When do you propose playing club games then?
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16224 - 09/06/2025 11:19:14 2616039 Link 0 |
Have club breaks. Give supporters and players a breather and the bank balance time to recover. I know a Dublin player who said he loves a week away from the bubble back with his club when he can. If there was a couple of 3 week breaks where club games took over mid-season, it would give the clubs life in the first half of the year. If the AI finals are played in October, what about it. ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1375 - 09/06/2025 13:16:38 2616098 Link 0 |
rewatched it last night. After watching Leinster Night and day Sure there were a lot of mistakes in the Munster game but the pace and intensity it was played at simply breathtaking Everything was faster than the Leinster final, where the mistakes that were made were often down to players having too much time. And I think the light touch refereeing contributed also contributed to that Like most here, I usually prefer the less fussy ref who let more go than not. But I think Walsh might have gotten the balance wrong and let too much go, especially early on. And it was too late then to reassert control in the second half. It impacted both sides I have said this before though, top level hurling today is nigh on impossible to ref, the rules (especially the tackle) are too vague, the game is too fast. I think Kilkenny could on their day match Cork or Limerick but the current format doesn't help them as they go into an AI semi undercooked. I think Galway are quite a bit behind TBH and probably behind Tipp also Yadse (Limerick) - Posts: 138 - 09/06/2025 13:23:06 2616101 Link 2 |
So club players will have to stay training from the beginning of the year just to get club games here and there? Not sure how that would work. And intercoynty managers definitely wouldn't want their lads going away for 3 weeks at a time.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16224 - 09/06/2025 14:19:51 2616126 Link 0 |
Club player should be active from Match to October Vikings with good games through the year not just from July to October in a total rush. Who cares what inter county manager thinks, who made them the arbiter of everything? ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1375 - 09/06/2025 15:07:07 2616141 Link 0 |
Spot on, club breaks throughout the calendar are the way forward and Tom Dempsey made this point on the radio a before.
StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1862 - 10/06/2025 09:40:19 2616303 Link 0 |
Correct Mesamis. An exciting game but alot of basic mistakes.The skill level was below Leinster championship.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 171 - 10/06/2025 11:55:23 2616345 Link 1 |
I agree with foreveryoung and the team showed their true colours afterwards celebrating while sneering and demeaning Limerick. I have to be honest and admit I dont like Cork either. I know alot of lads I work with from Cork and Im friends with a few of them but Cork people are always about Cork. I will give you an example. When Cork are in an All Ireland or a big game against a team from another province the cork lads I know keep telling other Munster lads to shout for Cork.Let us Munster lads stick together and feck the other provinces.We are the one in Munster rugby ands so on and we should stick together.Thats what I hear from the cute corkies but the reality is they never shout for munster teams they shout against Kerry always unless the playing Dublin and they hate TIPP Clare Limerick and Waterford unless they play the cats. Thats cork for you. corkies also have a fierce chip on their shoulders against Dublin because the hate the fact we are the Capital. One of the best days ever was 83 when we humilated Cork in their own back yard after they were crying for home advantage.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 171 - 10/06/2025 12:09:12 2616351 Link 1 |
Thats very humble alright. Typical Cork.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 171 - 10/06/2025 12:10:56 2616352 Link 1 |
The ref def left too much go.A foul is a foul. the cork tactics for Cian Lynch were totally unsporting .Cian Lynches stick was being held all day by different cork players.IT was obviously orchestrated from the management.
brayballer (Wicklow) - Posts: 171 - 10/06/2025 12:15:13 2616354 Link 1 |
Holding the opponents hurl was a tactic orchestrated by plenty other players on the day also, on both sides. I don't think they need much instruction from management in that regard. Listen to Tommy Walsh and he'll refer to all of the 'dark arts' a top defender uses to stifle a forward or a creative player. He said he used them all himself, as do most quality backs today. WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 10/06/2025 12:48:00 2616369 Link 0 |
'We' and you from Wicklow
MrPBoylan (Monaghan) - Posts: 251 - 10/06/2025 13:12:34 2616378 Link 0 |
Referee left a lot go, but it made for a great spectacle. Defenders like Damien Cahalane relished the physical exchanges, very few yellow cards dished out, and yes it was a Munster final for the ages. Akin to the Cork vs Tipperary finals of yesteryear!
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 569 - 10/06/2025 13:28:01 2616384 Link 0 |
Fair play to you. Keep the entertaining comments coming...
bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 408 - 10/06/2025 13:44:26 2616390 Link 0 |
I'd say you were spurned by A cork woman - hence the bitterness! and stop pretending you have friends from Cork. Pure and utter nonsense
bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 408 - 10/06/2025 13:49:24 2616394 Link 0 |
Never let the truth get in the way of a good story as they say! Although I think I might join this club of Cork people who drive around Munster telling the other counties to shout for Cork. Could be a good day out and a session! Avondhu86 (Cork) - Posts: 22 - 10/06/2025 14:06:44 2616404 Link 0 |
Different standard of refereeing in Munster to Leinster. Pundits also never criticise dangerous play in Munster and there was loads of it in the final. Even the hogsstand admin here won't allow it!
Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 199 - 10/06/2025 14:12:03 2616408 Link 1 |
Very good video of the Cork team singing "Killeagh " in unison after the game, doing the rounds. You might enjoy it. It's almost as good as the "Super Bowl Shuffle " from the Bears in 1986.
Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 569 - 10/06/2025 14:48:13 2616424 Link 0 |
Why is it that so many people are opposed to the proper implementation of the rules in Hurling? As usual we see great attention to refereeing standards during the league and then all is abandoned come Championship. What other sport allows referees to blatantly ignore the rules in order to "let the game flow"? Over recent years we have allowed blatant throwing of the sliotar to the extent that it is now standard practice. Charging with the ball is now rampant. Over-carrying, shoulders into the back etc, too many indiscretions constantly allowed. In rugby the laws are implemented with vigour. Soccer is the same, even using VAR to check if there was a foul in the build up to a score. In golf you penalize yourself in you transgress. But in the game of hurling we turn a blind eye to the constant fouls, all in the name of letting it flow. Why? The game has deteriorated in terms of skill in recent years and is now based as much, if not more, on physicality than skill. Its now all about creating and winning rucks, bursting past opponents taking 6-7 steps, high tackles and one handed hurling or throwing the sliotar. Nobody even bothers to take a side line cut anymore. Referees don't implement the 13 metre rule at all on line balls. Bad refereeing has been a problem now for a decade or more and dare anyone say so. If the game continues in the current direction it will loose its standing as the great sport it once was. SixtiesKid (Galway) - Posts: 349 - 10/06/2025 16:16:03 2616458 Link 2 |
The "new football" has put hurling in the hapenny place the last few months.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2393 - 10/06/2025 17:45:59 2616490 Link 1 |