cork though is they might not show the same fight against other teams.Last year Kerry only beat Cork by 3 points and the yesr before Kerry only won by 2 points. I just hope Cork keep up the spirit now and I really widh their supporters get behind them. CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3861 - 20/04/2025 10:49:51 2602989 Link 0 |
It was up to Cork to bring the intensity and make a game of it. They did last night to be fair. Don't think they'll have the consistency to make an impact in the All Ireland series without a favourable draw. legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 8700 - 20/04/2025 11:07:43 2602997 Link 0 |
Without the Clifford's they could be like mayo,
Dunmore10 (Galway) - Posts: 157 - 20/04/2025 11:22:51 2603001 Link 3 |
Cork flirted with relegation but also came close to promotion. There wasn't much in the point difference between relegation and runners up promotion. In fact, if they had converted a late 2 pointer free against Down,and won that game, Cork would have been promoted. They finished league very strong, with an away victory over Cavan.
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 516 - 20/04/2025 12:42:37 2603019 Link 0 |