Galway V Donegal League Final

Replying To Lockjaw:  "A wee bit premature but merits discussion IF Donegal do indeed reach the league final. I'd be surprised in the extreme if Donegal put anything near their starying 15 out. It's a shame because the league is a great competition in my opinion. It's a national medal at the end of the day, and a competition we've only won once in our history (Div 1 2007). But obviously Championship will take priority.

It's a shame for Allianz, who have been great sponsors of the Leagues for a long time now. Managers are fairly open about where it lies in terms of priority. I guess it goes back to the old split-season chestnut. Mad panic to play off the Championship by mid-July. Even if the GAA gave themselves another month, and play the AI Final mid August there would still be loads of time for club action, and it would free up some weeks between the league final and championship starting."
A month or two break between the league and championship would be the way. It's a hectic time for county players between Jan and July and injuries could tell what team wins Sam.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2260 - 04/03/2025 21:49:59    2594802

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Absolutely I agree AI final should be mid August, leave some room for the league final. not enough build up now to the quarters or semi finals in AI series either imo.
As far as the league final goes it's a shame that we will be better off avoiding it and that really devalues the league, Tyrone will be desperate for points and will bring a strong team to Letterkenny, I can see us losing the remaining 2 games, I expect to see all our senior players rested, maybe get some minutes into players returning from injury and give the whole squad a run out."
Could you get the word to your players that they have a championship to think about.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2260 - 04/03/2025 21:53:09    2594804

Replying To Saynothing:  "Could you get the word to your players that they have a championship to think about."
LOL. I think they know themselves, big game against Derry again approaching fast, can't see Jim doing anything else but focus on that.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3104 - 04/03/2025 22:43:30    2594810

Replying To Commodore:  "I can't see us reaching the league final, personally I think it'll be a Galway vs Mayo/Dublin/Armagh league final.

Its not that Donegal won't try to win the last two games, but its unlikely considering its our only chance the number of returning players who badly need minutes. Our two midfielders haven't played a league game this year, Michael Langan got injured in the 1st minute against Kerry in Rd 1 and Jason McGee hasn't played any time, but most others are now back and building fitness.

It would be nice to go all out and try and win the National league, but then we have 6-7 days until we face Derry, and we seen on Sunday that it will be no stroll in the park."
We didn't play Kerry first - we played the Jacks at home and Langan lorded the midfield kicked a few points and all.

It's amazing how some people know so little about their own county.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1684 - 04/03/2025 22:49:22    2594811

Replying To eunans4ever:  "We didn't play Kerry first - we played the Jacks at home and Langan lorded the midfield kicked a few points and all.

It's amazing how some people know so little about their own county."
Yeah Langan played the Dublin match, and lasted about a minute of the Kerry match.
I'd say we'll need himself and McGee fit for the more important battles ahead. Winning kickouts has become massive under the new rules. I think we're well equipped if the two lads are fit. Plus you have the likes of Murphy, Thompson and McGonagle who are no slouches either.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9636 - 05/03/2025 11:37:57    2594853

Galway in pole position and look likely to qualify for the final despite playing Dublin and Kerry in the last two rounds.
Donegal facing a fixture dilemma should they qualify having to play Tyrone, Mayo,League final and Derry in the Ulster prelim all within 21 days . They could still qualify in second place on 8 points even if they were to lose both remaining matches. Derry and Tyrone can't make 8 points nor will the loser from Kerry/Armagh on Saturday, Mayo need something from their trip to Derry to stay in touch. Donegal have the head-to-head advantage over Dublin, Kerry and Armagh should one of them finish level on 8 pts with them . Score difference will decide placings if more than two teams end up on 8 points.
The concept of playing a league final play off between two teams not necessary level on top is an odd concept especially with such a tight fixture schedule. Imagine making Liverpool play Arsenal or Celtic play Rangers to decide the league title at the end of the season.

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 591 - 13/03/2025 01:09:39    2596172

Replying To Curlew66:  "Galway in pole position and look likely to qualify for the final despite playing Dublin and Kerry in the last two rounds.
Donegal facing a fixture dilemma should they qualify having to play Tyrone, Mayo,League final and Derry in the Ulster prelim all within 21 days . They could still qualify in second place on 8 points even if they were to lose both remaining matches. Derry and Tyrone can't make 8 points nor will the loser from Kerry/Armagh on Saturday, Mayo need something from their trip to Derry to stay in touch. Donegal have the head-to-head advantage over Dublin, Kerry and Armagh should one of them finish level on 8 pts with them . Score difference will decide placings if more than two teams end up on 8 points.
The concept of playing a league final play off between two teams not necessary level on top is an odd concept especially with such a tight fixture schedule. Imagine making Liverpool play Arsenal or Celtic play Rangers to decide the league title at the end of the season."
It's a very common concept in American sports though and even in the current champions league format (Liverpool).

Personally I think a league final in Croke Park adds prestige to the competition. However the winners being at a disadvantage for their opening championship match completely devalues it. Just make sure there's a minimum 2 week gap from league final to championship.. it's not that hard to get sorted

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 441 - 13/03/2025 10:20:41    2596206