Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Things I think would help Wexford hurling (Some of which might be in place right now):

Extend the underage club season

Have development squads training twice a week (Mainly skills sessions, no dual players)

Introduce a B competition in secondary schools (A lot of lads who hurl with their clubs won't be good enough for their school team so will be doing very little hurling in the winter, a B team would have them hurling through the winter. Would help to bridge the gap between the weaker players and the better players at club level, can't be a bad thing as the better lads would end up playing against more competitive opponents. Also, it helps big time if a player brings his hurl into school every day but teenagers are social animals and they do what their friends are doing. If there are both A and B teams, then loads of lads will have to bring in hurls regularly in order to train, might end up hurling at lunchtime etc like they do in Kieran's. Need more coaches for B teams though, County Board should help out here, the likes of Blackrock in rugby aren't appointing teachers as coaches)

Better pay/identification/incentivising of development squad coaches

Biobanding approach at under-age (NZ rugby don't use age groups, they use weight groups instead)

Greater emphasis on S&C at Minor & U20 level

Ensure that Hurling 365 is in place in every school (Can complain about the level of hurling there all you want but at least they're hurling)

Identify and develop a network of two-to-five key volunteers at each club and school. As we saw with Oulart and Mick and Breda Jacob, it only takes a few very driven people to lead a club forward. The County Board needs to identify certain people in clubs who are capable of doing to their own clubs what the Jacobs did in Oulart. The best hurlers are those who hurl at home and are most likely to be the children of those who drive their clubs the most IMO"
Oh yes there's been a bigger emphasis on S and C the last few years, I personally raised this some years back coming from a rugby background myself, we are already seeing the benefits of this. We were far closer matched physically with Galway at minor this year compared to 2019. And every other team at minor. The problem at u20 this year was we played a heap of 17/18 year olds ......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 21/05/2025 18:22:10    2611616

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Things I think would help Wexford hurling (Some of which might be in place right now):

Extend the underage club season

Have development squads training twice a week (Mainly skills sessions, no dual players)

Introduce a B competition in secondary schools (A lot of lads who hurl with their clubs won't be good enough for their school team so will be doing very little hurling in the winter, a B team would have them hurling through the winter. Would help to bridge the gap between the weaker players and the better players at club level, can't be a bad thing as the better lads would end up playing against more competitive opponents. Also, it helps big time if a player brings his hurl into school every day but teenagers are social animals and they do what their friends are doing. If there are both A and B teams, then loads of lads will have to bring in hurls regularly in order to train, might end up hurling at lunchtime etc like they do in Kieran's. Need more coaches for B teams though, County Board should help out here, the likes of Blackrock in rugby aren't appointing teachers as coaches)

Better pay/identification/incentivising of development squad coaches

Biobanding approach at under-age (NZ rugby don't use age groups, they use weight groups instead)

Greater emphasis on S&C at Minor & U20 level

Ensure that Hurling 365 is in place in every school (Can complain about the level of hurling there all you want but at least they're hurling)

Identify and develop a network of two-to-five key volunteers at each club and school. As we saw with Oulart and Mick and Breda Jacob, it only takes a few very driven people to lead a club forward. The County Board needs to identify certain people in clubs who are capable of doing to their own clubs what the Jacobs did in Oulart. The best hurlers are those who hurl at home and are most likely to be the children of those who drive their clubs the most IMO"
I understand we do use bio-banding but am open to correction

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 104 - 21/05/2025 19:04:31    2611623

Replying To Doylerwex:  "I will be there with very little confidence of a result. Lads talking about Kilkenny taking it easy. They don't do that."
Richie Hogan recently said one of his regrets was not relegating Wexford in "23

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 534 - 21/05/2025 19:34:38    2611627

For the counties mentioned that hurl all year round, do those kids not play other sports? I know in our club that 90% of the lads play soccer or rugby in the the winter (by the way, the soccer is still going on the 3rd week in May!!!)
So they have training or a game 3 times a week all winter. I'd be all on for hurling away during the winter.

I do know by the end of the soccer season that the lads are mad to get back hurling and vice versa, by the end of the GAA season their mad to get going at the soccer or rugby

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 534 - 21/05/2025 19:48:03    2611629

Replying To wexford2012:  "If the plan is blame parents I think we're bunched, how many of us are on the road to Dublin etc at 6/7am, home late in the evenings. Look it would be brilliant but I don't feel I would be willing to badger parents to do this. Like some parents are hurling mad, others not at all and the best you can ask is that they consistently bring the kids to training.

I think we've a issue at schools, I know in ours (Primary) they are not allowed hurl at breaktime - soccer is fine - I can see the reasoning BUT its a big missed opportunity."
Oh come on I am regularly on the road at that hour and earlier some times and yet sometimes I get home at 7pm I will nearly always get out for a 15-20 minute puck around with them if they are not training. And nearly all the time, they would have been out themselves since school.
It doesn't need to be a 2 hour session. It can also be a hurling ball and a wall or a rebounder.
Most children have one parent or a child minder or some childcare and its not "badgering" parents. Its telling parents that they children will get better if they practice routinely between sessions. This sounds more akin to common sense to me.
The best kids, both male and female, in our club practice every day between sessions and I see it all the time.
I would also say its a great stress relief after a hard day.
My lads do some hurling in PE in school but I think the school needs to do more.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1351 - 21/05/2025 20:58:14    2611643

https://wexfordgaa.ie/sixth-class-district-league-2025/

WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 415 - 21/05/2025 21:14:08    2611652

Replying To WEX98:  "For the counties mentioned that hurl all year round, do those kids not play other sports? I know in our club that 90% of the lads play soccer or rugby in the the winter (by the way, the soccer is still going on the 3rd week in May!!!)
So they have training or a game 3 times a week all winter. I'd be all on for hurling away during the winter.

I do know by the end of the soccer season that the lads are mad to get back hurling and vice versa, by the end of the GAA season their mad to get going at the soccer or rugby"
Most of our chaps are playing mini world cup at the moment so numbers have been down a little.

This year we did winter hurling indoor in the Peter's. It worked really well and we'll be doing it again no doubt.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 21/05/2025 22:34:51    2611666

Something isnt right when we have clare,cork or waterford,wexford,offally all finished hurling by the end of MAY.
Lots of ideas and suggestions to make things better which is good. Alot of wexford hurling supporters are very dissapointed not to get out out of leinster but accept thats where things are. Spare a few thoughts for everyone who trained so hard in the squad. Worked so hard to get back from injury to put on the jersey. Keith took the job despite knowing 3 of his top leaders were going. He done everything in his power to try convince them to do one more year but they gave wonderful service and hanlon and moggie that day in wexford park when relegation was real,these 2 guys really stood up. Keith knew that the team was coming to a end and there would be a rebuild on.He is wexford to the bone and knows the underage well. He will have opportunities next year to blood them without the pressure of division 1. Dublin arent doing too bad for a team that couldn't come up.
Not going to go on about the past but one measly leinster final is all some of them great leaders have going . Lee will more than likely just finish up with the same medal. I think division 2 will suit when blooding players.Not retiring anyone but a question mark hangs over jippo but no one would be suprised if he put himself first and thought about his future. Fanning might go but goalies get that little longer. Simon donahoe will go id say. Id urge people to get out and support your county. Dead rubber or not neither team will want to lose. Need to look into the future now and kk will test any player in a position.kk lads will be fighting for positions in the leinster final and beyond. They have a few injuries when they come back some of the subs will drop out of the matchday squad so thats why it will be competitive. Their half backline got a woeful roasting against rubli Need to nail down a long term 3. I think damien reck would be better up a little further. Like to see something different this weekend with the future in mind. Kk are getting underage together michael fennelly spearheading the whole thing. Won the u19,in the minor and u20 beat dublin comfortably enough without playing well. Is there any ideas that can be taken from our neighbors?

Slowandshortsighted (UK) - Posts: 70 - 22/05/2025 06:35:28    2611678

That district league for 6th class students isn't a bad idea, have it in my head that some of the districts also have these winter schools of hurling

Again, might be in place already but goal should be that each district hosts sessions every Friday from start of November to end of February for U11s, U12s, and U13s, each club should be sending in three players from each age group, would help players to get to know each other, could use these sessions to develop coaches as well

On that point, we talk about developing hurlers but we also need to develop coaches. Should probably run coaching sessions around development squad sessions so that we best educate coaches

Also think we need to do something about New Ross. Some will say no club should be receiving preferential treatment but GAA is effectively on life support there and while it might not be the town it once was, it's still a fairly sizable population base

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 22/05/2025 09:24:36    2611686

Might ruffle a few feathers but I think there are quite a few clubs out there who haven't really been contributing to our Senior team for a long while now

Who were the last players to start outfield for Wexford in Championship from:

Monageer
Craanford
Pat's
Ballygarrett (Could say Dunbar here)
Duffry
Shamrocks
Blackwater
GOH
Cushinstown (Will likely have a few in a couple of years tbf)
Adamstown
Marshalstown

Some of these are admittedly small but they're not really football clubs and all bar Craanford & Ballygarrett have been Senior at some point in the last 20 years

Then you have the likes of the Alley and Rathnure who are two of Wexford's most storied clubs but haven't been contributing the same number of hurlers to the county side as in previous generations

The likes of the Martin's and the Anne's seem to have very successful underage sides and you have the likes of Shels and Oylegate who have been contributing too in recent years. But if we're to step up as a county, there's more meat left on the bone with the list of clubs above rather than the likes of Martin's/Anne's/Shels/Oylegate

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 22/05/2025 09:34:34    2611689

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "That district league for 6th class students isn't a bad idea, have it in my head that some of the districts also have these winter schools of hurling

Again, might be in place already but goal should be that each district hosts sessions every Friday from start of November to end of February for U11s, U12s, and U13s, each club should be sending in three players from each age group, would help players to get to know each other, could use these sessions to develop coaches as well

On that point, we talk about developing hurlers but we also need to develop coaches. Should probably run coaching sessions around development squad sessions so that we best educate coaches

Also think we need to do something about New Ross. Some will say no club should be receiving preferential treatment but GAA is effectively on life support there and while it might not be the town it once was, it's still a fairly sizable population base"
In theory it is a good idea but even the way the squads were decided was poor in my opinion. Schools who did well in Rackard league the Rathangan, Piercestown, Rathnure's were asked to send 3 or 4 players whereas most of the rest got to send 1. I understand you're limited to a squad of 20 or whatever but I think things like this might be better served to try get more players involved from schools/areas which won't be competing for titles and getting exposure to higher grade underage hurling.

Longtimefirsttime (Wexford) - Posts: 3 - 22/05/2025 10:48:46    2611701

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "That district league for 6th class students isn't a bad idea, have it in my head that some of the districts also have these winter schools of hurling

Also think we need to do something about New Ross. Some will say no club should be receiving preferential treatment but GAA is effectively on life support there and while it might not be the town it once was, it's still a fairly sizable population base"
What do you propose doing? While they have great facilities, they don't have enough volunteers to do all the jobs on and off the pitch. They are struggling to get mentors, keep coaches, and keep players. I'm not a member of the club so I don't know why that is, but how do you think anyone outside the club will know their situation any better?

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 22/05/2025 10:59:27    2611702

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Might ruffle a few feathers but I think there are quite a few clubs out there who haven't really been contributing to our Senior team for a long while now

Who were the last players to start outfield for Wexford in Championship from:

Monageer
Craanford
Pat's
Ballygarrett (Could say Dunbar here)
Duffry
Shamrocks
Blackwater
GOH
Cushinstown (Will likely have a few in a couple of years tbf)
Adamstown
Marshalstown

Some of these are admittedly small but they're not really football clubs and all bar Craanford & Ballygarrett have been Senior at some point in the last 20 years

Then you have the likes of the Alley and Rathnure who are two of Wexford's most storied clubs but haven't been contributing the same number of hurlers to the county side as in previous generations

The likes of the Martin's and the Anne's seem to have very successful underage sides and you have the likes of Shels and Oylegate who have been contributing too in recent years. But if we're to step up as a county, there's more meat left on the bone with the list of clubs above rather than the likes of Martin's/Anne's/Shels/Oylegate"
Adamstown would definitely be more Football leaning these days. They've 3 I think on the Senior Football panel, and play a grade higher in Football than Hurling. Martin Sinnott was playing for the minor hurlers last year.
As regards the other clubs Darren Byrne from Blackwater played Senior hurling, and there are lads on this year's minor and u20 panels from Blackwater, Marshalstown, Craanford, Monageer and Duffry. Of those Brian Ivers from Marshalstown is an excellent prospect, while Dylan Purcell hurled a couple of years u20.
The Alley and Rathnure both have lads this year starting for the minors and u20s, and the previous few years also.
Hopefully some of these lads will make the step up to Senior over the coming years.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 22/05/2025 11:13:20    2611703

Replying To Longtimefirsttime:  "In theory it is a good idea but even the way the squads were decided was poor in my opinion. Schools who did well in Rackard league the Rathangan, Piercestown, Rathnure's were asked to send 3 or 4 players whereas most of the rest got to send 1. I understand you're limited to a squad of 20 or whatever but I think things like this might be better served to try get more players involved from schools/areas which won't be competing for titles and getting exposure to higher grade underage hurling."
In Ross District the complaint seemed to be that there were lads on the squad who weren't good enough playing, while other better lads couldn't play because of the quota system. One mentor thought it would've been better to have trials.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 22/05/2025 11:15:23    2611705

Replying To Longtimefirsttime:  "In theory it is a good idea but even the way the squads were decided was poor in my opinion. Schools who did well in Rackard league the Rathangan, Piercestown, Rathnure's were asked to send 3 or 4 players whereas most of the rest got to send 1. I understand you're limited to a squad of 20 or whatever but I think things like this might be better served to try get more players involved from schools/areas which won't be competing for titles and getting exposure to higher grade underage hurling."
Might make more sense in that case to have every school send their two best hurlers to the squad

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 22/05/2025 11:28:45    2611711

Replying To Viking66:  "What do you propose doing? While they have great facilities, they don't have enough volunteers to do all the jobs on and off the pitch. They are struggling to get mentors, keep coaches, and keep players. I'm not a member of the club so I don't know why that is, but how do you think anyone outside the club will know their situation any better?"
Tbh, I don't know, all I know is that something needs to be done

I can understand not being able to get mentors and coaches and losing players but I really don't believe this is an issue that a club can't do anything about, there has to be something that can be done

Whether that involves sending outside coaches into schools, I don't know but I can't see things changing there as things stand

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 22/05/2025 11:31:20    2611714

Replying To WEX98:  "For the counties mentioned that hurl all year round, do those kids not play other sports? I know in our club that 90% of the lads play soccer or rugby in the the winter (by the way, the soccer is still going on the 3rd week in May!!!)

I do know by the end of the soccer season that the lads are mad to get back hurling and vice versa, by the end of the GAA season their mad to get going at the soccer or rugby"
I used to play hurling, football and soccer for the winter.
For me, soccer was just to keep in shape. I used to hit a hurling ball for 10 minutes pretty much every day. All year round.
Most of my soccer team were hurling and football first, soccer was a bit of craic for the winter. I never cared about turning up to a soccer match in bad shape from the night before, something I never did for a GAA match.
If you are playing Premier League or Division 1 soccer in Wexford it was taken seriously but below that it is not.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1845 - 22/05/2025 11:55:48    2611718

Interesting comments on the Wexford hurling podcast from Michael Dignan re Offaly's approach:

1. They spend MORE than ANY other county on their development squads
2. They are looking to position their second level schools as hubs, possibly holding development squad sessions at schools straight afterwards hoping to make it easier to participate on players and their parents
3. He really emphasized the love of the jersey, passion, but turning this into action

wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 104 - 22/05/2025 12:35:54    2611726

What did people make of Michael Duignan on the Wexford hurling podcast? I knew their numbers were low but I didn't realise it was as small as that, something like 140 u14 hurlers in the county (including u13) that's insane. You'll have to give to them what they're done the last 5 years at underage in two sports is fairly insane. He was very proactive and brought in some very good ideas for getting the crowds with buses and tickets and even the jersey they all get with all the all stars on it. And putting a lot onto the schools and how they're more important than development squads who isn't a massive fan of, Keith Rossiter actually mentioned Wexford schools needing to be doing more on Off the Ball too. Was very interesting. He did make one valid point about Wexfords underage that were always ok, never top but rarely terrible and we nearly take it for granted that we'll always be ok and maybe never get proactive with things cus we don't hit the real real lows, seem to wait for things to happen before we do anything. Was interesting listen though, always good to hear what other counties are doing and see where we stand.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 332 - 22/05/2025 12:41:57    2611729

I didn't listen but it would be better if free tickets were given to every GAA club in the county and get thousands of children at the match than for Wexford Park to be practically empty on Sunday.
Same was said on Leinster Hurling thread, putting €5 on a childs ticket for a match where the ground is practically empty is a fools errand.
Get the children a free childs ticket in their pocket and they will get their parents to go.

ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1351 - 22/05/2025 13:14:48    2611740