Wexford Hurling 2025

Replying To Formertownie:  "The biggest part of your post is the hopeful rise of the alley and Geraldine's as well as the annes winning div1
We need more teams competing at as high a level as possible . No county needs too many superclubs dominating numbers or titles wise underage .
Decent numbers spread over more clubs will be better for our development in hurling .
No club needs 40 to 50 players at each age group too many fall through the cracks.
And the quality of players drops where they are part of a machine and not leaders on their team.
Where the team depends on a core to be consistently good every day .
Rather than 20 average or slightly above players dominate the underage set up .
And When they step up to higher level they can't compete maybe look through recent underage title dominators and see how many chaps have stepped up to next level .
Over 25% of u20 starters are from football dominant clubs kilanerin and castletown . Where are the totally hurling focused clubs going wrong if their players are hurling only . And can't stop.up to plate"
Quiet enough here.

Laois beat WExford U20s today and deservedly so.

Wanted it more and work rate reflected that.

Despite years and years of high investment in full time staff and faciliites, there is very little evidence of sustained improvmement and growth. I say sustained because if there was evidence then it could be seen year on year.

At what stage do clubs struggling to make ends year on year, clubs dealing with populaton drops and demographic changes , clubs dealing with players being every where except home, ask the question; what or where are the results of the investment?

We can rattle of coachihg courses (complety prediated on softly softly approaches) or the Wexford Way but what or where are we exactly at?

A loss to Galway will likely spell the end of the year for senior hurling or totter on like Bambi on ice and blame refs and blame football and so on and so forth (but at least clubs will have players back) .

The minors face a tough challenge v Laois but more than one player required to shine unlike previous games.

The pitches above in Ferns won't get a heap of activity for another year unless theres 3 or 4 performances being carefully hidden. But clubs will have total and free access --sure wasnt that what we forked out thousands for the Cube yoke for?

The entire thing is not even Joe McDonagh Level.

Lovelystuff (Wexford) - Posts: 1 - 05/05/2025 18:06:33    2606893

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Big goal for the U20s right before the end of the half, have a big wind to come but are lucky to be one behind, how Laois missed that open goal is beyond me"
Doesn't seem like the second half was any better. Another dispiriting defeat at this level. Two years of it now. Any positives at all?

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 394 - 05/05/2025 18:15:27    2606895

Replying To Timbertony:  "Doesn't seem like the second half was any better. Another dispiriting defeat at this level. Two years of it now. Any positives at all?"
Simon Roche would be a big positive

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 05/05/2025 18:37:12    2606900

Today was an abject performance but I think some are again way too quick to write the obituaries of Wexford hurling, it's no wonder players don't believe themselves when there's so much negativity about, telling the world that we're useless

It was a good Laois team, it would be disrespectful to suggest otherwise, they beat us at Minor by two points three years ago and they then beat Kilkenny in the Leinster semi-final. I've no idea what they were doing in their two group games because the performance they put in today was very good

As for today, Simon Roche was terrific; would've thought at the start of the year that of the lads up to the age, him, Seán Rowley, and Cillian Byrne had it in them to become senior hurlers, think Byrne is capable of a lot better than what he showed today (Although I don't know how much the hand was affecting him tbh), Rowley was a big loss. IMO, take out those three hurlers and there's a big drop in quality to the next best 20yo, you might usually have a few lads who are just the rung below and you'd think they might maybe have the ability to play Senior but we had pretty much no-one near that level this year

Generally think you're looking for at least 2 Senior hurlers from each crop, could have Roche, Byrne, and Rowley from this year in spite of the team being very poor

As for the Minors, think my biggest issue with them would be the fact that they let their heads drop rather than their quality, not saying they're good enough but think it's quite common at Minor level for stuff like that to happen and games get away from teams very quickly

If Laois have a good team, they have a good team, not much we can do about it, we had a Minor team that had Conor Mac, Jippo, Kevin Foley, Conor Devitt, and Paudie Foley all up to the age beaten by Laois in a Leinster SF back in 2013

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 471 - 05/05/2025 18:49:52    2606909

Replying To Timbertony:  "Doesn't seem like the second half was any better. Another dispiriting defeat at this level. Two years of it now. Any positives at all?"
The full forward fella showed well but laois were full value for the win.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2298 - 05/05/2025 19:55:16    2606922

Replying To Lovelystuff:  "Quiet enough here.

Laois beat WExford U20s today and deservedly so.

Wanted it more and work rate reflected that.

Despite years and years of high investment in full time staff and faciliites, there is very little evidence of sustained improvmement and growth. I say sustained because if there was evidence then it could be seen year on year.

At what stage do clubs struggling to make ends year on year, clubs dealing with populaton drops and demographic changes , clubs dealing with players being every where except home, ask the question; what or where are the results of the investment?

We can rattle of coachihg courses (complety prediated on softly softly approaches) or the Wexford Way but what or where are we exactly at?

A loss to Galway will likely spell the end of the year for senior hurling or totter on like Bambi on ice and blame refs and blame football and so on and so forth (but at least clubs will have players back) .

The minors face a tough challenge v Laois but more than one player required to shine unlike previous games.

The pitches above in Ferns won't get a heap of activity for another year unless theres 3 or 4 performances being carefully hidden. But clubs will have total and free access --sure wasnt that what we forked out thousands for the Cube yoke for?

The entire thing is not even Joe McDonagh Level."
Good post. Director of hurling, Games Development officers etc , millions spent on a centre of excellence and no progress being made on the playing side of things. Our senior team is being carried by one man, same probably can be said for the minors as well while our U20's supposedly the feeder to the senior team has been nothing short of shambolic for the last 2 years.
I honestly fear for the future of Wexford hurling.

HurlingBuzz (Wexford) - Posts: 543 - 05/05/2025 19:58:56    2606924

U21 2015 All Ireland Final.
Limerick 0-26 Wexford 1-7

WEXFORD: O O'Leary; S Donohoe, L Ryan, E Conroy; J White, P Foley, J O'Connor; C Devitt, T French; A Kenny, K Foley, J Cash; C Dunbar, C McDonald, P Sutton.
Subs: S Murphy for French (35), S Kenny for Devitt (41), S Kelly for K Foley (46), J Firman for Cash (54).

LIMERICK: D McCarthy; S Finn, R English, M Casey; D Byrnes, B O'Connell, G Hegarty; D O'Donovan, P Ryan; R Lynch, C Lynch, D Dempsey; C Ryan, T Morrissey, B Nash.
Subs: P Casey for C Ryan (50), A La-Touche Cosgrave for P Ryan (52), J Kelliher for R Lynch (55), M O'Callaghan for Finn (58), J Hannon for O'Donovan (59)

Has the gap closed, widened or still the same at Championship level?

WEX98 (Wexford) - Posts: 492 - 05/05/2025 20:41:15    2606926

We drew with laois last year in Wexford park and they bet us by 6 this year at under 20 level, we are going back at an alarming rate, very worrying times ahead unfortunately.

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 1122 - 05/05/2025 20:43:38    2606927

Replying To hunting:  "What an embarrassment, I don't want to hear this Laois team is good etc... we will be a tier 2 team in minor and under 21 in the next year or two. It so sad to see, just imagine been beaten by 6 points to Laois at home. I sick and tired of people going on about the good work been done underage,, the proof is in the pudding, 12 points loss to Galway in Minor and 6 points loss to Laois at home today in under 21. Results don't lie, embarrassing."
Laois looked decent alright but that same Laois un20 team lost to Galway by 23 points at home in Portlaoise 4 weeks ago.

Make no mistake about it, Wexford hurling is in serious trouble and it's nothing our one man band Lee Chin and the up and coming Sean O Brien can fix by themselves.

Wexford look so physically inferior & slow compared to every other underage team they play, it's actually comical at this stage.

Past hurler (None) - Posts: 918 - 05/05/2025 20:49:33    2606929

Replying To WEX98:  "U21 2015 All Ireland Final.
Limerick 0-26 Wexford 1-7

WEXFORD: O O'Leary; S Donohoe, L Ryan, E Conroy; J White, P Foley, J O'Connor; C Devitt, T French; A Kenny, K Foley, J Cash; C Dunbar, C McDonald, P Sutton.
Subs: S Murphy for French (35), S Kenny for Devitt (41), S Kelly for K Foley (46), J Firman for Cash (54).

LIMERICK: D McCarthy; S Finn, R English, M Casey; D Byrnes, B O'Connell, G Hegarty; D O'Donovan, P Ryan; R Lynch, C Lynch, D Dempsey; C Ryan, T Morrissey, B Nash.
Subs: P Casey for C Ryan (50), A La-Touche Cosgrave for P Ryan (52), J Kelliher for R Lynch (55), M O'Callaghan for Finn (58), J Hannon for O'Donovan (59)

Has the gap closed, widened or still the same at Championship level?"
At championship pace, Id say the scores would be about right this year at senior sadly. A lot of our team that day have had solid careers at senior level to be fair.

Far too much was made of those few Leinster u21s we won in hindsight. Galway didn't compete in Leinster back then for starters. Beaten by Antrim after one, at least put it up to Clare in the second and that Limerick hiding after the third.

Timbertony (Wexford) - Posts: 394 - 05/05/2025 21:41:25    2606944

Replying To HurlingBuzz:  "Good post. Director of hurling, Games Development officers etc , millions spent on a centre of excellence and no progress being made on the playing side of things. Our senior team is being carried by one man, same probably can be said for the minors as well while our U20's supposedly the feeder to the senior team has been nothing short of shambolic for the last 2 years.
I honestly fear for the future of Wexford hurling."
After ye lost the first round of the u20 championship to Kilkenny, one poster stated that the match was meaningless and was used by Wexford to try out lads for next years team.
It's the first round of your championship! Surely the objective is to go out and win it regardless of the structure of the Leinster u20 hurling championship and the seeding for the knock out stages.
Point I'm making is that if Wexford management are treating championship games against Kilkenny as meaningless then it can't bode well for the rest of the competition.
You had 2 group games before the knockout today. Surely be to the Lord you want to be getting as much championship game time into your starting 15 as possible?
Same was said about the minor game the other day too - that the game was meaningless!!??

Avondhu86 (Cork) - Posts: 17 - 05/05/2025 23:04:55    2606961

Feeling pretty low after today.

Wexford hurling badly needs an injection of hope now like Liam Dunne, JJ Doyle and Davy delivered.

The Galway game next week now feels like "playing for a way of life" territory.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3555 - 05/05/2025 23:28:40    2606965

Replying To Past hurler:  "Laois looked decent alright but that same Laois un20 team lost to Galway by 23 points at home in Portlaoise 4 weeks ago.

Make no mistake about it, Wexford hurling is in serious trouble and it's nothing our one man band Lee Chin and the up and coming Sean O Brien can fix by themselves.

Wexford look so physically inferior & slow compared to every other underage team they play, it's actually comical at this stage."
Agree big time with that second paragraph and I don't think it can really be argued against. We have 1 provincial title at minor/20/21s since 2015. If we're not successful at those age groups it's going to be difficult to be successful at senior and now it looks like we're facing in to an uphill battle in that regard.

I don't know how much longer Chin is going to play after this year, my guess would be another 2/3 years provided he stays relatively injury free but if you were to take him out of the team I think we're on par if not worse than a team like Offaly. It's even starting to show with other retirements, someone like OHanlon was badly missed vs Dublin and will be again in Salthill.

With OBrien, if he's 17 now and form continues, you're definitely talking another 7 or 8 years until he's reached that potential.

Honestly, I think we're going to be looking at a couple of years where there are some pretty low points for Wexford hurling.

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 245 - 05/05/2025 23:50:04    2606968

Replying To tearintom:  "Yep.

My thoughts went to the Cork league game as being defensively pretty dire. We conceded 2.21, 23 scores and 27 points in total. We finished the league relegated with the 3rd worst score difference.

Fast forward to last Saturday night and we've gone on to concede 3.26, 29 scores and 35 points in total. To a team a division below us thus year who will remain a division below us next year and a team minus some of their best players. A

I believe it's the most we have conceded in a leinster championship game since Davys last game in charge of us in the leinster championship when Kilkenny annihilated us.

So defence is a huge issue, how can you say otherwise is beyond me."
If Jippo plays and hopefully for the full 70+ minutes it should
have a steadying influence in our defence. At the same time we need the other 5 to step up a fair bit and cut out the silly mistakes that are haunting us big time. The minors and U20s have been poor and that's putting it mildly.
Saturday is a very very important game for us.
That goes without saying.
I'm sure the lads are hurting and we are too so hopefully they will give this game one hell of a rattle. I believe they will. It won't be easy over in Salthill and most will fancy the tribesmen to win but with Jacko, Mac ( hopefully ) and Ryan ( hopefully ) I feel we will cause them problems.
Let's hope we won't be hitting 17 wides like we did in the league against them.
We have good players but unfortunately they are very inconsistent and can cause us loyal supporters to tear our hair out at times.
With Wexford you simply never know what you'll get.
My verdict for Saturday -- a hesitant 3 point win for Wexford. Come on lads. Give us something to cheer about and put a pep in our step once again.

Magpie2 (Wexford) - Posts: 447 - 06/05/2025 04:43:55    2606974

Replying To hunting:  "We drew with laois last year in Wexford park and they bet us by 6 this year at under 20 level, we are going back at an alarming rate, very worrying times ahead unfortunately."
We aren't going back. We are pretty much where we have been since the 60s. We have a handful of AI appearances in minor and u20 put together since then, and no wins.
Last year we had our 1st knockout championship win over a Munster county in either grade since then at minor, and I honestly can't remember the ladt one at u20/1.
The lack of hunger shown by some of our physically bigger players especially was very disappointing yesterday. Its not a great crop of up to the age u20s, yet we might end up with 3 good Senior players out of it.
We were cleaned in the middle 3rd. Positives were few, but some of the younger lads played ok.
Next year some of the u19s who showed well this year will be up to the age, and 3/4 of that starting team will still be u20 also.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15591 - 06/05/2025 07:48:39    2606982

Replying To Past hurler:  "Laois looked decent alright but that same Laois un20 team lost to Galway by 23 points at home in Portlaoise 4 weeks ago.

Wexford look so physically inferior & slow compared to every other underage team they play, it's actually comical at this stage."
We were way younger. And tbh looking around the pitch we were bigger than they were anyway. It's not just a physical thing. It's our mentality is the issue. We seem collectively more yellow than yellow belly these days. That was the most disappointing thought coming out the ground yesterday.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15591 - 06/05/2025 07:51:25    2606984

Replying To Timbertony:  "At championship pace, Id say the scores would be about right this year at senior sadly. A lot of our team that day have had solid careers at senior level to be fair.

Far too much was made of those few Leinster u21s we won in hindsight. Galway didn't compete in Leinster back then for starters. Beaten by Antrim after one, at least put it up to Clare in the second and that Limerick hiding after the third."
Not too sure we made too much of them. Not many people I know thought we would be winning an AI on the back of them. Clare won their 3rd u21 AI in a row when they beat us, and Limerick won their 1st of 2 in 3 years the following year when they beat us.
We reached 2 Leinster Finals, winning one, with those players, and narrowly lost an AI SF, probably about right as far as expected returns go.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15591 - 06/05/2025 08:05:30    2606985

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "Today was an abject performance but I think some are again way too quick to write the obituaries of Wexford hurling, it's no wonder players don't believe themselves when there's so much negativity about, telling the world that we're useless

It was a good Laois team, it would be disrespectful to suggest otherwise, they beat us at Minor by two points three years ago and they then beat Kilkenny in the Leinster semi-final. I've no idea what they were doing in their two group games because the performance they put in today was very good

As for today, Simon Roche was terrific; would've thought at the start of the year that of the lads up to the age, him, Seán Rowley, and Cillian Byrne had it in them to become senior hurlers, think Byrne is capable of a lot better than what he showed today (Although I don't know how much the hand was affecting him tbh), Rowley was a big loss. IMO, take out those three hurlers and there's a big drop in quality to the next best 20yo, you might usually have a few lads who are just the rung below and you'd think they might maybe have the ability to play Senior but we had pretty much no-one near that level this year

Generally think you're looking for at least 2 Senior hurlers from each crop, could have Roche, Byrne, and Rowley from this year in spite of the team being very poor

As for the Minors, think my biggest issue with them would be the fact that they let their heads drop rather than their quality, not saying they're good enough but think it's quite common at Minor level for stuff like that to happen and games get away from teams very quickly

If Laois have a good team, they have a good team, not much we can do about it, we had a Minor team that had Conor Mac, Jippo, Kevin Foley, Conor Devitt, and Paudie Foley all up to the age beaten by Laois in a Leinster SF back in 2013"
Within a few years of that we also got knocked out by Westmeath, and got knocked out by Kildare at u20. Some posters have short memories, unrealistic expectations, and a completely unjustified sense of entitlement when it comes to Wexford underage hurling.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15591 - 06/05/2025 08:09:42    2606986