All Ireland Senior Hurling Championship 2024

Replying To Ban:  "If it was a Cork, Tipp or Kk player it would be referred to as the brilliance to break through the clutches of the desperate defender and score an amazing goal.
I always find it interesting how many posters from counties outside of the top 3 are quick to try and bring each other down. Maybe it's to make one feel better about themselves."
I know quite a few hurling men from both KK and Tipp, and all of them, without exception, are loud in their praise of Shane O'Donnell, and I'm sure Cork hurling people are the same. Genuine hurling people will always acknowledge brilliance, regardless of the county involved.

On a sad note, I've just heard the news of the death of Micheal O Muircheartaigh, RIP. A true legend of Gaelic Games, I don't believe we'll see or hear his likes again.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 580 - 25/06/2024 12:46:04    2554712

Replying To midlands:  "I know quite a few hurling men from both KK and Tipp, and all of them, without exception, are loud in their praise of Shane O'Donnell, and I'm sure Cork hurling people are the same. Genuine hurling people will always acknowledge brilliance, regardless of the county involved.

On a sad note, I've just heard the news of the death of Micheal O Muircheartaigh, RIP. A true legend of Gaelic Games, I don't believe we'll see or hear his likes again."
True indeed there was some old timers in front of me from WX & Cork singing SODS praises pity some posters can only take the negatives. He will be out of hurling soon enough big job awaits in US so should enjoy great sports men while we can thanks for the compliments

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 960 - 25/06/2024 15:17:01    2554789

Replying To Ban:  "If it was a Cork, Tipp or Kk player it would be referred to as the brilliance to break through the clutches of the desperate defender and score an amazing goal.
I always find it interesting how many posters from counties outside of the top 3 are quick to try and bring each other down. Maybe it's to make one feel better about themselves."
O how true that statement is. I could write a book on it. A foul or mean stroke from the big guns is just hard play. If it is from one of the lesser lights they should be banned for life. Most of the time it is following pack have this view point.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2854 - 25/06/2024 15:52:43    2554802

O how true that statement is. I could write a book on it. A foul or mean stroke from the big guns is just hard play. If it is from one of the lesser lights they should be banned for life. Most of the time it is following pack have this view point.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2854 - 25/06/2024 15:52:54    2554803

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2854 - 25/06/2024 15:53:49    2554804

Replying To Canuck:  "O how true that statement is. I could write a book on it. A foul or mean stroke from the big guns is just hard play. If it is from one of the lesser lights they should be banned for life. Most of the time it is following pack have this view point."
That's exactly where I'm coming from too.. all you want is fair play for EVERYONE.
When Kilkenny were untouchable it was deemed they were getting an unfair advantage due to playing most of their games in Croke park, Munster council had a hissy fit and changed the whole championship structure.. what's the result? The 2nd 3rd teams in Leinster have to play Munster teams in Thurles.. a practical home venue for Clare Cork and Tipp..
Remember the last time we had a division 1 and 2 Hurling league... as soon as Cork were demoted... wholesale structural changes..

TomWex (Wexford) - Posts: 85 - 25/06/2024 21:44:08    2554855

Replying To TomWex:  "That's exactly where I'm coming from too.. all you want is fair play for EVERYONE.
When Kilkenny were untouchable it was deemed they were getting an unfair advantage due to playing most of their games in Croke park, Munster council had a hissy fit and changed the whole championship structure.. what's the result? The 2nd 3rd teams in Leinster have to play Munster teams in Thurles.. a practical home venue for Clare Cork and Tipp..
Remember the last time we had a division 1 and 2 Hurling league... as soon as Cork were demoted... wholesale structural changes.."
Neutral venues would be Salthill (presuming Galway not playing) or Belfast (no Antrim)
Croke Park too big for most QF matchups
Thurles is central and is a proper hurling venue
But perhaps too large for some matchups
In future Nowlan Park or Portlaise should be considered but again depends on the teams involved and how well supported they are
A possible solution that is equitable:
Home advantage (provincial) for provincial runners up
So Clare v Wexford in Thurles, Dublin v Cork in Nowland Park. So a small incentive for provincial winners
Although tbh I am not sure how much advantage it really is
And no more double headers: most fans today only want to see their team in action live and in person. As a kid I remember double headers fondly as a chance to see more hurling and players I might not otherwise see but times and supporters have changed

Yadse (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 26/06/2024 09:04:00    2554895

Replying To TomWex:  "That's exactly where I'm coming from too.. all you want is fair play for EVERYONE.
Remember the last time we had a division 1 and 2 Hurling league... as soon as Cork were demoted... wholesale structural changes.."
Thurles is far from a home ground for other Munster teams.

I would simply let the losing finalists of the provincials have home advantage for the quarter finals so for this year it would have been Wexford v Clare in Ennis and Cork v Dublin in Croke Park. No one can complian about that as there is at least a benefit for qualifying in the top 2 of your province even if you lose the provincial final.

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2679 - 26/06/2024 15:09:50    2554979

Replying To LohansRedHelmet:  "Thurles is far from a home ground for other Munster teams.

I would simply let the losing finalists of the provincials have home advantage for the quarter finals so for this year it would have been Wexford v Clare in Ennis and Cork v Dublin in Croke Park. No one can complian about that as there is at least a benefit for qualifying in the top 2 of your province even if you lose the provincial final."
Great idea. Would've been a far better atmosphere in Ennis than Thurles. Pitch less slippy too. Anyone else notice that the pitch there has been like wet green paint the last couple of months? Lads sliding everywhere.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 13407 - 26/06/2024 15:47:23    2554992

Sometimes you wonder how decisions are reached by the GAA. When Walsh Park was not available Waterford wanted to play their games In Nolan Park. Kerry (no skin in the game) and the two teams not drawn against us voted again it. The two teams to play Waterford voted in favour. Leinster teams are expected to play in Thurles and have. However in this case a quid quo pro was always going to be called for and this probably happens a lot with decisions.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2854 - 30/06/2024 15:39:20    2555961

Jeez lads, two cracking games of hurling this weekend and not a peep about them! I really can't call the Clare/KK game and a draw would not surprise me after 70 minutes. In the other match my head says Limerick, and tbh, my confidence in this rematch has been dented after our last two games, but you never know...
Thoughts?

bloodandbandage (Cork) - Posts: 348 - 03/07/2024 11:39:57    2556692

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Jeez lads, two cracking games of hurling this weekend and not a peep about them! I really can't call the Clare/KK game and a draw would not surprise me after 70 minutes. In the other match my head says Limerick, and tbh, my confidence in this rematch has been dented after our last two games, but you never know...
Thoughts?"
Really look forward to them too, albeit I'm leaning heavily towards limerick and kilkenny victories, with limerick yet again winning the final at kilkennys expense.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 03/07/2024 13:59:51    2556744

Replying To bloodandbandage:  "Jeez lads, two cracking games of hurling this weekend and not a peep about them! I really can't call the Clare/KK game and a draw would not surprise me after 70 minutes. In the other match my head says Limerick, and tbh, my confidence in this rematch has been dented after our last two games, but you never know...
Thoughts?"
I was just thinking yesterday, there's hardly anything in the media about the two upcoming semi-finals, plenty about the football, and now today it's all about Davy.
Anyway, I pretty much agree with your sentiments regarding both games. Clare v Kilkenny, I think KK will edge it, but wouldn't be the least surprised if Clare win. As for Limerick v Cork, Limerick should win. For Cork to win, they will need to raise their game to a higher level, and Limerick will have to be below par.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2644 - 03/07/2024 14:30:28    2556752

Thoughts?"
Its been an average enough championship up until now
The only game that was truly memorable and classic was Cork v Limerick.
Clare v Cork was also very good , and Clare v Waterford, Waterford v Tipp, Kilkenny v Wexford and McDonogh final had their moments too. But provincial finals were poor, as were the 2 QFs. Championship suffered from the poor performances of Galway and Tipp - we have so few top class teams that we cant afford to have two top teams that are off the pace.
Partly compensated by better form of Waterford and Dublin and the reemergence of Offaly which is hopefully for real. We need them back at the top.

All this to say, we are due two good semis and I think/hope they will both be classics. Limerick v Cork for sure will be and I think Kilkenny v Clare will too. This is the third go round for Clare in an AI semi v Kilkenny. Its really s**t or bust time for this Clare team. They flopped in the Munster final but have a chance to redeem themselves tomorrow. Lose and its hard to see where they go under Lohan. Conlon, SOD, Duggan and even TK dont have many years left. But Kilkenny have all their top players back (Donnelly has been their best player this year so hopefully for them he will be back) and seem to be timing their run this year to perfection
With Kilkenny you know exactly what you will get, while with Clare at their best they will win, but they are always capable to going to sleep at key stages or getting their tactics wrong for a bit.
Limerick v Cork is about whether the King can hold off the pretender for one more year

Yadse (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 03/07/2024 14:40:05    2556753

These games for me can go the way of any of the 4.of course I want to see limerick get a chance of getting that 5 in a row but I won't be one bit surprised if Clare and cork win..a great weekend of hurling ahead..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2335 - 03/07/2024 14:44:53    2556754

Thoughts?"
A bounce or flick of a ball could decide both matches. There will be nothing in them.

Limerick are rightly favourites given the last 6 years, but its a free shot for Cork. If Limerick give Cork a start like they gave them down in the Pairc we will be in trouble. Cork now have the bench to finish it off (unlike 2018 when they could have and probably should have won it, except for Nicky Quaid's flick). We have to try and stop Darragh Fitzgibbon running and Cork delivering uncontested ball down in front of Diarmaid Byrnes (allowing the Cork Speedsters to run at him) I for one think Darragh O'Donovan has to come in to do that Job.

Clare and Kilkenny will be interesting, Clare were gone slightly off the boil in the Munster Final but you wonder when was the last time Kilkenny were really tested with the intensity that Clare can bring. If Brian Lohan sets Clare up to play like they can they could finally down Kilkenny

LimerickandProud (Limerick) - Posts: 92 - 03/07/2024 17:30:10    2556787

As neutral looking forward to being in CP for Sunday. Would love to see Cork have a right cut at them with lots of goals.

Still fancy Limerick to win it out but that this could be their biggest test. Nearly full house too so possibly game of the year.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 2974 - 03/07/2024 22:11:04    2556825

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "As neutral looking forward to being in CP for Sunday. Would love to see Cork have a right cut at them with lots of goals.

Still fancy Limerick to win it out but that this could be their biggest test. Nearly full house too so possibly game of the year."
Bookies have already decided outcome of this match. Boyle sports has Limerick 1/3. Cork 10/3. Foregone conclusion in their eyes. Clare/Kilkenny is evens.

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 04/07/2024 09:56:44    2556870

Thoughts?"
Limerick definitely are in driving seat, and will take some effort to beat them. Some matchups are intriguing and may decide the game. Will Cork target Limerick half back line again, with Dalton and Kyle Hayes going at it? I wouldn't be surprised to see a few red cards, and players will have to be disciplined. Harnedy and Barrett vs Byrnes and Hannon could decide this game, and Cork do have a goalgetter in Connolly should they run at Limerick's defense. Darragh Donovan coming back, should shore up the Limerick midfield, and the machine should chug on. Hegarty and Hayes are performing at top of their game, and Gillane is due a good game. Cork's defense has shown improvement, but they have to avoid conceding soft scores via short puck outs etc. First half should be at a blistering pace, and potentially this could be game of year!

Ryanteam (Cork) - Posts: 362 - 04/07/2024 11:00:10    2556876

Replying To Ryanteam:  "Bookies have already decided outcome of this match. Boyle sports has Limerick 1/3. Cork 10/3. Foregone conclusion in their eyes. Clare/Kilkenny is evens."
Cork were 50/1 for All Ireland before last time they played Limerick and 4 or 5 to one for the games its self.Limerick favourites and rightly so but Cork well able to beat them and Cork will love those odds Ryan.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3840 - 04/07/2024 11:29:27    2556882