Replying To WEXILE: " Replying To Magpie2: "[quote=ElGranSenor: "[quote=Viking66: "My thoughts on your questions-
Why are we underachieving so much as a senior team?- are we actually underachieving with the players we currently have? Are we getting the best out of the players in the squad?- there are some lads who don't seem to be getting chances in real competitive games. Why are we struggling to survive in the leinster championship and now demoted to the 2nd tier of the league? - I'm not sure we are struggling to survive in Leinster as such, and we did better in the League than I expected. Do we have 100% support and commitment of the players towards management? - Think it's pretty good overall. What can we now do to improve our status. - we need to keep trying to improve our younger players to make up for the gap in players coming through dating back to Davys time. What are your plans going forward that will bring about us becoming more competitive. - will be interesting to find out what he plans to do. Is it the case that we lack in quality and quantity and we simply haven't got enough top class players? - we have to develop these. Again it will be interesting to hear his take on this, but in fairness to him he's been giving younger lads plenty of gametime. Can it be said that we were slow to make changes during games? - definitely, my main criticism of him tbh Do we need to introduce a new coach so as to get us playing a better system? - not sure, I think part of it is that some of our players haven't the confidence to execute basic enough hurling fast enough. The system we are using isn't complicated, but it needs to be executed better. The players themselves should be working at things like 1st touch by themselves away from training. Areour training methods too severe as we seem to suffer more than other counties in this regard and should we reexamine the way we train. - Clare were hit worse with injuries than we were. Kilkenny have been missing a good few, Dublin also. Limerick are only getting lads back now. Not sure we are missing more this year tbh. Is the strength and conditioning working for our younger players as they seem very underdeveloped compared to the rest of the top tier teams.- you have to compare apples to apples, very few other top tier teams have as many 21/22 year olds as we have. And again, it's up to the players themselves to work at this themselves also. Do you believe we will see an improvement in 2026? If he says no to this question he shouldn't be a manager." I would say we're under-achieving to some extent, only have to look at Dublin under Ó Ceallacháin who seems to have lads playing out of their skin, we haven't been doing that across the board this year" And bear in mind that Dublin were playing 2nd tier in the league this year and failed to get out of it."]Also in terms of getting our house in order. Look at Kildare. They are doing great work in that county and its only a matter of time before we see em in Leinster championship and fair play to em.
Their u12s and younger play in the Dublin throughout the year...their u14s play in Kilkenny oh and they run their own domestic system as well.
What do our do for half the year. The more I keep thinking about Dublin and Kildare the angrier I get. When ya look at all that we are only a Micky mouse county and one that's going to loose our top tier status pretty soon.
We have some great servants snd volunteers and clearly we don't have enough of em. Kildare underage clubs hurling most of year......it clearly matters a lot to the hurling community in that county as they've no problem get the volunteers
So I think a lot of Wexford people take the team for granted and assume we should be better without realising we need everyone to put the effort in and that's just not happening.
Does it really matter to most people in Wexford at all? Clearly not
And personally I can't help I live in Dublin where I do take teams for my local club and have never felt more welcomed.
I can tell you for a fact one of our hurling only clubs turned a willing and good volunteer away from.helping out underage basically because he was a blow in.
Gonna give up the posting for the good of my blood pressure.
It's hard to be optimistic and that's not a dig at any of the great volunteers and players involved. Wel done yo everyone of em and thanks"]Be that as it may, we're hosting a tournament this weekend with clubs from Waterford, Kilkenny and Dublin.
I'm pretty confident we will beat them all.
The problem for us is their players will keep playing to adult and ours won't.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 21/05/2025 10:17:12
Replying To WEXILE: " Replying To Magpie2: "[quote=ElGranSenor: "[quote=Viking66: "My thoughts on your questions-
Why are we underachieving so much as a senior team?- are we actually underachieving with the players we currently have? Are we getting the best out of the players in the squad?- there are some lads who don't seem to be getting chances in real competitive games. Why are we struggling to survive in the leinster championship and now demoted to the 2nd tier of the league? - I'm not sure we are struggling to survive in Leinster as such, and we did better in the League than I expected. Do we have 100% support and commitment of the players towards management? - Think it's pretty good overall. What can we now do to improve our status. - we need to keep trying to improve our younger players to make up for the gap in players coming through dating back to Davys time. What are your plans going forward that will bring about us becoming more competitive. - will be interesting to find out what he plans to do. Is it the case that we lack in quality and quantity and we simply haven't got enough top class players? - we have to develop these. Again it will be interesting to hear his take on this, but in fairness to him he's been giving younger lads plenty of gametime. Can it be said that we were slow to make changes during games? - definitely, my main criticism of him tbh Do we need to introduce a new coach so as to get us playing a better system? - not sure, I think part of it is that some of our players haven't the confidence to execute basic enough hurling fast enough. The system we are using isn't complicated, but it needs to be executed better. The players themselves should be working at things like 1st touch by themselves away from training. Areour training methods too severe as we seem to suffer more than other counties in this regard and should we reexamine the way we train. - Clare were hit worse with injuries than we were. Kilkenny have been missing a good few, Dublin also. Limerick are only getting lads back now. Not sure we are missing more this year tbh. Is the strength and conditioning working for our younger players as they seem very underdeveloped compared to the rest of the top tier teams.- you have to compare apples to apples, very few other top tier teams have as many 21/22 year olds as we have. And again, it's up to the players themselves to work at this themselves also. Do you believe we will see an improvement in 2026? If he says no to this question he shouldn't be a manager." I would say we're under-achieving to some extent, only have to look at Dublin under Ó Ceallacháin who seems to have lads playing out of their skin, we haven't been doing that across the board this year" And bear in mind that Dublin were playing 2nd tier in the league this year and failed to get out of it."]That's where I'd end the comparisons with Dublin. They are chalk and cheese compared to us when you look at those questions above.
Dublin hurling is absolutely hopping in both club underage and senior clubs. In the club I'm involved in up here we have 80 u9s alone and we wouldn't be one of the major clubs.
Their club scene is way stronger than ours, look at Dublin clubs record lately. Dublin hurling is on the crest of a wave and its only moving upwards.
FYI their underage intercounty teams train more than once a week. I know Wexford always give em a match underage that's the frustrating thing about it.
If we did everything we could we would compete but it looks like we are half heartedly developing underage teams and ya see the results yourself.
All this the Martins coulda beaten Na Fianna nonsense, they coulda but they didn't. Too much coulda in Wexford hurling unfortunately.
Every club here in Dublin is full of country lads coaching, the population hurling at underage is just off the charts here compared to Wexford.
Something to consider, look at the serious hurlers Dublin footballers have always taken off the hurlers. And it's not like our football team taken a few good hurlers ...Dublin football have taken all star material hurlers and continues to do so. So any close result we have had with them over recent years could have been way worse.
The enthusiasm and gra for hurling up here far exceeds most parts of Wexford and I can only see Dubln go from strength to strength.
Dublin have their house in order and it's a shame we don't seem to"]You'd imagine if Eoghan O'Donnell can't even make the match day panel with the footballers this summer he will surely go back to the hurlers in 2026?
I think that was a one in a lifetime Dublin football team and if the hurlers stock can keep rising, there is a huge chance for Dublin hurlers to reach great heights once the top hurlers stop moving across to the footballers.
The hurling talent is definitely there in Dublin looking at some of the underage hurlers i've seen recently from Kilmacud, Na Fianna, Vincents etc.
Past hurler (None) - Posts: 949 - 21/05/2025 10:42:55
Replying To Doylerwex: "I will be there with very little confidence of a result. Lads talking about Kilkenny taking it easy. They don't do that." Well cant see them giving a hoot about Sunday and they in another leinster final wont be to worried if they beat us or not bigger fish to fry.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 371 - 21/05/2025 11:08:09
Replying To Past hurler: " Replying To WEXILE: "[quote=Magpie2: "[quote=ElGranSenor: "[quote=Viking66: "My thoughts on your questions-
Why are we underachieving so much as a senior team?- are we actually underachieving with the players we currently have? Are we getting the best out of the players in the squad?- there are some lads who don't seem to be getting chances in real competitive games. Why are we struggling to survive in the leinster championship and now demoted to the 2nd tier of the league? - I'm not sure we are struggling to survive in Leinster as such, and we did better in the League than I expected. Do we have 100% support and commitment of the players towards management? - Think it's pretty good overall. What can we now do to improve our status. - we need to keep trying to improve our younger players to make up for the gap in players coming through dating back to Davys time. What are your plans going forward that will bring about us becoming more competitive. - will be interesting to find out what he plans to do. Is it the case that we lack in quality and quantity and we simply haven't got enough top class players? - we have to develop these. Again it will be interesting to hear his take on this, but in fairness to him he's been giving younger lads plenty of gametime. Can it be said that we were slow to make changes during games? - definitely, my main criticism of him tbh Do we need to introduce a new coach so as to get us playing a better system? - not sure, I think part of it is that some of our players haven't the confidence to execute basic enough hurling fast enough. The system we are using isn't complicated, but it needs to be executed better. The players themselves should be working at things like 1st touch by themselves away from training. Areour training methods too severe as we seem to suffer more than other counties in this regard and should we reexamine the way we train. - Clare were hit worse with injuries than we were. Kilkenny have been missing a good few, Dublin also. Limerick are only getting lads back now. Not sure we are missing more this year tbh. Is the strength and conditioning working for our younger players as they seem very underdeveloped compared to the rest of the top tier teams.- you have to compare apples to apples, very few other top tier teams have as many 21/22 year olds as we have. And again, it's up to the players themselves to work at this themselves also. Do you believe we will see an improvement in 2026? If he says no to this question he shouldn't be a manager." I would say we're under-achieving to some extent, only have to look at Dublin under Ó Ceallacháin who seems to have lads playing out of their skin, we haven't been doing that across the board this year" And bear in mind that Dublin were playing 2nd tier in the league this year and failed to get out of it."]That's where I'd end the comparisons with Dublin. They are chalk and cheese compared to us when you look at those questions above.
Dublin hurling is absolutely hopping in both club underage and senior clubs. In the club I'm involved in up here we have 80 u9s alone and we wouldn't be one of the major clubs.
Their club scene is way stronger than ours, look at Dublin clubs record lately. Dublin hurling is on the crest of a wave and its only moving upwards.
FYI their underage intercounty teams train more than once a week. I know Wexford always give em a match underage that's the frustrating thing about it.
If we did everything we could we would compete but it looks like we are half heartedly developing underage teams and ya see the results yourself.
All this the Martins coulda beaten Na Fianna nonsense, they coulda but they didn't. Too much coulda in Wexford hurling unfortunately.
Every club here in Dublin is full of country lads coaching, the population hurling at underage is just off the charts here compared to Wexford.
Something to consider, look at the serious hurlers Dublin footballers have always taken off the hurlers. And it's not like our football team taken a few good hurlers ...Dublin football have taken all star material hurlers and continues to do so. So any close result we have had with them over recent years could have been way worse.
The enthusiasm and gra for hurling up here far exceeds most parts of Wexford and I can only see Dubln go from strength to strength.
Dublin have their house in order and it's a shame we don't seem to"]You'd imagine if Eoghan O'Donnell can't even make the match day panel with the footballers this summer he will surely go back to the hurlers in 2026?
I think that was a one in a lifetime Dublin football team and if the hurlers stock can keep rising, there is a huge chance for Dublin hurlers to reach great heights once the top hurlers stop moving across to the footballers.
The hurling talent is definitely there in Dublin looking at some of the underage hurlers i've seen recently from Kilmacud, Na Fianna, Vincents etc."]We played kilmacud recently across a few age groups.
They had big numbers but the standard would have been lower than anything we've encountered in Wexford.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 21/05/2025 11:24:19
Replying To Doylerwex: " Replying To WEXILE: "[quote=Magpie2: "[quote=ElGranSenor: "[quote=Viking66: "My thoughts on your questions-
Why are we underachieving so much as a senior team?- are we actually underachieving with the players we currently have? Are we getting the best out of the players in the squad?- there are some lads who don't seem to be getting chances in real competitive games. Why are we struggling to survive in the leinster championship and now demoted to the 2nd tier of the league? - I'm not sure we are struggling to survive in Leinster as such, and we did better in the League than I expected. Do we have 100% support and commitment of the players towards management? - Think it's pretty good overall. What can we now do to improve our status. - we need to keep trying to improve our younger players to make up for the gap in players coming through dating back to Davys time. What are your plans going forward that will bring about us becoming more competitive. - will be interesting to find out what he plans to do. Is it the case that we lack in quality and quantity and we simply haven't got enough top class players? - we have to develop these. Again it will be interesting to hear his take on this, but in fairness to him he's been giving younger lads plenty of gametime. Can it be said that we were slow to make changes during games? - definitely, my main criticism of him tbh Do we need to introduce a new coach so as to get us playing a better system? - not sure, I think part of it is that some of our players haven't the confidence to execute basic enough hurling fast enough. The system we are using isn't complicated, but it needs to be executed better. The players themselves should be working at things like 1st touch by themselves away from training. Areour training methods too severe as we seem to suffer more than other counties in this regard and should we reexamine the way we train. - Clare were hit worse with injuries than we were. Kilkenny have been missing a good few, Dublin also. Limerick are only getting lads back now. Not sure we are missing more this year tbh. Is the strength and conditioning working for our younger players as they seem very underdeveloped compared to the rest of the top tier teams.- you have to compare apples to apples, very few other top tier teams have as many 21/22 year olds as we have. And again, it's up to the players themselves to work at this themselves also. Do you believe we will see an improvement in 2026? If he says no to this question he shouldn't be a manager." I would say we're under-achieving to some extent, only have to look at Dublin under Ó Ceallacháin who seems to have lads playing out of their skin, we haven't been doing that across the board this year" And bear in mind that Dublin were playing 2nd tier in the league this year and failed to get out of it."]Also in terms of getting our house in order. Look at Kildare. They are doing great work in that county and its only a matter of time before we see em in Leinster championship and fair play to em.
Their u12s and younger play in the Dublin throughout the year...their u14s play in Kilkenny oh and they run their own domestic system as well.
What do our do for half the year. The more I keep thinking about Dublin and Kildare the angrier I get. When ya look at all that we are only a Micky mouse county and one that's going to loose our top tier status pretty soon.
We have some great servants snd volunteers and clearly we don't have enough of em. Kildare underage clubs hurling most of year......it clearly matters a lot to the hurling community in that county as they've no problem get the volunteers
So I think a lot of Wexford people take the team for granted and assume we should be better without realising we need everyone to put the effort in and that's just not happening.
Does it really matter to most people in Wexford at all? Clearly not
And personally I can't help I live in Dublin where I do take teams for my local club and have never felt more welcomed.
I can tell you for a fact one of our hurling only clubs turned a willing and good volunteer away from.helping out underage basically because he was a blow in.
Gonna give up the posting for the good of my blood pressure.
It's hard to be optimistic and that's not a dig at any of the great volunteers and players involved. Wel done yo everyone of em and thanks"]Be that as it may, we're hosting a tournament this weekend with clubs from Waterford, Kilkenny and Dublin.
I'm pretty confident we will beat them all.
The problem for us is their players will keep playing to adult and ours won't."]That's great, I hope it goes well and the lads enjoy it. Yes retention is such a problem. I don't really know what can be done about that
WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 415 - 21/05/2025 11:25:35
From living in Dublin in the past I can tell you first hand where the improvement came from.
And it isn't just the clubs and the work they do, kids at home with hurls, driving through the city you woukd see them out on the greens, in the parks, on the streets, I lived in both Drumcondra and Castleknock for years and could see it first hand, compared to home I don't see it. It started in the mid 2000's up there, I witnessed it first hand.
Very plain and simply there's a lack of culture in wexford in terms of hurling at home, parents don't do it, kids don't do it (obviously some do) and the reality is that's where hurlers are made. I still have memories of hurling and playing football in the neighbors house and Jimmy Holohan passing in the oil lorry and beeping the horn with the fist up out the window when he would see ye and that was the middle of the country and not even his club!
Genuinely I cannot remember the last time I've seen that, seen kids out doing the same. Tge culture needs to change. Development squads won't do it, clubs can't do it all, you have to, with your own, that's how it works.
tearintom (Wexford) - Posts: 1509 - 21/05/2025 11:28:25
Replying To tearintom: "From living in Dublin in the past I can tell you first hand where the improvement came from.
And it isn't just the clubs and the work they do, kids at home with hurls, driving through the city you woukd see them out on the greens, in the parks, on the streets, I lived in both Drumcondra and Castleknock for years and could see it first hand, compared to home I don't see it. It started in the mid 2000's up there, I witnessed it first hand.
Very plain and simply there's a lack of culture in wexford in terms of hurling at home, parents don't do it, kids don't do it (obviously some do) and the reality is that's where hurlers are made. I still have memories of hurling and playing football in the neighbors house and Jimmy Holohan passing in the oil lorry and beeping the horn with the fist up out the window when he would see ye and that was the middle of the country and not even his club!
Genuinely I cannot remember the last time I've seen that, seen kids out doing the same. Tge culture needs to change. Development squads won't do it, clubs can't do it all, you have to, with your own, that's how it works." I agree with that.
I grew up in the shadow of the main stand of Wexford Park.
We had a decent group of young lads hurling on the green in Corish Park every afternoon right through the year.
I almost never see young lads there now.
I remember Mick Corish (was caretaker in the park). If you hit his house with a football you wouldn't get it back. You could belt hurling balls off it and he'd be grinning saying how great it is to see young lads hurling.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 21/05/2025 12:20:53
Replying To tearintom: "From living in Dublin in the past I can tell you first hand where the improvement came from.
Genuinely I cannot remember the last time I've seen that, seen kids out doing the same. Tge culture needs to change. Development squads won't do it, clubs can't do it all, you have to, with your own, that's how it works." I agree tearintom, I visit my father on the north side of Dublin and you routinely see groups of young lads and in some fairly unfashionable estates out hurls. And not just since Na Fianna won, on a constant basis. But the biggest change in Dublin is the emergence of "southside hurling" and that is where the money is being pumped in to the game. And its bearing results. Boden were always strong but Cuala came out of nowhere in the most wealthy suburb of south Dublin. Crokes have been up and down and have a long culture of hurling. The support will grow once we are consistently competitive. Hopefully O'Donnell will return next season but we need more than him too. I think Wexford think they are a top county when the reality is different. People often marvel "look at Rory O'Connor and his stick work", I would bet my bottom dollar Rory was out with John and George hurling since he was in nappies. I get genetics help with hurling but the #1 thing is parents out hurling with their kids. I see the young lads in my club, some have not picked up a hurl since the last training and their ball work is about u8 level. Too many people in Wexford are not willing to put in the hard yards in the garden for the betterment of the game, they want a report and a plan and a review to point fingers at its their fault, football, dual status, whatever. When the fault is staring them in the mirror but lets get the report done, "root and branch" zzzz the root is you as a parent and the branch is what you will create in your club. If the root is not helping to grow, the branch will never grow. Finally, I know the vibe in Dublin when they play Wexford is "what the F gives these lads their confidence, their ancestors won a bit but these lads have won F all".
ExiledInWex (Dublin) - Posts: 1351 - 21/05/2025 12:43:57
Replying To Tiger1: "Well cant see them giving a hoot about Sunday and they in another leinster final wont be to worried if they beat us or not bigger fish to fry." Their players will be fighting for places
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 21/05/2025 12:50:32
Replying To ExiledInWex: "I agree tearintom, I visit my father on the north side of Dublin and you routinely see groups of young lads and in some fairly unfashionable estates out hurls. And not just since Na Fianna won, on a constant basis. But the biggest change in Dublin is the emergence of "southside hurling" and that is where the money is being pumped in to the game. And its bearing results. Boden were always strong but Cuala came out of nowhere in the most wealthy suburb of south Dublin. Crokes have been up and down and have a long culture of hurling. The support will grow once we are consistently competitive. Hopefully O'Donnell will return next season but we need more than him too. I think Wexford think they are a top county when the reality is different. People often marvel "look at Rory O'Connor and his stick work", I would bet my bottom dollar Rory was out with John and George hurling since he was in nappies. I get genetics help with hurling but the #1 thing is parents out hurling with their kids. I see the young lads in my club, some have not picked up a hurl since the last training and their ball work is about u8 level. Too many people in Wexford are not willing to put in the hard yards in the garden for the betterment of the game, they want a report and a plan and a review to point fingers at its their fault, football, dual status, whatever. When the fault is staring them in the mirror but lets get the report done, "root and branch" zzzz the root is you as a parent and the branch is what you will create in your club. If the root is not helping to grow, the branch will never grow. Finally, I know the vibe in Dublin when they play Wexford is "what the F gives these lads their confidence, their ancestors won a bit but these lads have won F all"." A reasonable attitude in fairness and I'm guilty of it myself. I 100% have a chip on my shoulder about them.
There's also an arrogance I associate with Dublin looking down their noses at culchies but in fairness that's probably useful in close matches. As misguided as my view may be that has been my experience studying there.
I do love old Dublin hurling folk though.
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3669 - 21/05/2025 13:45:56
Excellent episode of 'The Wexford hurling podcast' this week with the brilliant Michael Dignan of Offaly, some really valuable points made about how we resurrected an almost lifeless Offaly GAA.
wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 104 - 21/05/2025 14:26:43
Replying To Doylerwex: "A reasonable attitude in fairness and I'm guilty of it myself. I 100% have a chip on my shoulder about them.
There's also an arrogance I associate with Dublin looking down their noses at culchies but in fairness that's probably useful in close matches. As misguided as my view may be that has been my experience studying there.
I do love old Dublin hurling folk though." I don't think the hurling fraternity here look down on anyone, like I said every club here is full of Culchie coaches. I always had good craic with the real.GAA folk here
OK the footballers have plenty of bandwagon eejits but so does everyone
WEXILE (Wexford) - Posts: 415 - 21/05/2025 15:22:28
Replying To wexford2012: "Excellent episode of 'The Wexford hurling podcast' this week with the brilliant Michael Dignan of Offaly, some really valuable points made about how we resurrected an almost lifeless Offaly GAA." It seems like the schools are a vital part of their development in Offaly. I agree with other posters theres only so much clubs and schools can do parents need to get out and hurl with their kids between training sessions. Maybe the importance of this needs to be highlighted in all clubs across the county
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 21/05/2025 15:23:49
Replying To Doylerwex: "I will be there with very little confidence of a result. Lads talking about Kilkenny taking it easy. They don't do that." You are right DOYLER. Kilkenny always play to win no matter what. They won't go easy on us one bit and rightly so. It's a built in thing with them to always go for the jugular. Of course they may rest some lads who are carrying knocks. It would be silly for them to chance slightly injured players in a game like this with absolutely nothing at stake. On the flip side, we would love to beat the cats and restore a little bit of pride.
Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 501 - 21/05/2025 15:33:04
Replying To Afinestick96: "It seems like the schools are a vital part of their development in Offaly. I agree with other posters theres only so much clubs and schools can do parents need to get out and hurl with their kids between training sessions. Maybe the importance of this needs to be highlighted in all clubs across the county" If the plan is blame parents I think we're bunched, how many of us are on the road to Dublin etc at 6/7am, home late in the evenings. Look it would be brilliant but I don't feel I would be willing to badger parents to do this. Like some parents are hurling mad, others not at all and the best you can ask is that they consistently bring the kids to training.
I think we've a issue at schools, I know in ours (Primary) they are not allowed hurl at breaktime - soccer is fine - I can see the reasoning BUT its a big missed opportunity.
wexford2012 (Wexford) - Posts: 104 - 21/05/2025 15:42:10
Things I think would help Wexford hurling (Some of which might be in place right now):
Extend the underage club season
Have development squads training twice a week (Mainly skills sessions, no dual players)
Introduce a B competition in secondary schools (A lot of lads who hurl with their clubs won't be good enough for their school team so will be doing very little hurling in the winter, a B team would have them hurling through the winter. Would help to bridge the gap between the weaker players and the better players at club level, can't be a bad thing as the better lads would end up playing against more competitive opponents. Also, it helps big time if a player brings his hurl into school every day but teenagers are social animals and they do what their friends are doing. If there are both A and B teams, then loads of lads will have to bring in hurls regularly in order to train, might end up hurling at lunchtime etc like they do in Kieran's. Need more coaches for B teams though, County Board should help out here, the likes of Blackrock in rugby aren't appointing teachers as coaches)
Better pay/identification/incentivising of development squad coaches
Biobanding approach at under-age (NZ rugby don't use age groups, they use weight groups instead)
Greater emphasis on S&C at Minor & U20 level
Ensure that Hurling 365 is in place in every school (Can complain about the level of hurling there all you want but at least they're hurling)
Identify and develop a network of two-to-five key volunteers at each club and school. As we saw with Oulart and Mick and Breda Jacob, it only takes a few very driven people to lead a club forward. The County Board needs to identify certain people in clubs who are capable of doing to their own clubs what the Jacobs did in Oulart. The best hurlers are those who hurl at home and are most likely to be the children of those who drive their clubs the most IMO
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 21/05/2025 16:18:47
Replying To wexford2012: "If the plan is blame parents I think we're bunched, how many of us are on the road to Dublin etc at 6/7am, home late in the evenings. Look it would be brilliant but I don't feel I would be willing to badger parents to do this. Like some parents are hurling mad, others not at all and the best you can ask is that they consistently bring the kids to training.
I think we've a issue at schools, I know in ours (Primary) they are not allowed hurl at breaktime - soccer is fine - I can see the reasoning BUT its a big missed opportunity." This was the case in my primary school 20 years ago we werent let hurl at lunch only when the coaches came in once a week. Young lads should be allowed to hurl at break time if they have their helmets on. I can see teachers reluctance to not let them hurl without helmets given insurance concerns these days.
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 21/05/2025 16:32:17
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Things I think would help Wexford hurling (Some of which might be in place right now):
Have development squads training twice a week (Mainly skills sessions, no dual players)
Introduce a B competition in secondary schools (A lot of lads who hurl with their clubs won't be good enough for their school team so will be doing very little hurling in the winter, a B team would have them hurling through the winter. Would help to bridge the gap between the weaker players and the better players at club level, can't be a bad thing as the better lads would end up playing against more competitive opponents. Also, it helps big time if a player brings his hurl into school every day but teenagers are social animals and they do what their friends are doing. If there are both A and B teams, then loads of lads will have to bring in hurls regularly in order to train, might end up hurling at lunchtime etc like they do in Kieran's. Need more coaches for B teams though, County Board should help out here, the likes of Blackrock in rugby aren't appointing teachers as coaches)
Biobanding approach at under-age (NZ rugby don't use age groups, they use weight groups instead)
Ensure that Hurling 365 is in place in every school (Can complain about the level of hurling there all you want but at least they're hurling)
Identify and develop a network of two-to-five key volunteers at each club and school. As we saw with Oulart and Mick and Breda Jacob, it only takes a few very driven people to lead a club forward. The County Board needs to identify certain people in clubs who are capable of doing to their own clubs what the Jacobs did in Oulart. The best hurlers are those who hurl at home and are most likely to be the children of those who drive their clubs the most IMO" Have development squads training twice a week (Mainly skills sessions, no dual players) ------------- This needs to be put in place from next year onwards it could see a big improvement in the development of our young players
Afinestick96 (Wexford) - Posts: 642 - 21/05/2025 16:34:04
Replying To Afinestick96: "This was the case in my primary school 20 years ago we werent let hurl at lunch only when the coaches came in once a week. Young lads should be allowed to hurl at break time if they have their helmets on. I can see teachers reluctance to not let them hurl without helmets given insurance concerns these days." Think the problem in many cases is if teachers don't come from GAA backgrounds, they're not going to understand the importance of this
ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 556 - 21/05/2025 17:56:46
Replying To ElGranSenor: "Things I think would help Wexford hurling (Some of which might be in place right now):
Identify and develop a network of two-to-five key volunteers at each club and school. As we saw with Oulart and Mick and Breda Jacob, it only takes a few very driven people to lead a club forward. The County Board needs to identify certain people in clubs who are capable of doing to their own clubs what the Jacobs did in Oulart. The best hurlers are those who hurl at home and are most likely to be the children of those who drive their clubs the most IMO" Most of that has been/is being pushed by Coaching and Games already. Problems- 1- 365 needs parents and teachers, especially Principals, willing to make it work. 2- Some clubs don't want to be without their younger lads for that amount of time, and if they go twice a week then costs will rise was the other reason I was given. I've personally asked that question a few times. 3- some clubs are sadly lacking in leading people driving their fortunes up on the pitch. Others are sadly lacking in leading people driving up their fortunes off the pitch as well. Much harder to get volunteers these days. 4- I've asked the question about better funding for underage coaching, citing examples from other counties. I got told they probably do their accounting differently, believe it or not...... 5- I raised the bio banding point 3 years ago, that's been adopted to a point. 6- Coaching and Games and the former chairman pushed for extending the season, the games programme has been extended. They also pushed for clubs to train their underage teams twice a week, and start and finish earlier and later. Some clubs have and some haven't. Some like ours have introduced winter training over the last 2 winters also. Obviously any benefits of this aren't going to show for a few years yet. 7- there is already a good culture of lads at Counsel and Peters bringing their hurls in and pucking a ball in breaktimes. Less so in other schools though.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16027 - 21/05/2025 18:19:13