Cavan Seniors 2025

I think a draw v Cork is ideal. We certainly do not want to run the risk of promotion. Especially as I do think Louth will beat Meath this weekeend. We are no where near the level to survive in Div 1 or be competitive. Leave it to Monaghan and Roscommon

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 68 - 20/03/2025 11:47:10    2597450

Replying To Jimjo:  "I think a draw v Cork is ideal. We certainly do not want to run the risk of promotion. Especially as I do think Louth will beat Meath this weekeend. We are no where near the level to survive in Div 1 or be competitive. Leave it to Monaghan and Roscommon"
That is genuine crazy talk...

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2464 - 20/03/2025 14:46:44    2597491

Replying To Jimjo:  "I think a draw v Cork is ideal. We certainly do not want to run the risk of promotion. Especially as I do think Louth will beat Meath this weekeend. We are no where near the level to survive in Div 1 or be competitive. Leave it to Monaghan and Roscommon"
Anytime I see something like this I think yeah I see the logic but then I remind myself... ARMAGH ARE ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12279 - 20/03/2025 15:30:11    2597504

Division 2 is the right league for Cavan to try and compete in for a number of years… One must remember that before the Roscommon outing we could easily have lost all 5 matches so people shouldn't get carried away… The win over Roscommon was totally deserved but I doubt this team would survive in Division 1 .. Winning good competitive matches in Div 2 would be far better preparation for the Championship than a struggling season in Div 1…. If we do manage to get promoted that's fine but if we beat Cork and other results go against it I certainly wouldn't loose any sleep about it..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3657 - 20/03/2025 20:45:42    2597550

Division 2 is the right league for Cavan to try and compete in for a number of years… One must remember that before the Roscommon outing we could easily have lost all 5 matches so people shouldn't get carried away… The win over Roscommon was totally deserved but I doubt this team would survive in Division 1 .. Winning good competitive matches in Div 2 would be far better preparation for the Championship than a struggling season in Div 1…. If we do manage to get promoted that's fine but if we beat Cork and other results go against it I certainly wouldn't loose any sleep about it..

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3657 - 20/03/2025 20:49:52    2597553

Replying To Breffni40:  "Anytime I see something like this I think yeah I see the logic but then I remind myself... ARMAGH ARE ALL IRELAND CHAMPIONS"
Armagh are indeed All-Ireland Champions and deservedly so. They have some top class players that could make most of the top teams, unfortunately, for Cavan, we dont have that luxury, but that's another question for another day when you see the talent we have at underage.
In any case, when you see the teams who maybe coming down from Division One, it will make Division Two very competitive next year.

Pologrounds2025 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 21/03/2025 17:33:34    2597686

All comes down to the last game. You could tell it was going to happen with teams evenly matched. Following a bad start, Cavan have gone on a great run, with a brilliant victory against the Rossies the bogey team. 4 wins in a tight division is clinical. All tight wins too. Several players have stood up, but the team really has fought hard in games. Credit must go to Galligan and his players. Mckiernan, McVetty, O'Reilly, Smyth, and many more have adapted to the rules, and shown their fight and skill. Cork will be strong, and score a lot in every game. 1-23 against Louth. Unsure if Cavan are able for promotion, but be fantastic to finish the league with another win.

Cavan67 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 21/03/2025 20:18:58    2597711

A woefully poor performance today… If Cork had taken half their chances we would have been beaten out the gate… That team would have zero chance off survival in Div 1.. The amount of ball that was just given away needlessly was shocking… If they perform anything close to this level against Tyrone it could end up very messy

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3657 - 23/03/2025 15:53:54    2597983

A league campaign of lows to highs back to lows again, after the second league game it looked like relegation, we played the first two games like we played the last league game a bit clueless, we had a very impressive performance against roscommon, a game of two halves against Westmeath and dug out victory over down and louth. Today's performance was very flat looking, like a team that was over trained during the week. and the majority of the lads had an off day, management probably should have selected a more physical team and made changes faster. But over all we are still in Div 2 next year and in the Sam maguire this year. So well done to the team for the effort put in for the league. And looking forward to a summer in the Sam maguire.

goonie (Cavan) - Posts: 309 - 23/03/2025 17:06:54    2598016

Derry and Tyrone down to Div 2… could be Div 3 lads the year after

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 731 - 23/03/2025 19:04:20    2598081

Replying To veterngaa:  "Derry and Tyrone down to Div 2… could be Div 3 lads the year after"
Vetern's back. His bitcoin mining must be struggling with his heroes, Trump & Musk, causing chaos in markets & currencies.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 23/03/2025 20:50:11    2598131

Replying To veterngaa:  "Derry and Tyrone down to Div 2… could be Div 3 lads the year after"
Tom, your absence was widely noticed. Welcome back. Monaghan over achieved in this league campaign and did very well, in fairness. You're no World beaters, though. Since the removal of the goalie treat, your main weapon has been removed. We'll keep the seat warm for you. It'll be a short visit to div one this time out.

KingdomofBreifne (Cavan) - Posts: 167 - 23/03/2025 20:52:59    2598133

Replying To Loughduff Lad:  "That is genuine crazy talk..."
well now.....

Jimjo (Cavan) - Posts: 68 - 24/03/2025 10:40:18    2598234

Replying To Jimjo:  "well now....."
It was in our hands after all. Why would we not have wanted it?

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2464 - 24/03/2025 14:05:58    2598308

Very telling that the 2 teams that got relegated from Division 1 last year went straight back up and will probably come straight back down again… Derry and Tyrone will be too strong for Division 2 and will more than likely go back up… We are in the proper league for our own well being…. There's no value in going up and probably losing almost every game and getting relegated… We were a yo yo team for long enough and ended up in the depths of Division 4… Games for us in Div 2 are always tight affairs and will be excellent preparation for the upcoming Championship…. We were extremely close to getting promoted but as I said before the Cork game missing out on promotion might be good thing long term… In all fairness our current team is not anywhere near Division 1 standard… !!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3657 - 24/03/2025 17:08:45    2598370

Very telling that the 2 teams that got relegated from Division 1 last year went straight back up and will probably come straight back down again… Derry and Tyrone will be too strong for Division 2 and will more than likely go back up… We are in the proper league for our own well being…. There's no value in going up and probably losing almost every game and getting relegated… We were a yo yo team for long enough and ended up in the depths of Division 4… Games for us in Div 2 are always tight affairs and will be excellent preparation for the upcoming Championship…. We were extremely close to getting promoted but as I said before the Cork game missing out on promotion might be good thing long term… In all fairness our current team is not anywhere near Division 1 standard… !!

ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 3657 - 24/03/2025 17:17:44    2598376

Replying To KingdomofBreifne:  "Tom, your absence was widely noticed. Welcome back. Monaghan over achieved in this league campaign and did very well, in fairness. You're no World beaters, though. Since the removal of the goalie treat, your main weapon has been removed. We'll keep the seat warm for you. It'll be a short visit to div one this time out."
You must not have seen the last 2 games then … service as usual for Beggan. You do know the keeper can come up!!!????

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 731 - 24/03/2025 17:33:49    2598385

I thought Cork had their homework done on Gearoid and overloaded on him on the kickouts same thing as happened in 2nd half v Roscommon. They worked harder at the dirty ball, better intensity in all areas. Gearoid and Dara McVeety are our 2 most dangerous players and Tyrone will be well aware of that as well. Overall not a bad league for us, fair play to the lads and management they pulled themselves up after a slow start. We'll miss Oisin Brady and Paddy obviously but we have brought in a few good lads as well so here's to upsetting the odds in Omaha!!

facer4home (Cavan) - Posts: 163 - 24/03/2025 19:52:28    2598410

Replying To veterngaa:  "You must not have seen the last 2 games then … service as usual for Beggan. You do know the keeper can come up!!!????"
The one extra man overlap is gone though, which yous used against us with great effect. Will make a difference versus how it was initially

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2464 - 25/03/2025 10:54:46    2598503

After the two games against Monaghan and Meath, we had a run of four wins on the bounce, Cork were there for the taking but were deserved winners on the day. Cavan will be disappointed with their performance, too many unenforced errors, sloppy passing, but did very well in the end to bring it back to two points. Promotion would've been great and I disagree with anyone who says otherwise but Division Two next year with Derry & Tyrone will be very competitive, Cork will be there, Meath and it looks like Offaly & Kildare are on their way back, so a very competitive Division Two to look forward to. I think we can take a lot of positivity going into the Tyrone match but I always say that that the team who makes the less errors and bad decisions will be the team that wins the match, errors and bad decision making have been Cavan's achilles heel down the years, so we need to reduce the amount of errors and bad decisions if we want to go anywhere.

Pologrounds2025 (Cavan) - Posts: 18 - 25/03/2025 15:41:07    2598567